Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who thinks Trump will win?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

For me, Trump is not a leader. Hes a self serving mercenary who does whats best for himself rather than whats best for his country. His handling of the many troubling situations America has faces this year tells me all I need to know about him.

Hes just not for me. Covid, the racial tensions and the relationd with China..... he does what he wants to suit himself and his personal agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

beakerjoe wrote: »
    For me, Trump is not a leader. Hes a self serving mercenary who does whats best for himself rather than whats best for his country. His handling of the many troubling situations America has faces this year tells me all I need to know about him.

Hes just not for me. Covid, the racial tensions and the relationd with China..... he does what he wants to suit himself and his personal agenda.
    It's all about him. He wanted to be president as a title, because it boosts his ego and he had the means to get there. He lives the rallies, the adoration, the popularity. It's the absolute best it can be for him. Everyone everywhere talking about him.

He has shown little leadership, but has lucked out on some things with his bluster style of doing business. That's a particular skill, but not leadership.

Imagine working for him lol no thanks, seen enough of that style of management to last a lifetime.

Before anyone chimes in about 'hate' for trump, don't bother, it's just a critique of his style and personality. It is what it is and I'm just thankful it isn't currently impacting me as much as it is done people.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Overheal wrote: »
    Source?

She helped raise money to bail some of the scumbags out:

https://twitter.com/KamalaHarris/status/1267555018128965643

Look forward to her debate Pence and him asking her to explain herself.

No doubt she will just laugh manically and try to deflect. Should be fun though.

Firstly Pence doesn't stand a chance against her in the debates. Secondly, not all protesters who were arrested should have been arrested. There's a reason why so many will face no charges. Minnesota was one of those great examples where Police behaved atrociously. Eg the 70 year old who ended up with brain damage...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

No doubt she will just laugh manically and try to deflect. Should be fun though.

Again the hypocrisy of the Trump supporters on here.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.newsweek.com/trump-told-white-supremacists-attack-protesters-so-they-did-650622%3famp=1
    Trump Told White Supremacists to Attack Protesters, So They Did

President Donald Trump's comments on dealing with protesters are coming back to haunt him after the violence that broke out Saturday at a white supremacist rally in Charlottesville, Virginia.

The president, whose initial statement about the rally was criticized for failing to mention racism, now finds comments he made about attacking protesters being revisited. Throughout his election campaign, Trump appeared to encourage violence toward anti-Trump protesters who showed up at his rallies, telling crowds of people that protesters should be escorted out more roughly, and offering to pay the legal fees of any of his fans who attacked them.

"If you see somebody getting ready to throw a tomato, knock the crap out of them, would you? Seriously, OK? Just knock the hell... I promise you I will pay for the legal fees. I promise, I promise," Trump said at an Iowa rally on February 1, 2016.

Let's do a quick poll. The old guy who threw the punch. Scumbag or not?

kenmm wrote: »
    Let's do a quick poll. The old guy who threw the punch. Scumbag or not?

Unprovoked attack, pure scumbag.

Ah no, in the interest of fairness, it wasn't entirely unprovoked. He did give the finger.

The retaliation was complete scumbaggery of course, but I'm interested to see what excuses or deflection will come.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

This was a good thread at the start, theres too many feelings in it now. People should try and stick to one or two posts in a Trump thread a day if they are getting upset at the bold president.

Who is getting upset? If anything it's the Trump zealots that get upset when you point out the hypocrisy of what Trump or they are saying.

Case in point, the post above about Harris raising funds for protesters bail.

Again the hypocrisy of the Trump supporters on here.

I don't condone what that man did and don't condone Trump paying his legal fees, if indeed he did. You see, Timber, I (and others) can disagree with two different things at once, no matter their side of the political aisle. Just because we condemn democrats/liberals for something does not therefore mean we would support that same thing, or the equivalent of it, on the other side. That's the domain of the left to do that. A good example is the reaction of the left to the accusations of Tara Reade (suddenly dropping their philosophy of Believe ALL women) and how they were/are so willing to believe Trump said what he was reported to have about the military, with little or no evidence to back it up, when they would never be so willing to do that if the story had been about Biden. As you see hypocrisy is not something which is a hallmark of those you are oft to wag your finger at but it most certainly runs through the left like words through a stick of rock.

