Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

323 wrote: »
    These fools seem to believe they can overrule the Constitution, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and multiple others multiple other international civil rights conventions.

They have done so for months, the only resistance from the Irish public was idiots on social media calling for fines on top of the other suppression measures.

If anyone is considering further education, I would recommend a psychology master’s, there will be a plethora of information for a thesis on the Irish tunnel vision approach to Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

If anyone is considering further education, I would recommend a psychology master’s, there will be a plethora of information for a thesis on the Irish tunnel vision approach to Covid

Could not agree more. There is already plenty to study for psychologists and behavioural scientists for the next two decades. And we haven’t finished yet.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

acequion wrote: »
    See the attached and see the numbers for private houses.If it doesn't attach google HSE Epidemiology of Covid 19 outbreaks/clusters in Ireland as that is my source.

You're quite clearly just on here to pick a fight. If you were a regular reader/poster you would get familiar with other posters and know their opinions. If you'd read even one of my posts you would see that the idea of me fearmongering or engaging in any Covid hysteria is laughable.

But facts are facts and if private houses, according to the facts, are a larger source of outbreak setting than anywhere else, having house parties at the moment isn't exactly the most neighbourly or most intelligent thing to do so people getting upset about them is fairly understandable imo.

chrome-extension://gphandlahdpffmccakmbngmbjnjiiahp/https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Outbreak%20Highlights_Week422020_web%

Right. So your source is that there are lots of clusters in private houses. You are aware I'm sure that a cluster is 2 or more people, so the vast, vast majority of irish households then.

You understand that if one person in a household gets covid it is likely to spread to the other members, or just one other member, hence a cluster.

You understand I'm sure that given how so many cases are asymptomatic (https://www.dovepress.com/three-quarters-of-people-with-sars-cov-2-infection-are-asymptomatic-an-peer-reviewed-fulltext-article-CLEP) and the collapse of the contact tracing system, as well as the blatantly implausible figures coming from schools, where children are the most likely to be asymptomatic - that this virus could be entering homes from anywhere. For you to pin it on house parties or gatherings doesnt add up, nor is that supported by the statistics. For most cases (ie the private household clusters), we simply dont know where it came from.

The fact that there are clusters in private houses does not in any way support the majority of then originating from house parties.

There is nothing to support your original statement in what you have linked. That infection is spread through "private house gatherings". Two people living together is not a gathering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I'm a healthy person in early 40s and now I have asthma and breathing difficulties from suspected Covid.

Maybe it is something I will have to live with for the rest of my life but sure as long as the people spreading it had a good time, it's all grand.

You got asthma from Covid?

Yeah, I'm going to say that's bullsh;t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

Stopped once at the entrance to Tesco car park

Garda asked where I was going

Stopped again on the way out, asked me where I was coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

"Suspected covid"...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

JimToken wrote: »
    Stopped once at the entrance to Tesco car park

Garda asked where I was going

Stopped again on the way out, asked me where I was coming from
    I hope this is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

I'm a healthy person in early 40s and now I have asthma and breathing difficulties from suspected Covid.

Maybe it is something I will have to live with for the rest of my life but sure as long as the people spreading it had a good time, it's all grand.

More than likely caused from wearing a mask. My case sinuses still playing up from hour and half flight wearing a mask 6/7 weeks ago.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

I hope this is a joke

Haha it’s prob true, I was stopped the other day and asked where I live and said “XXXVille*” and then he asked, “what were you doing in XXXVille??” I looked at him blankly wondering was he serious and said.... “I live there”.... poor guard prob only applied to Tememore a week ago he was that young.

*I don’t actually live in XXXVille, but you get the picture

Gardai seem to be driving round randomly

Under pressure to deal with covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭acequion

Coybig_ wrote: »
    Right. So your source is that there are lots of clusters in private houses. You are aware I'm sure that a cluster is 2 or more people, so the vast, vast majority of irish households then.

You understand that if one person in a household gets covid it is likely to spread to the other members, or just one other member, hence a cluster.

You understand I'm sure that given how so many cases are asymptomatic (https://www.dovepress.com/three-quarters-of-people-with-sars-cov-2-infection-are-asymptomatic-an-peer-reviewed-fulltext-article-CLEP) and the collapse of the contact tracing system, as well as the blatantly implausible figures coming from schools, where children are the most likely to be asymptomatic - that this virus could be entering homes from anywhere. For you to pin it on house parties or gatherings doesnt add up, nor is that supported by the statistics. For most cases (ie the private household clusters), we simply dont know where it came from.

