Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Heavy handed tactics is the only answer for that behavior.

Paddygreen may dust down his FCA uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

Is the Irish Times starting to, dare I say it, question the blind following of NPHET?

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/jennifer-o-connell-no-transparency-behind-swerve-into-severe-lockdown-1.4389493
    There are other questions we should be asking. Why wasn’t Level 3 given a chance to work, when the most recent letter from the National Public Health Emergency Team (Nphet) suggests the infection rate in Dublin has actually slowed to an R of 1.0, the threshold below which the number of cases starts to shrink? Why couldn’t the fines that are suddenly so central to the strategy have been deployed at an earlier stage?

Where does that entirely arbitrary 5km come from? The letter from Nphet emphasises the “potential impact of the stay-at-home measure . . . curtailing non-essential travel to within 5km of home”. It doesn’t say what this potential is, or why travelling 7km or 10km is so risky, especially when all of the data suggests home is where the virus is.

A dangerous view has crept in that questioning Nphet advice is callous or fearmongering or heretical. But these are the biggest decisions this country will ever make. They can’t be made in a bunker by an unrepresentative and exhausted group.

This week, in the Bundestag, Germany’s second-highest figure questioned whether emergency legislation from March, with its “extremely intensive and far-reaching limits on fundamental rights”, was justifiable in the long term. Extensions of the regulations should only be agreed if they had a clear time limit, Wolfgang Schauble said.

I had some hope that Leo would take a stand against the blanket Level 5 push, as he seems like one of the only people who can see the wood from the trees in this situation. But alas here we are. The usual Irish populist parish politics is still running the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Jizique

Elessar wrote: »
    Is the Irish Times starting to, dare I say it, question the blind following of NPHET?

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/jennifer-o-connell-no-transparency-behind-swerve-into-severe-lockdown-1.4389493

No, it’s just Jennifer I suspect; mind you, they did have Jack Lambert last week, McDowell has a weekly pop and McWilliams also had a fairly critical piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

Mr.S wrote: »
    Everything is closed. People are allowed outside.

(it's also a bank holiday weekend...)

It's also an hour later in the day. 10am feels like 11.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,672 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Elessar wrote: »

I had some hope that Leo would take a stand against the blanket Level 5 push, as he seems like one of the only people who can see the wood from the trees in this situation. But alas here we are. The usual Irish populist parish politics is still running the country.

Go back a month or so and I’m pretty sure Jennifer O’Connell was calling for more restrictions in another article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The neighbours had a house party yesterday afternoon till the early hours of the morning (they're all still in there as I type this), and I did think about whether I should call it in or not - after all, if I can't legally go beyond 5km to see friends, why should they be allowed do what they want.

So I rang the local station who said they'd send up a car. Never arrived though, and the party continued uninterrupted.

Guess AGS have no interest in the more controversial "rules" either
    Seriously? I like your posts usually but that was a pretty sh1tty thing to do. Curtain twitching at its finest. Disappointed in you.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Seriously? I like your posts usually but that was a pretty sh1tty thing to do. Curtain twitching at its finest. Disappointed in you.

People having parties etc. are the ones to blame for the lockdown. Why wouldn't he call the guards on the selfish twats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

faceman wrote: »
    Go back a month or so and I’m pretty sure Jennifer O’Connell was calling for more restrictions in another article

Most likely - the number of dissenting voices in the media was minuscule.

But I’m discovering I can stomach a large amount of hypocrisy if it means some balance in reporting. More of this please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Jizique wrote: »
    No, it’s just Jennifer I suspect; mind you, they did have Jack Lambert last week, McDowell has a weekly pop and McWilliams also had a fairly critical piece

So, yes then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

People having parties etc. are the ones to blame for the lockdown. Why wouldn't he call the guards on the selfish twats?

NPHET and the government the ones to blame for lockdown, though people like yourself happily make things easier for them by falling into their blame game trap.

