Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo says the Civil Service is 'very white'

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

The thing that annoys me about Leo is that he seems to care about his image more than anything else. I always get the feeling that he's trying to impress the likes of the journalists who write opinion columns in the Irish times. He comes across like everything he says is calculated for what the media reaction will be. He comes across as very insincere. As Jay said it's all spin and no substance.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

TheCitizen wrote: »
    There is no “quota thing”

Well there clearly is, that guard could hardly understand a word of English, so how did he pass the aptitude test, the interview. Even I as a person who English is my first language those aptitude tests are difficult

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Mules wrote: »
    The thing that annoys me about Leo is that he seems to care about his image more than anything else. I always get the feeling that he's trying to impress the likes of the journalists who write opinion columns in the Irish times. He comes across like everything he says is calculated for what the media reaction will be. He comes across as very insincere. As Jay said it's all spin and no substance.

This is the problem with out current "click bait" style media though.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,934 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

1000%. I couldn’t have put it better. He is almost reaching out to certain demographics in society to give them a leg up, in order that both he and his party can be remembered as ‘helping’ and aiding and prioritizing their plight and making things more accessible to them, success in the jobs market being easier. It might shove FG more ‘left’ than they have been used to... they have been way too right for a lot of people for decades, a party that seemed almost uncaring towards anyone who wasn’t on their page and mind of thinking... a party for the farmer and businessman as some people say.

Leo is disingenuously investing in a certain demographic of people, hoping memories will live long and it will boost votes, that’s what he’s doing. What I fear it’s going to do is divide the country, give growth to racism, fueling it almost.

If x company are interviewing I’m in reception, I’m hungry for the job, the opportunity, the career boost... I’ve 15 years industry experience, 3 references from a CEO and line managers, I can talk myself up I’m quick witted, adaptable and a good interviewee.

But I’m looking in reception, I’m getting nervous. I’m backing my CV, interview skills, references and abilities... but I’m getting nervous as other candidates look to be of different ethnicity’s to me...

There is every possibility that I’m here just to make up the numbers, and because of numbers, I may not have a chance, I may have 0% of a chance, because the law in the country now will preclude me, an Irish person from being hired. Regardless of my experience, my CV, my references, my qualifications, qualities, personality etc... I have zero chance... Because simply the law in Ireland now, says this job MUST go to somebody who doesn’t look like me, doesn’t sound like me, doesn’t have the same color passport as me. That’s discrimination, I’m being discriminated against in my own country.

All I want in my own country, is a fair chance. A fair opportunity in a competitive interview scenario where the fairest outcome is that the best most suitable candidate is hired. The law in my country is about to preclude me, sorry US from that ability. It’s being removed away from us. That not the country I want to live in. It’s embarrassing. Irishmen and women, young, old and everything in between fought so that we could enable ourselves to have a fair, just and equal society. Where it’s a level playing field.

That’s about to be stripped away from us, not by virtue of democracy but by bullying. It’s treacherous, treachery never the likes before seen from an Irish Taoiseach.

Let’s do all we can to resist. I want a fair and even playing field for EVERYONE here... in Leo’s game, us Irish though, are getting well and truly benched.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,001 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Strumms wrote: »
    1000%. I couldn’t have put it better. He is almost reaching out to certain demographics in society to give them a leg up, in order that both he and his party can be remembered as ‘helping’ and aiding and prioritizing their plight and making things more accessible to them, success in the jobs market being easier. It might shove FG more ‘left’ than they have been used to... they have been way too right for a lot of people for decades, a party that seemed almost uncaring towards anyone who wasn’t on their page and mind of thinking... a party for the farmer and businessman as some people say.

Leo is disingenuously investing in a certain demographic of people, hoping memories will live long and it will boost votes, that’s what he’s doing. What I fear it’s going to do is divide the country, give growth to racism, fueling it almost.

If x company are interviewing I’m in reception, I’m hungry for the job, the opportunity, the career boost... I’ve 15 years industry experience, 3 references from a CEO and line managers, I can talk myself up I’m quick witted, adaptable and a good interviewee.

But I’m looking in reception, I’m getting nervous. I’m backing my CV, interview skills, references and abilities... but I’m getting nervous as other candidates look to be of different ethnicity’s to me...

There is every possibility that I’m here just to make up the numbers, and because of numbers, I may not have a chance, I may have 0% of a chance, because the law in the country now will preclude me, an Irish person from being hired. Regardless of my experience, my CV, my references, my qualifications, qualities, personality etc... I have zero chance... Because simply the law in Ireland now, says this job MUST go to somebody who doesn’t look like me, doesn’t sound like me, doesn’t have the same color passport as me. That’s discrimination, I’m being discriminated against in my own country.

