Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Lundstram wrote: »
    From Irish law.

It is an offence to consume alcohol bought in a closed container

From your post on Irish law. A cup is a container, a cup with a lid on it is a closed container. The attorney general has stated that takeaway plastic glasses are 100% legal. I'll go with his knowledge/interpretation of the law over yours. Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Looks like we're stuck at 400/500 daily cases. Lets be honest there is not a hope NPHET will recommend the opening of pubs with those figures. We'd need to be recording low double digit figures before they'd even consider it.

Unless the Government are willing to go against NPHET, which is unlikely, they should just be honest with the Hospitality industry and tell them that the chances of opening before March or April are virtual nil.

Leading them up the garden path every couple of months is unfair and waste of everyones time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

From Irish law.

Where's the plastic cup with a lid part? Yeah, doesn't exist.

Great, we all agree that "takeaway pints" are perfectly legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

It is an offence to consume alcohol bought in a closed container

From your post on Irish law. The attorney general has stated that takeaway plastic glasses are 100% legal. I'll go with his knowledge/interpretation of the law over yours. Cheers.
    "plastic glasses"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

See above post.

Try pouring a pint from a keg, then try sealing it straight away. It'll explode in your face within 30 seconds.

Definitions aside, they're two very different products.

Again we’re moving into unnecessary obtuseness! Although buying a bottle of wine in an offo and getting take away pints in a pub look and feel very different! They are the exact same thing from a licensing point of view, whether you agree or not! So banning take away pints is difficult. I’m not saying it won’t happen, but it will require some amendments to existing licensing laws, which might have some pushback.

and I'm sure of you were motivated enough and stealthy with time on your hands, every one of these faux experts could easily be caught out in their own little party within parties.

I said it before, these are not smart people, they have the room as comedians say, they have the press and they have the power to force resign, discredit and omit opposing views, it's a Tacit form of Fascism as I see it. Sure have we seen one person in the interest of balance, front and center with Rainbow Ryan on the Not late late enough for my liking show!!

A pub is just an indoor setting for socially bonding etc, take it away and people are only more visible due to the lack of four walls and a ceiling, we'll be sitting round campfires like our Gaelic cousins before these fools cop on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

NPHET need to **** off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Again we’re moving into unnecessary obtuseness! Although buying a bottle of wine in an offo and getting take away pints in a pub look and feel very different! They are the exact same thing from a licensing point of view, whether you agree or not! So banning take away pints is difficult. I’m not saying it won’t happen, but it will require some amendments to existing licensing laws, which might have some pushback.
    Just for the record, I in no way want them banned.

I was contradicting a poster who got their knickers in a twist because he felt I was saying pubs were breaking the law. Literally no one on this thread said that.

What I'm saying is, they can legally stop takeaway pints as they do not meet the requirements of an off-license, ie. they're not closed containers. A lid on a plastic cup is not a closed container. Pedantic? Yes. But I'm merely suggesting the government will site this as a reason to close them down. Not me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

"plastic glasses"?

Don't even need a lid, some cling film will do.

Pints of Guinness wrapped in cling film :D:D, intended for delivery to customers, were also confiscated, although a spokesman for the pub complained gardaí were unable to tell him what laws staff had broken.

However, after the legal advice received in recent days, such deliveries will be possible once the drinks are paid for in advance to a person on a pub’s premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

The hospitality sector should revolt and open up en masse in December if the government don't allow some sort of reopening or schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

ShyMets wrote: »
    Looks like we're stuck at 400/500 daily cases. Lets be honest there is not a hope NPHET will recommend the opening of pubs with those figures. We'd need to be recording low double digit figures before they'd even consider it.

Unless the Government are willing to go against NPHET, which is unlikely, they should just be honest with the Hospitality industry and tell them that the chances of opening before March or April are virtual nil.

Leading them up the garden path every couple of months is unfair and waste of everyones time

One thing is for sure, theres literally 0 difference in terms of new cases between level 3 and level 5.

Neither get you to <100 a day. both get you 500 cases daily on average.

We need to go back to level 3, starting tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Just for the record, I in no way want them banned.

I was contradicting a poster who got their knickers in a twist because he felt I was saying pubs were breaking the law. Literally no one on this thread said that.

What I'm saying is, they can legally stop takeaway pints as they do not meet the requirements of an off-license, ie. they're not closed containers. A lid on a plastic cup is not a closed container. Pedantic? Yes. But I'm merely suggesting the government will site this as a reason to close them down. Not me!

Tell that to Starbucks, Costa, cafe nerro and every coffee shop in the world......

Pandemic Unemployment Payment is subject to income tax, Dáil Finance Committee agrees

This is despite the fact that when the PUP was given legal footing in August, the government characterised all payments under the scheme made between April and August as “urgent needs payments” under Section 202 of the Social Welfare Consolidation Act 2005.

Payments of this type are usually not subject to tax.

https://www.thejournal.ie/finance-bill-pup-tax-5268758-Nov2020/

TERRIBLE. Thats terrible. Magic money tree is truly running out of money. :mad:

This is probably, no, definitely the worst government this country ever had.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

Pandemic Unemployment Payment is subject to income tax, Dáil Finance Committee agrees

This is despite the fact that when the PUP was given legal footing in August, the government characterised all payments under the scheme made between April and August as “urgent needs payments” under Section 202 of the Social Welfare Consolidation Act 2005.

The 'lads we can just borrow the money' brigade are in for a short, sharp kick in the arse in the next 6-12 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭nofools

Easier for them to close them down completely rather than the Gardai actually getting out of their cars and actually enforcing existing laws. Our police force are an utter joke with no one to answer to.

