Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

Bizarre tunnel vision. Just because you’re at home slugging bottles of wine doesn’t mean it’s not affecting other people.

You got my point exactly and aren’t choosing to completely misrepresent what I have said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I never suggested restrictions at current levels should continue, just that there is a lot more that we can do than just stay at home complaining about NPHET

A little empathy with people struggling with their difficulties would be nice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

Tuesday I was off work due to reduced hours. Went into town in the afternoon. Got takeaway coffee and canoles from a great Italian cafe, went to bakery, butchers, pound store, enjoyed the sunshine, sat out by the river and on the way home went to a lovely restaurant to grab a takeaway. Sat out on the patio to eat when we got home and polished off a bottle of wine. Nightmare stuff, can’t wait till I can get on with life and be a happy citizen

As long as you’re alright, Jack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

You got my point exactly and aren’t choosing to completely misrepresent what I have said

If NPHET are the reason I’m not working now when I’m more than able to then I will sit at home and moan about them thanks!

Feck sake. Everyone here only choosing to read what they want. Replying to the narrative being pushed that life is a complete misery in Ireland currently and mainland Europe is some modern day Garden of Eden, I related how it is still possible to have an enjoyable, family day, support local small businesses and get on with life. My wages have been cut 20%. My wife has no work and no Covid payment. But we are cutting out cloth and finding ways to do some things with the family that are enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Where is your road tax sent to?

Point is for the majority it would be easy to identify potential cars in an unauthorised area without having to stop everyone. Some would be missed, and some would be confirmed ok when checked.

My opinion though is there should be no restrictions on travel within Ireland now

I agree, I mean it’s not rocket science, just announce hefty fine if caugh travelling without proof of address, I mean your licence has your address.

Sure there will be a few anomaly’s and a few slip through the net but surely better than locking down entire regions of the country because other counties/regions counties have a huge amount of cases albeit maybe 100 miles away.

Did hear the argument it wouldn’t be fair to treat say Dublin different to the rest of the country, of course that doesn’t apply when they are taking about jobs and infrastructure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

RobitTV wrote: »
    This news about the earlier re-opening of retail outlets from Monday is a significant victory for the voices of reason and the business community as a whole.
    road_high wrote: »
    It’s a significant blow to the lockdown right now.

What is it with this mentality on this thread? It's not some sort of competition.

the kelt wrote: »
    I agree, I mean it’s not rocket science, just announce hefty fine if caugh travelling without proof of address, I mean your licence has your address.

Sure there will be a few anomaly’s and a few slip through the net but surely better than locking down entire regions of the country because other counties/regions counties have a huge amount of cases albeit maybe 100 miles away.

Did hear the argument it wouldn’t be fair to treat say Dublin different to the rest of the country, of course that doesn’t apply when they are taking about jobs and infrastructure though.

My initial thoughts after the early spike was to blow the bridges on the M50 and keep the dubs in, until I remembered Tallaght was on the wrong side and we’d be stuck with them. :p

Sorry , what do you mean by that ?

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Sorry , what do you mean by that ?

Oh would you get over yourself. Life must be a laugh a minute around you

I am asking you what you mean by it . A simple question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Sums up public service workers ‘I’m alright Jack’, and absolutely no empathy for those suffering financially.

I am asking you what you mean by it . A simple question

A simple joke. Cut Dublin off from the rest ofIrelabd when Covid was spreading Escape from New York style, but we’d be left with a few enclaves if we used the m50.

And your point about Tallaght ? Or were you talking about the hospital ? I believe there are a few cases of Covid in Tallaght Hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭growleaves

Orthodox Jewish community members to launch Charter challenge against Ford government for violating freedom of religion and peaceful assembly
    TORONTO: The Justice Centre today announced that it will file a Charter challenge against the Ontario government on behalf of various members of the Orthodox Jewish community in Toronto, for the government’s infringement of their freedoms of peaceful assembly and religion. Ontario may well be the only jurisdiction in the world that continues to ban Orthodox Jews from praying in their traditional manner.
    Despite the fact that many stores, businesses and even parks are now open, Ontario’s highly-restrictive Order specifically targets religious individuals, who have been prevented from holding in-person services in their houses of worship for over two months, and who face draconian fines of up to $100,000 and a one-year jail term for meeting in contravention of this Order. These discriminatory restrictions do not appear to be based on scientific or public health standards, and are continuing now into a third month, with no clear end in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

I actually despise Leo now, can’t look at him, can’t listen to him. Hard to believe he was once a breath of fresh air but went on as Minister for Health, Transport and Taoiseach to achieve absolutely nothing except self promotion. No fan of FF or Micheal Martin but he did bring in the smoking ban which meant standing up to the Vitners at the time and was then copied all over Europe.