Firstly Pence doesn't stand a chance against her in the debates.

Haha. With the woman who has suggested Biden was a racist? Claimed she listened to Tupac before he had released music and supported the bailing out of trash? I'm sure he'll be grand.
    Secondly, not all protesters who were arrested should have been arrested. There's a reason why so many will face no charges. Minnesota was one of those great examples where Police behaved atrociously. Eg the 70 year old who ended up with brain damage...

The Fund she raised money for went to bailing out scumbags and she should trust the Police, not be supporting those who attack them and refuse to obey the rule of law.

https://twitter.com/gaye_gallops/status/1302656841483276289

I am not sure who is getting upset? I know you were claiming to be sad and one or two people let anger get in the way of their posting (and seem to have calmed down a little).

Your disingenuous attempts at subterfuge and to frustrate the discussion are quite transparent and do nothing but also detract from the conversation.

Just because "Uncle Trump" uses these tactics successfully, doesn't mean to say they work for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

I am not sure who is getting upset? I know you were claiming to be sad and one or two people let anger get in the way of their posting (and seem to have calmed down a little).

Your disingenuous attempts at subterfuge and to frustrate the discussion are quite transparent and do nothing but also detract from the conversation.

Just because "Uncle Trump" uses these tactics successfully, doesn't mean to say they work for everyone.

Didnt you try to prove to everyone that Trump was bad by calling another poster a homosexual?

Not at all - That was your interpretation and I strongly refute that claim.

I merely implied that there was a line of people who loved trump so much that they would go and suck them off if given a chance. I stand by that statement in the general sense.
    It's the internet - I don't know if people are male, female, gay or straight. You don't know if I am gay, straight or somewhere in between.

This was explained many times since then and included an admission that it was probably a bit below the belt (as it was directed at a single poster) and apologised since.

EDIT:

And thanks :-)

Edit - This is my final word on the subject. The claim was made, apologised for, reported and brought back up again. I strongly refute the implication that I either called someone gay OR indeed that calling someone gay is some sort of derogatory term. @Mod - sorry to add to this nonsense, but this is something I have to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Not at all - That was your interpretation and I strongly refute that claim.

I merely implied that there was a line of people who loved trump so much that they would go and suck them off if given a chance. I stand by that statement in the general sense.
    It's the internet - I don't know if people are male, female, gay or straight. You don't know if I am gay, straight or somewhere in between.

This was explained many times since then and included an admission that it was probably a bit below the belt (as it was directed at a single poster) and apologised since.

EDIT:

And thanks :-)

Edit - This is my final word on the subject. The claim was made, apologised for, reported and brought back up again. I strongly refute the implication that I either called someone gay OR indeed that calling someone gay is some sort of derogatory term. @Mod - sorry to add to this nonsense, but this is something I have to say.

Think it is good that you apologized for your mistake and move on.

Some will always see being gay as inherently wrong and never even question that assumption.

Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,925 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Many of the “scumbags” who were jailed at the time were peaceful protesters who were arrested en masse. So I fail to see the clear and distinct connection to open support of rioting. Sorry not sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

Kenmm - you're very vulgar in your choice of language. Then you offer some over the top apologies.

No offence, but its a bit weird..

' The chap doth protest too much, methinks ' .

Perhaps some folks around here could do with a hug ( not from me though, *shudder* )

• Registered Users Posts: 81,925 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Biker79 wrote: »
    Kenmm - you're very vulgar in your choice of language. Then you offer some over the top apologies.

No offence, but its a bit weird..

' The chap doth protest too much, methinks ' .

Perhaps some folks around here could do with a hug ( not from me though, *shudder* )

So you have nothing cogent to say, just Responding to Tone?

Hey - I'm a straight talking New Yorker, what can I say!

Vulgarity of language is part of the deal.

(I hope this can be laughed at, I'm not commenting on any of the rest of it - been done to death!)

Many of the “scumbags” who were jailed at the time were peaceful protesters who were arrested en masse. So I fail to see the clear and distinct connection to open support of rioting. Sorry not sorry.