Blame the students
    Blame the pubs
    Blame the GAA
    Blame the house parties

How about, blame the HSE for inadequate procedure in Nursing Homes, multiple times!
    Blame the government for using the last lockdown to achieve precisely nothing.
    Blame the government for introducing the strictest measures in Europe.
    Blame the HSE for allowing the contact tracing system to collapse.
    Blame the government and HSE for introducing a mass health recruitment drive and then basically not hiring anyone.
    Blame the media for propagating this hysteria.
    Blame Tony Holohan for trying to make himself out to be a superstar and our saviour, and attempting to act as the defacto leader of Ireland, when he should be out of a job for his disgusting involvement in the cervical check scandal.
    And lastly, blame NPHET and the government for introducing draconian policies for a virus which is not even remotely close to the danger we once believed, that every statistic shows is specifically, only sometimes dangerous to a very select group of people. And essentially harmess to a vast majority of the population, whose lives are being ruined at the moment with no plan in place except to keep locking down until a vaccine appears. A vaccine for a coronavirus has never been successfully produced by the way, so despite optimism in some circles, that could be a very long way off.

Why does anyone need to be blamed for getting on with their bloody lives. Its toxic nonsense and the height of stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭acequion

Judgementalism and finger pointing is one of the most disgusting facets of this whole sorry mess. The top post is finger pointing at its finest, calling people "selfish twats" and other horrible names is what the judgemental do with great glee and it's why I really despise those people.

But @Lundstram, Kaiser wasn't being judgemental and was put in a tricky position where I'd sympathise. It's been well proven that the infection is spreading most through private house gatherings and proven also all over the world that where people limit their contacts, practice social distancing, masking, hand hygiene etc the virus can be kept under control enabling us all to get on with our lives. So here you have a crowd who don't give a ****, while the rest of us are frustrated to hell that we can't live our lives and what do you do? Accusing him of curtain twitching is being judgmental too. I'm not sure what I'd do if confronted with this, most likely also be tempted to call the Guards and may well end up doing it if it went on for hours as in that case.And I would be kind of feeling like a curtain twitcher but what do you do? Can you not see the frustration? It's not black and white.

I feel more sorry for him having neighbours like that.

Coybig_ wrote: »
    NPHET and the government the ones to blame for lockdown, though people like yourself happily make things easier for them by falling into their blame game trap.

Blame the students
    Blame the pubs
    Blame the GAA
    Blame the house parties

How about, blame the HSE for inadequate procedure in Nursing Homes, multiple times!
    Blame the government for using the last lockdown to achieve precisely nothing.
    Blame the government for introducing the strictest measures in Europe.
    Blame the HSE for allowing the contact tracing system to collapse.
    Blame the government and HSE for introducing a mass health recruitment drive and then basically not hiring anyone.
    Blame the media for propagating this hysteria.
    Blame Tony Holohan for trying to make himself out to be a superstar and our saviour, and attempting to act as the defacto leader of Ireland, when he should be out of a job for his disgusting involvement in the cervical check scandal.
    And lastly, blame NPHET and the government for introducing draconian policies for a virus which is not even remotely close to the danger we once believed, that every statistic shows is specifically, only sometimes dangerous to a very select group of people. And essentially harmess to a vast majority of the population, whose lives are being ruined at the moment with no plan in place except to keep locking down until a vaccine appears. A vaccine for a coronavirus has never been successfully produced by the way, so despite optimism in some circles, that could be a very long way off.

Why does anyone need to be blamed for getting on with their bloody lives. Its toxic nonsense and the height of stupidity.

Brilliant post! At the end of the day the blame lies fairly and squarely with the country's leaders and institutions who have let us all down. BIG TIME.

I thought it was because of the pandemic and the fact we have a government/NPHET that have no idea what to do, a health service not fit for purpose, and an overly hysterical public who believe Covid causes extreme symptoms in everyone who catches it...

Doubt a few parties have had much impact.

acequion wrote: »
    It's been well proven that the infection is spreading most through private house gatherings

Can you provide the statistics that prove that "private house gatherings" in particular are responsible for spreading most of Covid 19?

Given that it has been "well proven" this should be no issue to you. And unfortunately, Tony Holohan saying house parties are bad does not quantify as a proven statistic here.

Interested to see you back up this piece of fearmongering nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Judgementalism and finger pointing is one of the most disgusting facets of this whole sorry mess. The top post is finger pointing at its finest, calling people "selfish twats" and other horrible names is what the judgemental do with great glee and it's why I really despise those people.

