Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Next Government

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

That was reported the night it happened. Of course 'many' will fall in behind.

Where was that, link.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

When yous have, something to say that doesn't include just Leo get back to me.
    He's probably a picture on a shinner introduced dart board and yous sit with one hand typing on boards.ie with one hand and throwing darts at Leo with the other.
    This isn't a normal type of govt criticising thread anymore, it's just a Leo rant.

Well no point talking Eamonn as he's a space cadet, Micheal has got plenty of criticism here so to Donnelly so don't talk nonsense. The reason your great leader is getting talked about most latley is his outburst Monday even know he knew Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Getting to the stage now where Lieo is getting fact checked by actual experts. His populist approach of trying to attack CMO is after blowing up on his face.

https://twitter.com/GabrielScally/status/1313735131232956416?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 67,526 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

When yous have, something to say that doesn't include just Leo get back to me.
    He's probably a picture on a shinner introduced dart board and yous sit with one hand typing on boards.ie with one hand and throwing darts at Leo with the other.
    This isn't a normal type of govt criticising thread anymore, it's just a Leo rant.

Nonsense, Leo put himself front and centre this week. Don't be so over sensitive Bishop.

Where was that, link.

Can't be bothered looking for it. Take it or leave it. He was definitely the most strident cabinet member about it and is leading on it.

Well that's a climbdown anyway, thanks.

It isn't. The fact I can't be bothered looking for it for somebody who will probably dismiss it, doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

https://www.thejournal.ie/covid-level-5-ireland-5223646-Oct2020/
    Saaus here a, significant amount of Ministers were against it, so it wasn't the journal.ie anyway.
    And that was before the full cabinet meeting.
    Unlike some of you I have no infatuation with Leo. Don't like him much myself but still don't run with the blame it on Leo crowd;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,760 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

smurgen wrote: »
    Getting to the stage now where Lieo is getting fact checked by actual experts. His populist approach of trying to attack CMO is after blowing up on his face.

https://twitter.com/GabrielScally/status/1313735131232956416?s=19

What did he lie about?

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

EU/EEA and the UK 14-day cumulative number of COVID-19 cases per 100 000
    Czechia 346.1
    Spain 305
    Netherlands 270.2
    France 248.7
    Belgium 232.8
    United_Kingdom 189.9
    Luxembourg 156.9
    Hungary 129.6
    Romania 128.6
    Slovakia 126.2
    Austria 119
    Denmark 113.3
    Ireland 112.8
    Portugal 103.6

https://www.thejournal.ie/covid-level-5-ireland-5223646-Oct2020/
    Saaus here a, significant amount of Ministers were against it, so it wasn't the journal.ie anyway.
    And that was before the full cabinet meeting.
    Unlike some of you I have no infatuation with Leo. Don't like him much myself but still don't run with the blame it on Leo crowd;)

Leo has taken a massive gamble here. He has made sure that in the public mind he owns this one.

If you believe Holohan then he has even massively gilded the lily (that it was a 'shock' unheralded recommendation) in order to own it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I’m only joining the party late due to work... so Donnelly was the leak or what?

Maybe Martin, Donnelly and the rest of FF are sick of Varadkar briefing against Gov so cut him out of the loop. Leo only finds out when official letter arrives, go mad, and gets 1 of his minions to leak it

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I’m only joining the party late due to work... so Donnelly was the leak or what?

Donnelly or the Taoiseach.

All leaders satisfaction rating down, but Leo still way out ahead. That will sicken a few.
    FF will be a bit happier with this poll as it shows they are up, SF up, bad news, for the Greens.
    FG still ahead.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-approval-ratings-for-government-and-main-party-leaders-fall-1.4374872?mode=amp

• Registered Users Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

All leaders satisfaction rating down, but Leo still way out ahead. That will sicken a few.
    FF will be a bit happier with this poll as it shows they are up, SF up, bad news, for the Greens.
    FG still ahead.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-approval-ratings-for-government-and-main-party-leaders-fall-1.4374872?mode=amp

That’s why the lefties detest him, your lordship.

