Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

Imagine the threads if the government had shut down the country when the rest of Europe was wide open

Hah!

Imagine if Ireland shut down the country and then the rest of Europe decided not to. Imagine the threads then!

From the article I linked above:
    We can not tell you how many times people have expressed consternation about not knowing what China is hiding. Generally, they feel it is horrific death numbers or the genesis story of the virus. China withheld information about the virulence of COVID-19. They knew they had cases of asymptomatic individuals, possibly hundreds of thousands such patients. By not including this data it changed the mortality rate greatly. Initial terror regarding COVID-19 was a 4% mortality rate in China. Most would now concede the mortality rate is less than 0.2% given the high number of asymptomatic patients. Meanwhile, the Chinese are buying property in affected areas, particularly Italy, and likely not unhappy with what is happening in America given their trade battles with President Trump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

So we're now locked in for 7 weeks and counting and our new rulers by decree from the NPHET committee are dodging questions with regards to parameters for the easing/ending of the lockdown. Not just evading timelines but actively dodging questions as to any kind of measurement for what a 'good number' (of people in ICU, new cases etc) looks like. The Taoiseach says he will not ease anything until the doctors tell him it's 'safe to do so'. Which they will never do. It will never be truly safe.

This is quickly becoming a political crisis on top of the health crisis. In any other context we'd call this a coup.

I'm not saying it is a coup and I don't even think there is malice. But we're ruled by NPHET. 20 to 40 people in a room or video conference. All bigshots in their own right with their own agendas.
    I can just picture it. Cover your arse and kick the can down the road and make no decision or commitment as long as possible. If a decision can no longer be avoided it'll have to be a joint decision so that no one is accountable. The poor eejit whose job title means he can't dodge that task then is being trotted out in front of the public to bullsh1t us.

This is how we end up with the most non-committal token plan ever with no dates in it and more importantly with no other numbers in it either. And the media are asking questions about American Football in the Aviva?

I'm so angry right now. What the actual fvck? I mean your one Gemma O'Doherty is a total clown but I must admit her heart is in the right place with regards to challenging this in court. This is becoming a total sh1t show.

Well said. They asked to follow their plan. Their plan failed and now they want us to keep following, because a stopped clock is right twice a day and eventually their will look like its working.

Time for plan "B"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Hearty80

Dunno.

But it's been announced we will hear tomorrow.

If you manage to dress yourself tommorrow morning I'm sure you can turn on the TV or radio.

Although I wouldn't be so confident with some people around here.

I actually work full time, so missed the last announcement. As for some reason the exact time and date is always a secret. For your information there has never been an announcement in the morning on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

growleaves wrote: »

That ^^^ makes for very interesting reading...if true.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

Irish people aren't resilient.

That's what I've taken from this whole episode.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113256988&postcount=961

People who want us all to stay indoors, because of a virus with the same chance of killing under-65s as a nine-mile car journey, are 'brave', and now also 'resilient'. Such tripe.

https://twitter.com/AlistairHaimes/status/1255409982041927681

Elon Musk on our side as well, I read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

I can see Leo making speeches at Christmas day telling us we are facing a christmas like no other and we ll still be all locked down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

This article is absolute tosh. Zero citations. Talks about how influenza is apparently more infectious than SARS-CoV-2 without a single reference to the R0 of either virus.

Would have very serious doubts as to whether the author 'David Williams' is an actual 'MD', I suspect not.

We'll have comparisons with other countries.

The excuses put forward here - "Swedish culture is well-behaved, Irish people are inferior", "The Bulgarian government are liars" - are a really a kind of sulking. Real scientific comparisons will made between different restrictions and between what we know (or find out) about the virus itself. Then insights, conclusions and recommendations will be possible.

Japan only testing people with symptoms of Pneumonia

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-52466834

Second wave hitting

https://metro.co.uk/2020/04/30/japanese-island-hit-second-coronavirus-wave-lockdown-lifted-12632163/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Hooked

Sean 18 wrote: »
    I can see Leo making speeches at Christmas day telling us we are facing a christmas like no other and we ll still be all locked down

There won't be a Christmas, if they keep kicking the can down the road much longer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

easypazz wrote: »
    Source?

Jesus. Seriously? A quick Google would tell you that the first confirmed case in Spain was on the 31st of January. The first confirmed case in Ireland was the 28th of February. We're one calendar month behind them.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

ek motor wrote: »
    Would have very serious doubts as to whether the author 'David Williams' is an actual 'MD', I suspect not.

Of course he is. He's listed in WebMD's Physician Directory.

Whats your medical/scientific background?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

Hooked wrote: »
    There won't be a Christmas, if they keep kicking the can down the road much longer...