But @Lundstram, Kaiser wasn't being judgemental and was put in a tricky position where I'd sympathise. It's been well proven that the infection is spreading most through private house gatherings and proven also all over the world that where people limit their contacts, practice social distancing, masking, hand hygiene etc the virus can be kept under control enabling us all to get on with our lives. So here you have a crowd who don't give a ****, while the rest of us are frustrated to hell that we can't live our lives and what do you do? Accusing him of curtain twitching is being judgmental too. I'm not sure what I'd do if confronted with this, most likely also be tempted to call the Guards and may well end up doing it if it went on for hours as in that case.And I would be kind of feeling like a curtain twitcher but what do you do? Can you not see the frustration? It's not black and white.

Reminds me of the 2008 collapse when people were turning on the dole brigade despite them having no hand, act or part the economy collapse.

This is a hugely miserable and frustrating time for us all. Why heap more misery on yourself and others because "I can't do this so I'm going to stop others from doing it", so bloody childish and sneaky.

Look after yourself and your family and stop worrying what others do!

Brilliant post! At the end of the day the blame lies fairly and squarely with the country's leaders and institutions who have let us all down. BIG TIME.

Personable responsibility has been sadly lacking. We are at heart childish, me feiners.

Anyone I know who has got it has been through partying, going to lockins in pubs etc.

Easy to blame the big bad authorities instead of looking at ourselves.

Personable responsibility has been sadly lacking. We are at heart childish, me feiners.

Anyone I know who has got it has been through partying, going to lockins in pubs etc.

Easy to blame the big bad authorities instead of looking at ourselves.

You do realise the irony in your statement about personal responsibility?That the vulnerable could very easily stay at home until this is all over, that anyone concerned could easily stay at home until this is all over. You don't even need to leave the house for groceries, they could be delivered. Where is the personal responsibility there?

Instead everybody has to take responsibility because how dare we ask the vulnerable to take personal responsibility. Businesses have to close by their tens of thousands, jobs have to be lost by their hundreds of thousands, because we can't come up with a strategy to protect the few who require protection from this virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,244 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yep. The party started around half 2 yesterday afternoon and the guestlist just grew as the evening wore on. These are small 2-bed houses and theirs is even smaller than mine.

It wasn't until a taxi arrived with a few more around 10 that I decided to call the local station. If I was curtain-twitching I would have called earlier in the day (or 2 weeks ago when the party went on till 3am), but the bottom line is if people are being restricted from seeing friends, family and loved ones then why should some be allowed flaunt the rules only 2 days in.

You do realise the irony in your statement about personal responsibility?That the vulnerable could very easily stay at home until this is all over, that anyone concerned could easily stay at home until this is all over. You don't even need to leave the house for groceries, they could be delivered. Where is the personal responsibility there?

Instead everybody has to take responsibility because how dare we ask the vulnerable to take personal responsibility. Businesses have to close by their tens of thousands, jobs have to be lost by their hundreds of thousands, because we can't come up with a strategy to protect the few who require protection from this virus.

I'm a healthy person in early 40s and now I have asthma and breathing difficulties from suspected Covid.

Maybe it is something I will have to live with for the rest of my life but sure as long as the people spreading it had a good time, it's all grand.

Mental watching the Portuguese Grand Prix here and seeing lots and lots of fans in the stadium and at the race.

And I can’t visit me ma for a cuppa tea.

Crazy country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The neighbours had a house party yesterday afternoon till the early hours of the morning (they're all still in there as I type this), and I did think about whether I should call it in or not - after all, if I can't legally go beyond 5km to see friends, why should they be allowed do what they want.

So I rang the local station who said they'd send up a car. Never arrived though, and the party continued uninterrupted.

Guess AGS have no interest in the more controversial "rules" either

Unfortunately expected response. Posted about this in the main thread previously. Now I've no idea where you live but one of my friends is a Garda in a Dublin station, he was on lates last night, his first since new restrictions came in. Met up not long ago for a stroll but anyway he said that in the space of an hour last night his station had 5 calls for gatherings in houses ( didn't say how many at them) but in the same hour they also had 2 RTC, 1 house fire, 2 robbery and 3 reported assaults / domestic violence incidents with numerous other 999 calls, all of which have an immediate response.

