Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Other side of the coin- I worked much harder in the PS role I worked than the private role I’m in now- so much more autonomy and decision making.
    Probably more specific to the role, but I had tons of clients always ringing me, scheme deadlines etc.- if you didn’t do the job you’d be stirring up big problems.
    You were also chained to a desk or on visits 9-5 with a weekly diary to fill in of your activities. I couldn’t hack that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

????maybe. I think I have worked in one area like that but not currently or recently.

Definitely no newspaper time in my experience so far in PS.

It's not official newspaper time. Just getting in early and get up to speed. Lads that I know working on sites do exactly the same. They just want to know about stuff going on in the world. I'd be doing the same if I was working in a bakery or a bar.

I could call it cartwheel time but my back is shot. And I'm not doing Yoga for the same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

road_high wrote: »
    Other side of the coin- I worked much harder in the PS role I worked than the private role I’m in now- so much more autonomy and decision making.
    Probably more specific to the role, but I had tons of clients always ringing me, scheme deadlines etc.- if you didn’t do the job you’d be stirring up big problems.
    You were also chained to a desk or on visits 9-5 with a weekly diary to fill in of your activities. I couldn’t hack that now.

wow...yeah there is a lot of PS hate at the moment which is understandable I suppose. We are still getting paid cos we are working from home - unfortunately some jobs cannot be done from home.

There will always be messers no matter where you work.

I despise working from home though

It's not official newspaper time. Just getting in early and get up to speed. Lads that I know working on sites do exactly the same. They just want to know about stuff going on in the world. I'd be doing the same if I was working in a bakery or a bar.

I could call it cartwheel time but my back is shot. And I'm not doing Yoga for the same reason.

ah jesus - you mean while reading my emails checking online to see if we have another pandemic. I can check my voicemails and read stuff online though.

ah i thought it was some gimmick I was missing.

wow...yeah there is a lot of PS hate at the moment which is understandable I suppose. We are still getting paid cos we are working from home - unfortunately some jobs cannot be done from home.

I could easily get used to it. Introvert v. extrovert, maybe. Or my micromanaging boss:rolleyes:. There will certainly be psychology theses written on these strange times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

updated - figures taken from worldometer

Sweden
    Chances of dying from corona .025%
    - no lockdown

Uk
    Chances of dying from corona .04%
    - late to lockdown and Large population

Ireland
    - early to lockdown and small population.
    Half of Sweden’s population

America
    Chances of dying from corona .019%
    - Donald trump has received world criticism and is held been personally accountable for the thousands of deaths

Time to open up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,858 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I don’t get it. If people wanted to join the ps there has been ample opportunities to do so in the past 5 years. Obviously there will be a recruitment bar now but might lift if the economy recovers quickly.
    The focus needs to be getting us all back to work for all our sakes.
    I know lots in the PS working away from home, doubly different as it’s not something they normally do unlike many of us that always did it with laptops etc- many wouldn’t have even had a laptop for to encryption and security protocols. There’s much more of a very rigid office culture in the PS.

Sweden
    - no lockdown

Uk

Ireland

America
    - Donald trump has received world criticism and is held been personally accountable for the thousands of deaths

Time to open up?

There could be a second wave. They all have their eyes on the Spanish Flu. Time to open everything except pubs and ready to hit the light switch back to isolation if figures skyrocket, sure.
    I think they'll depend on our behaviour / misbehaviour over the bank holiday to make a final choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

There could be a second wave. They all have their eyes on the Spanish Flu.

That's not a real excuse and it doesn't make any sense why people are (seemingly) falling for it.

Why do people "all have their eyes" on a diseases from 1918? Why don't they "all have their eyes" on the 1957 pandemic?

A much-deadlier second wave would be like winning a negative lottery.

There's no *particular* likelihood of it happening. Therefore making it the basis of our policy is stupid and insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Sweden
    - no lockdown

Ireland

America

Time to open up?

No, Sweden and the US are not counting all of the deaths, Ireland does not have as many fatalities as they do. We still have too many deaths, we need to beat the thing down and not lose the plot because of impatience. That would be totally immature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

arctictree wrote: »
    What if they provide us with a plan but the numbers just stay where they are indefinitely? Do we just stay in lockdown indefinitely? Not going to work....

