Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

joeguevara wrote: »
    Was there any laws broken by anyone in Northern Ireland or for people returning to Republic of Ireland?

Does that really matter? It was the example shown by the two women leaders, shoving it in the face of the rest of the Irish people that we can pretend to bury our friend while the rest of you watch from a distance on a phone or a laptop while your loved ones are laid to rest.

There are many people who will not forgive Sinn Fein for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

blanch152 wrote: »
    Does that really matter? It was the example shown by the two women leaders, shoving it in the face of the rest of the Irish people that we can pretend to bury our friend while the rest of you watch from a distance on a phone or a laptop while your loved ones are laid to rest.

It does matter. Was there any laws broken by organising a funeral in Northern Ireland or for returning to the Republic of Ireland. There either was or wasn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rdwight

:):)

All funerals are a form of theatre Bonnie.
    His funeral notice said that 'afterwards there would be a short ceremony and oration'.

Are theatres open again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,669 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bonniedog wrote: »
    "The person who had died," I believe I said. Storey was dead I assume so the Milltown thing could have been staged at a ballad session in the Felons. It made a mockery of a ceremony many people take seriously.

We could have had no funerals at all during Covid. All of them could have been held over to avoid danger.

But some of them did breach regs. Unfortunate, but were they a crime of the magnitude being made out by the politically motivated?

Oh WAIT! There is only one funeral being used in that way.

I think SF can cope with you not forgiving them blanch.:)
    Why use the gender of the leaders by the way? The 'two women leaders'?

Bit of an odd thing to do. Was there a point to it?

We could have had no funerals at all during Covid. All of them could have been held over to avoid danger.

But some of them did breach regs. Unfortunate, but were they a crime of the magnitude being made out by the politically motivated?

Were there lots of funerals breaching regulations?

There may be only one funeral being focused on by the politically motivated, but maybe that's because it was the only funeral whose performance was so unashamedly politically motivated.

rdwight wrote: »

There may be only one funeral being focused on by the politically motivated, but maybe that's because it was the only funeral whose performance was so unashamedly politically motivated.

What laws were in place and were broken by a funeral in Northern Ireland and returning to the Republic of Ireland. I have asked 3 times and no one has pointed to any law broken.

At least you are honest enough to admit it is a politically motivated response.

Yes there were other funerals that breached regs, the funeral of an SDLP figure and the State funeral.

Not a peep out of anyone about Covid concerns with them.

At least the mask is off now. To coin an appropriate phrase maybe.

As you have already admitted, there was only one funeral during the pandemic that was used to make a political statement.
    I think SF can cope with you not forgiving them blanch.:)
    Why use the gender of the leaders by the way? The 'two women leaders'?

Bit of an odd thing to do. Was there a point to it?

Are you that desperate to try looking for an insult anywhere you can find it? The boys in Belfast are the real leaders of Sinn Fein, as we all know, hence the reference to the women leaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

What laws were in place and were broken by a funeral in Northern Ireland and returning to the Republic of Ireland. I have asked 3 times and no one has pointed to any law broken.

None
    The funeral & Mass gathering was delayed until the day after travel restrictions within the Republic were lifted
    This allowed people from as far away as Cork to attend

Mortelaro wrote: »
    None
    The funeral & Mass gathering was delayed until the day after travel restrictions within the Republic were lifted
    This allowed people from as far away as Cork to attend

So, just to be sure, No Law broken, surely if people are getting so annoyed there must some law broken, some crime committed, some breach of legislation?

Yes there were other funerals that breached regs, the funeral of an SDLP figure and the State funeral.

Ah jaysus Francie, don't be getting yourself excited. I only accepted your premise to point out the flaw in your argument.

The funeral was used by Sinn Fein for political purposes, as you yourself have already admitted. Yet, you are now complaining that some of the responses to the funeral are politically motivated?

However, let's be clear, every single other party in the Assembly have joined together to condemn Sinn Fein and Michelle O'Neill. Why hasn't she apologised and resigned? Arrogance is the answer.

So, just to be sure, No Law broken, surely if people are getting so annoyed there must some law broken, some crime committed, some breach of legislation?

I don't know if there was any law broken. I believe that regulations on the number of people allowed in the church, only family members being allowed to carry coffins, and social distancing (eg Michelle selfie) were broken. It looks like Belfast City Council and the Crematorium were persuaded into contortions of the rules to facilitate this funeral at the expense of other funerals.

The spirit of the law/regulations was certainly broken.

The funeral was used by Sinn Fein for political purposes, as you yourself have already admitted. Yet, you are now complaining that some of the responses to the funeral are politically motivated?

However, let's be clear, every single other party in the Assembly have joined together to condemn Sinn Fein and Michelle O'Neill. Why hasn't she apologised and resigned? Arrogance is the answer.

Can I ask what breach of Law she should apologise for and what breach of law she should resign for? Surely not just because every other party dislikes Sinn Fein?