He took one of the house calls 4 hours after it came in when he eventually came free, arrived up and it was 6 lads from 2 families playing playstion and having a few beers. This is the sort of stuff they're being called about, far from a house party.

He said it himself last week house gatherings will be bottom of the queue and it literally is whenever a car is free. They hope the fines will be a deterrent thats about it.

Unfortunately it sounds like your neighbours have been at this for weeks and just simply don't care

Can you provide the statistics that prove that "private house gatherings" in particular are responsible for spreading most of Covid 19?

Given that it has been "well proven" this should be no issue to you. And unfortunately, Tony Holohan saying house parties are bad does not quantify as a proven statistic here.

Interested to see you back up this piece of fearmongering nonsense.

See the attached and see the numbers for private houses.If it doesn't attach google HSE Epidemiology of Covid 19 outbreaks/clusters in Ireland as that is my source.

You're quite clearly just on here to pick a fight. If you were a regular reader/poster you would get familiar with other posters and know their opinions. If you'd read even one of my posts you would see that the idea of me fearmongering or engaging in any Covid hysteria is laughable.

But facts are facts and if private houses, according to the facts, are a larger source of outbreak setting than anywhere else, having house parties at the moment isn't exactly the most neighbourly or most intelligent thing to do so people getting upset about them is fairly understandable imo.

chrome-extension://gphandlahdpffmccakmbngmbjnjiiahp/https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Outbreak%20Highlights_Week422020_web%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

maybe the government could hire a special group to call to house parties, leave the guards out of it. or get the army to do it?

Reminds me of the 2008 collapse when people were turning on the dole brigade despite them having no hand, act or part the economy collapse.

This is a hugely miserable and frustrating time for us all. Why heap more misery on yourself and others because "I can't do this so I'm going to stop others from doing it", so bloody childish and sneaky.

Look after yourself and your family and stop worrying what others do!

Yes I agree with you too. And as a teacher, a public servant, had to endure very upsetting abuse during the recession as people like me were considered priviliged regardless that we were suffering as well. But like I said, it's not always black and white and I can also see where Kaiser is coming from and attacking him about it and saying you're disappointed in him is being a bit judgemental of him. Just my opinion and not trying to start a fight about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

@brendanhughes64 (Irish News journalist) on Twitter has a thread of various phone calls to the PSNI regarding people breaking Covid restrictions. There's some sad people out there. I can't figure out how to link the thread to here.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

Penfailed wrote: »
    @brendanhughes64 (Irish News journalist) on Twitter has a thread of various phone calls to the PSNI regarding people breaking Covid restrictions. There's some sad people out there. I can't figure out how to link the thread to here.

Has been a mystery to historians an psychologists how the Nazi propaganda machine created a scenario in the lead up to their genocide of "Neighbor turning against neighbor. People who have known each other for years, whose children have played together, suddenly divided by rising cycles of suspicion, hate,...." (from the thirty-sixth annual Vanderbilt University Holocaust Lecture Series"

The Stasi in east Germany picked up where the Nazi party left off and took population control even further.

Looks like our government have been studying a bit.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

That blithering idiot Vradaker on TV talking about more restrictions, bit I heard before switching off was about only essential items allowed to be purchased from the retailers allowed to open.
    And claims they can make laws to enforce this.

These fools seem to believe they can overrule the Constitution, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and multiple others multiple other international civil rights conventions.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

323 wrote: »
    That blithering idiot Vradaker on TV talking about more restrictions, bit I heard before switching off was about only essential items allowed to be purchased from the retailers allowed to open.
    And claims they can make laws to enforce this.

These fools seem to believe they can overrule the Constitution, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and multiple others multiple other international civil rights conventions.

Omg , More restrictions on top of what they’ve done so far ..what ?

It’s abundantly clear to the dogs on the street that this is nothing to do with protection against a pseudo virus anymore.

What else do these evil twisted lunatics want to do now to ensure public’s complete depression of an existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

pgj2015 wrote: »
    maybe the government could hire a special group to call to house parties, leave the guards out of it. or get the army to do it?

No thankfully the Irish home has great protection under Irish law.

It’s a good thing, let’s be careful what we give up for good under the guise of the nations health