Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

How can you post such blatant bs?

20% of those who catch covid will need to be hospitalised, 5% of them on ventilators. Many more will be dealing with "long covid" where they still haven't fully recovered months later. Doctors and researchers have said they still don't know what all the long term effects the virus will have, but that it certainly affects the heart, lung tissue and other organs. Possibly permanently. You're talking nonsense every time you post here.

And I'm getting sick of you smirking about some keeping their kids out of school in order to be safe. When there's no national plan b or requirement on schools to teach them so the burden falls on parents. Who normally would be able/want to homeschool but are faced with a horrible choice. And maybe because them, their child, or other family members are in a higher risk category too. They'd be faced with no help for their children's education, and you always harp on about how amazing it is for the kids still in school, when it means other kids are faced with a disadvantage. And stress on parents one of whom may have to give up work. Have a heart and some decency.

Facehugger is a bull****ter who posts 99% nonsense, however 20% of those who get covid will not end up in hospital, and 5% will not end up on ventilators. Only 11% of cases in Ireland have ended up in hospital and only 1.4% have been admitted to ICU. And that is with the knowledge that in the first few months of this when the bulk of cases occurred, we were only picking up a fraction of the real numbers. And of those who end up in ICU, the option of ventilation is increasingly being seen as a last resort as treatment options improve. Of those currently in ICU, only 6 of 14 are being ventilated

Covid is a potentially serious condition, with the potential to have life altering and ending impacts, there is no need to exaggerate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 962 ✭✭✭irishblessing

I don't agree I think it would possibly cause stress for children hearing schools mentioned every night. Parents will be informed if any case is in the school is that not sufficient.

You mentioned kids hearing this every night. As I said, we as parents can control this.
    I know, mine are only in primary so don't have the masks but they are very aware of all things covid. I suppose I would not like to add to that stress for any of them. I don't really see the benefit of hearing about the cases in schools unless there was a serious problem in rising cases that we should be concerned about. A daily briefing of cases would only be an extra stress on the kids, I know when I listen to the news I feel stress when I hear the numbers myself.

Again, they don't have to hear about the cases in schools via daily briefings from the radio, tv, or other adults. We can control this to a very large extent.
    yeah hilarious you obviously don't have a child who is affected by all the coronavirus talk. broadcast it at times they are in schools?? that is hilarious, as if it wouldn't be rebroadcast on every radio show and later on the news etc.

In schools they are learning. Teachers go over health and safety procedures and protocol, that's it. In the playground they are playing with other children and from what I know so far there is absolutely no COVID talk going on. They're playing games, talking about pets, toys, parties, summer activities, etc. Young children are not standing around talking about the COVID numbers in schools.
    no self deception going on here, I have a young family member with a serious underlying condition which adds to my stress so as an intelligent person I then turn off the news myself at times, yes of course the news can be turned off when a child is around, but then how do you stop them hearing things on radio, at school from other family members, even hearing adults discussing it, I am a logical person. my point was simply that I did not see a benefit in the cases being listed in schools in the daily briefing, I see no harm in having it in the map or whatever medium that someone could look up themselves.

You can stop them hearing anything on the radio and ask other family members to squash that talk. Most have enough cop on to know it's not for their ears. None of my family/friends speak about numbers and worries around our children. :rolleyes:
    Seriously are people just not bothered to read posts? I never said we should be kept in the dark. I merely said I did not see the benefits of stating the cases in schools in daily briefings. see the different. Jesus. Also I understand that I can shield my kids from a lot of this but I certainly cannot shield them from it all nor would I want to. I just don't think it is necessary. Do you keep your kids out of shops and away from schools too? cos they will hear and see things related to coronavirus there too. Off the high horse please and actually read my post next time.

As you can see, I plainly read your posts and responded as such. And yeah, I keep my kids out of shops actually. We also check in with them from time to time and make sure they're feeling safe and happy. The gov't have also released helpful guides for talking to our children about it.

People here were saying we need to give the public more info about what's happening in schools. Some here started saying "but what about the children!!" and you were one saying that you didn't want them hearing. I very obviously can read. So get off your own high horse and have some manners.