The fact that there are clusters in private houses does not in any way support the majority of then originating from house parties.

There is nothing to support your original statement in what you have linked. That infection is spread through "private house gatherings". Two people living together is not a gathering.

Hey back in your box!! I don't appreciate your tone!
    You're clearly looking for a fight and if you have nothing better to do on a Sunday afternoon thats your problem.
    You asked me to provide evidence that house parties are leading to a rise in Covid cases despite this being well flagged anecdotally and I provided evidence from a reliable source that the numbers for private houses is far greater than any other setting.You dont agree that it proves house parties and have your own theories including about the numbers in schools, I work in a school by the way.You're more than entitled to your opinion and also to dispute the figures.But not to attack me! Im not interested in nit picking about numbers and not remotely intersted in point scoring with a rabdomer on the Internet.You may be right or not.But you come across as someone wanting to defend house parties come hell or high water.If so find someone else to fight with!

Hey back in your box!! I don't appreciate your tone!
    You're clearly looking for a fight and if you have nothing better to do on a Sunday afternoon thats your problem.
    You asked me to provide evidence that house parties are leading to a rise in Covid cases despite this being well flagged anecdotally and I provided evidence from a reliable source that the numbers for private houses is far greater than any other setting.You dont agree that it proves house parties and have your own theories including about the numbers in schools, I work in a school by the way.You're more than entitled to your opinion and also to dispute the figures.But not to attack me! Im not interested in nit picking about numbers and not remotely intersted in point scoring with a rabdomer on the Internet.You may be right or not.But you come across as someone wanting to defend house parties come hell or high water.If so find someone else to fight with!

Do be fair, there is nothing at all in your post that suggests house parties* are a leading cause! It does say most cases come from households, but we know that most already, that’s because most people live in a house! But the data available makes no distinction between a husband giving it to a wife (now now... we’re talking covid here) and a mad sesh infecting loads.... there is literally no data at all showing it!

Infact, statistically almost every single positive case is liable to pass infection via a household! So as asked, if you can show data showing house parties* are a big spreader, do so! You said it was well proven so dig into that box and find the proof

*house party = rake of people on the sesh in a gaff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

The reason gatherings are banned is because people's real personalities, not their internet personas, come out and the almost unanimous consensus of "this is all bollocks" quickly becomes apparent. You can't derail real conversation and debate by scouring the internet to find some false dichotomy or irrelevant zinger to back up the narrative you want to believe.

sabat wrote: »
    The reason gatherings are banned is because people's real personalities, not their internet personas, come out and the almost unanimous consensus of "this is all bollocks" quickly becomes apparent. You can't derail real conversation and debate by scouring the internet to find some false dichotomy or irrelevant zinger to back up the narrative you want to believe.
    1 word schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Say what you want but here are the facts of the situation.

I had a respiratory infection in March that yes has caused me to have asthma. It comes and goes but can have breathing difficulties for a few days at a time. Sitting here my chest is heavy and need a dose of inhaler.

I was at work in March and could barely catch my breath after having a cough for two weeks. Tight chest etc. There were cases of Covid in my work at that time.

I probably had sports induced asthma when younger but never diagnosed and only when I was playing sport and would ease very quickly.

The respiratory infection has given me permanent asthma. Doctor thinks there's a good chance it was Covid. My test was cancelled due to lack of capacity at that time. Was possibly too late for test at that stage anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Penfailed wrote: »
    @brendanhughes64 (Irish News journalist) on Twitter has a thread of various phone calls to the PSNI regarding people breaking Covid restrictions. There's some sad people out there. I can't figure out how to link the thread to here.

Here you go.
    Best one is number 12, reporting a neighbour for going on 'multiple walks' each day.

https://twitter.com/brendanhughes64/status/1319983867713998850

Do be fair, there is nothing at all in your post that suggests house parties* are a leading cause! It does say most cases come from households, but we know that most already, that’s because most people live in a house! But the data available makes no distinction between a husband giving it to a wife (now now... we’re talking covid here) and a mad sesh infecting loads.... there is literally no data at all showing it!

