Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gyms to Reopen 2021???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

I won’t use the phrase “a lot “ but quite a few gyms in Dublin remained opened during the last lockdown

Gym users told not to park in the car park , turn up before 6, climb over walls , tell nobody

I know of at least 5 gyms that were doing this and letting certain members train

North side of Dublin in particular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I won’t use the phrase “a lot “ but quite a few gyms in Dublin remained opened during the last lockdown

Gym users told not to park in the car park , turn up before 6, climb over walls , tell nobody

I know of at least 5 gyms that were doing this and letting certain members train

North side of Dublin in particular

Mrs Kenna also continued to frequent the gym here in Cork City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,559 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Hard to see smaller Gyms staying in business now.

It would be nice to see a nuanced approach to this looming lockdown and leave Gyms and non essential retail alone. Yesterday was insane in shopping centres because of the return to level 5 looming, the previous few days the places were largely deserted. That heavy traffic will undoubtedly cause it's own volume of Covid cases.

The last lockdown was laughable, the streets of Dublin were full of people drinking take away pints every night, but of course Gyms are a more serious problem for transmission of Covid.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

why would they keep gyms open if we're going to see case numbers worse than ever probably in the next few days?
    I'm just back from Westwood Sandymount. Lots of groups talking to each other, right beside each other in the pools etc.
    I don't want them to close but they're really not enforcing anything. You shouldn't be allowed go to gyms with your mates.
    Tomorrow they'll be announced closed for sure. I just don't know why they even bothered letting them open up as this was always going to happen. Idiots.

What I see in the gym is generally quite good. There are significant issues around people loading barbells and walking away at the end as has always happened. That's no longer good enough (not that it ever was) - they should be unloaded and sanitised at the end.

The other issue I see too is young males insisting on walking around in bunches (unmasked). I don't expect people in the gym to be masked but the premise to that is that you are training individually and maintaining social distance. I have seen some groups pulled up on it but given the prevalence of young males in gyms and their apparent lack of confidence in going alone it's a moving target.

Whether this is equating to infection spread is another matter. But I suppose when we don't have a tracking and tracing system of any value we'll never really know. But my sense is that gyms have made a good and genuine effort (with sanitisation stations, signage, spacing etc.) leaving aside that the behaviour of some individuals in the gyms could be better.

Looks like we'll hardly see the inside of a gym before March, and that's probably optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Gyms were always going to close , government allowed them open for the few extra days just to show that they had tried regarding gyms after the backlash in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,763 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'm sure you guys saw Harris say he felt full Phase 5 restrictions could be imminent yesterday. Not as clear a signal of intentions as it would have been if we just had a FG government, but I could see gym and retail closing for a fortnight or so alright. Although, anecdotally, seems like what just needs to happen is for people to stop doing the Christmas house visits and meet-ups that have been going on all month (Myself included).

Schools will be OK to reopen I think. Even the INTO aren't calling for outright school closures.. They're looking for a delay in opening from January 6 to January 11 at the earliest... To be honest, I could tolerate a delay till 11 January but I suspect like most working parents that would be about as far as I could go. I think the government are aware of this, and it's been reflected in their commitment to keeping the schools open. At the end of the day if you have a workforce who can't work, then there's no one generating the money that is keeping the healthcare system and pandemic unemployment payments going. The other element is that, frankly, kids need to be educated and we necessarily tolerate a larger amount of risk around that than in relation to other settings. If we absolutely had to do it then where I disagree with the INTO is that primary schools should be first. Primary kids have the lowest rate of transmission, AFAIK. Aware this isn't the forum for discussion of this, however, so I'll leave it there.

Are you not aware that you're only saying that because school is free childcare?

Couldn't possibly be because you know....having to work to pay bills and such like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I got what was probably my last session in this morning. Once again compliance terrible in the pool. Bunches of middle aged people congregated and chatting, i think they're all in an iron man club or something. I wish I could say gyms arent a problem but i keep seeing stupid stuff in Westwood.
    Kids eduction is more important than most things so schools should always be the last things to close, gyms are a no brainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Rosita wrote: »
    What I see in the gym is generally quite good. There are significant issues around people loading barbells and walking away at the end as has always happened. That's no longer good enough (not that it ever was) - they should be unloaded and sanitised at the end.