Facehugger is a bull****ter who posts 99% nonsense, however 20% of those who get covid will not end up in hospital, and 5% will not end up on ventilators. Only 11% of cases in Ireland have ended up in hospital and only 1.4% have been admitted to ICU. And that is with the knowledge that in the first few months of this when the bulk of cases occurred, we were only picking up a fraction of the real numbers. And of those who end up in ICU, the option of ventilation is increasingly being seen as a last resort as treatment options improve. Of those currently in ICU, only 6 of 14 are being ventilated

Covid is a potentially serious condition, with the potential to have life altering and ending impacts, there is no need to exaggerate.

Raind, don't be rude- I am not exaggerating. I have only reiterated what the gov't themselves still have posted as facts, and which you will find very often quoted at the bottom of many news stories from the IT and Independent.

Agree with you about face hugger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 902l45irqnwbah

You mentioned kids hearing this every night. As I said, we as parents can control this.

Again, they don't have to hear about the cases in schools via daily briefings from the radio, tv, or other adults. We can control this to a very large extent.

In schools they are learning. Teachers go over health and safety procedures and protocol, that's it. In the playground they are playing with other children and from what I know so far there is absolutely no COVID talk going on. They're playing games, talking about pets, toys, parties, summer activities, etc. Young children are not standing around talking about the COVID numbers in schools.

You can stop them hearing anything on the radio and ask other family members to squash that talk. Most have enough cop on to know it's not for their ears. None of my family/friends speak about numbers and worries around our children. :rolleyes:

As you can see, I plainly read your posts and responded as such. And yeah, I keep my kids out of shops actually. We also check in with them from time to time and make sure they're feeling safe and happy. The gov't have also released helpful guides for talking to our children about it.

People here were saying we need to give the public more info about what's happening in schools. Some here started saying "but what about the children!!" and you were one saying that you didn't want them hearing. I very obviously can read. So get off your own high horse and have some manners.

not quite, you actually said that I was making a case to cover it up. glad you had all that time to spent quoting me. you still are missing the point.

edited to add, you are coming across as quite smug. My kids are very happy and carefree but one of them is very aware of covid and he often asks questions and wonders things about family members. I don't not let them into shops as I think that would be detrimental to them making them have more fear. How young are your kids? mine have talked about covid in school with friends maybe they are older than yours. Don't for a second imply I don't shield them from what they need shielding from. BUt you woul dhave to be living on the moon not to be aware of covid talk even for kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

yeah hilarious you obviously don't have a child who is affected by all the coronavirus talk. broadcast it at times they are in schools?? that is hilarious, as if it wouldn't be rebroadcast on every radio show and later on the news etc.

Of course mine is not. But I have different parenting style I guess.

It's on parents to shield their children from overhearing this. I can play my own music in the car and keep a kids programme on the tv and my kids would be none the wiser. My partner and I chat about worrying things or concerns after the kids have gone to bed. It's not that hard.

Saying kids are subjected to this info as if we have no control over it to try and make a case to keep us all in the dark is ridiculous.

Can I just extract a piece of your quote and reduce it to

"It's on parents to shield their children".

End of.

not quite, you actually said that I was making a case to cover it up. glad you had all that time to spent quoting me. you still are missing the point.

The opposite of wanting to be informed vs not being informed because 'kids might hear the nightly news' is to advocate for covering it up or as I said "keeping us in the dark." No point is being missed.

ah I give up. give yourself a pat on the back there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,539 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

We should not know about the epidemiology of a once in a generation pandemic and in particular how the Irish School system and all the millions of movements surrounding them are impacting on the instance of the virus inside these institutions and the wider community because children might get upset?

I think we just reached peak stupid.

Raind, don't be rude- I am not exaggerating. I have only reiterated what the gov't themselves still have posted as facts, and which you will find very often quoted at the bottom of many news stories from the IT and Independent.

Agree with you about face hugger.

They seem to have stopped including it on RTE at least. It was very annoying as it was proven wrong

Boggles wrote: »
    We should not know about the epidemiology of a once in a generation pandemic and in particular how the Irish School system and all the millions of movements surrounding them are impacting on the instance of the virus inside these institutions and the wider community because children might get upset?

I think we just reached peak stupid.

I joined boards a few weeks ago as I was going through a particularly hard time. Regretting it now. Expressing a simple point being misinterpretated over and over is actually not worth it. My kids know all about the virus, they are smart and educated and I answer all their questions about it. Yeah I guess I am stupid.

