Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Registered Users Posts: 67,395 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nobotty wrote: »
    Donnelly is definitely out of his depth when it comes to thinking on his feet
    I think most of FF are similar now
    Its like they went on a reverse your abilities course
    They've aced that course
    Its not what we need in this pandemic,but just our luck,its what we get a government implosion

Ultimately this comes back to the Tanaiste who clearly has a loose mouth and cannot think on his feet. His intemperate rant on CB started this. it' not the first time his urge to be in the limelight and his addiction to plaudits has destabilised things in government.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

McMurphy wrote: »
    Is this why Leo tried to throw Holohan under the bus on Monday?

https://twitter.com/colettebrowne/status/1314298752425963525?s=19

Did Stephen, Michaél and Eamon purposely leave Leo out (loose lips sink ships etc etc) and Leo took a bit of a wobbler at not being in the boys club?

Or is Leo lying too......

It'll all come out.

Building a conspiracy theory around a few hours on a Sunday when people didn’t get to brief everyone is a stretch, even for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

Ultimately this comes back to the Tanaiste who clearly has a loose mouth and cannot think on his feet. His intemperate rant on CB started this. it' not the first time his urge to be in the limelight and his addiction to plaudits has destabilised things in government.

I think you're going to see more of that from him unless and until they drop in the polls
    He can smell it as a winning formula in the Conservative vote and he's wiley about that
    I remember seeing him on a school trip to Leinster house years ago and he was rushing past us talking to himself
    Not on a Bluetooth but to himself

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Losing 10% in one lump indicates what I said at the time was probably right, his rush to the cameras to take the credit and plaudits for the intial reaction to the pandemic fooled the electorate. I said it wouldn't last and he'd soon be tumbling back down. Didn't think it would be quite so steep, but Leo is good! :)

In fairness, you are like a broken record when it comes to these repeated statements.
    Every time Leo fronts up on the media, you are always ready to chime that with some quip, 'that the people are getting annoyed by Leo, etc..'

Yet, every poll sees him and FG doing very very well....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

markodaly wrote: »
    In fairness, you are like a broken record when it comes to these repeated statements.
    Every time Leo fronts up on the media, you are always ready to chime that with some quip, 'that the people are getting annoyed by Leo, etc..'

The latest poll seen him lose 10% but alright if that's what you want to think

And do you want to talk elections, worst leader in near a decade

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

The latest poll seen him lose 10% but alright if that's what you want to think

And do you want to talk elections, worst leader in near a decade

Poll was done Saturday to Tuesday, would think some who rated Varadker on the weekend might have changed their mind after Monday night's uttering, He can't take being in second place and its driving him loopy

He's gone very quiet this evening/tonight for some reason

• Registered Users Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭gifted

McMurphy wrote: »
    Is this why Leo tried to throw Holohan under the bus on Monday?

https://twitter.com/colettebrowne/status/1314298752425963525?s=19

Did Stephen, Michaél and Eamon purposely leave Leo out (loose lips sink ships etc etc) and Leo took a bit of a wobbler at not being in the boys club?

Or is Leo lying too......

It'll all come out.

This current government has been nothing but a cluster of Cock ups since day one.........Martin has obviously set Varadkar up with the latest one......Norma ( you can't find me) Foley looks like a first year student in her job.....Eamonn ( wake me when it's only concerning green issues) Ryan is back to his usual la la self......Stephen Donnelly looks like he's regretting ever getting into politics with his awful replies to questions.....the clock is seriously ticking on this combination of parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

So after all the Hoo Haa it turns out no one knew or expected level five in govt basically, until it came out on Sunday night in the media.

10% drop Mark...and by far his worst week personally not counted into that, any comment other than your usual hissy censorship attempt?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

10% drop Mark...and by far his worst week personally not counted into that, any comment other than your usual hissy censorship attempt?

You mean a poll that was done, before his interview with Claire Byrne....

Does.Not.Compute.

In your effort to criticise you again make a fool of yourself because you forget basic salient facts.

Where is your condemnation by the way for the fact the NI is now the worst in Europe for Covid-19? Have you had ANY post criticizing the Stormont assembly and their attempts to contain the pandemic?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

blanch152 wrote: »
    Building a conspiracy theory around a few hours on a Sunday when people didn’t get to brief everyone is a stretch, even for you.

Conspiracy theory:confused:

Let's look at what we have seen from the others.....

Donnelly says he knew - and further said he told Michaél (landing him in the sh1t)
    Eamon Ryan said he knew.
    Leo said he didn't know - and went into a right hissy fit on Monday night, tried to throw Holohan right under the bus.

The 4 amigos are as follows. Michaél Martin (Taoiseach) Leo Varadkar (Tanaiste) Eamon Ryan (leader of the Greens) and Stephen Donnelly (Health minister)

Now, as we have been told the Taoiseach knew, because the health minister said he told him (2 amigos/4)

Eamon Ryan let it slip that he knew (3 Amigos/4)
    1. So the 3 Amigos that did know either "forgot" to "brief" Leo - which would be incompetence.
    2. Or they purposely left him out, - either to undermine him or because they didn't trust him.
    3. Or, Leo did know - meaning Leo lied.

Either of those scenarios aren't a ringing endorsement of the coalition of chaos.

You mean a poll that was done, before his interview with Claire Byrne....

Does.Not.Compute.

In your effort to criticise you again make a fool of yourself because you forget basic salient facts.

Where is your condemnation by the way for the fact the NI is now the worst in Europe for Covid-19? Have you had ANY post criticizing the Stormont assembly and their attempts to contain the pandemic?

