Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

vid36 wrote: »
    Schools in Europe are shut in August except in Scotland. But wait until Spain, Romania, Bulgaria France and Belgium open up, it won't be pretty.

And England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I just read somewhere that the new rule regarding gatherings in private homes not having more than 6 people can be interpreted to include members of the household.

There’s more than 6 in my household so we’re already technically breaking that rule. Does that mean we cannot have any guests over seeing as we’re already over capacity? Or is it the household +6?

I was wondering this earlier. It's household +6.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0818/1159878-virus-press-conference/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

acequion wrote: »
    We could. And everyone locked in I suppose. To hell with all those with loved ones outside the country. All those who embraced being connected to the wider Europe and wonderful connectivity these past years.

Your type couldn't care less about all that. Bring us all back to the dark ages. Have zero covid for Christmas until somehow it gets right back in like it did in NZ!

There is no Covid free anywhere until there's a vaccine. Some of you might have no life to put on hold. But many of us do and we want to go on living it!

The issue here is indeed people who do not go on living, which you seem to interpret as going to the pub.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

What about soccer? Two team's is 22 player's on a pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Zero covid is up there with world peace and Santa clause on the list of things we all want but adults know wont happen.
    This is inherently possible, once the virus isn't being spread by freight or that airborne transmission isn't a significant factor.

Taiwan and New Zealand are great examples of this, even if they've had an outbreak. Foot and mouth disease is vastly more virulent (widely airborne spread) and this country practically showed the world how it's done despite (or because of) one slip up. See how new Zealand is in 2 months and PM me if I'm wrong and there's community spread and lockdowns again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭celt262

Limpy wrote: »
    What about soccer? Two team's is 22 player's on a pitch.

I know the latest restrictions are not very clear but sport can go ahead as normal without spectators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,254 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So what? This is not the first time there has been disagreement among Cabinet ministers including those all from the same party. It has happened before and will happen again.

Nope, apparently more to it alright
    Several sources also reported that there were sharp exchanges at the preceding Cabinet meeting, with Tánaiste Leo Varadkar expressing his disquiet at the way Taoiseach Micheál Martin was “doing business”.
    Informed sources say that Mr Varadkar registered a strong protest at the cancellation of the Cabinet sub-committee meeting which he believed should have been held to discuss the measures proposed by public health advisers before the Cabinet came to its decisions, warning the Taoiseach that this was not an acceptable way to do business.

Last night, Fine Gael sources were critical of the measures announced as “incoherent”. The new restrictions mark a sharp reversal of the reopening trend of recent months, and point to a fraught few weeks ahead.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/varadkar-and-martin-clash-at-tense-cabinet-meeting-as-incoherent-new-restrictions-criticised-1.4333516

If reopening schools turn out to be the mess I reckon it will and they're forced to close again, that could be the end of this Government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭facehugger99

With our young population, Ireland was in a great position to minimize the economic effects of Covid.
    Instead due to political cowardice, we are one of the worst managed countries in the world.

We should not be rolling back on the easing of restrictions unless the health services are in danger of being overwhelmed. There is nothing at present to suggest that this is even a remote possibility.

The current 'strategy' makes no sense whatsoever. What the fcuk are we playing at?

This madness needs to stop.

With our young population, Ireland was in a great position to minimize the economic effects of Covid.
    Instead due to political cowardice, we are one of the worst managed countries in the world.

We should not be rolling back on the easing of restrictions unless the health services are in danger of being overwhelmed. There is nothing at present to suggest that this is even a remote possibility.

The current 'stratedgy' makes no sense whatsoever. What the fcuk are we playing at?

Half of the government would seem to agree/be asking the same question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

The current 'stratedgy' makes no sense whatsoever. What the fcuk are we playing at?

There's no strategy or long term plan.

I'm really curious to see what will happen in the next green list review, which is due later this week. Will the UK, Germany and Portugal be added to the list now that their risk of infection is lower than Ireland's?

Another cabinet meeting came and went and we still don't have a policy to manage travelers coming from areas with high rates of infection. Americans are still free to enter Ireland... Untested... But we can't have more than 6 people gathering in the same house. Unbelievable stuff.

This country has officially lost the plot.

We are STILL allowing flights in from America.
    We STILL haven't mentioned any sort of actions that will help to prevent outbreaks in factories.
    We have no plan - We never reopened fully and now they are muttering about some new 6 - 9 month roadmap.
    The coalition government looks likely to collapse sooner than later

We want to have 30 kids in a classroom for hours, yet people want the garda to have power that in theory would allow them to burst into my house and break up myself and some family having a pot of tea...

Thankfully the tide is starting to turn. Public support is fading fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Lots brow-beating the GAA this morning for daring to have the temerity to question our NPHET overlords.
    The cheek of them asking for empirical evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

This country has officially lost the plot.