Sorry for you troubles.

But it is a message board, you opinion will be challenged.

What did you think would happen?

Boggles wrote: »
    Sorry for you troubles.

But it is a message board, you opinion will be challenged.

What did you think would happen?

I suppose I expected measured debate. no hassle, I guess this is not for me.

edited to add, you are coming across as quite smug.

Probably best not to call posters smug then, 15 posts into your boards career.

Have a good one. ;)

ah I give up. give yourself a pat on the back there.

I won't pat myself on the back, but don't come on here and be rude telling people to read posts and get off their high horse and calling them names like smug.

Sorry to hear you've had a difficult time, do stay and try find support but maybe in the future if you would post less aggressively it might help you find the support you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,870 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Knine wrote: »
    I agree. My friend has developed a heart issue after having Covid & my 12 year old daughter ended up in hospital on oxygen.

Internet anecdotes are great.

Meanwhile back in the real-world, 0.001% of the population are currently hospitalized with this terrifying virus.

The general public will not accept their children's education being sacrificed to placate the covid-bedwetters or the teaching unions.

They seem to have stopped including it on RTE at least. It was very annoying as it was proven wrong

I didn't know our own stats are different. Would you have a link to direct me to? It definitely helps to know its not as bad as all that.

Incidentally, those articles I mentioned are always found on rte.ie. :rolleyes:

Knine wrote: »
    I agree. My friend has developed a heart issue after having Covid & my 12 year old daughter ended up in hospital on oxygen.

So sorry to hear this, how very worrying for you, I can't imagine. Hope your daughter (and friend) are recovering ok. :(

I think the vast majority of people posting here care about kids and the teachers etc., and that is a great thing to have in common. Apart from that we are all in different spaces in coming to terms with this bloody awful pandemic, some with agendas, some over optimistic, some the opposite and many feeling helpless and frustrated and horrified. We all shelter under some size of umbrella of denial. But the government of the day should not be in denial and it is and coming out of it will, at best, be a shock to many and, at worst, be catastrophic. It has two main priorities. The schools will stay open, no matter what, and the wet pubs outside Dublin will open on Monday. Christ on a bike! We should focus our anger on where it belongs, not on each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

So sorry to hear this, how very worrying for you, I can't imagine. Hope your daughter (and friend) are recovering ok. :(

I echo irishblessings sentiments.

May I ask, and of course don't answer this if you don't feel comfortable, but did your 12 year old daughter have any underlying conditions? And do you know how she may have caught it?

"A staff member at one of the biggest secondary schools in the country has been diagnosed with Covid-19.

Over 700 students at St Oliver's Community College in Drogheda, were told not to turn up for school today while the authorities try to trace the source.

A letter was sent out to all parents and guardians informing them of the situation last night.

It is not known how long the first, second and third years will stay out of school. Fifth and sixth years will continue to go into class."

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/hundreds-children-sent-home-after-22697478?fbclid=IwAR1ccGhOY8mTJ8osbfLQQusvZDccMK4NEGPXNxm8sMd_QRm4O9_aOF9PJZs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭morebabies

Me and my wife are out of school at the moment, she has had a very bad fever/chills for the last day and a half, so bad last night I was close to ringing an ambulance, temperature was between 38-39.2 all day yesterday, headache, limbs ache, nauseous and a slight cough. Got tested yesterday and we are waiting for 2-3 days for results.

We both work in post primary, and keep away from everywhere else at the moment. Only place she could have got this (if it is covid) is in her school, or I caught it in mine and gave it to her. Both in our early 30's and fit and healthy.

I'm so angry and scared right now at the complete lack of care or awareness to the danger that people are showing towards educators and children.

That's very worrying, how is your wife now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,536 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

morebabies wrote: »
    That's very worrying, how is your wife now?

yeah fairly rough going the last two nights, her temperature seems more stable (36.5 - 37.5) today thank god but she still has the headache and nausea. Still no notification from hse at 24hours

She was also diagnosed over the phone with covid back in April, so if she comes back positive, that means she has likely had it twice, with this time being worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

yeah fairly rough going the last two nights, her temperature seems more stable (36.5 - 37.5) today thank god but she still has the headache and nausea. Still no notification from hse at 24hours

She was also diagnosed over the phone with covid back in April, so if she comes back positive, that means she has likely had it twice, with this time being worse.
    That's a terrible situation to be in, I hope she's feeling better now that the temperature has dropped. Mad wait time for notice for a test, maybe ring your GP again to see if they can fast-track it because you're teaching in two different schools.

