Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Correct.

Glad that's cleared up. Fear monger away about one thing but chastise people for doing same about the other then. Cheers.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,971 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Maybe you should try 'understanding' that a fcuked up economy is going to cost tens of thousands of lives.

It actually won’t but you keep living that notion by all means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Well given Beijing has entered lockdown across 20 neighborhoods, schools sports etc included after being covid free for 56 days, who knows what the future holds.

Some people don't have a life outside of money, they are extremely sad and never seem to be happy. Also often the first to top themselves when they lose their investments.

Those that don't let money become their life, tend to survive and even be happy despite what thrown at them and not spend their entire life bitching.

Ahhh....sure who needs an economy. Bring back the 80's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Well given Beijing has entered lockdown across 20 neighborhoods, schools sports etc included after being covid free for 56 days, who knows what the future holds.

Some people don't have a life outside of money, they are extremely sad and never seem to be happy. Also often the first to top themselves when they lose their investments.

Those that don't let money become their life, tend to survive and even be happy despite what thrown at them and not spend their entire life bitching.

Wow. Easy thing to say when you have money.

So someone contacted the gardai over bookies being open. Really do have to question the mentality of some people in this country if that's what they have to complain about. If I'm miserable you can all be misersble with me

https://twitter.com/Ui_Maine/status/1272830145020284928?s=19

There was a poster on here that admitted he can't stand bookies or Irelands drinking culture.

He was happy with the lockdown because other people couldn't do things that he didn't approve of.

Strange to me why people don't just stay away from they don't like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

So someone contacted the gardai over bookies being open. Really do have to question the mentality of some people in this country if that's what they have to complain about. If I'm miserable you can all be misersble with me

https://twitter.com/Ui_Maine/status/1272830145020284928?s=19

What a loser. Blue ticks should be gotten rid of on Twitter. I think it goes to their heads. If someone is actually famous, you’ll know by their name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

I think you could just about make a case that the lockdown was a good thing in itself if it only involved a cessation of commerce and not enforced social isolation. It would still get a lot of disagreement (including from me) but you could just about make a case for it.

As it is, people who are made unhappy by being cut off from human society for months at a time are not 'difficult to please'.

This dodgy policy, borrowed from Communists, deserves no support from anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭plodder

New Zealand confirms two new cases of coronavirus

If New Zealand can't keep it out, there's zero chance that we would be able. Correct decision to not prolong the lockdown any more than we did.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Wow. Easy thing to say when you have money.

Who doesn't have money in Ireland, even if your not working. This isn't America as much as some of the economy first posters would like it to be in terms of social welfare etc.

I've been flat broke come pay day while working at previous jobs and would have been better off not working, but liked what I did.

I've enough to pay the mortgage and the bills.
    I'm moving to a new job in two weeks where I'll earn a bit less, but get to spend my time hacking and developing counter measures, which is what I am currently interested in and have less hours to work.

If I lost my job in the morning, I could thankfully pay the mortgage and the bills that I have on the standard JSB payment, even if it's cut as some of the economy first posters on here want and I could also look at starting up my own sideline if I wanted.

There was a poster on here that admitted he can't stand bookies or Irelands drinking culture.

He was happy with the lockdown because other people couldn't do things that he didn't approve of.

Strange to me why people don't just stay away from they don't like.

True to a point. But during restrictions if say there was a bookies across the road from where I live, open on the sly, gangs of customers sneaking in the back door, I don’t care, I’m lifting the phone...

After myself, my family, friends, neighbors, in fact after the majority of us making big sacrifices to ensure the health and wellbeing of the people of this country and in our communities we put up with these maggots trying to do the opposite? Just to get a kick from seeing a horse run and maybe winning a few bob ?

All the things that I like to do are on the back burner too, I’ve a massive pain in my hole with it, I’ve more to loose then most.. but I’m not screaming from the rooftops about ‘MY MENTAL HEALTH’, ‘restrictions are so unfair, unnecessary’ and all the rest of it.... people need to look at the big picture and get a fuçking grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

plodder wrote: »

If New Zealand can't keep it out, there's zero chance that we would be able. Correct decision to not prolong the lockdown any more than we did.

Jesus such dishonest reporting by RTE its disgusting. From the article:

"The number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide has now risen to over 8 million, including more than 436,000 deaths since the pandemic first emerged in China late last year.

The number of confirmed cases has doubled since 10 May and another one million new cases have been detected in the last eight days.

Europe has 2,417,902 cases with 188,085 deaths, while the US has 2,110,182 cases and 116,081 deaths."

Not a single word about 55% of recovered cases of the 8 million.

:rolleyes: absolute garbage

skelly22 wrote: »
    Ahhh....sure who needs an economy. Bring back the 80's!!

Funny thing is that my dad worked as a carpenter all his life and during the late 70s, early 80's worked for a stockbroker doing up a house for him.

One of the apprentices asked the broker for a tip on making money as was told to take his tools and throw them in the canal as the only way he'd make money was to buy and sell.

Don't know what happened to the apprentice except that they emigrated to Australia before finishing their apprentice, but the broker ended up killing himself when he lost his money.

