Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

mcburns07 wrote: »
    As others have said before me, I think you would be better off taking a step back from social media / Boards. That will be more beneficial to you than any vitamins.

Yes doc, Very strange taking vitamins indeed. I should be out in pubs, what's wrong with me at all. Obviously better to go with what the majority thinks to keep ye guys on boards happy.

#open the pubs

I've stopped alcohol since all this started. I want to be better at fighting of any infections. Along with taking loads of vitamins

- Vit D
    - Magnesium for better absorption of vit d
    - Vit C
    - Zinc
    - Quercetin (acts like a key to open your cells so that zinc can get in and do it's job)
    - Bromelain can help with blood clots (though not enough evidence)

I think all these are better than fueling myself with alcohol

The anxiety probably negates any benefit

• Registered Users Posts: 15,209 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Yes doc, Very strange taking vitamins indeed. I should be out in pubs, what's wrong with me at all. Obviously better to go with what the majority thinks to keep ye guys on boards happy.

#open the pubs

Your mental health is equally as important as your physical health. You were offered some reasonable advice, not sure why you think a petulant response is required.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Making a few substitutions then. Who's going to be benched?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

"Shake-up", f'kin Indo with their hysterical headline clickbait.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,209 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

#open the pubs

A little petulant when someone is openly concerned about your mental health and only offering advice(As others have also offered). A break does us all good. A few days over Christmas was very refreshing for myself, likewise in the summer, need to step back at times for our own sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Northernlily

If thats not firing NPHET under the bus I don't know what is.

Pure politicking optics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Your mental health is equally as important as your physical health. You were offered some reasonable advice, not sure why you think a petulant response is required.

I wasn't asking for advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

We can only hope this current case level isn't sustained for too long.

I was looking at some countries with similar demographics (all European, similar sized population) and similar outbreaks to us today to try to get a sense of what might be coming. Not pretty.

Croatia - pop: 4,092,187 peak: 4620
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/croatia/

Bulgaria - pop: 6,921,398 peak: 4828
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/bulgaria/

Slovakia - pop: 5,461,002 peak: 6315
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/slovakia/

Pure politicking optics.

By adding more scientists and experts? F me, I'd happily have my team fired under several buses if that's what people understand as its definition.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This guy is predicting a very protracted lockdown.
    Hopefully vaccines can start making a dent soon.

https://twitter.com/johnmcclean_ie/status/1346433293953200129?s=20
    The unknown here is that he's predicting that the halving rate is the same as Oct/Nov. When the data from April suggests that a sharper spike results in a faster decline. But in terms of expectations, we should look at the Oct/Nov decline rate as the worst-case scenario.

Pure politicking optics.

Exactly. How about they "refresh" the cabinet instead.
    They're the ones making a balls of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Not sure what other restrictions could happen:

https://twitter.com/sandra_hurley/status/1346434602227871746

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭BobbyMalone

#open the pubs

In fairness, that poster mentioned nothing about pubs (which are closed, right?) It's good advice to take some time away from social media, not just for you but for us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,191 ✭✭✭prunudo

I've stopped alcohol since all this started. I want to be better at fighting of any infections. Along with taking loads of vitamins

- Vit D
    - Magnesium for better absorption of vit d
    - Vit C
    - Zinc
    - Quercetin (acts like a key to open your cells so that zinc can get in and do it's job)
    - Bromelain can help with blood clots (though not enough evidence)

I think all these are better than fueling myself with alcohol

I think as we get older we start listening to our bodies more, maybe without realising it. Nothing wrong with taking supplements to boast our immune system and also good to know what triggers mood or health ailments. Cutting alcohol and processed foods can have a huge benefit, but people need to make that choice themselves, some health food people can be very preachy. I like a pint as much as the next person but its also good to detox and get a clearer head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

The latest gp covid community tracker is out:

https://twitter.com/gpbuddy/status/1346436969753153541

There is always something of a spike on Monday (following the weekend), but it does not look like we have peaked yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭Christy42

Ah here. When I saw vitamin D earlier in the thread I presumed people were talking about drinking a bit more milk.

Supplements can be of varying quality and aren't really needed in the majority of cases.

I don't see a need to tell everyone to go out and tell people to take vitamin D supplements. Recommending dietary choices might not be a bad idea.

I support anyone getting a better bmi for general health (it needed) but it has little to do with Covid. I know obesity is a risk factor but if you get covid in the next little while you will likely not have had enough time to lose said weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

I find they are both closely linked.

As the late Paidi O'Se used say 'if the body is right the mind won't be far behind'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Hurrache wrote: »
    By adding more scientists and experts? F me, I'd happily have my team fired under several buses if that's what people understand as its definition.

Sure it's a benefit to NPHET. I don't dispute that.

However, the public will perceive it differently and that's what counts in the ballot booth from a Goverment perspective.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭mcburns07

#open the pubs

That's not even remotely what I said...

Stress is bad for your health. Reduce stress = healthier and happier. Much more beneficial than taking vitamins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I wasn't asking for advice.

Oh that’s fine, I’m not advising you just stating a fact . I could care less what you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,944 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Pure politicking optics.

They're also moving Watt, a guy who was saying we should reopen stuff sooner, to the Department of Health. Clear to see where the governments priorities lie with that

The source saying they want ''more medical specialists who are knowledgeable and have strong personalities'' is interesting. Thought they'd want the exact opposite tbh based on previous differences between NPHET and government.

Sure it's a benefit to NPHET. I don't dispute that.

However, the public will perceive it differently and that's what counts in the ballot booth from a Goverment perspective.

People who lap up the Indo click bait maybe, but anyone with a bit of cop on will think nothing other than it's a good move to add more scientists and medics to the team.

The latest gp covid community tracker is out:

There is always something of a spike on Monday (following the weekend), but it does not look like we have peaked yet.

Loving these guys. Early warning, and hopefully can tell us the peak has arrived sooner than cases/swabs.

No sign yet, though you wouldn't expect to see a peak just yet

Oh that’s fine, I’m not advising you just stating a fact . I could care less what you do.

That's nice of you. I thought you had a heart of stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,300 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Hurrache wrote: »

depends what some of those are experts in!?

FF would probably chuck in some lad whose expertise lies within the alcohol trade...

• Registered Users Posts: 47 bluefivetwo23

Back to work tomorrow in hospitality doing take away only and I’m genuinely worried. The place is still very busy with customers ordering and waiting inside and there is no distancing between staff.

Martin on radio 1 confirming schools closing until end of January is on agenda today. Say that's it so.