Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

I just got a text for my daughters Covid test... in three hours. No text so far for me or my son. I’ve Been reading lots giving out about people not turning up for their second test... maybe more notice would be helpful! I’m fine but I imagine some people have no transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

That they are fearmongers that do no good for anyone. That George Lee is just a NPHET amplifier and does not have am inquisitive bone in his body

Remember when George went into politics... For about 6 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Boggles wrote: »
    So not a 100?

Level 4 at the border counties hadn't came in at that time.

AFAIK it was revised down to between 60-84.

It would appear a relative percentage of people are not been afforded the benefit of ICU.

Even so we could easily be looking at 50 in ICU and close enough to 400 in hospital in the next 7 odd days. Give there has been 15,000 confirmed infections in the past fortnight with it growing in the vulnerable groups.

So it's hardly an absolute mental prediction.

That is the letter to the Government. This is the Formal advice to go to Level 5 not something on then back of an envelope. They have said 80 to 110, and publicly made reference to the 100 figure.

You are tying yourself in knots trying to defend them.

I am fine with level 5 as I do think the trajectory was unsustainable and can see the benefits of a circuit breaker now rather than going to level 5 in later November or a crazy level of infections over Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

RedC poll shows 66% in favour of level 5. Higher than i thought it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Jimson wrote: »
    The younger you are the more asymptomatic the symptoms are, think about it.

Why is it rampant in nursing homes? Because there showing symptoms and getting tested.

How many of these 18-24 would have siblings in schools? A lot of this age group in college as well.

Also we were at 50 cases a day with house parties rampant across the country. Why is it only when the schools went back its up to 1300

That's not true, there have been many asymptomatic cases even in nursing homes. Data from Diamond Princess showed that a young person was in fact more likely to show symptoms than the over 65 cohort. Obviously their symptoms were milder than the older group who showed symptomcs, but young age does not make one more likely to be asymptomatic, just more likely to have mild symptoms.

It would appear a relative percentage of people are not been afforded the benefit of ICU.

The likely scenario is, they have DNRs

bb1234567 wrote: »
    That's not true, there have been many asymptomatic cases even in nursing homes. Data from Diamond Princess showed that a young person was in fact less likely to show symptoms than the over 65 cohort. Obviously their symptoms were milder than the older group who showed symptomcs, but young age does not make one more likely to be asymptomatic, just more likely to have mild symptoms.

they can still spread it like everyone else, mild symptoms or not.

mloc123 wrote: »
    The likely scenario is, they have DNRs

And they and their families have decided this for good reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Psychiatric Patrick

The whole thing has been a bit much for me and I cannot understand these rules.

If 25 people can gather for wedding, why not 40? Or 50?

And why is there restrictions on home visits?

I’m not a “denier” or anything like that I just cannot understand the logic of it.

Six family members (from two households) are going to my parents house today. One works in a hospital and they are travelling more than 5km.

Is that violating the restrictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

If you're going to get all worked up at least understand what you're worked up about.

NPHET don't control contract tracing the HSE does.

Replace nphet with hse in what the poster said and what is your opinion, I think its a valid one, businesses are being asked to close because of the failures of others. Once they can accept for the good of people, twice is hard to take but if they are asked a third time I don't blame for staying open.

Yup. My grandfather, grand aunt and uncle all had DNRs while in nursing homes. Luckily (now) they all died before Covid hit hard, the last being in March.

Even people without a DNR, doctors will look at anyone over 70 and weigh up what quality of life if any they would have after a month in an induced coma on a ventilator. The months or years of rehab afterwards etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

speckle wrote: »
    ....If this dodgy product was sent to for example nursing homes.. the company should be sued. And the question remains has it been used in the past in hospitals where outbreaks if other nasty infections have appeared...

You do realise that it performed as a sanitiser? It was the side affects that were the issue.

I’m not a “denier” or anything like that I just cannot understand the logic of it.

Six family members (from two households) are going to my parents house today. One works in a hospital and they are travelling more than 5km.

Of course it is violating restrictions. FFS... People will use any excuse to ignore the recommendations... Oh, I didn't understand.

Ger Roe wrote: »
    I don't know about that .... he dug pretty deep and ruffled a lot of feathers when he and Charlie Bird uncovered major tax and overcharging scandals in National Irish Bank, he also saw the financial crash coming in 2008 and called out the financial regulator over his official report that we were all going to be fine.

He did. And I don’t know where that went. Robert Peston in the UK was the same. A once challenging and inquisitive journalist now just a mouthpiece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Of course it is. Would you tell them and your parents to get a grip?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Not becessarily true from personal family experience.. we have had DNRs and the opposite... the doctors can overule this. It should be the person if mentally competent who decides what quality of life they find acceptable.

