Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,766 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

voldejoie wrote: »
    Just heard on the BBC news that Spain has declared a state of emergency, and that they anticipate it will go on until at least May.

I know it's a different country and it isn't exactly news that this is going to continue well into next year, but hearing things like that can be hard to take :( It really just feels like it'll never end. What if there isn't a vaccine for years and years, will we just be stuck in this cycle indefinitely? :(

I was there for 6 weeks in summer, parents are still there. Emergency where they are means a 12pm curfew, but you can still go to bars and restaurants, or the beach or whatever. Ireland's rules are draconian in comparison. But they have a world class healthcare system and ours is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Stheno wrote: »
    A few weeks with 1000 cases a day would change that

It needs to come down, we've probably not seen the effect of the rise in cases on the hospitals

Any day now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Did you just make this up ? NPHET said nothing about testing . According to them it was safe to play . So your issue should be with them

Did you read about this. The GAA made a big show about having a rapid testing programme, but it is only done on request. Obviously given the risk of teams having to forfeit matches if they can't field a full squad, that creates an incentive to adopt a 'head in the sand' approach to covid 19. What makes it worse is that the amateur nature of GAA means any infected players are highly likely to spread it amongst the team, and then onto the wider local community. It's an absolute farce, and was obviously designed to pay lip service to safety rather than a genuine attempt at containing the spread of covid 19.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1019/1172479-louth-captain-makes-startling-revelation-on-testing/
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I was there for 6 weeks in summer, parents are still there. Emergency where they are means a 12pm curfew, but you can still go to bars and restaurants, or the beach or whatever. Ireland's rules are draconian in comparison. But they have a world class healthcare system and ours is a joke.

State of emergency is needed to implement restrictions. That’s all that is. Similar to our health Act 1947 where restrictions are time bound and need to be rolled over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Blondini wrote: »
    Good to see less than 100 turnip-brained saddos turned up for the protest today.

Bunch of semi-evolved dimwits.

https://www.independent.ie/videos/irish-news/protestors-gather-in-dublin-city-against-the-introduction-of-level-5-restrictions-39665227.html

Speaker is gifted no doubts :D

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭seefin

Because it is a complete overreaction, just like by this government.

She isn't going to catch covid walking by me on the street.

You might have looked like someone likely to sneeze or cough in her face- its easy to spot them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Same as every other government then?

they're the first to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

What fear? Wear a mask, wash your hands and keep your distance. It's very simple.

Yeah it's insane the number of people who just don't give a fúck about the 2metre thing anymore. We notice that in the local park. There was a time if people were approaching, everyone would kind of go single file ish and move to one side or the other of the path. Nobody cares now it seems.

Antares35 wrote: »
    Yeah it's insane the number of people who just don't give a fúck about the 2metre thing anymore. We notice that in the local park. There was a time if people were approaching, everyone would kind of go single file ish and move to one side or the other of the path. Nobody cares now it seems.

And imagine the rules in the schools, you can only dream about 2 metres there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Ger Roe wrote: »
    [/B]

Is there a lesson to be learn't here? They have much less restrictions and the situation is much worse there. Have you answered your own question?
    Oh give over and to all the people who thanked the post, pathetic.

You know what I am saying, there is a happy level and Ireland has gone far too extreme on the restrictions.

We never even opened up fully in the summer. We didn't plan for an autumn wave.

We learnt nothing just the shut up shop knee jerk move.

Such a move is the easiest call anybody can make.

A tough job is coming up with a middle ground for a functioning social and economic life whilst keeping the virus level down.

We failed with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

52,000 cases in France today. Jaysus.

Oh give over and to all the people who thanked the post, pathetic.

You know what I am saying, there is a happy level and Ireland has gone far too extreme on the restrictions.

We never even opened up fully in the summer. We didn't plan for an autumn wave.

We learnt nothing just the shut up shop knee jerk move.

Such a move is the easiest call anybody can make.

A tough job is coming up with a middle ground for a functioning social and economic life whilst keeping the virus level down.

We failed with this.

Far too extreme??? Laughable, always half cooked everything, so you get what you get. Extreme, not even close. This country is way too busy to discuss any excuse available in the universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I wonder how many are actually sick?

Roger_007 wrote: »

52 probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Thierry12

NI matched that per capita weeks ago ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

The UK government is looking at reducing the quarantine duration for close contacts of a positive case, to between 7 and 10 days, as a study suggests only 11% of close contacts are complying fully with the current 14 day requirement.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-54678809

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

No, he has taken on a new role and now he advises us all directly.