We are STILL allowing flights in from America.
    We STILL haven't mentioned any sort of actions that will help to prevent outbreaks in factories.
    We have no plan - We never reopened fully and now they are muttering about some new 6 - 9 month roadmap.
    The coalition government looks likely to collapse sooner than later

We want to have 30 kids in a classroom for hours, yet people want the garda to have power that in theory would allow them to burst into my house and break up myself and some family having a pot of tea...

It's evidenced on the main covid thread here as well as on comments on Facebook and under The Journal articles. Public support is turning to public anger due to the restrictions being imposed without any scientific basis and with a lot of inconsistency. Even headlines this morning are now containing a lot more criticism of the measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dalyboy

robbiezero wrote: »
    Lots brow-beating the GAA this morning for daring to have the temerity to question our NPHET overlords.

empirical evidence and NPHET are mutually exclusive.

Its modelling the worst case scenario and pretending it’s science is where their expertise lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

celt262 wrote: »
    I know the latest restrictions are not very clear but sport can go ahead as normal without spectators.

But what about training? Maximum 15 (including coaches)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

" public support is turning" how the public ever had faith, in a shower of gob****es, who couldnt run a corner shop, is beyond me! I think some of the idiot politicians now are slowly realising, that this is going to lead to a hell of a bigger problems than covid is ...

Another day. Another hysterical anti government rant from you. I can set my watch by them. Anyway the "ridiculous **** performance for nearly a decade" didn`t prevent you from voting for them during that period of time.

I was fooled once! No party that i would actually happily vote for exists here ...

It's evidenced on the main covid thread here as well as on comments on Facebook and under The Journal articles. Public support is turning to public anger due to the restrictions being imposed without any scientific basis and with a lot of inconsistency. Even headlines this morning are now containing a lot more criticism of the measures.

Is this from the same idiot meeja who have been fully on board with government and supported this lunacy all along... yes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭almostover

It's the manner of the request rather than the request itself that is causing umbrage. It could have been done through official goverment channels rather than a public statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭almostover

Zero covid is up there with world peace and Santa clause on the list of things we all want but adults know wont happen.

Unfortunately this country put a functioning healthcare system on the same list as Santa and world peace also. Hence why our restrictions are so conservative.

Sleepy Eamon on R1 trying to find the logic in the maze of contradictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Well, there ya have it, the Gardai will soon have the power to enter your home without warrant, only "reasonable suspicion" will be needed in court to make the entry to your property legal...
    The Government will tell you this is a "Temporary power" in the interests of "public safety"... however I can see it being extended...

This is inherently possible, once the virus isn't being spread by freight or that airborne transmission isn't a significant factor.

Taiwan and New Zealand are great examples of this, even if they've had an outbreak. Foot and mouth disease is vastly more virulent (widely airborne spread) and this country practically showed the world how it's done despite (or because of) one slip up. See how new Zealand is in 2 months and PM me if I'm wrong and there's community spread and lockdowns again.

We have to change direction to this policy. People cannot SD for two years. That is why every country in Europe is seeing rises in cases. Live with the virus is not a policy. The virus will keep rising when you unlock and people will revolt against another lockdown. When you control the borders and get cases low you can safely unlock. You cannot unlock with open borders. Non sensical. Most of Europe doesn't seem to understand or not willing to accept yet until hospitals are again full.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

We need a big protest like other EU citizens do when the government take them for fools.

Limpy wrote: »
    We need a big protest like other EU citizens do when the government take them for fools.

VERY rarely happens. Most Irish people grumble but are compliant regardless and dislike anything that rocks the boat. Last time was the Irish Water protests which split the opinion of the country.

We've no problem with virue-signalling stuff like BLM protests though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

almostover wrote: »
    It's the manner of the request rather than the request itself that is causing umbrage. It could have been done through official goverment channels rather than a public statement.

They will have ensured that this nonsense will not arise again which will have made it a worthwhile effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Empirical evidence is being ignored in favour of worst case scenario theoretical modelling.

Surely we've learned by now how inaccurate that can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

almostover wrote: »

Yes you are right. NPHET should have had discussions with FAI, IRFU and GAA with Dept of Sport on any particular issues before taking the course of action yesterday.

Not quite.. NPHET should have made their recommendation to Government, who then should have followed up with each of those groups, before then convening the Cabinet and deciding the next steps which were subsequently announced.

Preferably without all the leaks/kite-flying to the Indo and the IT beforehand too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Sleepy Eamon on R1 trying to find the logic in the maze of contradictions.

Sleepy Eamon? Coming from someone who the other day was accusing the pro restrictions people about resorting to insults you seem to be engaging in the exact same thing yourself. Not for the first time either I might add.