At level 5 restrictions, a teacher can have more students in his or her classroom, than would be allowed to attend their funeral.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

I don't even care too much that people won't follow the recommendations... If you wanna break them, fine.. break them.

But the bull**** loops people jump through in their mind to do it is the funny part...

"The recommendations are too complicated"
    "I'm not doing any harm to anyone"
    "But the GAA can travel.. and I can't"

Or call the Guards on them. At least that would sort out the full family having to spend Christmas together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

At level 5 restrictions, a teacher can have more students in his or her classroom, than would be allowed to attend their funeral.

It's crazy how many people still don't understand that the government have put keeping schools open as a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,592 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

That is the letter to the Government. This is the Formal advice to go to Level 5 not something on then back of an envelope. They have said 80 to 110, and publicly made reference to the 100 figure.

And they since revised it down based on restrictions the government brought in, specifically in the 3 counties where the virus was out of control.

The target is moving as will the predictions be variable.

But we have seen this movie plenty times.

Sure hospitalizations and ICU numbers are fine, then boom, they aren't.

Most recent case is Belgium, we are just going focus our intention more on hospitalizations, easy to do that when things look good.

‘Worse than in March’: Belgian hospital figures double every week

So personally I would be quite careful about writing off predictions or creating my own considering things behind the scenes are at best starting to creek.

Of course it is violating restrictions. FFS... People will use any excuse to ignore the recommendations... Oh, I didn't understand.

Wind your neck in a bit and no need for profanity.

I said I had lost track of if it all because it makes no sense how a wedding is safer than a house and I never said I was going to be at the house. Or that those going doing understand the restrictions.

So what can I do? Neither my father or siblings will listen to me and if they do I’ll just be accused of wanting to cause trouble.

Is there someone I can report it to? I am assuming there is Garda checkpoints but they won’t know when my sister lies about where she is going or how many will be there.

I don't even care too much that people won't follow the recommendations... If you wanna break them, fine.. break them.

But the bull**** loops people jump through in their mind to do it is the funny part...

"The recommendations are too complicated"
    "I'm not doing any harm to anyone"
    "But the GAA can travel.. and I can't"

If you are saying I’m jumping through hoops you are wrong.

I said do not understand the logic of a wedding can have 25 people. Is there not more chance of the virus spreading?

I am the family member asking the questions

I said I had lost track of if it all because it makes no sense how a wedding is safer than a house and I never said I was going to be at the house. Or that those going doing understand the restrictions.

You didn't lose track of anything... You are just intentionally trying to muddy the situation. The guidelines for weeks now have been very clear, nobody is to visit another person's house.

If you cannot understand such a simple guideline, you must be very slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,512 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

And they since revised it down based on restrictions the government brought in, specifically in the 3 counties where the virus was out of control.

The target is moving as will the predictions be variable.

But we have seen this movie plenty times.

Sure hospitalizations and ICU numbers are fine, then boom, they aren't.

Most recent case is Belgium, we are just going focus our intention more on hospitalizations, easy to do that when things look good.

‘Worse than in March’: Belgian hospital figures double every week

So personally I would be quite careful about writing off predictions or creating my own considering things behind the scenes are at best starting to creek.

They didn't revise it down from anything I can find, this is what is formal and is in writing.

This is the letter from 15th October recommending level 5 which was later accepted. There has been no letter since.

This is the reality of what they predicted just over a week ago.

https://assets.gov.ie/93272/2c5f1621-4233-47d8-adce-96e9b9b2ffc1.pdf

If you have a link to where its revised it would be most welcome. If not then I think the posters point stands as this was the state of play a week ago when deciding level 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭zinfandel

dear god, so many selfish people that just think the restrictions dont apply to them, I have not seen either of my sons since last Christmas, one in UK , one in Ireland as my husband is high risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭growleaves

So what can I do? Neither my father or siblings will listen to me and if they do I’ll just be accused of wanting to cause trouble.

Is there someone I can report it to? I am assuming there is Garda checkpoints but they won’t know when my sister lies about where she is going or how many will be there.

You're going report your family to the authorities? That is dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

You do realise that it performed as a sanitiser? It was the side affects that were the issue.

quoting dept of agriculture from the article.

'Inadequate levels of ethanol render the product ineffective and frequent use of sanitiser with methanol can cause nausea, dermatitis, eye irritation, upper respiratory tract irritation and headaches, it said.'

growleaves wrote: »
    You're going report your family to the authorities? That is dire.

He's just on a wind up here :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Nope. Methanol is not effective in breaking down the covid virus.