Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

nofools wrote: »
    What is the motivation for an already obscenely rich man to make more money?

A man who worked in philanthropy for the past decade?

Doesn't seem that into the typical trappings of success thing either.

Not very believable

https://youtu.be/eI4BWEUOixQ

https://www.google.com/search?q=does+bill+gates+have+a+private+plane&rlz=1C1GCEB_enGB889GB889&oq=bill+gates+private+plane+&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0i22i30l2.16535j1j15&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

https://www.breakingbelizenews.com/2019/04/27/bill-gates-owns-private-island-in-belize/

I could go on but you get the jist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

HBC08 wrote: »
    That some fairly weak backtracking there.

No backtracking at all. Perhaps try reading posts properly.

They still haven't Tweeted about Moderna's news.

Here's their latest Tweet:

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1328339400829382658

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭HBC08

Lundstram wrote: »

You were badly caught out.
    It happens,move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

RTE spread fear on twitter and post positive news on their website. They know that barely any1 goes to RTE website.... twitter notification of silly tweets though? Plethora.

I thought its illegal to ban takeaway pints under the pub licence law? I remember Gardai were mad busy clamping down a pub in Donegal that was selling takeaway pints back in early summer - it was later found out that Gardai were not well informed of licence law.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

They actually have tweeted the Moderna news, just hidden inside a negative twitter headline:

WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said 'a vaccine will complement the other tools we have, not replace them'

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1328304597040041987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Great - more time wasted on kneejerk reactions to twitter outrage.

Meanwhile in the real world anyone vulnerable has vastly greater reason to fear going to hospital than from passing some drinkers on the street.

But - 'look over there!'

They actually have tweeted the Moderna news, just hidden inside a negative twitter headline:

WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said 'a vaccine will complement the other tools we have, not replace them'

Reading this nonsense from WHO that was promoting travel from China back in January, does make me wonder what will stop the pandemic if not a vaccine?

Permanent mask wearing, permanent social distance, rule of 1 household, semi annual vaccinations?

Jaysus WHO :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

How can you possibly enforce this and leave off licenses open?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    How can you possibly enforce this and leave off licenses open?
    Easier for them to close them down completely rather than the Gardai actually getting out of their cars and actually enforcing existing laws. Our police force are an utter joke with no one to answer to.

Punish the majority for the actions of a few.

Typical Ireland.

Easier for them to close them down completely rather than the Gardai actually getting out of their cars and actually enforcing existing laws. Our police force are an utter joke with no one to answer to.

Punish the majority for the actions of a few.

Typical Ireland.

But every pub has an off license, the pubs aren't breaking any laws....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

Hello. That is a good read and I commend it. It could also be added to the key posts, along with some of my own, as primer reading for contributors before they post further on this boards.ie.

It agrees with my analysis, and good to see this perspective starting to sink in.

I will concede that there has been a certain reluctance to have this outlook conveyed to the wider public. So important now that all communication channels are exploited so that this correct roadmap is understood and widely conformed to. I urge all to play a role in communicating it, whether through the official media, but as we are increasingly seeing, through the social media as well. Please use your Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, etc and the likes of these chat forums, to inform and correct those not aware of this, or do not follow the mainstream media.

I have a TRUMPET you can borrow if you lose your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

That’s great there will always be false positives and negatives but what harm an extra layer of protection on nursing homes?

The safer the better surely?

Nothing wrong with extra layers of course. I’m not disputing that for one second. The point I’m making is he took 4 tests, and still doesn’t know if he has it or not! So where is the extra layer??

If measures are required then shouldn’t those measures be based on accurate information?

But every pub has an off license, the pubs aren't breaking any laws....
    Off license - bring home and drink.

Takeaway service - people seem drinking at the point of sale in groups.

Small minority but easiest way to stop this is to ban takeaway service from pubs. It's nitpicking but like someone else said earlier, have to be seen to do something because a few lockdown loonies got upset after watching the video on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Nothing wrong with extra layers of course. I’m not disputing that for one second. The point I’m making is he took 4 tests, and still doesn’t know if he has it or not! So where is the extra layer??

If measures are required then shouldn’t those measures be based on accurate information?

The extra layer is extra testing.
    You keep up the same level of PCR testing as at present and compliment it with an Antigen test every day.

If the antigen test shows up positive the staff member doesn't go to work and instead goes for a PCR test. 9 time out of 10 you'll have stopped an infected staff member from working with the residents

If it was a false positive what harm? They get a negative PCR and go back to work

If it was a false Negative it also makes no difference as without the testing they'd have gone to work anyway. they should still be taking the same precautions as they do every day anyway.

How can you not see this as an extra layer?

Off license - bring home and drink.

Takeaway service - people seem drinking at the point of sale in groups.

Small minority but easiest way to stop this is to ban takeaway service from pubs. It's nitpicking but like someone else said earlier, have to be seen to do something because a few lockdown loonies got upset after watching the video on Facebook.

But you can't take away a pubs off licence for selling off licence drinks.....

