Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

He is an actual doctor unlike a medical doctor.

You can get a PhD and be an "actual doctor" in video games nox, **** all use to someone with coronavirus though.....

Should we be listening to people with Phds in Irish history? Or ancient Greek? Don't be bitter because medical doctors are more respected than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Some great points made by the professor in the UK and the economist, the Irish doctor sounds crazy and extremely dangerous with his zero Covid BS :rolleyes:

Tomas Ryan’s expertise is in neuroscience. In memory, to be more precise. I hope that a few years from now he remembers all that bollox that he said publicly. That will be the only time his expertise will be useful.

On another note, the longer this continues, the more it looks that cv-19 is like a flu... yet the social, or anti-social experiment should I say, continues regardless.

Now I hear that the lockdown is not for flattening the curve, not even to eradicate the virus, believe it or not it is so the HSE are not overwhelmed and that the backlog of patients can be dealt with. The second lockdown is to deal with the adverse effects of the first one. Just like a second bottle of whiskey fixed hangover that the first one caused.

None sense after none sense.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,956 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It takes a serious disconnect from reality to type the words "a medical doctor is not a doctor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Seanachai wrote: »
    Most of the people I see wearing masks outdoors in my neighbourhood are in their 20's, the deference to authority in this age group is strange.

Why would anyone wear a face muzzle outside? Unless you’ve had a full lobotomy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Most of the people I see wearing masks outdoors in my neighbourhood are in their 20's, the deference to authority in this age group is strange.

To be fair I think there’s a lot of goodness and idealism in this age group - much more so than when I was that age. A lot of them care about improving the world. Misguided in this situation in my opinion, but still a really good character trait. Hope they don’t end up as cynical as my generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »

I didn't know masks were a requirement after a full lobotomy. That's new to me.

Question - are you posting from satire account? It's really hard to tell

I didn't know masks were a requirement after a full lobotomy. That's new to me.

Question - are you posting from satire account? It's really hard to tell

The key part you missed I think in my sentence- “outside“.

As for the account I don’t care what you think about it - stick it on ignore if it gets your knickers in that much of a twist. I couldn’t tell you what way you post- nor could I care less tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,057 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

They can shove the carrots where the rib don’t shine- especially Dracula Harris

It's Lurch...

Screenshot-20201020-194520-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

I pulled out of a debate on some other thread a while ago because children were being accounted a similar life value to 88 year olds.

Fintan, if they were looking at the Value of Statustical Life, they might have been right, or almost right:

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

The key part you missed I think in my sentence- “outside“.

As for the account I don’t care what you think about it - stick it on ignore if it gets your knickers in that much of a twist. I couldn’t tell you what way you post- nor could I care less tbh

Feck, apologies:

I didn't know the wearing of masks outside was a requirement after a full lobotomy.

Ah no, it just seemed like you were taking the piss in a very clever and satirical way, obviously not - my mistake - carry on :)

It's Lurch...

Screenshot-20201020-194520-2.jpg

He’s more of a Dracula to me - looks like he pops out fresh from his coffin every morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I presume it's some kind of weird virtue-signaling.

You can sing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

It keeps my face warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,244 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Hear hear!

Fair play to the man. Absolute sense from him once again, and not saying anything that many people (not usually shown on the selective RTE on-the-street interviews) aren't saying and asking.

The complete disinterest from Donnelly though in that video is a disgrace, and backs up everything McNamara says around the damage being caused to our democracy by all this.

funnydoggy wrote: »
    People are quick to forget and are idolising him. See that one mural of him as a superhero? Chr*st on a bike:rolleyes:

and he will be idolised tonight again on The Late Late Show!! Ryan Tubridy will be doing some drooling over him and all those who don't question anything about this lockdown or the handling of Covid will be hanging on his every word.

Tomorrow it will be "did ye hear what Tony said last night on the Late Late"? As though he is our next door neighbour, our friend, or even God himself. As though he is infallible and has been forgiven for his role in the Cervical cancer debacle! As thought he is the same of us, surviving now on PUP payments! How many people in this country are insecure sheep, who cannot think for themselves especially at this stage of Covid, who do no research, who follow clickbait headlines that have no backup.

An alternative voice is beginning to grow now and needs to be listened to. RTE, NPHET and the Government are in cahoots with each other and will not allow that to happen, hence the Government Propaganda Show, I mean the Late Late Show tonight!
    I'm watching Netflix tonight :rolleyes:

KiKi III wrote: »
    It keeps my face warm.

Cool- at least it has one actual use then!

They are very useful at annoying lunatics too it seems, I will probably start wearing them outside too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

It's one person's perception. It's not what I see.