Infact, statistically almost every single positive case is liable to pass infection via a household! So as asked, if you can show data showing house parties* are a big spreader, do so! You said it was well proven so dig into that box and find the proof

*house party = rake of people on the sesh in a gaff

No I won't. Why? Because I've better things to do. And couldn't care less about proving a point! I've no problem whatsoever being wrong and always post to express an opinion, not to point score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Here you go.
    Best one is number 12, reporting a neighbour for going on 'multiple walks' each day.

https://twitter.com/brendanhughes64/status/1319983867713998850

Ostalgie off the scale there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Say what you want but here are the facts of the situation.

I had a respiratory infection in March that yes has caused me to have asthma. It comes and goes but can have breathing difficulties for a few days at a time. Sitting here my chest is heavy and need a dose of inhaler.

I was at work in March and could barely catch my breath after having a cough for two weeks. Tight chest etc. There were cases of Covid in my work at that time.

I probably had sports induced asthma when younger but never diagnosed and only when I was playing sport and would ease very quickly.

The respiratory infection has given me permanent asthma. Doctor thinks there's a good chance it was Covid. My test was cancelled due to lack of capacity at that time. Was possibly too late for test at that stage anyway.

If you are having to use use your reliever inhaler more than a couple of times a week, your treatment of asthma needs to be reacessed.

https://www.asthma.ie/get-help/learn-about-asthma/medicines-treatments/reliever-inhalers

There are many types and causes of asthma and you have mentioned one/excercise induced, along with your present situation and there are many types of inhaler and different treatment protocols..

Best get a specialised assement as some Gps better than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,027 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Haha it’s prob true, I was stopped the other day and asked where I live and said “XXXVille*” and then he asked, “what were you doing in XXXVille??” I looked at him blankly wondering was he serious and said.... “I live there”.... poor guard prob only applied to Tememore a week ago he was that young.

*I don’t actually live in XXXVille, but you get the picture

so you lied to the guard? silly thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,956 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

No I won't. Why? Because I've better things to do. And couldn't care less about proving a point! I've no problem whatsoever being wrong and always post to express an opinion, not to point score.

You said that house parties were responsible for the spread of covid. When asked to back that up you threw up a link that said nothing of the sort and immediately started crying about being attacked. You have spent more time crying about peoples motives than you have actually giving those opinions.

Just saying.

Does anybody know the mechanics of the whole "Bubble" thing?

Is there anything whatsoever stopping a person changing who their "bubble" is every single day?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    so you lied to the guard? silly thing to do.

No! I do live in XXXVille.... the * point mentioned on not living XXXVille was that the name of my town isn’t XXXVille! Maybe I should have made it clearer.

He asked where I live, I told him. then he asked what I was doing there...! I Obviously I was living!

You said that house parties were responsible for the spread of covid. When asked to back that up you threw up a link that said nothing of the sort and immediately started crying about being attacked. You have spent more time crying about peoples motives than you have actually giving those opinions.

Just saying.

Jesus, I have to laugh at this stage.:D What is it with some of you people that all you want is to fight and point score. That's the motive I'm taking issue with. Not to discuss Coronavirus, not to express opinions or even take part in reasoned debate. Attack and point score. And keep attacking and keep point scoring. Why is that? Have you no life at all? Or perhaps an innate desire to bully and badger in a way not possible in the real world?

I'm blue in the face from saying that I'm not interested in any of that. I couldn't care less about house parties and I absolutely hate all these idiotic restrictions that curtail normal life. But that said, I don't think it's very smart to hold a house party in the current climate and get how it would annoy a neighbour. Whether the figures I quoted from the HSE prove anything or nothing is irrelevant. And if I'm completely wrong, no problem.I've already said all of that.

At this point it's quite amusing to check this thread every few hours on a wet Sunday to see who else wants to pin me to the wall over an opinion I expressed hours ago.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭46 Long

323 wrote: »
    That blithering idiot Vradaker on TV talking about more restrictions, bit I heard before switching off was about only essential items allowed to be purchased from the retailers allowed to open.
    And claims they can make laws to enforce this.

These fools seem to believe they can overrule the Constitution, International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and multiple others multiple other international civil rights conventions.

Telling people to support local businesses while forcing them to buy from Amazon.

Jesus, I have to laugh at this stage.:D What is it with some of you people that all you want is to fight and point score. That's the motive I'm taking issue with. Not to discuss Coronavirus, not to express opinions or even take part in reasoned debate. Attack and point score. And keep attacking and keep point scoring. Why is that? Have you no life at all? Or perhaps an innate desire to bully and badger in a way not possible in the real world?

