Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

The whole of Europa is looking at another lockdown but we are still in denial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I don't follow news much but know something is up when I check boards and there has been exponential growth in the number of pages in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Longing

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Tell that to a hairdresser who's spent thousands kitting out the place to be Covid safe and is facing the prospect of months of closed doors again. Possibly losing their business. Spare us the pontificating. You can just as easily be called selfish for having your narrow-minded viewpoint

Money is no edition when you are six feet under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭dmakc

Well they were hardly going to recommend level 4 after last time. Lot of hysterics here. Government know the score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

This virus has really brought home the selfishness of many here. Look at how massive populations like Vietnam or Japan have come together for the good of all and then look at the sickening attitude displayed by granted a minority here but a sizeable minority at that towards this emergency.

It hasn't. It really hasn't. So many people are so eager to find someone to blame.

Our way of life and values is not conducive to locking down in this way. It's not wrong as such but we've prioritised the rights of the individual which has been great in many ways but isn't perfect. In Asia, lots of countries will prioritise the good of society over the rights of the individual and they are more used to this sort of situation so they can handle it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

_feedback_ wrote: »
    This craic of the latest recommendation hanging over us for the weekend without confirmation is dangerous too.. Not good for peoples heads.

What difference will level make to your life over the level 3+ we have now.

As long as the make exceptions for elite sports it won't change mine one jot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Leo going to look like the King of the Clowns now if we move to level 5.

What a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,490 ✭✭✭pauldry

There will be exponential growth of peoples hair if there another lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Dublin hospital numbers by week (total covid patients across all Dublin hospitals)

17/09: 49
    24/09: 69
    01/10: 65
    08/10: 84
    15/10: 70

Not looking like exponential growth to me. Give level 3 a chance lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I don't follow news much but know something is up when I check boards and there has been exponential growth in the number of pages in this thread

No flies on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are all well aware of this, my point is that they only have one suggestion. Do we really need a panel of 32 people to tell us this. They are allowed to come up with other suggestions.

Not really when their role is literally to "keep schools open" and to try and make sure hospital capacity doesn't get overloaded, which is already happening. They do not take or if they they take very few economic factors into account. Mortgage breaks, peoples money etc. Thats for the gov to decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

Majority on here ignore it.

Nobody is ignoring it. Right now we have no vaccine and we need solutions for now.

Think of Covid as a fire in your house. You've rang the fire services and they are on the way but the house will continue to burn until they arrive. You can't wish the fire or Covid away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    The whole of Europa is looking at another lockdown but we are still in denial.

We are already in a lockdown compared to the rest of europe, the lockdowns you will see enforced in europe will be the equivalent of level 3 here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Steven81

If no vaccine is successful for a period are we going to go full lockdown to level 3 and so on for the foreseeable. That would never work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Majority on here ignore it.

In a day to day development situation, it's hard to look to an uncertain future.
    While the promotional statement from the head of a commercial organisation, is obviously positive, it is still aspirational. It may even be timed to take account of some claims made during the USA presidential campaign.

While I hope he is right, there are hurdles to overcome and it doesn't make much of a difference to our current situation, until it is actually available.

This thread is more focused on the here and now, when an actual vaccine enters that focused space, I am sure it will get more than enough attention. At the moment, our vaccine focus is better spent ensuring that as many of us as possible take the flu shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

Pretty shocking that the virus has spread to one of the moons of Jupiter already.

Countries which were not hit before now getting hit hard. Czechia and Latvia for example.

Pretty shocking that the virus has spread to one of the moons of Jupiter already.

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

That is just crazy. How did they not increase the capacity over the summer with low cases?

There were a lot of people thinking that there wouldn't be a second wave as there was "no evidence" of one.

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    Countries which were not hit before now getting hit hard. Czechia and Latvia for example.

Wooossssshhhhhh!!!

The obsession with level 5 is obscene

You want them to shut the shops but people still bring their kids to school and childcare etc?

