Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,672 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I am against any levels of lockdown. I'm supporting Sweden way of fighting the virus. Nonetheless, if i had to make a choice between Spanish Covid policy and Irish, I would choose Irish no questions.

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I am against any levels of lockdown. I'm supporting Sweden way of fighting the virus. Nonetheless, if i had to make a choice between Spanish Covid policy and Irish, I would choose Irish no questions.

So you rather bars and restaurants shut entirely as opposed to closing at 11?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

So you rather bars and restaurants shut entirely as opposed to closing at 11?

Sure, it's a criminal rule which is destroying our hospitality industry . But on a personal level I'm not suffering from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

niallo27 wrote: »
    What's the issue with curfews, there is **** all to do anyway.

Lets throw away all our rights because we aren't currently able to get the best out of the them. Fear truly is a mind killer.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Lets throw away all our rights because we aren't currently able to get the best out of the them. Fear truly is a mind killer.

Listen I don't want either, but if I had a choice I'd take curfew over closing stuff down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Listen I don't want either, but if I had a choice I'd take curfew over closing stuff down.

Why should you have to make that choice?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,672 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

TomTomTim wrote: »

You currently can’t travel beyond 5km from your gaff without breaking the law. The right to exercise that law remains in place until June 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

faceman wrote: »
    You currently can’t travel beyond 5km from your gaff without breaking the law. The right to exercise that law remains in place until June 2021.

Technically not true, here is nine reasons where you can travel beyond the 5km
    There will be a penalty for movement outside 5 kilometres of home, with the following exceptions:

travel to and from work, where work involves providing an essential service
    to attend medical appointments and collect medicines and other health products
    travel to attend disability day services
    for food shopping
    to take school aged children to permitted training as provided for in the Exercise and Sporting section above
    for vital family reasons, such as providing care to children, elderly or vulnerable people, and in particular for those who live alone but excluding social family visits
    for farming purposes, that is food production or care of animals
    to attend a wedding or funeral
    to visit a grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

faceman wrote: »

A nation of docile, nodding dogs deserve no better.

AUDI20 wrote: »
    There will be a penalty for movement outside 5 kilometres of home, with the following exceptions:

for food shopping
    to take school aged children to permitted training as provided for in the Exercise and Sporting section above
    for vital family reasons, such as providing care to children, elderly or vulnerable people, and in particular for those who live alone but excluding social family visits
    to visit a grave

Ok....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

snowcat wrote: »
    Was out today, saw lots of the vulnerable cohort breaking the lockdown out walking shopping etc. We (the under 60's)are making a massive sacrifice in terms of our freedoms and economic health to help these subset. The least anyone could do who is over 60 is to isolate or cocoon. We should be looking at fines for these people if they break the lockdown. A mask is not an excuse to go shopping. It does not prevent transmission of Covid as we are learning slowly.

When I read this it made me think of the Hitler Youth. They knew all about subsets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

A lot of people gleefully saying Sweden have gone into lockdown like they got it all wrong all along. I was talking to one of mates over there today and asked him about it. He basically said there’s a town just north of Stockholm called Uppsala which is a big university town. Up to now they’ve been advised to stay at home if they can. Now they’re being STRONGLY advised. That’s what constitutes lockdown over there. Just think about that.

On a better note Jennifer O’Connell in The Irish Times today has an article worth reading (and don’t often say that about her!) Don’t have a link to it but have look if you can. The tide is definitely turning on this thing.

AUDI20 wrote: »

for food shopping
    to visit a grave

one more: if you live alone and want to make a bubble with someone else..... for company or to prevent depression and isolation. This does not have to be within 5km or even your county. This was discussed on the 6 o clock News earlier in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,956 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

one more: if you live alone and want to make a bubble with someone else..... for company or to prevent depression and isolation. This does not have to be within 5km or even your county. This was discussed on the 6 o clock News earlier in the week.

Can you tell me where I need to register this bubble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

You seem to be letting covid restrictions take over your life Maggie ,, go and live our life , see your daughter , you only live once

Probably the most bizarre viewpoint I have seen on these threads are the people that are pro restrictions/lockdown but also anti vaccine or doubtful in general about vaccines.