All I want in my own country, is a fair chance. A fair opportunity in a competitive interview scenario where the fairest outcome is that the best most suitable candidate is hired. The law in my country is about to preclude me, sorry US from that ability. It’s being removed away from us. That not the country I want to live in. It’s embarrassing. Irishmen and women, young, old and everything in between fought so that we could enable ourselves to have a fair, just and equal society. Where it’s a level playing field.

That’s about to be stripped away from us, not by virtue of democracy but by bullying. It’s treacherous, treachery never the likes before seen from an Irish Taoiseach.

Let’s do all we can to resist. I want a fair and even playing field for EVERYONE here... in Leo’s game, us Irish though, are getting well and truly benched.

No

You clearly dont want fairness for Irish people who not white. You keep asserting that Irish peoole can only be white.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No

You clearly dont want fairness for Irish people who not white. You keep asserting that Irish peoole can only be white.
    Well in a roundabout way you've hit the nail on the head as far as the major problem with multiculturalism goes. A problem that doesn't go away even generations in. Yes you will have many, quite a lot, some might even say most, who won't see dark skin as being truly Irish, which is one side of the problem with this social experiment. On the other side you will also have many, if not most with darker skin who won't see themselves as being truly Irish either.

In the current running gun battles in France do they feel truly French? Do the darker skinned homeless migrants in Paris? How truly American do the BLM folks feel? How truly Swedish do the recent migrants in Sweden feel? How truly British do Muslim young men who ally themselves to Islamic terror/resistance feel? How truly German do the third and fourth generation Turks feel in Germany?

And there's the major problem with multiculturalism that doesn't go away, causes societal mistrust all the way up to open revolt on all sides, no matter how optimistic a spin we put on it, or want it to finally work out. You simply can't fight human nature.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,378 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

all sizzle and no steak.

love that phrase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Many of us wondered what Leo Varadkar's next virtue signalling play would be, and his proclamation about the Irish being too white was the obvious next step for him. There are some posters on here reading this thread whose children and grandchildren will lose out on jobs and college placements due to quota's and "affirmative action" policies that Varadkar would like to see introduced to the detriment of native Irish people. There is nothing "affirmative" about that, is there?

Varadkar is mainly implying the lack of blacks (Africans) in our society when he says that Ireland is too white, so the irony is that he and his fellow virtue signalers will have to put policies in place to introduce more Africans into Ireland in order to offset those Africans already in Ireland who have no notion of ever working in this country. There is a disproportionate number of Africans compared to other immigrant groups already in Ireland who do not work, are given social houses, are on welfare, and also are provided with all the other social welfare entitlements.

The targeting of the Irish Civil Service and public sector for race-based change is just the first step of Varadkar's plan to forcibly diversify us of our traditional heritage. The contrived method he wants in place versus a natural process of legal immigration will result is a very divisive society, but as long as Varadkar is remembered for removing the "whiteness" out of the Irish, then he believes that his legacy will be worth it.
    Whom of us on here voted for this change? It should go to a referendum.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,318 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

fin12 wrote: »
    Well there clearly is, that guard could hardly understand a word of English, so how did he pass the aptitude test, the interview. Even I as a person who English is my first language those aptitude tests are difficult

You're probably lying

Kivaro wrote: »
    Many of us wondered what Leo Varadkar's next virtue signalling play would be, and his proclamation about the Irish being too white was the obvious next step for him. There are some posters on here reading this thread whose children and grandchildren will lose out on jobs and college placements due to quota's and "affirmative action" policies that Varadkar would like to see introduced to the detriment of native Irish people. There is nothing "affirmative" about that, is there?

Varadkar is mainly implying the lack of blacks (Africans) in our society when he says that Ireland is too white, so the irony is that he and his fellow virtue signalers will have to put policies in place to introduce more Africans into Ireland in order to offset those Africans already in Ireland who have no notion of ever working in this country. There is a disproportionate number of Africans compared to other immigrant groups already in Ireland who do not work, are given social houses, are on welfare, and also are provided with all the other social welfare entitlements.

The targeting of the Irish Civil Service and public sector for race-based change is just the first step of Varadkar's plan to forcibly diversify us of our traditional heritage. The contrived method he wants in place versus a natural process of legal immigration will result is a very divisive society, but as long as Varadkar is remembered for removing the "whiteness" out of the Irish, then he believes that his legacy will be worth it.
    Whom of us on here voted for this change? It should go to a referendum.

