Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

To be fair enough of it has been leaked that we know what's coming unless they've already seen public reaction and decide to change the plan slightly it'll be what we know already I think

Loads of kites being thrown out. Last Sunday week was possible school returns in May but seems to have gone by the wayside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Just saying... it's a new world out there, and we have never had to stop kids from mingling and hugging granny and grandad and their cousins etc. up to now. It is all so nerve wracking in a lot of ways.

Granny and Grandad are a bit concerned too, but DO want to see the kids. Tough call, because I know the first thing the kids will do is barrel up to them and hug and kiss them and so on, it is tough for everyone. I don't know the solution either.

Be comfortable with the risk as a family or not. Dont see much else you can do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,145 ✭✭✭✭JRant

road_high wrote: »
    Not even bothered watching this plonker in all his glory. Pointless waste of time, the headlines or whatever will confirm whatever they’ve been drip feeding all week. Ie let’s bury our heads in sand for another blast and cross our fingers

I don't think I'm speaking out of school when I say not all hero's wear capes and there is no future but that which we make ourselves.

As a wide man once said "The HSE is like a box of chocolates, you never know what mess your going to get next"

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Drip feeding people like children. Give people something to do! I'm busy for the 3 weeks coming so I'm not bothered anymore. But there is not enough information now for people that need it. I get no one knows when it will end, but you have to be considering actions and the people need to know now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I also said my dog was overheating due to the weight of his heavy coat & cannot be walked properly because of this, which in my opinion is a reasonable, legitimate concern as an animal owner.
    I said I was happy that TD’s are pleading with the government to open dog groomers as they are an essential service for a lot of people.

You then took the piss out of me, mocking me saying I just wanted to get my dog a haircut so I gave you another example of an elderly woman who has injured herself and is now in hospital after an accident that occurred when she was trying to bathe her dog.
    You know, to further prove my point that animal groomers are in fact an essential service.

Even your choice of language of ‘poor doggo’ just shows you are still sneering and trivialising my point which is quite pathetic but totally transparent to anyone reading these posts.
    Whatever, clearly you think it’s funny and irrelevant and that’s you’re prerogative but this isn’t all about you and this is an essential, necessary service that people are struggling without.

In all seriousness, you could have a lash off doing it yourself, the dog won't judge you if you don't do a great job :pac: We bought a few bits to groom our dogs about a month ago expecting that the groomer wouldn't be an option for a while. Give it a go :D might save a lot of money in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Exactly

They will lose a lot of public support by going down that road

What public support?

Politicians who were politely asked to step aside during last election, public said jog on you aren't fit for the job..

A health authority that oversaw the bullying of dying women into signing non disclosure agreements and a Garda Force that swore in School Leavers with 4 weeks in Templemore.....

Its a **** show.
    No wonder they need to look to foreign politicians before pretending they've made a decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

I would like some clarity in where these new cases are coming from. Supermarkets, I assume all are from here (non healthcare related), but all are still open and their management aren't complaninng that their staff are being decimated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,145 ✭✭✭✭JRant

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I also said my dog was overheating due to the weight of his heavy coat & cannot be walked properly because of this, which in my opinion is a reasonable, legitimate concern as an animal owner.
    I said I was happy that TD’s are pleading with the government to open dog groomers as they are an essential service for a lot of people.

You then took the piss out of me, mocking me saying I just wanted to get my dog a haircut so I gave you another example of an elderly woman who has injured herself and is now in hospital after an accident that occurred when she was trying to bathe her dog.
    You know, to further prove my point that animal groomers are in fact an essential service.

Even your choice of language of ‘poor doggo’ just shows you are still sneering and trivialising my point which is quite pathetic but totally transparent to anyone reading these posts.
    Whatever, clearly you think it’s funny and irrelevant and that’s you’re prerogative but this isn’t all about you and this is an essential, necessary service that people are struggling without.

Your right, there is no good reason for businesses like that to be shutdown. Minimal human contact and provide a serious that is much needed. In fact there are loads of similar types of businesses that there was absolutely no good reason to shutdown, well apart from the fact that they wanted everyone to stay in because a model so wrong that it's now laughable was predicting 120k deaths in this country.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Be comfortable with the risk as a family or not. Dont see much else you can do?

Being honest I would now take my chances with seeing the grandchildren . The kids have not been anywhere in over a month . They have not left their own garden or been in physical contact with anyone
    I would be very comfortable with them playing in my garden while I kept a good distance away .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Ellie1988

People need to accept that theres going to be increased movement of people and activity from next week onward...not because people are fed up with obeying the rules but businesses are getting back where they can. My flatmate has been isolating at his parents, but hes coming back to our house share (in Dublin) next week as he works in scientific research and they're reopening. Similarly my friend who works in construction is going back to her apartment in dublin, shes been at her parents at the other side of the country. Yes the cases might go up, but we need to get on with it, while the vulnerable continue to cocoon if they so wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭arctictree

What if they provide us with a plan but the numbers just stay where they are indefinitely? Do we just stay in lockdown indefinitely? Not going to work....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Long_Wave

People need to take back control themselves and open for business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Long_Wave

arctictree wrote: »
    What if they provide us with a plan but the numbers just stay where they are indefinitely? Do we just stay in lockdown indefinitely? Not going to work....

