Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

eggy81 wrote: »
    Post was only semi serious. Obviously there's got to be more tl it than just yelling increase restrictions at every opportunity. The frustration for me is that it is possible to have a semblance of normal life while living with this until its figured out but some people don't want to take the measures to ensure that we can do that. There are no deterrents or real repercussions for blatant flouting of the rules.
    Cant see why a modest enough fine for first time offenders can't be introduced. Between 50 and 100 euro. I think once you've most would bring their behaviour in line. Shake ya into copping on a bit.

I think most people are in support of fines. I'd add naming those fined in the local papers too. A bit of shaming for people along with the fine will tighten things up. Up to the government and Gardai to do that though, and tell the civil liberties crowd to feck off if they start complaining about breaking up house parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

It is easy for NPHET to give level 5 guidance....itll be the way from now, we will have 2 cases a day in April and theyll be recommending we stay at level 3 for another few weeks.

I dont see what they offer anymore, level 5 lockdown, what about half a million out of work and no mortgage breaks. Not my problem says NPHET, any other plans or suggestions. No just level 5 thats all we got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

NPHET and the government are like a leaky bloody sieve. They need to cop the feck on and keep things to themselves until they are formally agreed and announced.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I actually think outside the bubble of this thread that *most* understand and actually agree with NPHET's recommendations tbh.

Government would want to handle this carefully, if they reject the NPHET recommendations a second time and do not follow it with proper enforcement of the current restrictions then a lot of people will be very angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    It's a bit mad how positive Vaccine news gets largely ignored by the "lock everything up" brigade. Considering their strategy is to keep everything locked down until a vaccine comes, you'd think they'd be waiting with bated breath for any positive vaccine news. Very strange
    Think its a case of until the vials etc actually land on the airport tarmac then will people believe it exists and we have to deal with the now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

niallo27 wrote: »
    I dont see what they offer anymore, level 5 lockdown, what about half a million out of work and no mortgage breaks. Not my problem says NPHET, any other plans or suggestions. No just level 5 thats all we got.

Yeah, that's for the cabinet sub-committee to implement and give their economic suggestion along with the health recommendation to gov. You have been told this countless times. Sub-committee takes the rest of the view into account and then the cabinet decides the actual outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

Necro wrote: »
    How? We don't have the trained staff for that many ICU beds - it isn't beds that are the problem

There’s an advantage in having extra ICU capacity but it’s by no means a panacea for this either. Even if we had say an extra 200 ICU beds, if we let the virus run riot, we would fill them rapidly anyway. It’s not an alternative strategy to managing transmission. The virus spreads at exponential rates when let rip.

We definitely need more ICU space though, but it’s not the magic solution. The drug treatments & ultimately a vaccine are the technology solutions we need ASAP.

The other issue is that ICU survival rates aren’t good. It’s a real “Hail Mary Pass” type of solution. A last ditch, throw everything at it and hope for the best type approach.

The sad reality of it a lot of people who get to ICU and don’t survive & those who do may need long term care, as they’ll very like have had an extremely bad time with the virus.

All an ICU can do is pump air into your lungs. If your lungs can’t absorb the air because they’re being destroyed by a virus, or your immune system reaction to the virus, there’s really only so much a ventilator can do.

Also our ICU capacity is largely there to support stuff like cardiac surgery, major surgery, etc etc. The majority of the time it isn’t dealing with viral pneumonia. Nor can any system be designed for a signifiant % of the population to need mechanical ventilation simultaneously.

It’s useful and we need more capacity, but it’s absolutely not the solution to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

JDxtra wrote: »
    The first lockdown was a nightmare for working parents juggling learning/parenting/work.

far worse for people who lost loved one's to Covid,No proper funeral & people who couldnt get healthcare for Cancer etc.

It is terrible for everyone a lockdown but the alternative is worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

funnydoggy wrote: »
    The manager surely knows if he isn't wearing a mask or distancing himself no?

This is in the changing areas. He wouldn't get away with it anywhere else.

That companies employees are really annoying. They hang around the changing areas on the doss. A lot of the time can't get a seat to change into workboots etc.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Tell that to a hairdresser who's spent thousands kitting out the place to be Covid safe and is facing the prospect of months of closed doors again. Possibly losing their business. Spare us the pontificating. You can just as easily be called selfish for having your narrow-minded viewpoint

One group has laid claim to being able to call others selfish, not realising they're position is also selfish. Humans are inherently selfish, lets not pretend otherwise. People wanting lockdowns will want it for their own reasons, just as people not wanting lockdowns will.

Somebody who is at-risk and wants restrictions for their own safety is acting within their own self-interest just as somebody who is not at risk is when they don't want restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

JDxtra wrote: »
    NPHET and the government are like a leaky bloody sieve. They need to cop the feck on and keep things to themselves until they are formally agreed and announced.

I think it's clear NPHET are not leaking anything.

But are you calling for the Cabinet to suppress public health advice?

That's a pretty dangerous road go down.