Punish the majority for the actions of a few.

Typical Ireland.

You are the few....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Allinall

All unemployment benefit payments and most social welfare payments are taxable.

Why should PUP be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Cork2021

This banning takeaway pints ****e is a joke!!!
    More nanny state because a fool who was probably drinking as well takes a video and puts it on Snapchat!

Also, There’s an anti alcohol lobby within NPHET and to some extent in government. I don’t have a problem with alcohol but I do like going to the local and having a few pints watching a match after hard weeks work on a Saturday or Sunday. I don’t drink at home, I don’t enjoy it. Herself will have her wine on a Friday or Saturday but she also prefers going for a drink with friends outside of home.
    It’s not the company it’s getting out of the house, chilling having a chat about something trivial and so on.

They're not be served this way though. They're being poured into a plastic cup, some with a lid some with no lid.

Good to see the finer details of how we can beat this virus being discussed.

Cork2021 wrote: »
    This banning takeaway pints ****e is a joke!!!
    More nanny state because a fool who was probably drinking as well takes a video and puts it on Snapchat!

Also, There’s an anti alcohol lobby within NPHET and to some extent in government. I don’t have a problem with alcohol but I do like going to the local and having a few pints watching a match after hard weeks work on a Saturday or Sunday. I don’t drink at home, I don’t enjoy it. Herself will have her wine on a Friday or Saturday but she also prefers going for a drink with friends outside of home.
    It’s not the company it’s getting out of the house, chilling having a chat about something trivial and so on.

Off license -> outdoors -> meet friend

Problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,948 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I do have to say I have no idea whats the pub offlicence or on licence argument is all about, who is right or wrong or how it even started, but I am very intrigued to follow the posts.

One guy wrote a post that was incorrect in almost every detail, several people have pointed this out to him but unfortunately he has decided to dig down.

Allinall wrote: »
    All unemployment benefit payments and most social welfare payments are taxable.

Why should PUP be any different?

Because while its not means tested, it was and still is given on emergency basis.

Its immoral also. When person is unemployed and gets 800 quid a month - its due to that person not having a job, because unable to find a job or not adequately skilled etc.

PUP exists purely because of governments power to shut down businesses. I complained earlier about PUP not even meeting minimum wage standard (that is a joke in itself) but now its not longer 350 euros a week. its less. Its immoral to tax such a small sum, that is below minimum wage, that exists purely because of inept government who follow advice from big Tony who says that all non essentials must shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

They aren’t subject to tax because €208 which is the ordinary payment is below the threshold

Penfailed wrote: »
    They've now tweeted it. Happy now?

Tweeted only after OP's remarks in this thread. This thread that is closely watched by RTE, Irish times and the govt.

Also - hi there Pen. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Allinall

Because while its not means tested, it was and still is given on emergency basis.

Its immoral also. When person is unemployed and gets 800 quid a month - its due to that person not having a job, because unable to find a job or not adequately skilled etc.

PUP exists purely because of governments power to shut down businesses. I complained earlier about PUP not even meeting minimum wage standard (that is a joke in itself) but now its not longer 350 euros a week. its less. Its immoral to tax such a small sum, that is below minimum wage, that exists purely because of inept government who follow advice from big Tony who says that all non essentials must shut down.

If someone's income over a year is over the threshold for paying tax, then they should pay tax, regardless of where their income comes from.

Do you really think millionaires getting the PUP payment shouldn't pay tax on it?

The PUP is up to €350 per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

So the Northern Ireland problem just needs some creative thinking while protecting nursing homes is an insurmountable task...

Unreal.

Shutting the borders is an easier thing to do as 9 countries did it in Europe last March, so there is a template to follow.

For nursing homes, I don't believe there is a template yet to give them the protection they need.

Do we have a test that delivers a result within 20 mins before people start work?

I know the hospital turns a test around within 120 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭arctictree

ShyMets wrote: »
    Looks like we're stuck at 400/500 daily cases.

Basically like the flu then is it? Similar mortality rate too.

Allinall wrote: »
    If someone's income over a year is over the threshold for paying tax, then they should pay tax, regardless of where their income comes from.

Do you really think millionaires getting the PUP payment shouldn't pay tax on it?

The PUP is up to €350 per week.

Thats brilliant.

On a more serious note, 99% + getting PUP are NOT millionaires. Could you please address my point as to how is it moral to tax a payment that only occurs exclusively as a result of government's actions?

Just to note to poster above - 208 or 350 or up to 350, in all 3 scenarios it will be liable to USC PRSI etc. Hence I call it immoral.

Also a bit stupid. Why tax sucha small sum? Are our coffers really that empty? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Are our coffers really that empty? :(

empty? they are a lot worse than empty.

But you'll simply never have 100% compliance. You just don't seem to get there'll always be a minority of people who'll bend or break restrictions. To be honest I think NPHET use examples like the drinkers in Dublin as scapegoats to dodge any tough questions. There certainly does seem to be an attempt by them to play to people's inner snob

There is an irony to lamenting that you won't get 100% compliance while cheerleading against restrictions, the government and anyone who is doing the right thing.

Cyrus wrote: »
    empty? they are a lot worse than empty.

I posted earlier that 1 of the changes from the latest budget is that taxpayers will not get any interest from Revenue on any tax over payments or tax payments that have been appealed successfully, interest accruing over the duration of the appeal. That is bad.

Now this.

Whats next? USC 2.0? Damn this is very upsetting.