The other issue I see too is young males insisting on walking around in bunches (unmasked). I don't expect people in the gym to be masked but the premise to that is that you are training individually and maintaining social distance. I have seen some groups pulled up on it but given the prevalence of young makes in gyms and their apparent lack of confidence is going alone it's a moving target.

Whether this is equating to infection spread is another matter. But I suppose when we don't have a tracking and tracing system of any value we'll never really know. But my sense is that gyms have made a good and genuine effort (with sanitisation stations, signage, spacing etc.) leaving aside that the behaviour of some individuals in the gyms could be better.

Looks like we'll hardly see the inside of a gym before March, and that's probably optimistic.

I really don't get obsession with sanitising weights, it's a complete waste of time considering you're sharing an enclosed space with many maskless individuals. Dont go licking your fingers before you sanitise your own hands, simple. It makes about as much sense as retail workers, or you, spraying down the butter shelf after you've had a rummage around.

Are you not aware that you're only saying that because school is free childcare?

Couldn't possibly be because you know....having to work to pay bills and such like.

Not clear what the difference is here? People need the childcare (all the better if it's free of course) to enable them to work. So it's the same thing isn't it?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Schools being open or closed is definitely becoming a fraught issue!

Not clear what the difference is here? People need the childcare (all the better if it's free of course) to enable them to work. So it's the same thing isn't it?

I think he was being ironic.

There's a bad faith argument made that parents only want to avoid having to mind their children at home... But although that's likely a factor to at least some extent (Even if we love our kids...) the reality is that the bigger issue is people being unable to work either at home or as essential workers because suddenly the schools are closed.

Schools as free childcare is also a really odd way of thinking about schools. Clearly they're taxpayer funded so the 'free' thing is out the window one way or the other, but, also ... Isn't it just really offensive to teachers, as it's much more than just that going on? One thing about 2020 is that it has taught me that trying to get small children to read and write is a lot bloody harder than it looks :pac:

I think the fact that the schools have been open for the winter has been of economic significance but I would also say the fact that kids are being properly educated again is no small thing.

givyjoe wrote: »
    I really don't get obsession with sanitising weights, it's a complete waste of time considering you're sharing an enclosed space with many maskless individuals. Dont go licking your fingers before you sanitise your own hands, simple. It makes about as much sense as retail workers, or you, spraying down the butter shelf after you've had a rummage around.

You are the only one mentioning the word obsession. It takes 30 seconds using materials provided (why do they provide them if there's no point) It's more courtesy, decency, consideration for others, a statement that the most important thing in the gym is not you personally, a statement that you will visibly do your bit to keep gyms open, an acknowledgement of the possibility (and no doubt this is completely wrong) that infection might be spread by shared surfaces.

Bizarrely you mention why do it when you're already sharing an enclosed space with maskless individuals - that's a reason to clean surfaces not a reason to not do so. I am expected to clean surfaces in my work (and masks are mandatory there) - it's routine basic expectation. Can't see for the life of me why that should be different in a gym which by its nature is quite a tactile environment.

I think he was being ironic.

I get that. But the first comment alone would have made that point.

Schools as free childcare is also a really odd way of thinking about schools. Clearly they're taxpayer funded so the 'free' thing is out the window one way or the other,

You are in a sense equating childcare in a school setting with street-lighting, as in both are free at the point of use but ultimately funded by tax revenue. However the fact that there's a thriving private industry in the former is a significant difference. Someone who saves a few hundred euros per week because their child is in school might not consider free childcare a really odd way of thinking about schools.