They are very useful at annoying lunatics too it seems, I will probably start wearing them outside too

I would have assumed you did already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

and he will be idolised tonight again on The Late Late Show!! Ryan Tubridy will be doing some drooling over him and all the half wits who don't question anything about this lockdown or the handling of Covid will be hanging on his every word.

Tomorrow it will be "did ye hear what Tony said last night on the Late Late"? As though he is our next door neighbour, our friend, even God Almighty. As though he is infallible and has been forgiven for his role in the Cervical cancer debacle! As thought he is the same of us, surviving now on PUP payments! How many people in this country are insecure, brainless, sheep, who cannot think for themselves, who do no research, who follow clickbait headlines that have no backup.

An alternative voice is beginning to grow now and needs to be listened. RTE, NPHET and the Government are in cahoots with each other and will not allow that to happen, hence the Government Propaganda Show, I mean the Late Late Show tonight!
    Tony Holohan can do one tonight, I'm watching Netflix :rolleyes:

So you think anyone who sticks to restrictions are as highlighted ?

Insulting at the very least.
    I'm getting so sick of the "sheep" "brainless" labels being banded around about people just because they don't agree with your views

Everyone has a view, yours is no more important than anyone elses so labelling people like this is just rude

SAMTALK wrote: »
    So you think anyone who sticks to restrictions are as highlighted ?

Insulting at the very least.
    I'm getting so sick of the "sheep" "brainless" labels being banded around about people just because they don't agree with your views

Everyone has a view, yours is no more important than anyone elses so labelling people like this is just rude

Okay I apologise, I'll take the "sheep and brainless " labels off. But you get what I mean and most people do at this stage. I am angry as hell at this stage. There is an alternative dialogue here and it needs to be listened to. Airlines, hospitality and small businesses are on their knees, we are borrowing more than any other EU country to keep propping up businesses that will ultimately crash now so its dead money. Our children's children will be repaying this debt.

Most people get mild or no symptoms............. including my 8 months pregnant daughter, her husband, her toddler, both her parents in law in their 60's who all got Covid last month. All were very mild symptoms and kept working throughout at home for the duration.

We are paying a HUGE price for all of this and I for one seriously object to the ONE SIDED story being peddled by our National Broadcaster which WE pay for, and Tony Holohan becoming a celebrity.... Covid is now seen as soft Friday evening entertainment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,884 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Schools aren’t baby sitting services, who looked after her in the first lockdown or who will look after her during midterm?

its alright for you nox, when you have kids you are going to let your folks take care of them, im alright jack. :pac:

im surprised you are so afraid of covid to be honest, im more inclined to think you are being contrarian for your own amusement as id assumed anything that kept you out of the pub would have been something you would have stood against vehemently.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    You can get a PhD and be an "actual doctor" in video games nox, **** all use to someone with coronavirus though.....

Should we be listening to people with Phds in Irish history? Or ancient Greek? Don't be bitter because medical doctors are more respected than you.

You can but for the most part the term has become misused when you hear people say you aren't a real doctor when not being a medical doctor when it is actually the opposite that is the case.
    It takes a serious disconnect from reality to type the words "a medical doctor is not a doctor".

Well they aren't a doctor is someone with a doctoral degree of which the majority of medical doctors don't have. This is not some new conversation I've had this debate on boards a number of times over the years and I am not shy of saying it in real life either when people question the use of Dr. for non medical doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Miriam ocallaghan to her credit gave both sides of the argument last night- her peers could learn a lot about not being over emotionally wed to the lockdown like the useless C Byrne

Said it before, i've a lot of time for Claire Byrne, one of the best in Irish broadcasting but her covid coverage has verged on the hysterical, really unhelpful.

Yeah it's a joke. I know a nursing home staff member who had his test cancelled last month because the testing system couldn't cope with all the kids being brought to testing centres with sniffles after going back to school.

They had to scale back weekly to fortnightly testing of staff.

They have literally learned nothing about protecting the vulnerable and are back to making the exact same mistakes again.

Dr Hulahoop just blames Joe Public for high spread community transmission and says nursing homes can't be protected if community transmission is high.
    he might be right to some extent but he could at least try.

Mister, the state cant wash your hands for you!!.it looks like the public will be washing their hands OF you Doctor!

Most people get mild or no symptoms............. including my 8 months pregnant daughter, her husband, her toddler, both her parents in law in their 60's who all got Covid last month. All were very mild symptoms and kept working throughout at home for the duration.

Didn't you say the toddler ended up in hospital with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Who will look after my daughter during the day then? Netflix?

Nox's mammy will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Anyone have any idea how many people have died from Covid in Ireland that didnt have any underlying health conditions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,473 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Said it before, i've a lot of time for Claire Byrne, one of the best in Irish broadcasting but her covid coverage has verged on the hysterical, really unhelpful.

She has gone to pot alright. Pity.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?