No law in the Republic of Ireland
    I'm not upset or Angry
    There were 1800 stewards lined up for a private citizens funeral
    That would have been significantly more than the 30 allowed attend
    There were also 8 families not allowed their entitlement of 30 people at the crematorium on that day
    Despite the 1800 stewards,a very bad job was done stewarding social distancing on the day
    Not the best optics

I don't know if there was any law broken. I believe that regulations on the number of people allowed in the church, only family members being allowed to carry coffins, and social distancing (eg Michelle selfie) were broken. It looks like Belfast City Council and the Crematorium were persuaded into contortions of the rules to facilitate this funeral at the expense of other funerals.

The spirit of the law/regulations was certainly broken.

Im asking for broken laws not broken spirits. Please try again and does it ever say specifically about family members carrying coffins. Also please reference the date of the ceremony to the law. Please don't use 'looks like' if you don't know the answer.

I'm not upset or Angry
    There were also 8 families not allowed their entitlement of 30 people at the crematorium on that day
    Despite the 1800 stewards,a very bad job was done stewarding social distancing on the day
    Not the best optics

So no law in the Republic of Ireland. Grand.

Now any law in Northern Ireland where it took place?

I'm not upset or Angry
    Not the best optics

Just keep the denial going that the Crematorium have said they operated as they do for any high profile funeral. I.E. there was nothing unusual, no white beardy men down from the hills intimidating them etc.
    Another attempt to portray what happened as sinister scotched, but still you persist,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Just keep the denial going that the Crematorium have said they operated as they do for any high profile funeral. I.E. there was nothing unusual, no white beardy men down from the hills intimidating them etc.
    Another attempt to portray what happened as sinister scotched, but still you persist,

Beats trying to defend FF/FG on their shenanigans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

At least try and stay up to date. Another exaggeration. Here is the PSNI statement. Even uses the word 'engaged'.

Which PSNI statement is that because we have.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/psni-deny-mary-lou-mcdonald-claim-that-force-involved-in-planning-of-bobby-storey-funeral-39337494.html
    The PSNI has denied claims by Sinn Fein president Mary Lou McDonald that the force was involved in the planning of the funeral for IRA veteran Bobby Storey.

The Sinn Fein leader told RTE that the PSNI "meticulously planned" the funeral along with organisers and that it was the force which asked Sinn Fein to put stewards on the road.

However, PSNI Assistant Chief Constable Alan Todd, in a statement issued on Friday morning, denied those claims.

The senior officer said that PSNI had engaged with organisers before the funeral of the former IRA man in order that they "understood their obligations".

He added: To be clear, PSNI were not involved in the planning of this funeral and did not approve any plan for the funeral.

"Accordingly we were made aware of the plans for Tuesday’s funeral and local officers engaged with the celebrant and service organisers to highlight both the public health advice and risks around Covid-19, and the requirement for those attending to adhere to social distancing.

So it appears that SF, MoM and MLD want to drag the PSNI into the argument and use them as cover, when in truth they are over-egging the pudding and her statement that the PSNI ""meticulously planned" the funeral" is bogus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

So, has anyone gotten to the bottom of the fact that there was a funeral procession to the graveyard but Storey himself was to be cremated??

A fake funeral is where we are at now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

markodaly wrote: »
    So, has anyone gotten to the bottom of the fact that there was a funeral procession to the graveyard but Storey himself was to be cremated??

A fake funeral is where we are at now?

That's pretty desperate. You've never been to a funeral with a cremation? It's usually the exact same except theres no graveside burial.

The numbers restrictions at funerals is law subject to a max fine of £1000stg
    Its very unlikely that fines will be handed out for this one though
    Scorn will be fine enough

The numbers restrictions at funerals is law subject to a max fine of £1000stg
    Its very unlikely that fines will be handed out for this one though
    Scorn will be fine enough

Can you show me the law and the reference date please? Who gets the fines, the individual or the family?

its not a lie,its a fact that 8 families were denied their grieving rights to accommodate the Storey funeral
    That needn't have happened

its not a lie,its a fact that 8 families were denied their grieving rights to accommodate the Storey funeral
    That needn't have happened

Was there a possibility that they could have had it the next day? Could 8 have done it all in the one day anyway? Do you know if they had over 30 mourners each? Where are you getting this information from?

Bowie wrote: »
    That's pretty desperate. You've never been to a funeral with a cremation? It's usually the exact same except theres no graveside burial.

I've never been to a funeral at a cemetery when the the deceased was going to cremated several miles away.

Can you show me the law and the reference date please? Who gets the fines, the individual or the family?

I don't expect there to be any fines to be meated out

Attached is a quick Google for you
    You will need a sub to search the Irish Times by day
    The specific regulation will be on ni.gov.co.uk somewhere
    If you haven't found them yourself by later,I'll certainly look them up for you
    Was there a possibility that they could have had it the next day? Could 8 have done it all in the one day anyway? Do you know if they had over 30 mourners each? Where are you getting this information from?

several news outlets yesterday and the day before

I don't expect there to be any fines to be meated out

Attached is a quick Google for you
    You will need a sub to search the Irish Times by day
    The specific regulation will be on ni.gov.co.uk somewhere
    If you haven't found them yourself by later,I'll certainly look them up for you

Ill have a look. I tried earlier and it appeared to be guidelines etc, I couldn't find an actual law but this looks good. Thank you.