Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Mate, it's not even 3'o clock on a Monday and you've been proven wrong twice on this thread, go have a lie down and a lollipop.......
    Not wrong at all. You completly missed the point of the subject at hand. Crying that pubs were'nt breaking the law when no one said they were. Then you come along and type something in some foreign language about on licenses, whatever they are.

Go have a lie down, good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Nphet member warns against opening pubs, easing travel rules over Christmas
    Dr Mary Favier says current travel restrictions should not change for Christmas period

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/nphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fnphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587

Irishtimes taking over from RTE.

Fear fear fear.

Reading all this shi*e you'd think Chernobyl had it easy....... :rolleyes:

I said in the thread a few pages ago watch the fear being ramped up this week but its happened quicker than i thought.

Prime time and Claire Byrne will be like mardi gras for the doom merchants I reckon this week.

Still reckon an appearance on the LLS Toy Show for King Tony or one of the minions is in the offing, would be a shame to have that much TV with that many people watching without bringing a bit of fear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

the kelt wrote: »
    I said in the thread a few pages ago watch the fear being ramped up this week but its happened quicker than i thought.

Prime time and Claire Byrne will be like mardi gras for the doom merchants I reckon this week.

Still reckon an appearance on the LLS Toy Show for King Tony or one of the minions is in the offing, would be a shame to have that much TV with that many people watching without bringing a bit of fear!

There'll be a child who made a poem / drawing of Simon Harris / Tony Holohan. I'd nearly put money on it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Dr Mary Favier says current travel restrictions should not change for Christmas period

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/nphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fnphet-member-warns-against-opening-pubs-easing-travel-rules-over-christmas-1.4410587

Fear fear fear.

More people on full pay with relatively unaffected lifestyles telling us how to live whats left of our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Lundstram wrote: »
    Not wrong at all. You completly missed the point of the subject at hand. Crying that pubs were'nt breaking the law when no one said they were. Then you come along and type something in some foreign language about on licenses, whatever they are.

Na, you were spouting ****e about banning takeaway pints without realising they're doing nothing wrong.

On and off license are very common terms BTW, sorry you lack that knowledge but getting angry at me won't fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,591 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Reading this nonsense from WHO that was promoting travel from China back in January, does make me wonder what will stop the pandemic if not a vaccine?

Permanent mask wearing, permanent social distance, rule of 1 household, semi annual vaccinations?

Jaysus WHO :rolleyes:

You finally may actually be getting it.
    Acquired herd immunity was never anything other than foolhardy, reckless and immoral.
    Vaccine`s were always the only possible solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

charlie14 wrote: »
    You finally may actually be getting it.
    Acquired herd immunity was never anything other than foolhardy, reckless and immoral.
    Vaccine`s were always the only possible solution.

Ohhh Charlie.

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

It is not illegal to drink alcohol in outdoor public spaces in this country. There is no national law. Every council has its own bye laws.

It actually is;

Section 8A, Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994
    8A. — (1) This section applies where a member of the Garda S í och á na believes with reasonable cause that —

( a ) a person is in a relevant place alone or accompanied by other persons,

( b ) a bottle or container which contains an intoxicating substance is in the possession of the relevant person, and

Drink can be seized, directed to leave area, arrested etc. Etc.

Na, you were spouting ****e about banning takeaway pints without realising they're doing nothing wrong.

On and off license are very common terms BTW, sorry you lack that knowledge but getting angry at me won't fix it.
    Again, no one said they were doing anything wrong. Who said that? Where? Show me.

Again, take away pints and off-license service are totally different. Can or bottle = not open. Draught pint = open. People will want to drink the draught asap, results in people drinking in groups outside the pub they bought it from. People bring drink home from the off-license.

Off-licenses are not allowed to sell open containers of alcohol.

You are clueless as to the various licensing laws.

The government would have been well within their rights to not allow takeaway pints from pubs. A can or bottle? No problem.

Good evening.

Again, no one said they were doing anything wrong. Who said that? Where? Show me.

Again, take away pints and off-license service are totally different. Can or bottle = not open. Draught pint = open. People will want to drink the draught asap, results in people drinking in groups outside the pub they bought it from. People bring drink home from the off-license.

You are clueless as to the various licensing laws.

The government would have been well within their rights to not allow takeaway pints from pubs. A can or bottle? No problem.

Good evening.

Takeaway pints are sealed......

How would they be allowed ban an off licence (which we've established pubs are) selling a sealed container for consumption away from the premises????

Takeaway pints are sealed......

How would they be allowed ban an off licence (which we've established pubs are) selling a sealed container for consumption away from the premises????
    Takeaway pints are not sealed. They might have a lid, but they are not sealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

take away pints and off-license service are totally different. Can or bottle = not open. Draught pint = open.

I think this where your getting confused. Take away pints is by definition an off licence service. Hence it can’t be banned without either closing off licences also or amending the licensing laws in some way.

The manner in which the product is delivered, be it bottle or pint or bucket is irrelevant!

I do have to say I have no idea whats the pub offlicence or on licence argument is all about, who is right or wrong or how it even started, but I am very intrigued to follow the posts.

My view? Govt or Gardai should have no business in banning any takeaway products sales. I mean whats next - gang of teenagers will buy few bottles of vodka from off licence, get a rave going, and govt the next day closing all off licences?