Tends to lift their slates and shine a light in there.

Maybe Martin, Donnelly and the rest of FF are sick of Varadkar briefing against Gov so cut him out of the loop. Leo only finds out when official letter arrives, go mad, and gets 1 of his minions to leak it

You’ve so much anger scrappy doo, it’ll give you an aneurism one of these days

Says the man named after a Simpsons character. Will Simon been seen today or will be do a Nora and hide away?

I am not angry just fed up of the lies of this Govt and when caught out we get the oh this is not the time for that we need to get on with things. No we need accountability and not 1 of our leaders speaking out on his own every few days

FG still ahead.

A 10% drop and now the cat is out of the bag that he tried to throw somebody infinitely more popular than him under the bus for cheap political oneupmanship?

Leo is in freefall back to where he was pre election I fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

FG still ahead.

Greens won't be bothered, they are in government to achieve change, not to be popular. It is why many don't understand them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

blanch152 wrote: »
    Greens won't be bothered, they are in government to achieve change, not to be popular. It is why many don't understand them.

They're there to see out their dreams.

In Eamon's case, literally.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

FG still ahead.

The polls are part of he problem IMO. Back in the day political leaders examined the facts and made decisions but dating from Tony Blair, when it really took off, all parties are constantly looking over their shoulder to check where they are which is killing any courage or capacity to provide any leadership at all

Truthvader wrote: »
    The polls are part of he problem IMO. Back in the day political leaders examined the facts and made decisions but dating from Tony Blair, when it really took off, all parties are constantly looking over their shoulder to check where they are which is killing any courage or capacity to provide any leadership at all

Have you contracted 'pesky electorate/citizens expressing a view' syndrome Truth?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,891 ✭✭✭gifted

The Greens have been useless so far in being involved in running this country. No interest at all.....it's quite obvious they're out for one thing and one thing only......get as many of their policies through before they have to face an election again.......honestly, there could be hundreds of thousands lose their jobs and the greens wouldn't care.

gifted wrote: »
    The Greens have been useless so far in being involved in running this country. No interest at all.....it's quite obvious they're out for one thing and one thing only......get as many of their policies through before they have to face an election again.......honestly, there could be hundreds of thousands lose their jobs and the greens wouldn't care.

And you were expecting ??????????

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

gifted wrote: »

What is politics 1.01 about?

Getting as many of your policies through before you have to face an election again.

Why do you see that as a problem?

Says the man named after a Simpsons character. Will Simon been seen today or will be do a Nora and hide away?

I am not angry just fed up of the lies of this Govt and when caught out we get the oh this is not the time for that we need to get on with things. No we need accountability and not 1 of our leaders speaking out on his own every few days

Accountability? You openly support a party that, in the South, refuses to put themselves in a position where they would have to be held accountable & in the North is presiding over an absolute sh*tshow and who when questioned on it try to deflect the blame onto Westminster.

You're not in a position to be questioning anyone's accountability.

Accountability? You openly support a party that, in the South, refuses to put themselves in a position where they would have to be held accountable & in the North is presiding over an absolute sh*tshow and who when questioned on it try to deflect the blame onto Westminster.

You're not in a position to be questioning anyone's accountability.

To be fair in the South no-one wants anything to do with them so not really fair to accuse them of refusing to put themselves in a position etc

Truthvader wrote: »
    To be fair in the South no-one wants anything to do with them so not really fair to accuse them of refusing to put themselves in a position etc

Nonsense, the length and breath of the island public reps work along side one another, share committees and local authority.
    They can work fine when ultimate power is not on the table.

the power swap do not want to let go of that. That is what is happening, 'Moral reticence' and moral high grounding is an invention.

So after Micheal Martin saying on Tues they would have a debate about the Public Health Advice on Friday in the Dail, the Dail is now conveniently not sitting tomorrow.