Their probably won't but I guarantee the budget will still go ahead in October virus or no virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Tony Holohan said our numbers are not low enough .He was asked specifically how low must they be for a lifting of restrictions .His answer was " As low as possible "
    That was the very moment I lost faith in him .He will manipulate numbers now to deflect and distract and use them in any way it suits the agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Its beginning to look like somewhere along the way of "following the South Korea approach" as referenced by Leo we lost our way a little.

https://www.thejournal.ie/south-korea-coronavirus-cases-5087850-Apr2020/

Contact Tracing of course was their biggest approach along with the speed of testing (neither of which our own experts have managed to get up to speed)

Also they screened all visitors to the country along with the use of face masks which is something our own "experts" say is practically useless.

But in reading up on what South Korea have done this part stood out for me.

Asked what Ireland can do to emulate South Korea’s success in flattening the curve Dr Kim who is Director General of the International Vaccine Institute based in Seoul says "the government’s messaging has to be perfectly clear.

"There can’t be contradictory messages, these only confuse people. The government has to be transparent, to explain what it’s doing.

"The last thing you want is for someone to make a decision you think is a bad one, and not have that explained.

ek motor wrote: »
    This article is absolute tosh. Zero citations. Talks about how influenza is apparently more infectious than SARS-CoV-2 without a single reference to the R0 of either virus.

Well there is a David Williams MA practising in Dale Alabama, graduated in Medicine from Tulane Medical School Louisiana, which is ranked 200-250 out of US medical schools. Obviously knows more than CDC, Fauci et al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Thought provoking article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nermal wrote: »
    Ah yes, the deliberate misrepresentation of data.

Reporting of Covid deaths in Sweden lags behind by up to 30 days. That means that the white space above the downward slope at the tail end of the graph is a big grey area of deaths that have yet to be reported.

If you graph out the daily death numbers for Sweden by the day they were reported, Sweden are in a plateau phase, definitely not a big downward slope.

Looking at that particular Twitter user's feed, he seems intent on calling the peak as having been and gone weeks ago, and the virus practically gone, even in the UK. He'd be a joke if it wasn't so dangerous.
    Elon Musk on our side as well, I read.
    Yeah, that's not the ringing endorsement you think it is. Musk has proven himself to be a complete idiot outside of his narrow field of speciality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Right so.

Cry away like a child.

Mod: @Jinglejangle69 - I've looked at this and other similar posts of yours. Even by CA/IMHO standards, this can hardly be called an attempt at reasonable discussion. Don't post in the thread again. And similar posts in future will be met with the same response.

Well there is a David Williams MA practising in Dale Alabama, graduated in Medicine from Tulane Medical School Louisiana, which is ranked 200-250 out of US medical schools. Obviously knows more than CDC, Fauci et al.

Whats your own backgound in medicine/science?

Which parts of what he wrote contradicts 'CDC, Fauci et al.'?

Clearly. Without a single citation the entire article is just laughable, or rather it would be, if some people didn't take it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭uli84

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Tony Holohan said our numbers are not low enough .He was asked specifically how low must they be for a lifting of restrictions .His answer was " As low as possible "
    That was the very moment I lost faith in him .He will manipulate numbers now to deflect and distract and use them in any way it suits the agenda

Hahha great answer, that’s exactly how my 7 year old would answer

Whats your own backgound in medicine/science?

Which parts of what he wrote contradicts 'CDC, Fauci et al.'?

BSc in Applied Physics and 15 years working in Medical Devices, a large part of which was spent validating and modelling outputs of multi-step manufacturing processes and assessing their potential impacts on product and end users i.e patients. Yours?

Tulane Medical School Louisiana, which is ranked 200-250 out of US medical schools

You must have gone to a prestigious medical school. Was it the School of Medicine in Trinity or did you go abroad?

BSc in Applied Physics and 15 years working in Medical Devices, a large part of which was spent validating and modelling outputs of multi-step manufacturing processes and assessing their potential impacts on product and end users i.e patients. Yours?

How does that give you the balls to ridicule an Emergency Doctor with a Degree in Medicine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

How does that give you the balls to ridicule an Emergency Doctor with a Degree in Medicine?

Seems to be a science thing. My sister is a science teacher and always likes to lecture us on science related topics she's clearly not qualified in :pac:

It gives me the ability to apply critical thinking to what i read and assess based on content and source what holds water and what is horse****.

You must have gone to a prestigious medical school. Was it the School of Medicine in Trinity or did you go abroad?

The article claims to represent 'multiple physicians' in west Alabama, yet strangely no other names are mentioned. Also, is that picture of people in white coats supposed to convince us of the credibility of an article that contains no citations whatsoever ?

I find it hard to believe people would unquestioningly believe a single source with absolutely no citations. Its hardly Nature or The Lancet, is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

Like an emergency doctor/whatever he claims he is writing a blog on epidemiology?

1cqh5j.jpg