Listen to the spokesman for The Irish National Party here. Our equivalent of that bollocks Nigel Farage.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well in a roundabout way you've hit the nail on the head as far as the major problem with multiculturalism goes. A problem that doesn't go away even generations in. Yes you will have many, quite a lot, some might even say most, who won't see dark skin as being truly Irish, which is one side of the problem with this social experiment. On the other side you will also have many, if not most with darker skin who won't see themselves as being truly Irish either.

In the current running gun battles in France do they feel truly French? Do the darker skinned homeless migrants in Paris? How truly American do the BLM folks feel? How truly Swedish do the recent migrants in Sweden feel? How truly British do Muslim young men who ally themselves to Islamic terror/resistance feel? How truly German do the third and fourth generation Turks feel in Germany?

And there's the major problem with multiculturalism that doesn't go away, causes societal mistrust all the way up to open revolt on all sides, no matter how optimistic a spin we put on it, or want it to finally work out. You simply can't fight human nature.

They people that you mention do not feel any more or less Irish, French, American, German than others in their respective country.

Being oppressed by your state does not mean that you do not feel that you belong to your country.

Taking one of your examples, the black people in the BLM movement. They are as american as anyone else in the country. Even during slavery times this was the case. Abraham Lincoln wanted to abolish slavery. He also pushed for the black people to leave America and recolonise Haiti. But there was very little uptake from the black people to do this. Rather than being given their own country, as Americans, they wanted to stay in America, even while they were being massively oppressed by the state. To quote Fredrick Douglas, an outspoken slavery abolitionist and statesman (and who visited Ireland to study our oppression by the British) :

There is no sentiment more universally entertained, nor more firmly held by the free colored people of the United States, than that this is their own, their native land, and that here (for good or for evil) their destiny is to be wrought out. Identified with the entire history of the American people, going back more than two hundred years, this sentiment is natural and praiseworthy. There is not now, there never has been, and we think there will never be, any general desire on the part of our people, to emigrate from this land to any other and least of all, to the wilds of Africa. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_Douglass

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How many Travellers in the new cabinet, Leo????

• Registered Users Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Does he frequent boards?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They people that you mention do not feel any more or less Irish, French, American, German than others in their respective country.

Being oppressed by your state does not mean that you do not feel that you belong to your country.
    If that was the case you'd not have nearly the level of disenfranchisement you see in non native populations even many generations in. And it almost always runs along ethnic and colour lines too. You don't get too many German Irish, or English Irish a few generations in giving a crap, nor kicking off protests. Never mind the state oppression bit, which is in European societies a bit of a joke to reference. Outside some law enforcement, which is not nearly as bad as the US model, European states tend to bend over backwards promoting this multicultural ideal. The subject of this very thread a good example.

Then again one thing the progressive mind adores is the oppressed/oppressor narrative. It's a sure sign of the philosophy, though not limited to them. You also get a flavour of it among the "right" as well as "left", and both are usually talking bollocks, though the "left" gets more leeway to do so.
    Taking one of your examples, the black people in the BLM movement. They are as american as anyone else in the country. Even during slavery times this was the case. Abraham Lincoln wanted to abolish slavery. He also pushed for the black people to leave America and recolonise Haiti. But there was very little uptake from the black people to do this. Rather than being given their own country, as Americans, they wanted to stay in America, even while they were being massively oppressed by the state. To quote Fredrick Douglas, an outspoken slavery abolitionist and statesman (and who visited Ireland to study our oppression by the British) :

There is no sentiment more universally entertained, nor more firmly held by the free colored people of the United States, than that this is their own, their native land, and that here (for good or for evil) their destiny is to be wrought out. Identified with the entire history of the American people, going back more than two hundred years, this sentiment is natural and praiseworthy. There is not now, there never has been, and we think there will never be, any general desire on the part of our people, to emigrate from this land to any other and least of all, to the wilds of Africa. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_Douglass
    1) America like other New World nations that got on board with slavery were colonies, so nobody except the dwindling populations of indigenous people actually belonged to the place. Hell, talk with your average American and it is usually not too long into the discourse before they'll list their original non American heritage. It's almost a defining thing for them. 2) Of course few Black Americans wanted to go to Africa. Douglas himself notes the biggest reason, nobody wanted to go back to " the wilds of Africa". Indeed some who did go, or where pressured to go to Liberia for example, if they escaped the local diseases went on to subjugate the natives there too and established an American African caste system with them on the top. Same "colour", same "race" and with hard experience of being treated like dirt themselves, yet the same crap played out. Human nature again.