I'm blue in the face from saying that I'm not interested in any of that. I couldn't care less about house parties and I absolutely hate all these idiotic restrictions that curtail normal life. But that said, I don't think it's very smart to hold a house party in the current climate and get how it would annoy a neighbour. Whether the figures I quoted from the HSE prove anything or nothing is irrelevant. And if I'm completely wrong, no problem.I've already said all of that.

At this point it's quite amusing to check this thread every few hours on a wet Sunday to see who else wants to pin me to the wall over an opinion I expressed hours ago.:rolleyes:
    As I said:
    You have spent more time crying about peoples motives than you have actually giving those opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's really sad how passive people are about the whole situation . I understand most of us just want to do good but the human desire for freedom is very small judging by my social group/comments about protestors is anything to go by.. "just nackers" is one that stands out. It seems we are just content to along with this way of life until we are given the green light by our betters seems to be the general feeling.

Maybe this is part of living in a complex society. We confer trust into our government and institutions but as we have seen countless times, in this country too, the powers to be will often lead us astray.

It's a real sad situation. At the end of the day, what data and models am I basing my skepticism on this lockdown and preemptive measures? I am terrible at maths, barely passed a statistics course but the whole situation just seems odd. My friend was talking about how nurses were run off their feet last week when he went into hospital; then Varadkar posts a tweet about how hospitals have never been emptier. People are seeing something that isn't even there to justify their ambivlance to the whole thing.

But I think what people say and what they do will be the key factor. These same people can seem complicit but then act in a way that suggests their true intuition about the whole thing.

Also, something I thought of regards the health are system. Our health care workers do tremendous work absolutely but isn't the point of the health care system to keep citizens healthy and allow the smooth running of society. Why then is it taking on this, often moralistic tone at times, that we must all work together to prevent pressure on the health care system? Why are simple forces of supply not kicking in and more manpower not being employed to deal with extra numbers? Diminishing returns? Regardless, I don't see why the corona is any different to any of the other various ailments that tend to pop up. The system is there to provide that service and allow us live our lives.

*Like always, important to keep in mind this situation is not unique to Ireland. All of Europe to the west of Moravia seems caught in the hysteria.

It's really sad how passive people are about the whole situation . I understand most of us just want to do good but the human desire for freedom is very small judging by my social group/comments about protestors is anything to go by.. "just nackers" is one that stands out. It seems we are just content to along with this way of life until we are given the green light by our betters seems to be the general feeling.

Maybe this is part of living in a complex society. We confer trust into our government and institutions but as we have seen countless times, in this country too, the powers to be will often lead us astray.

It's a real sad situation. At the end of the day, what data and models am I basing my skepticism on this lockdown and preemptive measures? I am terrible at maths, barely passed a statistics course but the whole situation just seems odd. My friend was talking about how nurses were run off their feet last week when he went into hospital; then Varadkar posts a tweet about how hospitals have never been emptier. People are seeing something that isn't even there to justify their ambivlance to the whole thing.

But I think what people say and what they do will be the key factor. These same people can seem complicit but then act in a way that suggests their true intuition about the whole thing.

Also, something I thought of regards the health are system. Our health care workers do tremendous work absolutely but isn't the point of the health care system to keep citizens healthy and allow the smooth running of society. Why then is it taking on this, often moralistic tone at times, that we must all work together to prevent pressure on the health care system? Why are simple forces of supply not kicking in and more manpower not being employed to deal with extra numbers? Diminishing returns? Regardless, I don't see why the corona is any different to any of the other various ailments that tend to pop up. The system is there to provide that service and allow us live our lives.

*Like always, important to keep in mind this situation is not unique to Ireland. All of Europe to the west of Moravia seems caught in the hysteria.

I would have to agree, it is all knackers at them protests in fairness.

No! I do live in XXXVille.... the * point mentioned on not living XXXVille was that the name of my town isn’t XXXVille! Maybe I should have made it clearer.

He asked where I live, I told him. then he asked what I was doing there...! I Obviously I was living!

id say you just confused him like you did me, no wonder he let you go. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

My friend from Iraq says everyone has got the virus over there now so they don’t give a sh*t cause I was watching Arabic tv there and there is a crowd in the street after the elections hardly a person with a mask on and asked him about it.

Plenty of places just going back to normal.