Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

fin12 wrote: »
    My friend from Iraq says everyone has got the virus over there now so they don’t give a sh*t cause I was watching Arabic tv there and there is a crowd in the street after the elections hardly a person with a mask on and asked him about it.

Plenty of places just going back to normal.

Iraq, thats a good country to copy. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Iraq, thats a good country to copy. :pac:

I was just curious how no one had a mask on and he explained why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I would have to agree, it is all knackers at them protests in fairness.

Do nackers bother with protests? Would have thought they'd be too apathetic like any good prole should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Stolen from the main thread of doom, Dr Feeley at it again

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/martin-feeley-hospital-admissions-don-t-justify-pressing-the-panic-button-1.4390870?mode=amp

“In early March there were predictions of Covid-19 deaths in excess of 80,000 for the Republic of Ireland.”

“Apologies for going back to 2017-18 ‘flu season but, the HSE published (December 2018) the recorded data which showed a mortality (CFR) of 2.14 per cent; that is almost 10-fold higher than for Covid-19. Undoubtedly, this is an overestimate but there was a vaccine“

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Do nackers bother with protests? Would have thought they'd be too apathetic like any good prole should be

Have a look at the videos of the Water charges protests, that will answer your question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

“Apologies for going back to 2017-18 ‘flu season but, the HSE published (December 2018) the recorded data which showed a mortality (CFR) of 2.14 per cent; that is almost 10-fold higher than for Covid-19. Undoubtedly, this is an overestimate but there was a vaccine“

This is a nonsense statistic. The flu figure refers to people who are tested having becoming ill and is not relevant to the figure for all people infected with Covid.

It is a bit like saying that 50% of people brought to a Garda station were over the drink driving limit and concluding that 50% of drivers were pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,383 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Going to be pretty grim here in December when were still in Level 3.75 and other European/uk cities are almost fully out of lockdown. You can be sure no Xmas pints for us Irish and we have to listen to ****e from MM/Leo/Dr Tony about this that and the other 'this is no normal christmas ****e'

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Going to be pretty grim here in December when were still in Level 3.75 and other European/uk cities are almost fully out of lockdown. You can be sure no Xmas pints for us Irish and we have to listen to ****e from MM/Leo/Dr Tony about this that and the other 'this is no normal christmas ****e'

Book urself into a nice hotel for the night, where there’s a will there’s a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

Heard that from tomorrow Tesco’s will have to close off toys sections and so on, worse than the first ****ty lockdown

Book urself into a nice hotel for the night, where there’s a will there’s a way.

me thinks the government will put a stop to that rule

A new living with covid plan could be released with a few more restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

uli84 wrote: »
    Heard that from tomorrow Tesco’s will have to close off toys sections and so on, worse than the first ****ty lockdown

I think this is no harm at all - not that I want to deprive people of these things (The so called government are doing a good job of that already) - but for two very good reasons;

1. Why should the small family run toy shop be shuttered and the large multiples be allowed sell these same items? No fairness there at all. The Lunatics all wanted their precious “life saving” lockdowns- they can have it with both barrels now.

2. It also greatly under-mines lockdown credibility when people can see vividly what complete nonsense this all actually involves- annoy the supportive public as much as possible

me thinks the government will put a stop to that rule

A new living with covid plan could be released with a few more restrictions

Under level 3 a week ago the hotels were operating under level 4 and that was allowed.

Why are u saying that! Do u know something? The whole point of this sh*tty lockdown is so we can open up a bit more over Christmas unless the c*nts in the dail have completely lost their minds. The numbers are already decreasing , level 3 was working, the c*nts just didn’t give it a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Under level 3 a week ago the hotels were operating under level 4 and that was allowed.

Why are u saying that! Do u know something? The whole point of this sh*tty lockdown is so we can open up a bit more over Christmas unless the c*nts in the dail have completely lost their minds. The numbers are already decreasing , level 3 was working, the c*nts just didn’t give it a chance

The whole point of this lockdown is absolutely nothing- rest assured of that. Bar politic optics and opportunism

They dont want people having the Xmas piss up and in turn will restrict hotels and keep pubs closed

The excuse of alcohol spreads the virus

They dont want people having the Xmas piss up and in turn will restrict hotels and keep pubs closed

The excuse of alcohol spreads the virus

Yes, sorry thanks, I forgot about their agenda. I won’t get my hopes up ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

dalyboy wrote: »
    Omg , More restrictions on top of what they’ve done so far ..what ?

It’s abundantly clear to the dogs on the street that this is nothing to do with protection against a pseudo virus anymore.

What else do these evil twisted lunatics want to do now to ensure public’s complete depression of an existence.