Isn’t it an irony tho that Grogans was closed at the time of the incident that sparked this debate, and that it involved mostly drink from off licences and not take away pints? But it’s the pubs that get punished anyway.... it’s almost as if they’re an easy target. Happened in Dame Lane too during the summer.

Anything to deflect from hospital and nursing home clusters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Clickbait for the doomers.

The marketing people at RTE are really earning their pay.. :rolleyes:

But you can't take away a pubs off licence for selling off licence drinks.....
    Did you even read the link posted? It says nothing about off-licenses. Why are you talking about off-licenses?

They want to ban takeaway service from pubs.

Jesus. :rolleyes:

The extra layer is extra testing.
    You keep up the same level of PCR testing as at present and compliment it with an Antigen test every day.

If the antigen test shows up positive the staff member doesn't go to work and instead goes for a PCR test. 9 time out of 10 you'll have stopped an infected staff member from working with the residents

If it was a false positive what harm? They get a negative PCR and go back to work

If it was a false Negative it also makes no difference as without the testing they'd have gone to work anyway. they should still be taking the same precautions as they do every day anyway.

How can you not see this as an extra layer?

But is it an extra layer if there is uncertainty? That’s my point!

If I test positive then negative straight after, which result is the inaccurate one? And on what basis is that decided?

I see what your saying (and agree) but again, accurate test results are needed! If we accept false positives then IMO we stay in this loop for an indefinite period!

Did you even read the link posted? It says nothing about off-licenses. Why are you talking about off-licenses?

Because takeaway pints isn't a legal entity.....

Every pub has an off license - A license for selling alcohol for consumption off the licensed premises.

Nowhere is a distinction made that this has to be cans, bottles, glass, plastic, growlers, crowlers, Mason jars or buckets.

Therefore pubs are not doing anything legally wrong.

More pointless outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,679 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its up to the gardai to enforce the restrictions not the publicans. Do your job and move people on, instead of annoying people on checkpoints. Of course I agree with all publicans its safer for the pubs to be open, just like it would of been safer to have all pubs open when we had this ridiculous €9 food rule.

The point he’s making is that a pubs licence by default is an off licence and hence, take away can’t be stopped without changing the licensing requirements. This was discovered over the summer when the guards tried to close pubs for offering a take away service and the AG at the time clarified that they were operating within the licensing requirements!

Nphet member warns against opening pubs, easing travel rules over Christmas
    Dr Mary Favier says current travel restrictions should not change for Christmas period

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/nphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fnphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587

Irishtimes taking over from RTE.

Fear fear fear.

Reading all this shi*e you'd think Chernobyl had it easy....... :rolleyes:

Because takeaway pints isn't a legal entity.....

Every pub has an off license - A license for selling alcohol for consumption off the licensed premises.

Nowhere is a distinction made that this has to be cans, bottles, glass, plastic, growlers, crowlers, Mason jars or buckets.

Therefore pubs are not doing anything legally wrong.

More pointless outrage.
    WOW. You're just not getting this are you?

Every pub does NOT have an off-license. Pub = not an off-license. Off-license = not a pub. They're two totally different things.

No one said pubs are doing anything wrong. They're legally allowed to sell takeaway drinks, the problem is the idiots buying them are drinking them on the street, then some fool with a phone records them and outrage ensues. How to fix this? Ban it. Try enforce existing laws? No, just ban it, easier that way.

It's illegal to drink alcohol in outdoor public spaces in this country.

Every pub does NOT have an off-license. Pub = not an off-license. Off-license = not a pub. They're two totally different things.

No one said pubs are doing anything wrong. They're legally allowed to sell takeaway drinks, the problem is the idiots buying them are drinking them on the street, then some fool with a phone records them and outrage ensues. How to fix this? Ban it. Try enforce existing laws? No, just ban it, easier that way.

Every single on license comes with an off license attached. If you can't grasp that simple concept you're not worth interacting with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It is not illegal to drink alcohol in outdoor public spaces in this country. There is no national law. Every council has its own bye laws.

Pubs do have off licences! Have you never been in a pub and got take out cans at the end of the night no? Many pubs will also have “off licence” written above the door. They may legally have to display their licence type in public but someone else can confirm, I’m not in the trade.

Every single on license comes with an off license attached. If you can't grasp that simple concept you're not worth interacting with.
    Perhaps if you typed in english you might make more sense.

"every single on license comes with an off license attached"

Answers on a post card.

Perhaps if you typed in english you might make more sense.

"every single on license comes with an off license attached"

Answers on a post card.

Mate, it's not even 3'o clock on a Monday and you've been proven wrong twice on this thread, go have a lie down and a lollipop.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Nphet member warns against opening pubs, easing travel rules over Christmas
    Dr Mary Favier says current travel restrictions should not change for Christmas period

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/nphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fnphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587

Irishtimes taking over from RTE.

Fear fear fear.

Reading all this shi*e you'd think Chernobyl had it easy....... :rolleyes:

Did they draw attention to her lack of epidemiology background? The Indo article posted earlier needed to highlight that Dr. McConville agrees that the supporters of the white paper written about had a vast majority without an epidemiology background..