They are obviously waiting for the uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Long_Wave wrote: »
    People need to take back control themselves and open for business.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, that's exactly what the government are hoping for. They are scared ****less of blowback so if people get nothing and do their own thing they are covered and can say we told you so if things go tits up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

Mickla wrote: »
    Never heard of "productivity allowance" in the civil service and I worked in a good few departments. Do you have experience of working in the public sector and if so what area has this?

Yeah I think this was a joke. Would love a productivity allowance myself

In all seriousness, you could have a lash off doing it yourself, the dog won't judge you if you don't do a great job :pac: We bought a few bits to groom our dogs about a month ago expecting that the groomer wouldn't be an option for a while. Give it a go :D might save a lot of money in the long run.

This poster already said she tried to groom the dog herself but that the dog wouldn’t let her near him. A lot of dogs are very nervous of being groomed.
    If she felt she could do it herself , especially seeing as she is obviously upset at the state of the dog, she wouldn’t have a problem in the first place.

This is an animal welfare issue so it’s important. It’s not about getting the dogs toenails painted !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

WHO recommends 1 metre social distancing, Singapore is following this recommendation. Australia and Belgium have 1.5 metres. Could make a big difference for restaurants and other places of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

No productivity allowance. At least not in this century. We do get flexi-time. You can work up to 18 days a year off by early starts and late finishes on the other days.

In reality, discount that first and last hour of work as teabreak / newspaper / gossip time. Most people manage about 5 or 6 days a year of flexi.

Anyone with long commutes or school runs isn't really at the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

No productivity allowance. At least not in this century. We do get flexi-time. You can work up to 18 days a year off by early starts and late finishes on the other days.

In reality, discount that first and last hour of "work" as teabreak / newspaper / gossip time. Most people manage about 5 or 6 days a year of flexi.

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,390 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mickla wrote: »
    Never heard of "productivity allowance" in the civil service and I worked in a good few departments. Do you have experience of working in the public sector and if so what area has this?
    I have worked in the civil service for 16+ years I have never heard of it....

In reality, discount that first and last hour of work as teabreak / newspaper / gossip time. Most people manage about 5 or 6 days a year of flexi.

nope and nope - speaking for myself thats incorrect. such a sweeping statement.

and at present we can work up 1.5 days per month flexi. No flexi while working from home.

whats newspaper time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,390 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Anyone with long commutes or school runs isn't really at the party.
    I have been in CS 16+ years and definitely not heard of a productivity allowance. You get flexitime if you are below a certain grade only (below AP). It isn't available while wfh I would think as well.
    As for your first and last hour thing....not in my experience I am lucky to get 30 minutes for lunch.

nope and nope - speaking for myself thats incorrect. such a sweeping statement.

and at present we can work up 1.5 days per month flexi. No flexi while working from home.

No - flexi is gone during the pandemic. I'm talking about the normal hours in normal times. 1.5 times 12 = 18.

It's about as sweeping as the last circular.

gmisk wrote: »
    I have been in PS 16+ years and definitely not heard of a productivity allowance. You get flexitime if you are below a certain grade only (below AP).
    As for your first and last hour thing....not in my experience I am lucky to get 30 minutes for lunch.

I know...thanks. Im over 20 years PS and I have no idea what that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Long_Wave wrote: »
    They are obviously waiting for the uk

That will be a very very long wait

No - flexi is gone during the pandemic. I'm talking about the normal hours in normal times. 1.5 times 12 = 18.

It's about as sweeping as the last circular.

ah grand. still wondering what newspaper time is

Reading the newspapers to find out what brilliant statements our glorious leaders have made the night before to at least appear aware of what is going on. That I'd count as work. Keeping up with the Kardashians, swapping cake recipes and wondering if Jack got off with Jill last night is the idling time.

I just mean we're not robots. Once clocked in we're not exactly on the job. No more than when clocked out we're off it.

Reading the newspapers to find out what brilliant statements our glorious leaders have made the night before to at least appear aware of what is going on. That I'd count as work. Keeping up with the Kardashians, swapping cake recipes and Wondering if Jack got off with Jill last night is the idling time.

I just mean we're not robots. Once clocked in we're not exactly on the job. No more than when clocked out we're off it.

oh dear where do you work!!!!

none of the above thanks

oh dear where do you work!!!!

none of the above thanks

Privileged. But easily found. I'm sure that's true of most office cultures though. You turn up half asleep and you go home half dazed. Then it's time to get up again.

????maybe. I think I have worked in one area like that but not currently or recently.

Definitely no newspaper time in my experience so far in PS.