Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

brisan wrote: »
    How many people will abide by that
    Very few I would imagine

Not many I would say, enough is enough - no more stipulations, lift this nonsense on December 1st. I will be travelling inter county next week regardless of level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Fodla wrote: »
    But would you rather positivity, hope, and an acknowledgment of the sacrifices people have made, or what we have in Ireland, i.e. 24/7 negativity, non-stop hysteria etc?

Turkey is run by a despot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Fodla

Okay, I get the feeling you don't wish to answer the question. I'm specifically talking about the message from the Health Minister. It just happens to be Turkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

So, you're saying that even a country run by a despot can better communicate with its people that the Irish government/NPHET can.

USC springs to mind as a temporary measure

You’ve just outed yourself with that statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Talks of keeping inter-county travel only until a few days before Christmas, and 3 households could meet at Christmas.

Its funny if it wasnt so tragic.

I mean honestly why even bother floating this idea, as if people are going to blindly obey (i know some will because... well thats another issue altogether)

I mean think about it, some of this stuff, actually a lot of this stuff is so ridiculous it beggars belief.

So they want to encourage everyone who want to travel to travel within one small window! Which means more people all travelling at the same time, busier roads, busier petrol stations ie: more people together in places....

Last sunday i headed off to the beach with the kids and the dog. Well outside my 5k, Stopped by a Guard again at a check point. The same Guard that actually stopped me a few weeks ago, i know him vaguely from GAA over the years. Same conversation, "off down to the beach for a walk again?" "yeah sure ye know yourself, get the kids out when the weathers half decent" "jaysus terrible perfomance last week wasnt it?" "ah dont talk to me, terrible". "anyway go ahead there, enjoy the walk", "no bother good luck"

So i stop in town on the way home, kids are looking for a few Christmas decorations, in to Woodies, foolishly i completely forgot ye cant actually buy decorations. They are all there, all laid out on the shelves, ye can look at them, but all taped off. I mean you can walk around the shop, buy everything from a bathroom mirror, a litre of emulsion, a hammer, an industrial hoover but now buy a few decorations and Covid is there waiting for ye, ready to pounce the minute you buy a bauble, a screwdriver is fine, but a set of Christmas lights, lethal!!

So out we go, on to the phone, on to the woodies website and buy said decorations and back in to collect them

Because Covid cant get ye that way ye see!

You cant sit in a cafe for 30 mins socially distant from others whilst you have a bit of lunch with your family because covid can get ye but teachers can stand in a class room for 6 hours with 30 odd unmasked kids from 30 different families and thats grand, not a bother!

I get the fact we are in a pandemic, i get the need for some restrictions but when we look back at this in a a few years its going to something to behold, a collective madness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Yay looks like cinemas will be opening from next week, hope they show some of the old classic films like they did during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

So is Ireland- the names Tony holohan- though unlike Erdogen he’s never had to stand for election or run for elected office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Also key is whether that case has symptoms or the first they knew of it was when they were told

A case without symptoms is not a problem.

A difference that makes no difference, IS no difference

Do we know for sure that asymptomatic people can't spread the virus?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I hope you're right. I really do. But when Anthony starts talking about the vaccine complementing the current measures then it's rather worrying. And the head of WHO said the same thing.

Anthony has also said ( since the compliments comment) the words “ encouraging news” and “ substantial degree of hope”

I would imagine that someone in his position will play it down a little because he’d be afraid people will drop their guard thinking a vaccine is on the horizon that’s not rolled out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

You’ve just outed yourself with that statement
    What are you trying to imply by that statement
    Are you saying USC was not brought in as a temporary measure
    You seem to throw out a lot of random statements with nothing to back them up

https://www.thejournal.ie/usc-scrapped-2386375-Oct2015/

What are you trying to imply by that statement
    Are you saying USC was not brought in as a temporary measure
    You seem to throw out a lot of random statements with nothing to back them up

https://www.thejournal.ie/usc-scrapped-2386375-Oct2015/

Said poster throws out glib dismissive statements- never ever engages in substantive debate (I wonder why). All along the lines of “I don’t agree with you, so you are stupid”. A sure mark of someone that is simply not able to debate

You can call it hysteria. I call it looking at the evidence of the past 8 months and the increasing encroachment of the State on the lives of the people. My point is that a dangerous precedent has been set with lockdowns. Lockdown could be used for other illnesses and viruses. There could also be climate change lockdowns (an idea that has been posited by a university professor (https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2020/sep/28/professor-floats-idea-climate-lockdown-bans-red-me/) in the UK and by Lindsay Hoyle: https://www.conservativewoman.co.uk/hot-topic-should-we-now-have-climate-change-lockdowns/, https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1334816/climate-change-rules-lindsay-hoyle-G7).

Yes, I can...and I will. It's hysterical to suggest that lockdown is permanent.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

Okay, I get the feeling you don't wish to answer the question. I'm specifically talking about the message from the Health Minister. It just happens to be Turkey.

