Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Penfailed wrote: »
    That's your prerogative.

Thank you, it is. It disturbs me greatly as my individual freedom mean a lot to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Fodla wrote: »
    That's a lot of 'don'ts' a person has to do. And hysteria has taken over the country. It's not just the news. It's the people as well.

I must mix in different circles.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Fodla

This is my biggest fear at the moment.

Restrictions to help with bad flu seasons, climate change, poor weather etc
    Restrictions in hospitals to prevent illness/infection.

It was simple to put these restrictions in place.
    Much harder to get rid of them as we can see 9 months later.

And climate lockdowns have already been floated. And don't forget that the theme for the next grand meeting in Davos is the 'Great Reset'. Climate change and monumental changes to tackle it are being promised. This is not a conspiracy theory. People can read about it on the World Economic Forum website.

If you don't read the papers, listen to the news or watch the daily briefings, I can assure you the only negativity and hysteria you'll find is in this thread...surprisingly, mostly from the 'open up crew'.

well if you say all your views are positive, which is your opinion and theirs are opposing views, then yes, they're negative of course, that's the science taken care of. so who do you deem to be right and who to you deem to be wrong in all of this, are we back to this whole cancel them they don't agree with my view crap.

they're not open up merchants no more than you're a full lockdown merchant.
    you're clever enough to see that i know for a fact. there needs to be a medium and it just isn't happening.

...so, not lockdown then. You're actually talking about restrictions. Thanks for clearing that up. For the record, I don't think level two or three will be permanent either.

Okay, a half lockdown then. Level 3 isn't much better than level 5. They're both horribly restrictive.

Didn't happen. I mostly agree with the rest of your post that I didn't quote but at least try to be accurate with the detail. It weakens your argument. The part about 'large parts of 2021' is just supposition on your part.

Pubs have been practically closed since March apart from a week or two in September. Wet pubs that is.

Leo is saying we’ll probably lockdown again early next year.

It’s difficult to see wet pubs opening before next summer. That’s just my opinion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Thread gone full conspiracy theory again.

rusty cole wrote: »
    if you're young and lockdowns roll for another 2 years say, then correct, you are right, it's a transient measure.

If you live in a care home or are quite old, in your 80's, then two years is permanent, considering your life expectancy. we were put on level 3 for 2-3 weeks I think now, then level 5 for another 6, and we'll be back on level 3 at best til January..all in we have been very restricted again for possibly 12 weeks at least...and now we're hearing of a more intensive lockdown in January.

This is like a form of chemo for the economy..one more round.. just one more round..well if the economy dies and theres feck all tax take, will you be happy with a larger USC to fund the unemployed?? of which there will be thousands and then we cannot emigrate unless you are Covid free and can prove it!! emigrate to where??

But apparently the economy doesn't matter. 20% unemployment doesn't matter. 45% youth unemployment doesn't matter. All that matters is COVID-19. Nothing else.

I'd emigrate to a non-Western country. Somewhere where life is simple.

froog wrote: »

Such as? Engage each point and you can tell us why it's a CT- getting pretty sick of posters here throwing out this stuff to diminish and belittle other people's view.

Could you point out what the conspiracy theory is? I'd love to know. I have provided links to articles about people calling for climate lockdowns, I have stated that I believe a level 2 or 3 style permanent lockdown is a possibility based on the evidence of the last 8 months, and I have suggested people read about the Great Reset, which can be read about on the World Economic Forum website. What's the conspiracy theory? Is it a conspiracy theory to believe that a level 2 or 3 type permanent lockdown is a possibility? Is the possibility not to be discussed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

But apparently the economy doesn't matter. 20% unemployment doesn't matter. 45% youth unemployment doesn't matter. All that matters is COVID-19. Nothing else.

I'd emigrate to a non-Western country. Somewhere where life is simple.

Go on then.

Could you point out what the conspiracy theory is? I'd love to know. I have provided links to articles about people calling for climate lockdowns, I have stated that I believe a level 2 or 3 style permanent lockdown is a possibility based on the evidence of the last 8 months, and I have suggested people read about the Great Reset, which can be read about on the World Economic Forum website. What's the conspiracy theory? Is it a conspiracy theory to believe that a level 2 or 3 type permanent lockdown is a possibility? Is the possibility not to be discussed?

https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/55017002

The Great Reset is a well documented and debunked conspiracy theory.

I never suggested the pandemic was orchestrated. I mentioned the Great Reset in the context of the possibility of climate lockdowns. Huge changes have been promised bas part of the reset. Since climate change is top of the agenda, and if people wish to verify that what I'm saying is true they can read about it on the WEF website, it is not unreasonable to imagine that climate change restrictions will be proposed. In fact, I would say it's highly likely.

And I emphasise once again that this is not a conspiracy theory.

Pubs have been practically closed since March apart from a week or two in September. Wet pubs that is.

Leo is saying we’ll probably lockdown again early next year.

It’s difficult to see wet pubs opening before next summer. That’s just my opinion though.

