Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

rusty cole wrote: »
    weird, the time was people would actually have to make statements about homeless people dying on the street coming so close to Xmas let alone the rest of the year.

Covid coverage is at saturation pint surely now.

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/newsireland/two-homeless-men-tragically-found-dead-in-dublin-city-centre/ar-BB1bluUR?li=BBr5KbJ

RTÉ: "Hold my takeaway beer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

weird, the time was people would actually have to make statements about homeless people dying on the street coming so close to Xmas let alone the rest of the year.

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/newsireland/two-homeless-men-tragically-found-dead-in-dublin-city-centre/ar-BB1bluUR?li=BBr5KbJ

that's awful.
    not a word about it in MSM?

In 2020, if it’s not Covid, it doesn’t matter.

mikekerry wrote: »
    that's awful.
    not a word about it in MSM?

et voila!!

Try find it!

https://www.rte.ie/news/

This was from the last one that rocked the govt into action.
    Now it's gas as we cannot even form a vigil because it's considered an
    organized event with 12 or more,

https://www.thejournal.ie/vigil-leinster-house-homeless-1811953-Dec2014/

It also says you are permitted to leave your home if you're fleeing danger or domestic abuse!!!
    This is on the citizen information site, imagine actually putting that in writing!!FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

We had 2 in Limerick a couple of weeks back as well, not a mention of them just the Covid numbers for Limerick. As a nation we have allowed ourselves to become consumed by this and the constant doom peddled by the media and NPHET. I’m strongly against the likes of the anti mask imbeciles and conspiracy theorists, but as a nation it’s time we stood up and say enough is enough. Stop killing our economy and restricting us for something that is grossly overrated. I have no issue with masks and distancing until we get a vaccine, but this bull**** of locking down the country because a few hundred people caught this thing is insane at this point.

And if the point of these lockdowns is to allow the HsE to increase capacity, then they need a swift kick in the bollix to get a move on because from what I see they have been an absolute failure at doing that both in lockdown 1 and now 2. Don’t come looking for a 3rd unless there is visible progress.

Over on the vaccine thread, people are understandably getting antsy about how we are going to manage the rollout of the vaccine.

Other countries are extremely positive and seem to have advanced plans in place to get their population vaccinated.

Between NPHET, Government and our media, as a country we seem to have almost brushed off the good news and would rather focus our energies on the small details of lockdown 2 and the likely timeline of lockdown 3.

We seem more focused on gravy boats and how to prevent pubs finding loopholes so they can open.

It’s very sad. I stand by what i previously said. We’ll be the last in Europe to get back to normality.

Other countries will have full stadiums before we open our pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,201 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Over on the vaccine thread, people are understandably getting antsy about how we are going to manage the rollout of the vaccine.

Other countries are extremely positive and seem to have advanced plans in place to get their population vaccinated.

Between NPHET, Government and our media, as a country we seem to have almost brushed off the good news and would rather focus our energies on the small details of lockdown 2 and the likely timeline of lockdown 3.

We seem more focused on gravy boats and how to prevent pubs finding loopholes so they can open.

It’s very sad. I stand by what i previously said. We’ll be the last in Europe to get back to normality.

Would not surprise me if MM comes out and says 'there is good news with successful vaccines becoming available but we as a nation must have patience for a little while longer as we will oversee how the vaccines workout in other countries'

Paddy last is the right description for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Would not surprise me if MM comes out and says 'there is good news with successful vaccines becoming available but we as a nation must have patience for a little while longer as we will oversee how the vaccines workout in other countries'

We want the pat on the back to be seen as the best boys in class when in reality, we are drawing with crayons while the rest of the group has moved on to sculpting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

j@utis wrote: »
    And when they get sick, send them to hospitals where they most likely contract covid and might even die with it. And it's all because they hugged their grandkids!