It is a load of crap.

We need to suck it up and live with covid not shutdown our country for 5 weeks , what a **** show this is

So , if you were offered a contract , stating that none of the anti virus measures were to be applied to you , seeing as " you wanted to suck it up " , with the caveat that once you caught the virus , you not not allowed access hospital / GP services , you'd gladly sign such mentioned contract ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

What a muppet.

Yeah level 2 is grand a few days before recommending level 5.

Leo said the government wanted to hear the rationale first.

But if it makes you happy to stick the boot in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Boggles wrote: »
    I think it's clear NPHET are not leaking anything.

But are you calling for the Cabinet to suppress public health advice?

That's a pretty dangerous road go down.

No, I am saying NPHET should offer the advice - then the government should decide on what is appropriate based on the overall picture. Then release that information and explain if there is a deviation from the advice and explain reasons why.

Lockdown recommendation news getting into the media before any decision just causes panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

What a muppet.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

People saying level 3 needs to be properly enforced are technically right, but fail to recognise that we don't have the man power to even do that much. You'd need multiples of cops, even the army, around the place policing everything people do, something we don't have - and that's even if we gave them powers to actually do anything. The only thing that would really have made level three work would be people taking on personal responsibility for their actions, but, unfortunately, that is just not happening enough to make a difference.

People saying we shouldn't be entering lockdown and we should be concentrating on test and trace, improving bed capacity... you are talking about something after the horse has bolted. The virus is out of control. You have to fight the fire now, there's no more time to think about other options. Immediate and drastic action is necessary to prevent hospitals becoming overwhelmed - it is as simple as that. All around Europe countries are on the same road as ourselves - spiralling numbers, increased restrictions, overwhelmed testing systems - it doesn't matter how well prepared you are once this thing builds up a head of steam. This is going to be life for most, if not all, European countries in the short to medium term.

A lot of people were very dismissive of the chances of another lockdown, but it was always possible if the situation became grave enough. The situation is now grave enough and it is going to happen and the longer it is left the longer it will be.

The situation we find ourselves in is exactly the scenario painted by those supposed crackpots arguing in favour of a zero covid strategy. Rolling harsh lockdowns are not sustainable. Expect to see the zero covid strategy entertained seriously in due time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Nobody is ignoring it. Right now we have no vaccine and we need solutions for now.

Think of Covid as a fire in your house. You've rang the fire services and they are on the way but the house will continue to burn until they arrive. You can't wish the fire or Covid away.

Worst analogy I've heard in a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Boggles wrote: »
    It's the recommendation from nearly a fortnight ago. Just longer.

And it's back out in public, just like a fortnight ago. Leaving everybody wondering what is next, just like a fortnight ago. Leaving people wondering if their business will be open next week, if their wedding can go ahead, if they will be jobless for Christmas.

It shouldn't be left hanging like it is.. like it was.. just like a fortnight ago..

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,864 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are already in a lockdown compared to the rest of europe, the lockdowns you will see enforced in europe will be the equivalent of level 3 here.

No we aren't, there are no curfews enforced here like France have done in a number of cities as an example.

Yeah level 2 a few says before recommending level 5.

Leo said the government wanted to hear the rationale first.

But if it makes you happy to stick the boot in.

You see , " Lord Leo " , knows all .

If he'd quit the arrogance / gaming playing , and listened to the experts , it would suit him better .

Instead of showing off to his supporters , such as yourself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

JDxtra wrote: »
    No, I am saying NPHET should offer the advice - then the government should decide on what is appropriate based on the overall picture. Then release that information and explain if there is a deviation from the advice and explain reasons why.

Lockdown recommendation news getting into the media before any decision just causes panic.

According to RTE, it is Government sources who are providing the info today as to what is contained in NPHET's letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,732 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What a muppet.

Not really, NPHET jointly agreed this living with the virus plan. You go to level 3 after 2 not straight to 5. Holohan is the one who has caused all the panic since he returned.