Why should they stay there indefinitely? But even if they did then you would tighten things and squeeze the disease. Then, when you had driven it out, you would relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭showpony1

what's all this i keep reading here about "if he would let everyone meet sitting out in the garden it would be grand"?
    It is meant to be lashing rain most of the weekend - will people still be happy with that being the compromise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sweden
    - no lockdown

Uk

Ireland

America

Time to open up?

Chances of actually catching corona in said countries:

Sweden 0.2% - No lockdown
    UK 0.25%
    USA 0.3%
    Ireland 0.4%

And some cities for no reason other than I'm bored:
    New York - 1.5% (don't know lockdown situation)
    Dublin - 0.75%* (lockdown)
    Stockholm 0.8%* (no lockdown)
    Berlin - 0.15% (mild lockdown, free movement as long as no groups)

*based on my potentially dodgy maths

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

road_high wrote: »
    I don’t get it. If people wanted to join the ps there has been ample opportunities to do so in the past 5 years. Obviously there will be a recruitment bar now but might lift if the economy recovers quickly.
    The focus needs to be getting us all back to work for all our sakes.
    I know lots in the PS working away from home, doubly different as it’s not something they normally do unlike many of us that always did it with laptops etc- many wouldn’t have even had a laptop for to encryption and security protocols. There’s much more of a very rigid office culture in the PS.

I dont miss the office I just wish I have the space at home. Working from home was a little surprise so I have no desk etc. I live in a one bed apartment with my partner who is in isolation in the living room. Hopefully finishing that this weekend.

I have to work from my bed which is killing my back

Oh how I miss a table.

I agree everyone wants to be back to work - I know some colleagues who cant come back until childcare is sorted etc/others are immunocomprised etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Sweden
    - no lockdown

Uk

Ireland

America

Time to open up?

None of these countries are in a position to open. None of the top 30 countries are in condition to open.

They have to try but it won't work. The world is in a trap, that's the reality of the situation.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

And we are in this disaster because of China and off loading our industries to a totalitarian regime for 40 years. How has that worked out for the world?

We are reaping now what was sowed decades a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

None of these countries are in a position to open. None of the top 30 countries are in condition to open.

They have to try but it won't work. The world is in a trap, that's the reality of the situation.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

And we are in this disaster because of China and off loading our industries to a totalitarian regime for 40 years. How has that worked out for the world?

We are reaping now what was sowed decades a go.

We're in this because of some bloke eating a bat.

Also, New Zealand appears close to opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I’m confused, what will be the benefit of extending lockdown when the majority of new cases and over 50% of deaths are in care homes? 593 is apparently how many deaths are from care homes. Most of the rest are also over 70s.
    Is the threat big for people below 70?
    Big enough to justify destroying our economy?

Hi Confused.

Still dont get if after so many posts - no? Short answer - no it's not just about "people over 70" dying

The current restrictions are there to prevent medical services been overrun by keeping the rate of infection below a certain level.

Looking at the data from 26th April for example* when there was 19,383 confirmed cases

- approx 72% of all cases of Covid-19 were under 65. With those aged over 65 making up the remainder

Of the confirmed cases for all those under 65 - approx 8.5 % (1217) were in Hospital

Of the confirmed cases for those over 65 for the same date approx 10% (1418) were in Hospital

So yes this disease is affecting both young and old. Both young and older people are contracting the disease and of these a fairly significant proportion are being admitted to hospital.

Without restrictions those figures would be a lot higher.

It's really not that difficult to understand tbh ...

*https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/

We're in this because of some bloke eating a bat.

Also, New Zealand appears close to opening.

And which government turns a blind eye to the cultural norms of a section of it's citizens and allows wet markets to operate?

The country that tells lies to the world all the time.

I'm not going to say any more on it because I think we all have a right to be ballistic about where we are.

I'm confident that the world will turn on China for this and correct the imbalance of the last 30 - 40 years. A pandemic and the biggest recession probably in history coming.

There is going to be consequences one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

And which government turns a blind eye to the cultural norms of a section of it's citizens and allows wet markets to operate?

I'm not going to say any more on it because I think we all have a right to be ballistic about where we are.

I'm confident that the world will turn on China for this and correct the imbalance of the last 30 - 40 years. A pandemic and the biggest recession probably in history coming.