Oh, I can't wait! I'll be slagging pro-lockdowners and mask-lovers for days no end! And also, I hope economy will drag the housing market down with it, that'd absolutely fantastic, we're in the buying position now, so why not! Let's do it. I'm all for 4th lockdown if three won't be enough.

If economy crashes and house prices fall, bank will reduce what they loan out. Rates will go higher also.

So unless you have cash, you might struggle to buy !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I know Dee wall isn't the most educated or articulate woman in Ireland but fair play to her for fighting for our freedom

I don't want her or Gemma O Doherty doing anything for me thanks !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Fodla wrote: »
    I can't see them ever opening again. I hope people don't think I'm being overly negative.

You can't see pubs ever opening again?! I think you're being overly negative.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭thegetawaycar

Penfailed wrote: »
    You can't see pubs ever opening again?! I think you're being overly negative.

Any viable pub pre-covid will re-open, if you think people will lose the chance to profit in the future because of what happened in the past, it's wrong.

What will likely happen is that ownership will change as unfortunately the current owners have gone through the lean time. What I hope is this doesn't lead to chain pubs taking over.

Insurance for pandemic will go through the roof or loss of earnings cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭AssetBacked2

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    They must open up despite the NPHET/Govt dictats- all open en masse and two fingers to these dystopian Autocrat headballs. Enough is enough now

To open up their business and get on with life. Simple, nothing hysterical or outlandish to suggest. Allowing a business to re-open.

That cov-hysterics think this is something which shouldn't be allowed really shows we have extremists in our midst.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

paw patrol wrote: »
    bUt ItS fReE mOnEy , PaScaL sAiD sO

I can't wait for the penny to drop with the 'we can just borrow infinitely' school of economics people that they're not going to come out of the government spending spree as unscathed as they thought they would.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I bought this in March .. may never go to a barber again :D

That's actually one plus for me alright, have saved a fortune on haircuts for myself and the two kids (boys) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭AssetBacked2

I can't wait for the penny to drop with the 'we can just borrow infinitely' school of economics people that they're not going to come out of the government spending spree as unscathed as they thought they would.

The penny should be already dropping for what has happened / is likely to happen with salaries and businesses. It is not as if a switch can be flicked and all of these things recover overnight. All of the issues listed below will be part of the 2021 economic landscape.

I think it is even likely that those of us lucky to be WFH on similar salaries to what we were earning before covid will get no wage increases and/or no bonuses for 2021 (if such things have not already been implemented). Upon returning to normality in society, businesses may look to cut costs as they look to shore up cash.
    • Public sector wages likely to be frozen
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/borrowing-for-pandemic-rules-out-major-public-sector-pay-hike-varadkar-signals-1.4417053
    • FDI into Ireland dramatically reduced in 2020
    https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/sharp-decline-in-global-fdi-flows-raises-concerns-in-ireland-1.4393404
    • PRSI being looked at
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1123/1180017-low-pay-prsi/
    • Eviction ban extension to end up being around a year in total (landlords will unlikely be getting arrears from non-paying tenants)

https://www.thejournal.ie/eviction-ban-5277742-Nov2020/
    • Tourism revenue, as we already know, likely to be down 75% in 2020

http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2020-07/04/c_139188683.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Any viable pub pre-covid will re-open, if you think people will lose the chance to profit in the future because of what happened in the past, it's wrong.

What will likely happen is that ownership will change as unfortunately the current owners have gone through the lean time. What I hope is this doesn't lead to chain pubs taking over.

Insurance for pandemic will go through the roof or loss of earnings cover.

Of course chain pubs will take over.

No small business entrepreneurs will ever take a chance again knowing how easy it is to be wiped out.

Weatherspoons would be a more favourable option for NPHET, food, 2 drinks, get sick of the **** atmosphere and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

The penny will never drop- these people are beyond brainwashed- whatever pain lies ahead they’ll still be on the “it was all worth it” page.