We won't be able to cope with increasing covid cases.

We had nearly 6 times the amount in march and coped without even having to use the private hospitals, unless it grows expotentionally which its not, its actually decreased last few days there is no capicity issues as of yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wombatman wrote: »
    Can't understand why closing schools is off the table. Has the be the number 1 vector for the spread of any virus.
    It's not "off the table", it's just one of the last measures they're willing to take.

There is no data to support any assertion that schools are a primary vector. The incredulousness of you and other people doesn't change that fact.

The reason it's being considered a late measure is because once you close the schools, you effectively have to shutter the economy. Again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

Seems like there is no issues in temple bar

https://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Boggles wrote: »
    You need look at a graph, most of Europe is fúcked.

Not really they're health services are far from becoming overwhelmed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

If you take out the COVID case though it'll still be full.

That is just crazy. How did they not increase the capacity over the summer with low cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭alentejo

Lockdown looming - Some very minor relation of restrictions at Xmas followed by another lock down in January / February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

What makes no sense is that the UKs highest level of restrictions allows gyms,leisure centres,hairdressers and beauticians to close,whereas we have two higher levels that ensure they don’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

niallo27 wrote: »

Do you regularly ask your GP for help with budgeting/financial matters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unhCWr34hC0

Seems like there is no issues in temple bar

That video is 9 months old. It’s a recording of a live cam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Majority on here ignore it.

I'm not sure that's true. I think it's more a case of no point in thinking about a vaccine until it's actually here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

That is just crazy. How did they not increase the capacity over the summer with low cases?
    Exactly :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,917 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Wombatman wrote: »
    Can't understand why closing schools is off the table. Has the be the number 1 vector for the spread of any virus.

https://apnews.com/article/virus-outbreak-archive-8a1aab96eccc7e1a2e7df2fa3ba08986

Parents would be forced to parent... that’s a vote looser right there.

It’s strange really. At least they should be examining the idea of a shorter curriculum. For example....

Art, Irish, civics, PE, Religious studies.... should be ninjad for a start... at least in classroom format. Sciences too would be unworkable with hands on experiments etc.

Maths, English, History, Geography and language... five classes per day..

Mon
    9.00 Maths

9.40 English

10.20 History

11.00 Break

11.20 French / German / Spanish / Italian

12.00 Geography

12.40 Home

They could set up some temporary classrooms in the gym. Order in whiteboards etc...That way corridors are less congested.

A class setting is permanent, the students don’t move around, the teachers move to them.

seamus wrote: »
    There is no data to support any assertion that schools are a primary vector.

There is no real data to suggest pubs are either.

We relied on "international data" to close those.

Internationally this week Czech Republic and Northern Ireland have mandated to close schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Jenna James

verizon wrote: »
    What I don't understand is this trickle of restrictions to then big bang restrictions. The public are notified of new restrictions that are set for a timeframe. We plan to cope and try and get information on what our businesses need to do to be able to operate but then get hit with something else at the end of the week.

NPHET come across as having zero organisation and will speak loudly without consequence because they in theory can be never wrong. It will always be our fault.

I’m so worn down at this point it’s frightening.

Anytime, like this morning, I switch the radio on in the car or happen to pass through a shopping area playing the radio, I am listening to someone on air chastising the public for not complying and how we must do better.

I know we need to comply and I think a lot of people are with exceptions of course.

Thing is it feels like being continually scolded whilst trying to mentally cope and do the right thing. Public figures are not subjected to this even though we know a proportion have been flouting the guidelines and scoffing at those attempting to ensure adherence.

I’m living alone and in chronic pain for the last number of months doing my damndest to comply for my own sake and others and I agree with most of the restrictions but I find the government’s cavalier attitude ti be sickening.

I’m not interested in blame, I want this to get better, of course.

We’re not all in this together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Boggles wrote: »
    I think it's clear NPHET are not leaking anything.

But are you calling for the Cabinet to suppress public health advice?

That's a pretty dangerous road go down.

This craic of the latest recommendation hanging over us for the weekend without confirmation is dangerous too.. Not good for peoples heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

1,196 new cases in Scotland at 16.9% positivity.
    9 deaths.

416 of the new cases in Glasgow and Clyde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

It’s not just this summer it’s been successive governments over the years who haven’t tackled in properly. I’m in my thirties and as long as I can remember there’s been issues with the health service in this country. All covid has done is amplified the issues which are already there.

_feedback_ wrote: »
    This craic of the latest recommendation hanging over us for the weekend without confirmation is dangerous too.. Not good for peoples heads.

It's the recommendation from nearly a fortnight ago. Just longer.

Yeah, that's for the cabinet sub-committee to implement and give their economic suggestion along with the health recommendation to gov. You have been told this countless times. Sub-committee takes the rest of the view into account and then the cabinet decides the actual outcome.

We are all well aware of this, my point is that they only have one suggestion. Do we really need a panel of 32 people to tell us this. They are allowed to come up with other suggestions.