My dad went through hard times in the 80's but was always able to take care of his family and pay the bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Debenhams, Mothercare, Monsoon etc were all struggling and would have been lucky to survive another 12 months, max. The fact that covid hit has accelerated their decline, but the underlying businesses were not sustainable.
    Not necessarily true.

You assume that whatever happens (as you know businesses do often change management, and private equity model of buying up businesses is with this very change of top management in mind) they ll go bust.

Apr 2019 - Debenhams Administration: https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2019/0409/1041510-battle-for-debenhams/
    Apr 2019 - Monsoon/Accessorize closures: https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/advisers-brought-in-to-speed-up-monsoon-and-accessorize-closures-1.3861011
    Nov 2019 - Mothercare Administration: https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2019/1104/1088489-mothercare-uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭the kelt

I'm not suggesting anyone choose, or saying that losing a business is anywhere near equal to losing a loved one... I'm pointing out that when someone mentions Debs or Monsoon or another closed store the immediate reaction is "well they had issues before"... which is entirely true...

But its also the case that many of the deaths from this are people who had issues before, yet the same logic isn't applied. Putting perspective on something doesn't make anyone less heartfelt about the situation.

It’s a valid point to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Strumms wrote: »
    True to a point. But during restrictions if say there was a bookies across the road from where I live, open on the sly, gangs of customers sneaking in the back door, I don’t care, I’m lifting the phone...

After myself, my family, friends, neighbors, in fact after the majority of us making big sacrifices to ensure the health and wellbeing of the people of this country and in our communities we put up with these maggots trying to do the opposite? Just to get a kick from seeing a horse run and maybe winning a few bob ?

All the things that I like to do are on the back burner too, I’ve a massive pain in my hole with it, I’ve more to loose then most.. but I’m not screaming from the rooftops about ‘MY MENTAL HEALTH’, ‘restrictions are so unfair, unnecessary’ and all the rest of it.... people need to look at the big picture and get a fuçking grip.

These bookies weren't open on the sly they announced they would reopen as they are retail units with street entrances that are entitled to open.

Now there's a debate if they're retail units or part of the hospitality industry for 29th June all caused by 1 person who decided to ring the local station.

All needs clearing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

plodder wrote: »

They let the people in, but they tested them and they can test everyone they met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭plodder

They let the people in, but they tested them and they can test everyone they met.
    Yes, I think they can probably keep it under control. I was just pointing out the futility of trying to get it to zero here. It's going to keep coming back whether you get it to zero or not, and you can never really know if it's at zero anyway.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,462 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Outdoor gatherings of up to 5,000 people could be allowed from September with cinemas reopening in August, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/outdoor-gatherings-of-up-to-5000-could-be-allowed-from-september-varadkar-says-39290215.html

Outdoor gatherings of up to 5,000 people could be allowed from September with cinemas reopening in August, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/outdoor-gatherings-of-up-to-5000-could-be-allowed-from-september-varadkar-says-39290215.html

Is he sick in the head? Are we just gonna subsidise cinemas from mid March 2020 to August 2020? 5 full months?? Believes they could? Wow we are gonna get so many guinness world records award here

"Mr Varadkar said he also believed cinemas could reopen in August as long as they operate social distancing with empty seats between cinema-goers.

“But you know if things continue to go in the right direction, if the virus stays suppressed, you could see some smaller outdoor mass gatherings in September. You know maybe outdoor cultural events of, you know, a few thousand people, maybe 3,000 or 4000, 5000 but unlikely to be more than that."

Seriously what the hell? Black lives matters - 3000 people twice in 7 days, no spikes? doesnt ring a bell? This lad is an absolute dumba*s

growleaves wrote: »
    I think you could just about make a case that the lockdown was a good thing in itself if it only involved a cessation of commerce and not enforced social isolation. It would still get a lot of disagreement (including from me) but you could just about make a case for it.

As it is, people who are made unhappy by being cut off from human society for months at a time are not 'difficult to please'.

This dodgy policy, borrowed from Communists, deserves no support from anyone.

Actually if you look at the history of treating outbreaks of contagious diseases it was quite common to quarantine whole towns and villages even in America for the last couple of centuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Is he sick in the head? Are we just gonna subsidise cinemas from mid March 2020 to August 2020? 5 full months?? Believes they could? Wow we are gonna get so many guinness world records award here

"Mr Varadkar said he also believed cinemas could reopen in August as long as they operate social distancing with empty seats between cinema-goers.

“But you know if things continue to go in the right direction, if the virus stays suppressed, you could see some smaller outdoor mass gatherings in September. You know maybe outdoor cultural events of, you know, a few thousand people, maybe 3,000 or 4000, 5000 but unlikely to be more than that."

Seriously what the hell? Black lives matters - 3000 people twice in 7 days, no spikes? doesnt ring a bell? This lad is an absolute dumba*s

It’s off the wall stuff. You could have half capacity in Lansdowne road or Croke Park with minimal risk. Yet blabbering on about numbers ....