How is everyone else feeling? I dunno, this week has had me more and more dismayed tbh- have this helpless drifting feeling that even if we are “allowed” (fcuk me..) open up for a few weeks then it’s straight back into the punishment beating for January- this is just dreadful carry on and “leaders” of our countries think this is acceptable language.

Of course chain pubs will take over.

No small business entrepreneurs will ever take a chance again knowing how easy it is to be wiped out.

Weatherspoons would be a more favourable option for NPHET, food, 2 drinks, get sick of the **** atmosphere and leave.

The sad thing is, some people seem to believe that no pubs = no alcohol.

But the pub is ultimately just a location that accommodates what people want to do. Drink and socialise.

Without the pub, it’s highly likely the same behaviours continue but in different locations.

For example, people might go to restaurants and order a small main and several rounds of drinks. This was already happening in Dublin City centre.

The anti drink fanatics should just accept that drinking is something that a lot of people like to do and will continue to do.

The sad thing is, some people seem to believe that no pubs = no alcohol.

But the pub is ultimately just a location that accommodates what people want to do. Drink and socialise.

Without the pub, it’s highly likely the same behaviours continue but in different locations.

For example, people might go to restaurants and order a small main and several rounds of drinks. This was already happening in Dublin City centre.

The anti drink fanatics should just accept that drinking is something that a lot of people like to do and will continue to do.

Have to say my urge to go out is way more so. Used to take it for granted. You never knew who you might pump into it getting chatting to.
    Well definitely be a priority to make up for lost time once the Covid autocracy is eventually beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

The government and the media are treating this situation like a reality tv show. Why haven't they announced what the restrictions will be on December 1st? - why wait days and days to learn our dreaded fate. They honestly thrive of this misery.

Why are they continuing on this endless rollercoaster of uncertainty - are they trying to recreate the final of Big Brother or The Apprentice?

The clickbait articles online, and mixed with the media / government spin nonsense, is really beginning to piss people off.

RobitTV wrote: »
    The government and the media are treating this situation like a reality tv show. Why haven't they announced what the restrictions will be on December 1st? - why wait days and days to learn our dreaded fate. They honestly thrive of this misery.

Why are they continuing on this endless rollercoaster of uncertainty - are they trying to recreate the final of Big Brother or The Apprentice?

The clickbait articles online, and mixed with the media / government spin nonsense, is really beginning to piss people off.

Because they’re too spineless to make a decision. Really tired of the lack of governance now, it’s truly appalling

And you'll have the local heroes on the main thread backing it all the way pulling the 'irish people are dumb and can't control themselves' routine

You'll have all the usual types come out of the woodwork "You'll never beat the Irish" - "We are a tolerant people"

Yeah, we will be the very last to get back to normality. What a victory.

PTH2009 wrote: »

I had someone on the main thread tell me the government shouldn't prepare for a vaccine until the data from the companies is verified. This is the main thread where allegedly all the 'smart' posters are and we're all a bunch of eejits on here.

Expect the vaccine news to be downplayed on a massive scale by the media in the coming days. We can't let positive information get in the way of hysterical reactions to the new daily case figures.

When MM eventually announces the easing of restrictions, the vaccine will have to be downplayed big time. Don't want to give people hope.

Then Holohan will be wheeled out for a double dose of doom.

RobitTV wrote: »
    Expect the vaccine news to be downplayed on a massive scale by the media in the coming days. We can't let positive information get in the way of hysterical reactions to the new case figures.

When MM eventually announces the easing of restrictions, the vaccine will have to be downplayed big time. Don't want to give people hope.

Then Holohan will be wheeled out for a double dose of doom.

That’s been happening for weeks! Vaccine? They dont want to know and more especially don’t want you to know.

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    That’s been happening for weeks! Vaccine? They dont want to know and more especially don’t want you to know.

100% agreed, Holohan has no intention of giving up on his power trip. This whole situation is becoming more and more menacing.

I honestly think Holohan or Martin might make an appearance on the Toy Show. Remind the kids that hugging granny or passing her the gravy boat will likely result in death..