Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Tzardine wrote: »
    I heard Jess Kelly refer to her during the last piece as Doctor Kelly. I wonder if she was messing, or do people actually refer to her at that in Newstalk.
    Well she still has a doctorate.

But it's probably done as a joke because she's so thick it's hard to imagine her being able to muster the intellect to go to all that effort and become a doctor.

Although, I have to say, she's a lot more of an idiot since having covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Soulsun

Kids can train in pods correct, but what if the training is in excess of 5km from the house?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I just cant get my head around that GAA matches and training can go ahead but only 25 at a funeral . A lovely lady I knew is being buried today and her grandchildren cannot even be there . The funeral is in a massive church .,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

elbyrneo wrote: »
    Is children playing football on the green with children from their estate not allowed, frowned upon or fine under level 5

We restricted during the previous full lockdown but with schools open and clubs still training, I dont see the point stopping them this time round.

This is the real issue isn't it. Children have a window of opportunity to learn and socialise, this whole situation is depriving them of that. And nobody knows what damage that'll do them further down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Soulsun wrote: »
    Kids can train in pods correct, but what if the training is in excess of 5km from the house?

Of course its fine if its further than 5km.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,852 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I just cant get my head around that GAA matches and training can go ahead but only 25 at a funeral . A lovely lady I knew is being buried today and her grandchildren cannot even be there . The funeral is in a massive church .,
    It will be 10 max at a funeral soon enough...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,051 ✭✭✭prunudo

pc7 wrote: »
    Do you need a letter to go to work if essential (construction), or is it scouts honour if stopped by the guards?

A pair of snickers and hi vis should do the trick, maybe a scrunched up breakfast roll wrapper on the dash too for good measure.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

forumdedum wrote: »
    Yes a texter just asked Ciara to stop being a hurler on the ditch and provide a practical constructive solution. Ciara said she hasn't got time.

Yes, because spouting off on radio every morning and being a general idiot on Twitter takes up all of her time apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I think only 10 people once level 5 kicks in? Currently its 25?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

This administration is going to look like a complete bunch of fools when cases don’t drop fast and they have to come to the realisation that schools are the issue.

It’s funny that there is an ad running on the radio currently from the HsE for providing the flu vaccines to kids from 2-12 years old because they are known to be spreaders of the flu. Apparently that isn’t the case for Covid though!

Give it a fortnight and house parties will be rocking, and the Gardai can’t do anything about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,806 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

elbyrneo wrote: »
    Is children playing football on the green with children from their estate not allowed, frowned upon or fine under level 5

We restricted during the previous full lockdown but with schools open and clubs still training, I dont see the point stopping them this time round.

theres now a market for zorb football, knew this would eventually happen!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,573 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So what did they actually close?

Clothes Shops.

Personal Grooming

Gyms.

Everything else remains open.

I can understand the possibility of spread in gyms, but where is the data or the reasoning for the other 2?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,664 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

We need the championship to get us through the 6 weeks. With everything else closed it's going to be an absolute bore.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 7,051 ✭✭✭prunudo

This administration is going to look like a complete bunch of fools when cases don’t drop fast and they have to come to the realisation that schools are the issue.

It’s funny that there is an ad running on the radio currently from the HsE for providing the flu vaccines to kids from 2-12 years old because they are known to be spreaders of the flu. Apparently that isn’t the case for Covid though!

Give it a fortnight and house parties will be rocking, and the Gardai can’t do anything about it.

No and it looks like if i go for a solo cycle 6km from my house I could be fined. The amount of contradictions and anomalies in the latest plan is a real head scratcher.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

That's absolutely horrific for someone to endure.
    The GAA out on the piss in Clare recently, passing cups and roman holiday saturnalia of manly togetherness in villages up and down the country.
    Drinking hugging and slobbering all over each other like neanderthals and covid supposedly spread like bad news and these goons are allowed to be in togetherness, do the same thing over and over again...

But yet your friend passes away and her grandchildren cannot say goodbye.

Does the powers that be realise the effect this will have on those kids.

When I was 5, 40 years ago I couldn't go to my grandfather's funeral because my dad was drinking heavily and himself and mum left us with my mums sister and they headed off to Ballybunion without us.
    I was devastated, my grandad idolised his first grandchild me, and I was very attached to him.

Every few years my dad opens up and says he still regrets leaving me with my aunt, and has apologised a lot about it.

He's 38 years sober now, I forgive him and we have a great relationship.

My heart goes out to grandchildren all over the country, even though they're young.
    It's like having the carpet pulled away from them.

I'm very pensive today... I suppose I coped really well up until now and I just cracked a bit last night.

Reminds me of Leonard Cohen, something about cracks leaving in the light.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭statto25

Whatever about schools, colleges in my view are the issue. Tens of thousands of students descend on cities and major towns from numerous counties, study and party together and then go back to their home counties at the weekends. They are back now 6 weeks plus and since then cases have climbed week on week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭forumdedum

That's terrible. There have been 50 people at most funerals.