I think it should be pretty common knowledge by now that this virus isn't as deadly as they want us to believe.

road_high wrote: »
    The whole point of this lockdown is absolutely nothing- rest assured of that. Bar politic optics and opportunism

It’s simply ineptitude, a failure of one of the worlds most prosperous nations to build an adequate health service for Europe’s youngest population.

It’s now point scoring politically, and Leo now looks the most prophetic when he challenged Tony on the point of level 5 not being required.

It’s us that’s suffering now, but its the next generation that will suffer most in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,956 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The numbers are already decreasing , level 3 was working, the c*nts just didn’t give it a chance

The greatest trick the government ever pulled was convincing people that level 3 was a good thing...

It’s us that’s suffering now, but its the next generation that will suffer most in this country

It will be the next few generations that will suffer because they will have to pay the bulk of this debt. The lockdowns are costing us billions and because they're putting so many business under and people on unemployment there's no way to begin recouping without massive loans and that we'll have no ability to pay for.

The greatest trick the government ever pulled was convincing people that level 3 was a good thing...

It was better than Level 5. Businesses were still allowed to operate and we still had place to go and things to do.

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    It will be the next few generations that will suffer because they will have to pay the bulk of this debt. The lockdowns are costing us billions and because they're putting so many business under and people on unemployment there's no way to begin recouping without massive loans and that we'll have no ability to pay for.

Dan O Brien is getting much more animated about Ireland’s economic catastrophe on the horizon.

While he is incredibly articulate, it’s not easy listening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Is the whole point not to save lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Why post nonsense? Other European countries are no different, Spain has posted restrictions until May.
    https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1352085/Spain-state-of-emergency-spanish-lockdown-canary-islands

Dan O Brien is getting much more animated about Ireland’s economic catastrophe on the horizon.

As long as there is this virus there will be economic dislocation, Ireland is actually not doing so bad. The government cannot prevent economic dislocation, they can only manage it. If hospitals are overflowing and the virus is widespread then sensible people (who usually have more money) are not going togo into town and shop or pack into unventilated pubs anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Why post nonsense? Other European countries are no different, Spain has posted restrictions until May.
    https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1352085/Spain-state-of-emergency-spanish-lockdown-canary-islands

As long as there is this virus there will be economic dislocation, Ireland is actually not doing so bad. The government cannot prevent economic dislocation, they can only manage it. If hospitals are overflowing and the virus is widespread then sensible people (who usually have more money) are not going togo into town and shop or pack into unventilated pubs anyway.

Sensible people usually have more money? No, disagree. Hedonism and selfishness exist independently of wealth. Old school snobbish nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Cervicalcheck tribunal to begin tomorrow. Huge health scandal with Tony at the helm.

The timing of Tony’s return and immediate push to level 5 is starting to look suspicious. Having said that, I’ll admit this whole virus debacle has increased my cynicism levels.

When last he was due to account for himself, before the Special Covid Committee, he made up a rule that meetings could not go on longer than two hours.

It will be interesting to see how this develops.

Cervicalcheck tribunal to begin tomorrow. Huge health scandal with Tony at the helm.

The timing of Tony’s return and immediate push to level 5 is starting to look suspicious. Having said that, I’ll admit this whole virus debacle has increased my cynicism levels.

When last he was due to account for himself, before the Special Covid Committee, he made up a rule that meetings could not go on longer than two hours.

It will be interesting to see how this develops.

I’ve said this from Day 1.
    The hero on his white horse rides into town , single handedly saving the nation, what a way to redeem your reputation! Even up to his tweet yesterday directly addressing the public in CAPITAL LETTERS .....rather than through the Government. There is a huge arrogance and ego at play with Tony Holohan. He dictated that any review/investigations into Cervical smear debacle be carried out by himself !
    But he has friends in high places.......what about his Late Late appearance on Friday......suspicious timing or what? !!

It should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Seanachai wrote: »
    Most of the people I see wearing masks outdoors in my neighbourhood are in their 20's, the deference to authority in this age group is strange.
    I presume it's some kind of weird virtue-signaling.

Masks are fully endorsed by teenage feral packs. They provide them with some degree of anonymity when they roam around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭JRant

So the latest bogeymen are shops trying to be creative in what they sell to stay afloat and a mythical flight during the summer where a whopping 59 cases allegedly came from.

Some guff being promoted these days.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

The only thing this lockdown will achieve is not zero covid but zero business.
    It is literally putting people on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭leanin2019

"Silent majority" backs lockdown - Business Post

A "silent majority" of the population backs strict level 5 restrictions and the use of fines to stop the spread of the COVID-19 virus, the latest Business Post/Red C poll shows.

Some 66 percent of people support the move to lock down the country, with just 18 percent opposed. An equal number backs the use of fines...