It’s worth remembering that many stores who may now be allowed open next week won’t actually be ready to open.

Simply because the infamous turtle map I mean road map indicated they would be looking at June 29th so an official announcement tomorrow just doesn’t mean they will have the correct procedures, processes and in some cases physical infrastructure in place on time.

Of course you could argue that they could have had the work dome anyway hoping they may be allowed open but that didn’t work out too well for the home ware stores in the last phase who spent money getting things in place only to be told ooops typo there, my bad.

People talk about it being a positive that things can move quicker and element can move up a phase etc and that’s all good without considering the fact that business people have to plan for these things and can’t just open up the moment Leo or maybe is it Tony says.

Another example is the 2m and 1m debate, business needs to know and set up accordingly all this costs money for a lot of business that haven’t been earning.

It’s worth remembering that many stores who may now be allowed open next week won’t actually be ready to open.

Simply because the infamous turtle map I mean road map indicated they would be looking at June 29th so an official announcement tomorrow just doesn’t mean they will have the correct procedures, processes and in some cases physical infrastructure in place on time.

Of course you could argue that they could have had the work dome anyway hoping they may be allowed open but that didn’t work out too well for the home ware stores in the last phase who spent money getting things in place only to be told ooops typo there, my bad.

People talk about it being a positive that things can move quicker and element can move up a phase etc and that’s all good without considering the fact that business people have to plan for these things and can’t just open up the moment Leo or maybe is it Tony says.

Another example is the 2m and 1m debate, business needs to know and set up accordingly all this costs money for a lot of business that haven’t been earning.

You just can't win.

Pennys have already said they are not ready to open

VonLuck wrote: »
    You just can't win.

What’s your point?

It’s been announced this eve for example that Penney’s won’t be opening up because of the said same reason?

People throw out dates as if they mean nothing, but that’s not the case, push it back a phase bringing forward a phase, shur it’ll be grand doesn’t work in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Pennys have already said they are not ready to open

What will happen to all the unsold stock from last season I wonder? There must be an awful lot of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,323 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Tony Holohan really let his mask slip with his condemnation of people having house partys. Now I wouldn't be in favour of them myself, but it's a deflection tactic by him to criticise the general public, when it was his department that are wholly at fault for the nursing homes fiasco.

Those in glass houses and all that. And I would hazard a guess that no-one who has been at house party over the weekend will end up contracting the virus anyway as it is more or less dead in the general community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

nickkinneg wrote: »
    Just reported that the R rate in Berlin has risen back up to 1.95

It was 1.32 actually and today it’s back to .85. When numbers are low wild swings are possible.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    What will happen to all the unsold stock from last season I wonder? There must be an awful lot of it.

I imagine they were getting the summer stock by March . I know its very difficult to actually find new born baby clothes at the minute so they will be grabbed up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭Allinall

Any businesses that are not ready to open when given the go ahead have fools for owners.

What have they been doing for the last two months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

It’s actually crazy that they are to announce this tomorrow evening and expect business who have been closed for 3 months to be ready to reopen on Monday. Now don’t get me wrong I’m all for it and it’s great news, but a bit more notice for people would be great and not leave them til last minute to get things in order for reopening. Especially for chain stores that will need to totally rearrange the store to comply with social distancing measures. The whole thing is shambolic.

What’s your point?

It’s been announced this eve for example that Penney’s won’t be opening up because of the said same reason?

People throw out dates as if they mean nothing, but that’s not the case, push it back a phase bringing forward a phase, shur it’ll be grand doesn’t work in the real world.

Bringing things forward was always contingent on the number of cases and they've always said that. They can't exactly announce it 3 weeks in advance when they don't know the case numbers ahead of time.

And your point about Tallaght ? Or were you talking about the hospital ? I believe there are a few cases of Covid in Tallaght Hospital

It’s west of the M50

VonLuck wrote: »
    Bringing things forward was always contingent on the number of cases and they've always said that. They can't exactly announce it 3 weeks in advance when they don't know the case numbers ahead of time.

I didn’t say they could??

I said it’s not just a simple case of throwing dates out and shur it’ll be grand

I said many stores although they will be allowed open will not be in a position where they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭jlang

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Good point actually. When the shops like Penney's open properly and what they have in stock when they do is becoming relevant. It's often hard to find summer gear once the summer actually starts, because the shops switch to back-to-school and winter stuff. This year we were caught a little on the hop with everything shutting in March. They'd better have kids summer gear when they open or there'll be a few kids bursting out of their clothes by August. (Similarly, ever try to find girls heavy school tights after Christmas? When it's actually cold enough to wear them but the ones you bought for September no longer fit and the shops have switched stock to skimpy summer gear!)