GAA is a shocking decision

statto25 wrote: »
    Whatever about schools, colleges in my view are the issue. Tens of thousands of students descend on cities and major towns from numerous counties, study and party together and then go back to their home counties at the weekends. They are back now 6 weeks plus and since then cases have climbed week on week

most third level activities are probably gone online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Boggles wrote: »

Clothes Shops.

Personal Grooming

Gyms.

I can understand the possibility of spread in gyms, but where is the data or the reasoning for the other 2?

Yeah, in all seriousness between construction workers and manufacturing alone there are about 400,000 more people on the roads than in March lockdown. Not to mention schools. It is not a lockdown as such. Just a weird mental squeeze. Would be better to do it properly and have something to show for it in a month. But anyways, what do I care for this half-arsed gobshytery, there is shag all I can do about it until I am Empress of the Entire World.

s1ippy wrote: »
    Well she still has a doctorate.

But it's probably done as a joke because she's so thick it's hard to imagine her being able to muster the intellect to go to all that effort and become a doctor.

Although, I have to say, she's a lot more of an idiot since having covid.

Having a doctorate doesn't mean that much sometimes. I know someone who is very intelligent and is yet a complete nut job with no sense of logic.

She is thick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭statto25

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    most third level activities are probably gone online

They have now but there are still a large amount of students attending colleges for labs etc. Freshers week going ahead was absolutely nuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭growleaves

Computer Models Aren’t Science
    But such computer modeling isn’t science. Science requires empirical tests of hypotheses such that predictions can be tested: the hypotheses are to be falsified or verified by repeated empirical demonstrations. Besides fitting data, the hypotheses must coordinate with general and subsidiary principles of science. The best representation I’ve found for how science works is the “Lakatos Scientific Research Programme,” diagrammed in the featured image above. There is an interplay—predictions, correlations, feedback—between the shells of a sphere, fundamental principles, fundamental theories, auxiliary theories, data. A more detailed description of this is given here.

As with other mathematical tools employed in scientific endeavors—calculus, linear algebra, group theory, topology, Feynman diagrams—computer programming may be accurate, but would not have intrinsic truth value. The truth value comes from measurements, replicable in many labs. That’s how science works. (See here.) It takes more than one “successful” prediction to validate a computer model, and it takes only one unsuccessful prediction to show that it’s worthless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Having a doctorate doesn't mean that much sometimes. I know someone who is very intelligent and is yet a complete nut job with no sense of logic.

She is thick.

I meant a doctorate of medicine, which is harder to achieve than others. But yes actually even achieving that usually indicates shortcomings in other areas.
    Boggles wrote: »

Clothes Shops.

Personal Grooming

Gyms.

They want us to be scruffy, poorly-kempt fatties so we'll stay away from each other and won't be spreading de virus.

In all seriousness though, the restrictions are absolute rubbish.

Pubs and restaurants, who have gone to enormous expense in some cases to facilitate outdoor dining, having to close. Many will not reopen this time.

Shops are not known to be areas with a lot of spread.

Oh and definitely make sure that not all children get to go to their parents funerals.

But 30 schoolchildren could conceivably go on a school tour to any funeral they wanted.

statto25 wrote: »
    They have now but there are still a large amount of students attending colleges for labs etc. Freshers week going ahead was absolutely nuts.

unfortunately not everything can go online, and yup freshers week should have been severely curtailed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

That's terrible. There have been 50 people at most funerals.

GAA is a shocking decision

If there was a petition to cancel those GAA matches I’d sign it in a heartbeat. Point of principle, the carry on of their club players was an utter disgrace. If the GAA county games are stopped they might think twice the next time.

The one activity I did has been cancelled despite being socially distanced & outside. It was my only opportunity to have a chat to people as most of my friends live in a different county.

I didn’t go on the lash with my mates.

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    If there was a petition to cancel those GAA matches I’d sign it in a heartbeat. Point of principle, the carry on of their club players was an utter disgrace. If the GAA county games are stopped they might think twice the next time.

The one activity I did has been cancelled despite being socially distanced & outside. It was my only opportunity to have a chat to people as most of my friends live in a different county.

easily done, and should be

• Registered Users Posts: 11,645 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Jemima Burke who appeared at NPHET briefing few months ago showed up at Sally Maaz's inquest with other protesters and wasn't wearing a mask. Fairly sickening they're exploiting a family's tragic loss for their agenda.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/coroner-s-court/inquest-into-death-of-girl-17-in-mayo-covid-ward-stopped-over-rule-breach-1.4385492

Ellie2008 wrote: »

I don't see this carry on changing.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Why can't they go when the funeral is today?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

Sorry to hear you’re struggling with this Nthclare. I was miserable all night too if that helps-
    Misery loves company!
    I was so afraid of further restrictions / disruption that I took my maternity leave really early so I could get ready for my third baby, due start of December. I’ve done nothing. I also planned to get ready for Christmas and my daughters birthday at the start of December because I won’t be able to when baby comes.

My maternity leave started yesterday. I got some PJs for my hospital bag at the weekend but now I can’t get any more bits in Penney’s. My OH is waiting on a covid result so even if I wanted to run out and grab stuff today I can’t. I know how much worse off other people are right but I still keep crying. It’s just rubbish. I’m due two days after level 5 is due to end.