How do you mean diagnosed over the phone, did she get a test the first time or did she not fit the criteria and they just told her she likely had it and to stay at home? I'll be thinking about ye today, fingers crossed it's just a bad dose of flu and ye'll be grand.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/Cork-parent-confident-to-bring-son-back-to-school-despite-confirmed-Covid-case-5accc1b8-fb48-48d4-82c9-ff8a3eb97363-ds

This is where I'm confounded - the school are all still back in but the GAA club has closed. Schools have much closer contact than GAA matches or training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

That's lovely until it's you or yours that's very sick with the "sure it's only 1% of people that die" Bull****

But no matter what you do there is risk.

Even going out for w walk carries an element of risk.

The key issue is assessing the risk v benefit.

So, a nightclub carries a great deal of risk, but the societal benefits are limited (unless you a a frequenter of nightclubs). So it makes sense to lose nightclubs

On the other hand a hospital carries a great deal of risk, bit the societal benefits are enormous. So it makes no sense to Close hospitals.

In relation to schools - where do they sit. There will be very differing views. For my tuppence worth I believe they do pose a risk (because of the sheer numbers moving around). But the benefits are enormous, and imho worth taking a material degreE of risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Will Yam wrote: »
    But no matter what you do there is risk.

Even going out for w walk carries an element of risk.

The key issue is assessing the risk v benefit.

So, a nightclub carries a great deal of risk, but the societal benefits are limited (unless you a a frequenter of nightclubs). So it makes sense to lose nightclubs

On the other hand a hospital carries a great deal of risk, bit the societal benefits are enormous. So it makes no sense to Close hospitals.

In relation to schools - where do they sit. There will be very differing views. For my tuppence worth I believe they do pose a risk (because of the sheer numbers moving around). But the benefits are enormous, and imho worth taking a material degreE of risk.

The big difference between hospitals and schools is that in hospitals they will go to great lengths to mitigate risk of transmission, whereas schools aren't far off where they were last September prior to Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Will Yam

The big difference between hospitals and schools is that in hospitals they will go to great lengths to mitigate risk of transmission, whereas schools aren't far off where they were last September prior to Covid.

If that is the case, then there is a shedload of money being spent for nothing.

I haven’t info for all schools but the few I am aware of there is considerable expenditure. One school I’m familiar with had to get structural work done - it’s going ahead without tendering, on quite a significant amount.

I don’t believe schools should be bound up in bureaucracy but to say schools are where they were last September maybe true in the cases you are aware of, but not in mine.

I haven’t info for all schools but the few I am aware of there is considerable expenditure. One school I’m familiar with had to get structural work done - it’s going ahead without tendering, on quite a significant amount.

I don’t believe schools should be bound up in bureaucracy but to say schools are where they were last September maybe true in the cases you are aware of, but not in mine.

i can 100% tell you this is happening, all for optics

s1ippy wrote: »
    That's a terrible situation to be in, I hope she's feeling better now that the temperature has dropped. Mad wait time for notice for a test, maybe ring your GP again to see if they can fast-track it because you're teaching in two different schools.

How do you mean diagnosed over the phone, did she get a test the first time or did she not fit the criteria and they just told her she likely had it and to stay at home? I'll be thinking about ye today, fingers crossed it's just a bad dose of flu and ye'll be grand.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/Cork-parent-confident-to-bring-son-back-to-school-despite-confirmed-Covid-case-5accc1b8-fb48-48d4-82c9-ff8a3eb97363-ds

This is where I'm confounded - the school are all still back in but the GAA club has closed. Schools have much closer contact than GAA matches or training.

thanks a million, hopefully its just the flu. Regarding testing in april, she had all the symptoms, even the loss of taste and smell, but there just wherent enough tests to go around so the doctor said to stay home and isolate for 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Some schools will do better than others, but on the whole we haven't made a dent on our class sizes which are still some of the largest in Europe.

We didn't follow the Dane's lead and take over publicly owned buildings for schooling. We essentially just festooned most schools with posters and sanitiser and came out with some guff about pods and bubbles.