I don't think there is a 'thriving private industry' which is equivalent to our school system, actually. If you mean private child minding arrangements or similar, that's still a really reductionist way of thinking about what the purpose of a school is. Teachers educate children, which was the other point I was making, it's not just about the fact that it frees up parents to make economic contributions keeping the whole show on the road. But I think you've agreed, in the end, that schools are taxpayer funded so we've all paid to one extent or another whatever way we want to conceive of the purpose of it.

If the schools do close it might be that there will be people paying hundreds of euros in private childcare and lamenting that expenditure... But let's also spare a thought for the folks that just can't afford to pay and will have to take unpaid leave or quit their jobs.

I don't think there is a 'thriving private industry' which is equivalent to our school system, actually. If you mean private child minding arrangements or similar, that's still a really reductionist way of thinking about what the purpose of a school is.

I wasn't commenting on the broader purpose of a school. I was merely dealing with the view that something publicly funded but free at the point of use is not regarded as 'free'. I think when contrasted with the cost of alternative childcare people do see it as free and I don't agree with you that it's an odd way to think about it. I'd say it's an understandable way to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

You only have to look on instagram at these fitness influencers flouting the advice on individual training. Someone else videoing them and vice versa. On the explore page there a guy called Gary Pineda in cork proudly showing clips of him and some other guy training push day. The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,763 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I get that. But the first comment alone would have made that point.

There are a lot of people that don't seem to understand the second part when they make a rather reductive argument around schools being open or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

DuffleBag wrote: »
    You only have to look on instagram at these fitness influencers flouting the advice on individual training. Someone else videoing them and vice versa. On the explore page there a guy called Gary Pineda in cork proudly showing clips of him and some other guy training push day. The mind boggles

I wouldn't have thought instagram fitness influencers were in the least bit self absorbed ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Just from the gym now, good few in there but Ben D is massive so no crowding... Couple of lads training together but quickly told not do so and they separated and trained alone. But the inevitable is that the place will close over the next day or so... shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

DuffleBag wrote: »

His sister was part of attempted compensation fraud, I wouldnt worry about the likes of him or those that look up to him. Brain dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Yeah you're right I'd say. To be fair the increased hygiene in the gyms is great and hopefully it'll stay post covid. Fellas on a bike for a half hour going full throttle and giving it a light rub with a towel before the next persons jumps on almost makes me sick now thinking back.

yep same!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

I got what was probably my last session in this morning. Once again compliance terrible in the pool. Bunches of middle aged people congregated and chatting, i think they're all in an iron man club or something. I wish I could say gyms arent a problem but i keep seeing stupid stuff in Westwood.
    Kids eduction is more important than most things so schools should always be the last things to close, gyms are a no brainer.

Westwood is full of wnakers that are just doing whatever they please and staff are completely and utterly useless.

If it wasn’t for the decent facilities I’d be long gone.

Coybig_ wrote: »
    His sister was part of attempted compensation fraud, I wouldnt worry about the likes of him or those that look up to him. Brain dead.

She got a pay out when she was a kid so probably reckoned she was adept at it.... Fair play to the judge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Kamu

Augeo wrote: »
    She got a pay out when she was a kid so probably reckoned she was adept at it.... Fair play to the judge

I found the article, she posted on Instagram of her in the gym very soon after that accident, though she 'hurt' her lower back.

Chancer.

Yeah embarrassing stuff TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,499 ✭✭✭ongarite

Home training again until 30th January at earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Anyone know where I could get a foldable bench that can be inclined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

**** sakes. Raging.

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Looks like the gym is shagged for now folks, I was only getting back to where I was on deadlifts and squats but what can we do
    Few fitness bits and bobs in aldi and Lidl tomorrow and home store normally have a spinning bike in at half price if I remember rightly
    Anyone know if the bike in home store is any good, I think they have 2 types one with an 18kg and the other with a 21kg flywheel
    Herself is thinking about getting one

I think the 20kg is supposed to be better because it is belt driven and not chain driven. Was trying to research them today
    I ended up ordering this one which I think might be better again but I really don't know much about them

https://www.fitnessequipmentireland.ie/product/bolt-h2-spin-bike/