I can only assume those people just want to watch while the world burns.

There will be people that will be disgusted when a vaccine becomes available. The horrifying thought that pubs will open again, people can go shopping without a mask etc...

Probably the most bizarre viewpoint I have seen on these threads are the people that are pro restrictions/lockdown but also anti vaccine or doubtful in general about vaccines.

There will be people that will be disgusted when a vaccine becomes available. The horrifying thought that pubs will open again, people can go shopping without a mask etc...

I've also seen people on this thread who are anti-lockdown/COVID is the flu but constantly talk about the state of the health service and the ICU bed problems as if they're defiance isn't a direct cause of the problem. Clowns all over this country wearing so many different political stripes it's unbelievable. Reading this thread would make ya believe that Ireland was essentially backwater rural Alabama with a hatred for gubbermint and science and that COVID is a hoax by Big Brother, or some California house wife that thinks COVID is the end of humanity altoghter and we should never leave our houses again.

Board.ie is a mess nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

What a strange thing to say :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

A lot of people gleefully saying Sweden have gone into lockdown like they got it all wrong all along. I was talking to one of mates over there today and asked him about it. He basically said there’s a town just north of Stockholm called Uppsala which is a big university town. Up to now they’ve been advised to stay at home if they can. Now they’re being STRONGLY advised. That’s what constitutes lockdown over there. Just think about that.

On a better note Jennifer O’Connell in The Irish Times today has an article worth reading (and don’t often say that about her!) Don’t have a link to it but have look if you can. The tide is definitely turning on this thing.

I know. It’s almost if they know in their heads what an utter failure Ireland’s approach and their “sacrifice” has been for pretty much a sum end goal of nothing. Futily Wishing Sweden a little schadenfraude for having the audacity to not buy into the sacred lockdown religion

Juwwi wrote: »
    You seem to be letting covid restrictions take over your life Maggie ,, go and live our life , see your daughter , you only live once

I’m going on Monday , will be making the trip every week after that .
    I was really only saying that for the benefit of anyone else , it’s an extra point on the list to consider :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Juwwi wrote: »
    What a strange thing to say :confused::confused::confused:

From observing the goings on of the past 8 months it’s right on the money I’d say. The whole episode has had a hardcore puritanical feel and approach- definitely quite a few that rather enjoy the control (of others). Covid has given them some kind of meaning to their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

What's the issue with curfews, there is **** all to do anyway.

They are easy to understand and enforce.

Would in theory stop kids congregating etc after 10pm (and they are one of the largest groups testing positive)
    Give me a curfew over current restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,244 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The neighbours had a house party yesterday afternoon till the early hours of the morning (they're all still in there as I type this), and I did think about whether I should call it in or not - after all, if I can't legally go beyond 5km to see friends, why should they be allowed do what they want.

So I rang the local station who said they'd send up a car. Never arrived though, and the party continued uninterrupted.

Guess AGS have no interest in the more controversial "rules" either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The neighbours had a house party yesterday afternoon till the early hours of the morning (they're all still in there as I type this), and I did think about whether I should call it in or not - after all, if I can't legally go beyond 5km to see friends, why should they be allowed do what they want.

So I rang the local station who said they'd send up a car. Never arrived though, and the party continued uninterrupted.

Nows the time to put this on, continuous loop, volume full blasting and put the speakers up against the wall on their side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Nows the time to put this on, continuous loop, volume full blasting and put the speakers up against the wall on their side

That video should be banned.

It displays sinful ignorance to our social distancing commandments and makes a mockery of our blessed Saint Anthony of the hologins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Sure what could they do?

"Hi, can you open up so we can come in and inspect your house and start handing out fines?"

"No".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

It's about ten times busier than an average weekday morning today in my area. There's no level five.

My area is back to massive queues for the shops that are open. Queue around the block for SuperValu.

The less places that are open, the more people will go to those same places.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Are their homes just sh!t or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

This is one of the dumber myths that has come up lately.