I can't see them ever opening again. I hope people don't think I'm being overly negative. I'm basing all of what I say on the evidence of the past eight months, on the state of the economy, and on it being impossible for pubs to operate properly with social distancing. And nightclubs for that matter.

As we currently stand- yes I completely agree. We are stuck in a paralysis. Government does not exist in any form we've known for 100 years, they are enthralled to a thrown together committee of Autocrats and Bureaucrats.
    So without a goverment that is going to govern and make the neccessary decisions to get life back to normal then you are completely correct.
    The goalposts keep moving and moving.

I never suggested the pandemic was orchestrated. I mentioned the Great Reset in the context of the possibility of climate lockdowns. Huge changes have been promised bas part of the reset. Since climate change is top of the agenda, and if people wish to verify that what I'm saying is true they can read about it on the WEF website, it is not unreasonable to imagine that climate change restrictions will be proposed. In fact, I would say it's highly likely.

And I emphasise once again that this is not a conspiracy theory.

There is no evidence anywhere of climate change lockdowns in relation to the great reset initiative outside of conspiracy theories.

Adding "this is not a conspiracy" at the end of your posts doesnt magically make it not one.

There is no evidence anywhere of climate change lockdowns in relation to the great reset initiative outside of conspiracy theories.

Adding "this is not a conspiracy" at the end of your posts doesnt magically make it not one.

But I never said there was any evidence of climate change lockdowns in relation to the Great Reset. I suggested that they could be on the table since huge changes have been promised as part of the Great Reset and climate change is top of the agenda. A climate lockdown would be a huge change. I also linked to an article about a leading UN economist who advises European governments, Mariana Mazzucato, floating the idea of a climate lockdown. Lindsay Hoyle also floated the possibility of a climate lockdown.

The article by Mariana Mazzucato: https://www.wbcsd.org/Overview/Panorama/Articles/Avoiding-a-climate-lockdown

"The window for launching a climate revolution – and achieving an inclusive recovery from COVID-19 in the process – is rapidly closing. We need to move quickly if we want to transform the future of work, transit, and energy use, and make the concept of a “green good life” a reality for generations to come. One way or the other, radical change is inevitable; our task is to ensure that we achieve the change we want – while we still have the choice."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Anything counter to information given to us by our betters, the experts, is a conspiracy theory. To be righteous, you must not ask questions, Comrade.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    As we currently stand- yes I completely agree. We are stuck in a paralysis. Government does not exist in any form we've known for 100 years, they are enthralled to a thrown together committee of Autocrats and Bureaucrats.
    So without a goverment that is going to govern and make the neccessary decisions to get life back to normal then you are completely correct.
    The goalposts keep moving and moving.

And there's no real opposition in the Dáil either. No opposition from RTÉ or the print media. In the UK, the Daily Mail, and whether or not people believe it to be a good paper or not is irrelevant in this instance, hammered the government re COVID and provided statistics and evidence to suggest that they had manipulated data to push for restrictions and a lockdown. It's impossible to imagine that ever happening in Ireland. The UK also has The Telegraph and Talk Radio. Ireland has nothing. It doesn't even have to be a conservative newspaper. Just opposition to what's going on.

The ECB are saying that hopes for a swift economic recovery in 2021 have now faded.

With countries going into 2nd lockdowns and possibly third lockdown in the new year , sh*t is going to hit the fan.

The ECB are saying that hopes for a swift economic recovery in 2021 have now faded.

With countries going into 2nd lockdowns and possibly third lockdown in the new year , sh*t is going to hit the fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Wonderful news: Professor Luke O’Neill has said that hugs can happen this Christmas but that there are conditions attached.

‘Good ventilation — Open the window, stick Grandpa by the window and have a good breeze going through.

‘You can certainly hug briefly. Wear masks, have a quick hug outdoors. That is a low-risk activity really.

Brilliant, lets have a freezing cold breeze hit an elderly person in the middle of December and possibly make them sick from something not related to covid. The irony!

My god you have to wonder sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Not sure if this has been posted here yet or not. A video has surfaced of Prof Luke O’Neil talking to a class of school children by zoom, in which he declares they all have to get the vaccine. And that we may have to wear a permanent non-removable ‘bracelet’ - ‘which could pose a problem to our civil liberties‘ he jokes.
    1. The Covid pandemic has been the most over reacted to illness of our time
    2. There is no data out there to back up anything he suggested.
    3. How is it legal for a Professor to effectively start grooming children with ‘appearances’ in schools like this? He also posted a coke ad alternative also re the vaccine coming.
    4. The Department of Education should investigate this urgently as it sounds like a sponsored/paid partnership appearance effectively trying to influence our youth into a course of action regarding their health and well-being, a group who also remain the least affected by Covid.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9IcwLxCo2pM

And don’t even get me started on Nutty Professor Tomás Ryan shouting about zero Covid on Virgin media last night. He’s not even qualified to speak on this issue in the manner in which he does, he’s a neuro scientist. He has made so many false claims on Rte’s Prime Time of the threat Covid presents, including that ‘100’s of children could die’ which is completely false when looking at the data.