To ignore human nature is both naive and foolish and ultimately always ends in failure and that's what the multicultural/diversity philosophy and politic does time and time again.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,014 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Leo and his cohort around the 1st world are the perfect examples of Neo-liberalism. They are all about optics and paying lip service to numerous agendas to look good, while at the same time being completely pro corporate, pro privatisation and pro cheap labour, which does the vast majority of us no good.

Him and his type cater for the wealth classes, while talking down to the proles and jerking off the single issue campaign crowd with friendly words. It wonderful stage management.

But I think a lot of folk are waking up to this kind of fake politicking, here and elsewhere, which is why they got a kicking in the last election.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

Leo's double in the Dáil, Aodhan O'Riordain, has just spoken today about getting minorities into the Seanad as a good place to start with.

Now this is the same Aodhan who campaigned to end the Seanad a few years ago and was on record as saying he'd never seek a seat there. Well, when he lost his seat 2 elections ago, he ran to the County Councillors to seek their votes so he could spend 5 years sitting in the same Seanad rather than go back and do some real work as a teacher.

And fast forward to today where Aodhan want's the Taoiseach's 11 nominees to the Seanad to include Travellers and minorities. He of course didn't go around shouting for that level of representation 5 years ago.

Quota's are great for the likes of Leo and Aodhan...as long as it doesn't impact them or those closest to them

• Registered Users Posts: 34,247 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Because we can see what happens next.

If some minorities enter the service, there will be claims that there's not enough of them at higher positions, so they will be favored in getting higher positions, thereby discriminating against the natives who are also seeking those positions.

Better not let any minorities in at all, then, is it?

They were going on about female promotion in the civil service 35 years ago, this when most entry level role holders were already female.

They introduced supports like mentoring to encourage women to apply for roles which were traditionally male dominated.

Gradually (over about 20 years) females became much better represented at high level, but even today still slightly underrepresented at the very top.

There is no evidence of any gender discrimination to speed this up - it took over 20 years for this change to gradually occur.

Yet you come here peddling a blatantly racist conspiracy theory that somehow all of the principles of the public sector as an equal opportunities employer, AND all of our racial discrimination laws in employment will just be thrown out because of... what exactly?

You actually expect people to believe this juvenile crap?

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

fin12 wrote: »
    I’m not going to say where in the country

Well of course not.
    Also there was a queue and this polish guard let a person walk off the street and skip the queue to sign the book

Some guys are in there signing the book every day, and most of them have a long history of trouble/violence with gardai. Best for all concerned to get them in and out asap.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

Feisar wrote: »
    This is the problem with out current "click bait" style media though.

How many on this thread have been click-baited into believing that racial quotas are going to be implemented?

Well we'd have to elect some first, wouldn't we?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Well of course not.

Some guys are in there signing the book every day, and most of them have a long history of trouble/violence with gardai. Best for all concerned to get them in and out asap.

Well it was in cork city,

And there was also a Irish guy waiting to sign the book but unlike the Eastern European guy who was allowed skip the queue, the Irish guy had to wait. And before u say how did u know he was signing the book, he started complaining saying his lift was waiting and all he has to do is sign the book. So there was no special treatment given to him.

I know it would suit both you and another lunatic on here that I was lying but unfortunately not.

. . . . . . . .

45ci9w.jpg
    img

ElectionDay-scaled.jpg

I wonder how many of them post here?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

ElectionDay-scaled.jpg

Jaysus ot took you a while to come up with that one. I don't know why you are campaigning for them lot. disgracefull.

I see there was an incident today of cultural enrichment

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublin-teen-gang-attack-breakingnews-18434526

This happens when kids have no role models in the higher echelons of the civil service.

Several posters keep talking about quotas when the original comments by Varadker that the thread is based on actually expressly says "this is not about quotas". I get yellow cards for being "uncivil" in a thread thick with racists lying through their teeth. The thread is a disgrace.

and yet ....here you are. Still.

Yep, here I am calling it out for what it is. And your point is what exactly?

Jaysus ot took you a while to come up with that one. I don't know why you are campaigning for them lot. disgracefull.

That one? What does that mean exactly. They are the Alt Right party in Ireland and we've had posters on this thread calling for support for them.

Yep, here I am calling it out for what it is. And your point is what exactly?

You've been "calling it out " incessantly without any point or anything to add. Just the usual little tikes activist preset.

I'm calling it out repeatedly because several posters time and again throughout the thread repeatedly talk about quotas when it was expressly said at the very beginning in the comments that the thread are supposed to be about that; "this isn't about quotas". The point keeps being reiterated for that reason.