Correct. I think it is unfortunately possible 20 or 50 million or 100 million people could catch it in America yet. In that case will society break down? It is increasing by a % day on day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

This thread has become a nut house in the past couple of days. You'd swear that Varadker and Holohan were actively trying to ruin peoples lives the way some people are slagging them and calling them names on this. Criticizing is fair enough if you don't agree with their actions but they are working hard and under severe pressure in a world pandemic that has never been seen before, I think some people need to take a bit of a breather and put themselves in their shoes before resorting to some of the stuff they labeling them.

I'd imagine they are both erring on the side of caution as they do not want to be responsible for lots of deaths if things go wrong, particularly Holohan who's remit is public health. Leo and the boys will have to be weighing up the economy vs virus and will have to show a bit of leadership with their decisions.

Lots of points I agree with though, I think it will be a bad move not to give some wiggle room whenever the announcement is or you could risk losing people completely. Also I think it would be an incredible kick in the nuts to everyone waiting on this 'road map' if they don't have some kind of time frame on it. The one that was posted in the Irish Times last night or this morning sounds relatively realistic but if they don't put a time frame on it, a lot of people will lose faith or patience and take things into their own hands.

Cultural, yes. Offloading industries is not cultural though. Nor is it being totalitarian.

We are paying the price now for our openness to China without reform there.

And it's a severe price.

After SARS and Bird Flu it was demanded things change, they didn't.

That can't be acceptable.

As we know now it's too dangerous.

But it's the failure to tell the world in time and then allow 5 million (!) people to leave Wuhan in January that has had this unfold in this horrible way. This could have been punctured at the very beginning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

Just think about it logically

If this virus is as contagious as we are led to believe we would stay In lockdown until a vaccine was developed
    Even discussion of a second surge makes no sense as we are still told we are in the first surge
    All messing aside we need to admit that it is the condition of the nursing homes And our hospitals and worse of all the HSE itself that is the true cause of most of these deaths
    We have a really bad health system and Not because of the two tier system
    We have a hugely bloated hugely funded HSE with consultants who are among some of the richest people in the country
    We have thousands of over paid under worked non medical HSE staff
    And our nursing homes are either very expensive well run or complete ****holes
    Same applies to many crèches
    The HSE for example will not shut down poor nursing homes as they will then need to find somewhere else to put those elderly
    It all boils down to the public sector is run on a zero value for money policy
    It’s not intentional it’s just the natural course of events

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

growleaves wrote: »
    That's not a real excuse and it doesn't make any sense why people are (seemingly) falling for it.

Why do people "all have their eyes" on a diseases from 1918? Why don't they "all have their eyes" on the 1957 pandemic?

There's no *particular* likelihood of it happening. Therefore making it the basis of our policy is stupid and insane.

Also covid doesn't really match up with Spanish flu in that young people were most at risk due to them having stronger immune systems. This eventually caused them to die due to the fight the body put itself through. Compared to covid where the death toll from ages 0-40 is essentially fractions of a percentage the comparison doesn't really hold water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Polar101

Discodog wrote: »
    Finland opening all schools on May 15th.

But it is with some restrictions, and only for three weeks (school year in Finland ends on the first week of June).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

JRant wrote: »
    Your right, there is no good reason for businesses like that to be shutdown. Minimal human contact and provide a serious that is much needed. In fact there are loads of similar types of businesses that there was absolutely no good reason to shutdown, well apart from the fact that they wanted everyone to stay in because a model so wrong that it's now laughable was predicting 120k deaths in this country.

There's a huge number of businesses that can implement better social distancing than supermarkets and other "essential" ones. That's not a criticism of supermarkets either.

I think people need to start stretching the definitions of what is and isn't essential and start re-opening. Some businesses have already done this.

growleaves wrote: »

The 1957 pandemic killed a million people worldwide. Walk in the park!

Can you tell why you believe if restrictions were lifter early there would be no second wave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Polar101 wrote: »
    But it is with some restrictions, and only for three weeks (school year in Finland ends on the first week of June).

That's why the teachers oppose it. Given that Sweden is their neighbour, the Finns have been incredibly lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This thread has become a nut house in the past couple of days. You'd swear that Varadker and Holohan were actively trying to ruin peoples lives the way some people are slagging them and calling them names on this.

The Gardai aswell.

Its gone full conspiracy with people claiming the daily numbers are just made up.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III