She did it to signal to the radical left support which the left now have and yes it was to show support for the rioting that was going on. Her helping to raise money to bail out those the US Police were arresting was a disgusting and contemptible thing to do. This was not a miscarriage of justice fund or something. Here's some of those the group bailed along with the charges they face:
    $75,000 Bail for Jaleel Stallings Attempted Murder w/ an AK-47 Shooting at SWAT Team
    $100,000 Darnika Floyd charged 2nd degree murder 4 stabbing & killing woman
    $350,00 Christopher Boswell-Charged w/rape & kidnapping assault, sexual assault in 2 diff cases

She rowed in with thugs and lowlifes just because she wanted to help contribute to the unrest in America as she knew/hoped it would have a negative impact on the current administration. She's not morally fit to be VP.

She did it to signal to the radical left support which the left now have and yes it was to show support for the rioting that was going on. Her helping to raise money to bail out those the US Police were arresting was a disgusting and contemptible thing to do. This was not a miscarriage of justice fund or something. Here's some of those the group bailed along with the charges they face:

She rowed in with thugs and lowlifes just because she wanted to help contribute to the unrest in America as she knew/hoped it would have a negative impact on the current administration. She's not morally fit to be VP.

What's your thoughts on Trump encouraging people to attack protesters and saying he will pay their bail personally? How is Harris's behaviour any different or worse than his?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The people she wanted bailed out went back on the streets to reek more havoc and cause more destruction, costing lives and livelihoods, she whipped others to encourage their social media following to do the same...it must be the darkest time in the Democratic Party that this hasn't stopped her getting the VP nod, it is also the darkest time in media that she is not being hounded about this like she deserves but neither comes as any surprise to many of us here in Ireland let alone the US...there is clearly an institutional attempt to completely destabalize the country in order to win an election, it is a major political party that is doing this....a party that is about to pay a huge price!!!

Hey - I'm a straight talking New Yorker, what can I say!

Vulgarity of language is part of the deal.

(I hope this can be laughed at, I'm not commenting on any of the rest of it - been done to death!)

Hmm. Sounds like you're scared of getting a whack from the Mods cancel stick.

Its not as bad as you might expect. You might even develop a taste for it.

You know how you lefties are with fetishes ;)

So you have nothing cogent to say, just Responding to Tone?

You're right...its a bit childish.

Back on track now.

What's your thoughts on Trump encouraging people to attack protesters and saying he will pay their bail personally? How is Harris's behaviour any different or worse than his?

I already replied to you and addressed that.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

As some of hopes Biden beats Trump, not hecause hes some white night savioir but a lesse of two bad choices, I dont understand the defund the police movement.

Biker79 wrote: »
    Hmm. Sounds like you're scared of getting a whack from the Mods cancel stick.

Its not as bad as you might expect. You might even develop a taste for it.

You know how you lefties are with fetishes ;)

:-D My many fetishes are nothing to do with my political leanings - that's just too weird.

I stand by all my comments.

I already replied to you and addressed that.

My apologies, I honestly didn't see that post, thank you for your honest reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

40 seconds in usual interruption in at Trump rally by members of the political opposition. Crowd responds chanting "All lives matter", Trump at 1:30 "He's going home to Mom", and sets expectation of a vaccine announcement before end of year.

Biden is not working the crowds like Trump or Obama can. His campaign has been lacklustre to date, as noted with Hillary Clinton campaign not that much enthusiasm on the ground. If you want to get the vote out then you got to work the crowd.

There also seems to be a degree of panic among California Democrats pushing Mother Earth seeming anxious to deflect any blame from them for the fires. Trump also visited the state o the internal state politics may be about to change for the Republicans. Biden will take that state, it is winner take all worth 55 seat in the electoral college.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

40 seconds in usual interruption in at Trump rally by members of the political opposition. Crowd responds chanting "All lives matter", Trump at 1:30 "He's going home to Mom", and sets expectation of a vaccine announcement before end of year.

Biden is not working the crowds like Trump or Obama can. His campaign has been lacklustre to date, as noted with Hillary Clinton campaign not that much enthusiasm on the ground. If you want to get the vote out then you got to work the crowd.

There also seems to be a degree of panic among California Democrats pushing Mother Earth seeming anxious to deflect any blame from them for the fires. Trump also visited the state o the internal state politics may be about to change for the Republicans. Biden will take that state, it is winner take all worth 55 seat in the electoral college.

The thing is with those rallies - I don't get them - it's not like there are a bunch of people sitting on the fence that decide to pop along to one and get convinced to vote Trump.