The poll did not take into account his worst week personally. But he still dropped a massive 10% in one go.
    What would it drop today? Another 10%

I have made comment on the situation in the north on the relevant thread...your desire to deflect from the topic of this one is noted.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,566 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The poll did not take into account his worst week personally. But he still dropped a massive 10% in one go.
    What would it drop today? Another 10%

I have made comment on the situation in the north on the relevant thread...your desire to deflect from the topic of this one is noted.

Are the government zealots on some sort of bonus payment for trying to deflect from the topic?

Well, lads. What do ye make of the proposed “circuit breaker” by a 2 week school closedown over midterm! Could it possibly work? Could the people of Ireland pull together for the good of all? Or should we expect the government to post someone in every household in the country to stop those good people leaving their homes?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Well, lads. What do ye make of the proposed “circuit breaker” by a 2 week school closedown over midterm! Could it possibly work? Could the people of Ireland pull together for the good of all? Or should we expect the government to post someone in every household in the country to stop those good people leaving their homes?

If stupid people continue to throw house parties and look to the likes of Gemma for leadership it is doomed to get a whole lot worse and no government will be able to contain it. The virus is bad but add a large dollop of stupid and we are in for a long Winter

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Truthvader wrote: »
    If stupid people continue to throw house parties and look to the likes of Gemma for leadership it is doomed to get a whole lot worse and no government will be able to contain it. The virus is bad but add a large dollop of stupid and we are in for a long Winter

And golfing shindigs.

Is the example set by the government the problem though.

They have themselves ignored the expert advice and allowed a member (LV) to do a Gemma on the CMO and NPHET's credibility and authority.

Maybe if we locked LV up (ála Simon, and Eoghan) for 3 weeks and take it from there?

We all know what will happen if the schools are closed for 3 weeks the kids will just be out on the street mingling with the other kids. We all seen this during the lockdown gangs of kids out with their mates. It might be ok to keep the 0 - 10's in but when you get to teenagers not a hope.

Maybe if we locked LV up (ála Simon, and Eoghan) for 3 weeks and take it from there?

Eoghan who?

Floppybits wrote: »
    Eoghan who?

Murphy...disappeared for the election campaign with Simon...much good that it did them mind you, but it could have been much worse had those two been allowed freedom of the airways.

If there is no "issues" with schools as they told us all from start, why the need to shut them?

They will just open back up and we be back to square 1 in a few weeks.

More and more GP's saying its getting out of hand,

Cheers Govt for ignorning NHEPT last weekend, ****ing eejets

It hasn't a hope because by Xmas people will be out and about being irresponsible
    If someone is on the pup and caught at guidelines breaking parties,I'd remove their pup
    Period
    Stupid People need to learn a lesson in the pocket
    People breaking guidelines not on the pup should be fined

I know of a case where someone went into a place with 12 people there for 2hrs despite having a c19 test result pending
    They were positive
    The others are now waiting tests or results and doing the right thing restricting their movements

The person causing that needs consequences meated upon him

Its hard to get people to buy in or have trust when they see things like this.

Have the Govt got anything right at all latley

https://www.thejournal.ie/school-contact-tracing-delay-hse-5226479-Oct2020/

Contact tracing concerns: School wasn't contacted by HSE until four days after confirmed Covid-19 case
    A mother has raised concerns about the policy of schools not taking action until contacted by the HSE.
    10 hours ago 69,557 Views 56 Comments Share16 Tweet Email1

Dundalk
    People shouldn't be looking around for reasons not to follow guidelines
    They are common sense and save lives
    It makes me livid that people do that

Nobotty wrote: »
    Dundalk
    People shouldn't be looking around for reasons not to follow guidelines
    They are common sense and save lives
    It makes me livid that people do that

I agree but its a fact of life, if the people in charge are seen to be totally out of their depth, the average joe will be lax and have no trust in what they say

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Floppybits wrote: »
    We all know what will happen if the schools are closed for 3 weeks the kids will just be out on the street mingling with the other kids. We all seen this during the lockdown gangs of kids out with their mates. It might be ok to keep the 0 - 10's in but when you get to teenagers not a hope.

Probably true. Without personal and parental responsibility there is no hope

I agree but its a fact of life, if the people in charge are seen to be totally out of their depth, the average joe will be lax and have no trust in what they say

It has little to do with the people in charge
    Adults partying are not thinking about golfgate or the Storey funeral
    They're just irresponsible
    The climbing the lamp posts set probably wouldn't know what you're on about
    They're the irresponsible invincibles and its time someone had the political courage to whack them in their wallets
    Why should the rest of us end up paying with our health (and our taxes for lockdowns)
    Its not difficult to social distance and wash hands
    Not doing those is the problem

Its hard to get people to buy in or have trust when they see things like this.

Have the Govt got anything right at all latley

https://www.thejournal.ie/school-contact-tracing-delay-hse-5226479-Oct2020/

Contact tracing concerns: School wasn't contacted by HSE until four days after confirmed Covid-19 case
    A mother has raised concerns about the policy of schools not taking action until contacted by the HSE.
    10 hours ago 69,557 Views 56 Comments Share16 Tweet Email1

There is a lot more to that story I would guess than how the woman presents it.

We have someone on here yesterday claiming that no show was a positive test up North because their neighbour told them, despite all the evidence saying otherwise.

Government agencies are precluded from responding to these issues because they are personal cases, so too many people take them at face value.

Probably true. Without personal and parental responsibility there is no hope

Much better to have schools and colleges open with structured arrangements in place rather than the free-for-all when they are closed.