Luke wants to be a celebrity. There was a time there the other week when he was on the tv morning noon and night. He adores the limelight. As far as I can see, his opinions do not influence or inform any government decisions so why is he constantly spouting rubbish and telling us all what he thinks we should do? He is not a part of NPHET. He is just an immunologist who has not had his mug off the tv since this whole thing started.

If anyone thinks for one second that the likes of Luke and NPHET will be adhering to their own stupid standards on Christmas Day they need their heads examined. They’ll be having a right old knees up not a bother on them. I’m still not over Luke’s suggestion yesterday of leaving the elders of your family sit near an open window in the coldest month of the year. How about he and his ilk all sit outside since they’re the ones perpetuating the constant fear. Better still, catapult them all into outer space so we never have to look at them or hear them again. That should be enough social distance for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Ankle bracelets and DNA testing are also being considered on airplanes now.

When will people resist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

Respectfully question everything folks.

Think for yourselves. Do your own research. Consensus does'nt always equate to truth. There are vested interests in all facets of life.

Look at how data is presented. Compare it to what you can find. If it does'nt reflect what you have read ask yourself why? Challenge friends and family if they are using incorrect facts or making statements based on fallacies. The truth haas no temperature.

Try and look after your mental health. Everyone on both sides of the argument whether pro or against. They have us all fighting amongst ourselves.

I lost someone in the family to suicide this summer which prompted me to start posting. It leaves a lot more questions than answers and official Ireland definitely let him down. I suppose my perspective on life changed. I hadn't intended on staying around posting for so long.

I believe this quote was falsely attributed to Winston Churchill but I think it resonates anyway:

When asked to cut funding to the arts to fund the war effort Churchill replied "then what are we fighting for".

Id ask the same question in relation to the manner in which we are at war with the virus........

I don't want to die. I don't want my nana or mother to die either . But most of all I don't want enjoyable day to day life (as i knew it) to die.

Life is wasted on the living they say. You are only promised today. Tomorrow might never come.

I think they have taken too many "todays" from us already. This juice was definitely not worth the squeeze.

Farewell comrades. I hope to see you all unmasked and smiling on Dublin streets (and beyond) in the near future. Even the curtain twitching assholes and wind up merchants. Your liberty will make me just as happy.

It rains on the just and unjust alike.

And remember this going forward in relation to how we all interact.

When you wake up in the morning and you meet a **** when you leave the house , well you were just unlucky to meet a **** . If you're meeting ****'s all day......you're the ****

Im out.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭facehugger99

There is no doubt that we are in the midst of a form of mass hysteria. The latest nonsense to come out about Christmas is indicative of that.

And while a lot of people, like myself, will chuckle at it and continue to ignore it, there is a large cohort that have already gone so balls deep into the 'killer-virus' narrative that they literally can't stop the pretense without looking like morons.

The government are in a similar position, they can't admit that the tens of billions that have been pissed away on this nonsense, was a waste so we are left with them propagating nonsense about restrictions and lockdowns into the new year.

In the years to come there will be questions and a lot of anger as the sheer scale of waste is laid bare. When funding to services are cut because of debt servicing requirements, when taxes are raised to pay the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭StevenToast

RobitTV wrote: »
    Wonderful news: Professor Luke O’Neill has said that hugs can happen this Christmas but that there are conditions attached.

‘Good ventilation — Open the window, stick Grandpa by the window and have a good breeze going through.

‘You can certainly hug briefly. Wear masks, have a quick hug outdoors. That is a low-risk activity really.

Brilliant, lets have a freezing cold breeze hit an elderly person in the middle of December and possibly make them sick from something not related to covid. The irony!

My god you have to wonder sometimes.

Luke O'Neill is the national fool...he will show up on the Toy Show spreading some bullsh1t about how everything will be fine as long as you do as youre told...

Irelands clown...along with tubridy

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Luke wants to be a celebrity. There was a time there the other week when he was on the tv morning noon and night. He adores the limelight. As far as I can see, his opinions do not influence or inform any government decisions so why is he constantly spouting rubbish and telling us all what he thinks we should do? He is not a part of NPHET. He is just an immunologist who has not had his mug off the tv since this whole thing started.

If anyone thinks for one second that the likes of Luke and NPHET will be adhering to their own stupid standards on Christmas Day they need their heads examined. They’ll be having a right old knees up not a bother on them. I’m still not over Luke’s suggestion yesterday of leaving the elders of your family sit near an open window in the coldest month of the year. How about he and his ilk all sit outside since they’re the ones perpetuating the constant fear. Better still, catapult them all into outer space so we never have to look at them or hear them again. That should be enough social distance for them.

And you got your medical degree from where again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

And you got your medical degree from where again ?

You don’t need a medical degree to have a bit of common sense and realise this is nothing but a complete and utter farce. Anyone with a medical degree advising that the old and vulnerable should be sat near a drafty window in December haven’t much going on between the ears.

Luke O'Neill is the national fool...he will show up on the Toy Show spreading some bullsh1t about how everything will be fine as long as you do as youre told...

Irelands clown...along with tubridy

And now the begrudgery phase....