Covid is the new Religion, bit like the Catholic Church and we must all obey

Tony = Pope
    Government = Bishops
    Guards = Priests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

coastwatch wrote: »
    The UK government is looking at reducing the quarantine duration for close contacts of a positive case, to between 7 and 10 days, as a study suggests only 11% of close contacts are complying fully with the current 14 day requirement.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-54678809

if driven by science and a risk based approach It makes sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Antares35 wrote: »
    They would be better a social distancing if there we no masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,109 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

In parks?
    Not many ppl wearing them there.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

As soon as the masks came in, people were on top of each other in the shops/queues again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Nothing to do with anything anyone is talking about!, but I posted earlier giving out about being listed for different test centres and on reflection I just realised how I said nothing positive... If this was March / April we wouldn’t have been tested at all. I’ve been in three test centres now and they are incredibly efficient. I have two small kids and the staff have been just really lovely and kind each time. Credit where it’s due, they are doing a great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭Field east

We are a nation of sensitive petals /snowflakes and to be very gently handled by gov and it’s agencies. I was shocked by the immediate outburst from all sides - and led by the opposition when the HSE had a plan to ask Covid 19 positives to contact people that were in close contact with.
    Firstly, I understand that not all people who contact Covid get very sick and even if they do it may not be the case for the first few days of the virus, so I would expect that a significant number of those infected could make a good stab at contacting a lot/ all of their close contacts.

Secondly, a high number of those infected would have , husbands, wives, mothers , fathers, uncles , aunts, grandmothers , etc, etc , that could do the contact tracing on behalf of the person infected.

So why was it not the case that the contact tracing could have been done with some basic cooperation between the infected person and the HSE. The contact tracing under the above suggestion could be carried out much, much quicker.
    The HSE would establish with each infected person at the outset the list of close contacts and agree a strategy on who will contact who. The infected persons would be much quicker in contacting contacts also because they would find their tel no’s quicker and , know the best time to contact them.

The HSE contact team , re the above strategy, would need to follow up on the infected person/‘next of kin’ re how the tracing is progressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Covid is the new Religion, bit like the Catholic Church and we must all obey

Tony = Pope
    Government = Bishops
    Guards = Priests

Amen to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Field east wrote: »
    We are a nation of sensitive petals /snowflakes and to be very gently handled by gov and it’s agencies. I was shocked by the immediate outburst from all sides - and led by the opposition when the HSE had a plan to ask Covid 19 positives to contact people that were in close contact with.
    Firstly, I understand that not all people who contact Covid get very sick and even if they do it may not be the case for the first few days of the virus, so I would expect that a significant number of those infected could make a good stab at contacting a lot/ all of their close contacts.

Secondly, a high number of those infected would have , husbands, wives, mothers , fathers, uncles , aunts, grandmothers , etc, etc , that could do the contact tracing on behalf of the person infected.

So why was it not the case that the contact tracing could have been done with some basic cooperation between the infected person and the HSE. The contact tracing under the above suggestion could be carried out much, much quicker.
    The HSE would establish with each infected person at the outset the list of close contacts and agree a strategy on who will contact who. The infected persons would be much quicker in contacting contacts also because they would find their tel no’s quicker and , know the best time to contact them.

The HSE contact team , re the above strategy, would need to follow up on the infected person/‘next of kin’ re how the tracing is progressing
    Cooperation went out the window when people weren’t allowed 2km from their home. That was not the HSE’s fault per say, but if NPHET and the government are bright enough to know what an entire country should and should not be doing, the vast majority of the population will expect that same government to figure contact tracing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,411 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I was walking down the street today and some elderly woman with a mask almost jumped into a bush when i walked past, almost on the road.

The fear of god being peddled by the media will have us ruined for years.

Or perhaps she's a regular here, has read your attitude to the restrictions, and considered a defensive move was prudent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,593 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Between 1500 and 2600 will need hospitalization depending on the profile of infection.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,728 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

1,298 admitted to hospital today in France and 116 hospital deaths.

There is an Irish doctor on Twitter with a good thread on the farcical PCR tests. He ends it by saying Leo knows it’s a farce but it’s political poison to go against Tony again. On the money there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/society/article/3107016/coronavirus-chinas-kashgar-test-all-700000-residents-after

New outbreak now in China. Safe to say there is significant community spread there given that borders are closed. Last week Qingdao. This week Xinjiang. Presumably all over the place again.