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Penfailed wrote: »
    Do we know for sure that asymptomatic people can't spread the virus?

We don't know for certain but it appears that's the case yes. The Wuhan study supports the theory also.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-19802-w

polesheep wrote: »
    So, you're saying that even a country run by a despot can better communicate with its people that the Irish government/NPHET can.

No.

Talks of keeping inter-county travel only until a few days before Christmas, and 3 households could meet at Christmas.

Similar to the UK then.

That's fine. We disagree. I think the evidence of the last 8 moths and calls for climate lockdowns suggests otherwise, but let's see.

By permanent lockdown, I'm not suggesting a level 5 type situation. I'm suggesting level 3 or 2.

Tony has already stated the vaccine will “compliment” current measures

Going to be a long decade

Yes. Of course they're complimentary. That's until enough people are vaccinated. I don't think it will take a decade.

It really isn’t- perhaps not full lockdown- but I can see various measures become permanent tools to deal with various situations. That’s what troubles me greatly- once government sticks it’s nose in things, it always finds it hard to butt out

if you're young and lockdowns roll for another 2 years say, then correct, you are right, it's a transient measure.

If you live in a care home or are quite old, in your 80's, then two years is permanent, considering your life expectancy. we were put on level 3 for 2-3 weeks I think now, then level 5 for another 6, and we'll be back on level 3 at best til January..all in we have been very restricted again for possibly 12 weeks at least...and now we're hearing of a more intensive lockdown in January.

This is like a form of chemo for the economy..one more round.. just one more round..well if the economy dies and theres feck all tax take, will you be happy with a larger USC to fund the unemployed?? of which there will be thousands and then we cannot emigrate unless you are Covid free and can prove it!! emigrate to where??

Yes. Of course they're complimentary. That's until enough people are vaccinated. I don't think it will take a decade.

That’s very disturbing in itself. And a situation I don’t and won’t except

But would you rather positivity, hope, and an acknowledgment of the sacrifices people have made, or what we have in Ireland, i.e. 24/7 negativity, non-stop hysteria etc?

If you don't read the papers, listen to the news or watch the daily briefings, I can assure you the only negativity and hysteria you'll find is in this thread...surprisingly, mostly from the 'open up crew'.

If you told me back in March that pubs would be closed for all of 2020 and likely large parts of 2021, I would have laughed and said you’d lost the plot. Yet here we are.

I’ve seen posters on these threads mention that the hospital situation could be improved with stricter regulations around alcohol and curfews.

I’ve seen people say that the use of masks could help against illnesses.

I’ve seen it suggested that climate change could be tackled with bans on non essential air travel.

I do tend to agree with you that lockdown is not permanent. Mainly because it’s so expensive. And eventually nobody would work in those sectors if there was always lockdown.

But we need to be very careful that fanatics don’t get their way. If given the choice, NPHET would permanently close down the pub sector today.

#godcomplex #mesiahinhumanform :D

https://lovindublin.com/dublin/theres-now-a-tony-holahan-mural-on-the-outside-of-a-city-centre-pub

I know we always have to run the risk vs reward on vaccines but read this one, I'm sure the 100 kids who received that vaccine and developed debilitating narcolepsy would have liked to know the risks.. they simply were not told the vaccine was not tested on young adults and pre teens.

good oul Tony can be trusted

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20103788.html

That's fine. We disagree. I think the evidence of the last 8 moths and calls for climate lockdowns suggests otherwise, but let's see.

By permanent lockdown, I'm not suggesting a level 5 type situation. I'm suggesting level 3 or 2.

...so, not lockdown then. You're actually talking about restrictions. Thanks for clearing that up. For the record, I don't think level two or three will be permanent either.

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    That’s very disturbing in itself. And a situation I don’t and won’t except

That's your prerogative.

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    It really isn’t- perhaps not full lockdown- but I can see various measures become permanent tools to deal with various situations. That’s what troubles me greatly- once government sticks it’s nose in things, it always finds it hard to butt out

This is my biggest fear at the moment.

Restrictions to help with bad flu seasons, climate change, poor weather etc
    Restrictions in hospitals to prevent illness/infection.

It was simple to put these restrictions in place.
    Much harder to get rid of them as we can see 9 months later.

If you don't read the papers, listen to the news or watch the daily briefings, I can assure you the only negativity and hysteria you'll find is in this thread...surprisingly, mostly from the 'open up crew'.

That's a lot of 'don'ts' a person has to do. And hysteria has taken over the country. It's not just the news. It's the people as well.

If you told me back in March that pubs would be closed for all of 2020 and likely large parts of 2021, I would have laughed and said you’d lost the plot. Yet here we are.

Didn't happen. I mostly agree with the rest of your post that I didn't quote but at least try to be accurate with the detail. It weakens your argument. The part about 'large parts of 2021' is just supposition on your part.