Nothing to do with sarcasm.
    Just an observation that you finally have recognised that acquired herd immunity was a myth and that vaccines were always and ever the only way of getting out of this mess.
    Not that you should get any kudos for that at this stage.
    You were still banging your herd immunity drum long after it was blatantly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

But is it an extra layer if there is uncertainty? That’s my point!

If I test positive then negative straight after, which result is the inaccurate one? And on what basis is that decided?

I see what your saying (and agree) but again, accurate test results are needed! If we accept false positives then IMO we stay in this loop for an indefinite period!

None of the tests are 100% accurate.
    A false positive of a staff member will not kill any residents.
    A false negative might happen but without the test they'd have been working anyway.

If you even catch 50% of Asymptomatic nursing home staff before they interact with the residents, you're avoiding 50% of the problems.

I think this where your getting confused. Take away pints is by definition an off licence service. Hence it can’t be banned without either closing off licences also or amending the licensing laws in some way.

The manner in which the product is delivered, be it bottle or pint or bucket is irrelevant!
    See above post.

Try pouring a pint from a keg, then try sealing it straight away. It'll explode in your face within 30 seconds.

Definitions aside, they're two very different products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Fear fear fear.

Speaking to RTÉ this morning Dr Favier said the pandemic had “unmasked some difficulties we have ... and one of those is our relationship with alcohol as was evidenced by the drinking scenes on the streets.”

https://alcoholireland.ie/dr-tony-holohan-chief-medical-officer-delivers-the-opening-address-at-alcohol-action-irelands-have-we-bottled-it-alcohol-marketing-and-young-people-conference/

“Somehow we have let ourselves believe that alcohol is not really a problem in Ireland. We are complacent. We choose to ignore evidence of the huge and avoidable extent of the problem that alcohol wreaks on our society.“

I’ve posted that link before it highlights NPHET’s agenda.

The social scene in Ireland is never going to return

Never waste a good crisis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Witcher wrote: »
    It actually is;

Section 8A, Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994

Drink can be seized, directed to leave area, arrested etc. Etc.

See the last word you cut off on?? And........... that means there's more. So once you are not drunk or acting in an unsafe manner and not disturbing anyone you're grand under that law.

the relevant person is acting in that place, or the relevant person and some or all of the accompanying persons are acting in that place, in a manner that —

(i) gives rise to a reasonable apprehension for the safety of persons or the safety of property or for the maintenance of the public peace, or

(ii) is causing, or gives rise to a reasonable apprehension is likely to cause, annoyance and nuisance to another person or persons or interference with that other person ’ s or persons ’ peaceful possession and enjoyment by that other person or persons of his or her, or their, as the case may be, property.

See above post.

Try pouring a pint from a keg, then try sealing it straight away. It'll explode in your face within 30 seconds.

Definitions aside, they're two very different products.

Never heard of a growler? You can get 500ml bottles that you can pour fresh into...

You are clueless as to the various licensing laws. :rolleyes:

Good evening.

Takeaway pints aren't open and legally are not allowed to be open. You literally have no idea what you are spouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

the kelt wrote: »

yeah it's all a media conspiracy. it's not like there's an actual global pandemic going on killing thousands every day.

This is the best thread on Boards.ie.

We have it all here, vaccines, restrictions, pubs, off licence laws, hell we even have laws that dictate whether someone can consume a beverage outdoors.

I was well and truly uneducated before I've posted my first post in this thread all the way back during 1st week of May.

Never heard of a growler? You can get 500ml bottles that you can pour fresh into...
    They're not be served this way though. They're being poured into a plastic cup, some with a lid some with no lid.

Speaking to RTÉ this morning Dr Favier said the pandemic had “unmasked some difficulties we have ... and one of those is our relationship with alcohol as was evidenced by the drinking scenes on the streets.”

https://alcoholireland.ie/dr-tony-holohan-chief-medical-officer-delivers-the-opening-address-at-alcohol-action-irelands-have-we-bottled-it-alcohol-marketing-and-young-people-conference/

“Somehow we have let ourselves believe that alcohol is not really a problem in Ireland. We are complacent. We choose to ignore evidence of the huge and avoidable extent of the problem that alcohol wreaks on our society.“

I’ve posted that link before it highlights NPHET’s agenda.

The social scene in Ireland is never going to return

Never waste a good crisis

No great loss if it is.
    Gangs drinking on the streets and urinating all over the place was never a great social spectacle.

Takeaway pints aren't open and legally are not allowed to be open. You literally have no idea what you are spouting.
    Takeaway pints are indeed open. They are not sealed containers = open.

I think you and your buddy are getting mixed up with lids and a seal. Again, two very different things.

charlie14 wrote: »
    No great loss if it is.
    Gangs drinking on the streets and urinating all over the place was never a great social spectacle.

Charlie that is an image I could ve done without.

Mind you, as long as Tesco Lidl Aldis sell alcohol, and as long as our government relies on VAT intake for those alcohol sales, those type of social spectacles will continue.

They're not be served this way though. They're being poured into a plastic cup, some with a lid some with no lid.

The law states "closed container", a plastic glass with a lid is a closed container.

Takeaway pints are indeed open. They are not sealed containers = open.

I think you and your buddy are getting mixed up with lids and a seal. Again, two very different things.

The law states CLOSED. CONTAINER. You've pulled "sealed" out of your pipe.

The law states "closed container", a plastic glass with a lid is a closed container.
    It is an offence to consume alcohol bought in a closed container (like a bottle or can)

From Irish law.

Where's the plastic cup with a lid part? Yeah, doesn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭HBC08

You're having a mare buddy,
    Step away from the keyboard