Anyway 75% of people polled think him and Harris are doing a great job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I just want the 14 day 'quarantine' lifted :)

Actually if you look at the history of treating outbreaks of contagious diseases it was quite common to quarantine whole towns and villages even in America for the last couple of centuries.

Can you provide any links?

Also - were there any scientific studies done afterwards to back up what they did was correct or appropriate? If yes maybe just 1 link for this plz?

Just because some idiots closed off villages in US decades or centuries ago doesnt mean - we are in the clear with our 3 - 5 months lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

Funny thing is that my dad worked as a carpenter all his life and during the late 70s, early 80's worked for a stockbroker doing up a house for him.

One of the apprentices asked the broker for a tip on making money as was told to take his tools and throw them in the canal as the only way he'd make money was to buy and sell.

Don't know what happened to the apprentice except that they emigrated to Australia before finishing their apprentice, but the broker ended up killing himself when he lost his money.

My dad went through hard times in the 80's but was always able to take care of his family and pay the bills.

Lots of us got through the 80's one way or another, I don't think there are too many that want to go back though, other than for nostalgic reasons! By the same token, I haven't seen anyone on here arguing that economic restrictions be lifted simply to appease those who have a fetish for excess cash. The implications go far wider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Can you link the same for Oasis and Warehouse?

Oasis and Warehouse (same owners) were not called out in the quotes above, so I do not know why you're ignoring what I presented and are now bringing new 'arguments' into the fray.

Well, I do know, it's very obvious why.

Either way, Oasis & Warehouse have been in trouble for quite a while:

2017 - Sales decline in Ireland: https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/coast-oasis-and-warehouse-see-sales-decrease-in-ireland-1.2931861?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Fretail-and-services%2Fcoast-oasis-and-warehouse-see-sales-decrease-in-ireland-1.2931861
    2017 - New owners could shut stores: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2017/04/30/new-owners-coast-warehouse-oasis-could-shut-stores-save-brands/
    2018 - Sales continue to decline: https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/coast-oasis-and-warehouse-continue-to-see-irish-sales-decline-1.3353320
    2018 - Credit blow: https://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/2018/10/oasis-warehouse-dealt-another-blow-credit-insurers-cut-cover/

Aurora Fashions is the holding company that owns them, several of their chains have gone under over the past few years.

But sure you can ignore that too.

These bookies weren't open on the sly they announced they would reopen as they are retail units with street entrances that are entitled to open.

Now there's a debate if they're retail units or part of the hospitality industry for 29th June all caused by 1 person who decided to ring the local station.

All needs clearing up

I know, that’s why I’m saying ‘if during restrictions’ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,135 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Anyway 75% of people polled think him and Harris are doing a great job...
    Well they are the only ones who can currently do those jobs! On balance they have done what was expected of them so that level of support is merited.

Naos wrote: »
    Oasis and Warehouse (same owners) were not called out in the quotes above, so I do not know why you're ignoring what I presented and are now bringing new 'arguments' into the fray.

Well, I do know, it's very obvious why.

Either way, Oasis & Warehouse have been in trouble for quite a while:

2017 - Sales decline in Ireland: https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/coast-oasis-and-warehouse-see-sales-decrease-in-ireland-1.2931861?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Fretail-and-services%2Fcoast-oasis-and-warehouse-see-sales-decrease-in-ireland-1.2931861
    2017 - New owners could shut stores: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2017/04/30/new-owners-coast-warehouse-oasis-could-shut-stores-save-brands/
    2018 - Sales continue to decline: https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/coast-oasis-and-warehouse-continue-to-see-irish-sales-decline-1.3353320
    2018 - Credit blow: https://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/2018/10/oasis-warehouse-dealt-another-blow-credit-insurers-cut-cover/

Aurora Fashions is the holding company that owns them, several of their chains have gone under over the past few years.

But sure you can ignore that too.

Far from ignoring the evidence. But it is obvious that retail businesses operate in "challenging conditions" as early as 2017.

Issue I have is that now that our govt shuts them down for months and offers loans, and these business obviously liquidate, people say "oh they were in trouble anyways".

Thanks for providing links btw, as is Oasis and Warehouse are due to liquidate and add to the below list of "known" liquidations

Bewleys
    Monsoon
    Mothercare
    Debenhams
    Oasis - tbc
    Warehouse - tbc

And now below reports coming out

Covid-19: Economy could take 3½ years to return to pre-crisis levels
    Acting Irish Fiscal Advisory Council chair says ‘sizeable stimulus’ needed to help recovery

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/covid-19-economy-could-take-3-years-to-return-to-pre-crisis-levels-1.4280476?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fpolitics%2Fcovid-19-economy-could-take-3-years-to-return-to-pre-crisis-levels-1.4280476

Is this scare mongering about economy? Penfailed I need your help

Good news coming out

‘Major breakthrough’ as cheap drug found to reduce Covid-19 death rate
    Researchers claim results suggest dexamethasone should immediately become standard care

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/major-breakthrough-as-cheap-drug-found-to-reduce-covid-19-death-rate-1.4280502

Maybe Leo will get some courage to open up cinemas now before August? August is just mere 1.5 months away, the classic 5 month shutdowns for cinemas in Ireland only.