Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Good morning all!
    Stayed up all night, like a feckin eejit, but watching the sun come up can be quite uplifting at a time like this.
    Taking stock of the things I'm bloody lucky to have in my life here - and it has just dawned on me that in the past four weeks of effective house imprisonment, neither of my kids have complained even once.
    You see, and I'm getting emotional here as I type this, they are doing it for me, and I have never been so proud of them, or this country, for that matter.

We will get through this Ireland.

Stay safe and healthy, I'm off to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Nice sentiment, good to have some perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Im going to say temperature - regardless of what people Say.. hot temperature reduce the ability of a virus to stay on surfaces simple

Geography can’t be ignored either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Pseudonym121

Just followed up on some of the stuff in the daily mail article and that documentary. Here's a paper from 2007 from one of the people who works in the lab Shi Zhengli.

I'm not a microbiologist so happy to be corrected on analysis. From the abstract you can tell a few things.
    • they were editing sars like corona virus' from bats specifically editing them to include the spike protein to see if they could enter cells in the same way SARs can. (Via ACE2.)
    • this person works at the lab in wuhan.
    • SARS like corona virus' from bats were engineered to have spike protein for ACE2 reception.

Is that not bizarre?

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/11381746/china-hushed-up-bat-woman-coronavirus-expert/

https://jvi.asm.org/content/82/4/1899.short

Published in 2007 and a joint venture between scientists in Australia and China.

So, not quite the smoking gun some make this out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Pseudonym121

Thanks for explaining. Not my area of expertise. Very concerning that scientists in Wuhan studying these exact viruses and proving they could mutate to infect humans prior to outbreak.

It could of course happened naturally . I don’t know enough to know how likely one way or the other.

Anyway stay safe.

Just to put it into perspective though. You can look at this in another way:

Chinese scientists working in China and Australia conducted good research to show that a SARS type virus found in animals could mutate and infect humans and published the research publicly. Sounds pretty mundane when viewed that way doesn’t it? Also, 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

owlbethere wrote: »
    I spent a lot of Sunday sleeping so I'm still up and wide awake and full of energy. Good morning to you all.

Have a look at this:

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.10.20053207v1

The about about the MMR vaccine. Its saying it may help with the covid19. Much and the same kind of stuff as the BCG. Early days in their studies.

Interesting, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

92925828_2887778417968804_4413851720170340352_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_sid=110474&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ohc=4MVsNNQQ4sEAX_aQuNn&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&_nc_tp=14&oh=44bc58a276f5c1a794aa9a1d2ad11528&oe=5EB8EA86

That was my first phone, got it in 2002 I was still using it up until about 5 years ago, brings a tear to one's eye :'^(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,099 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

MastiffMrs wrote: »
    Something I was wondering about the BCG... how are they able to use it now considering it was not available in Europe since April 2015? Is it only in Australia?

It's still used here regularly in some cancer treatments.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

tails_naf wrote: »
    Looking at the world stats per population, it seems ireland is one of the worst, if you exclude all the small countries like Andorra, etc. Of the countries with a few million population there's only really 4 or 5 countries with more cases than us. This is not down to just testing as we're way below many countries on testing per population. Any ideas why? Is it down to what's being counted, or something else?
    What/s being counted is a part of it I gather T. Apparently some aren't counting nursing home deaths as one example. Still it appears we're a damned sight higher than we should be with one of the lowest population densities in the western world. If nothing were being done, or everything we should be lower in numbers and slower in spread than most because of that alone. And if the BCG vaccine does give some protection we should be lower again as we were running that programme longer than most.
    Geography can’t be ignored either.
    This would be a big part of it I'd imagine. While it has plenty of too and fro traffic, they're not a hub of travel, more a destination. Plus even before this they were pretty tight with border control and customs checks.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

That was my first phone, got it in 2002 I was still using it up until about 5 years ago, brings a tear to one's eye :'^(

And the battery could last for days compared to charging your smartphone everyday.

Darn tootin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

To summarise you said this is normal practice and that the virus is manipulated to be single shot so that it wouldn’t self replicate. I get that. I find it beyond coincidence that scientists in the city where the outbreak occurred where studying SARS like bat coronavirus’ and investigating the specific pathway that this virus infects human cells. The author I referenced was based in Wuhan. Did you read the paper?

Do you get what i’m saying? what is the probability of that event occurring in Wuhan where there is a history of study of this exact pathogen in BS4 lab as opposed to any other city in China with a wet market and no lab?

I don’t know, do you?

They were studying that pathway since Sars 1 also uses Ace 2 receptors as mode of entry into cells. It is not inconceivable that other corona virus strains in the wild had this capability. What they were studying were short chimaeric sequences, nothing like a fully fledged virus.

It is entirely possible that the virus came from the lab if they were studying existing strains in bats, but not because they manufactured it. That paper simply shows that they were studying how Sars infects through the Ace2 receptor. That is exactly what you would expect a lab founded to research coronavirus pathogens to research since it is one of the two coronavirus strains at that time known to cause ARDS in humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Probably playing snake all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Russia reports 2,558 new cases of coronavirus, highest so far. Also reports 18 deaths so far today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭crossman47

The Easter skew.

What makes people less likely to die at Easter

crossman47 wrote: »
    What makes people less likely to die at Easter

Jesus christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Tokyo, which has just been put under a state of emergency, reports 91 new cases of coronavirus.

Officials in the city have warned an "explosion" in cases is imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Wolf359f wrote: »
    It's hard to imagine a virus has the potential to knock out a state of the art aircraft carrier. Sailors on a long deployment on a sub would be feeling lucky. Probably stressed as they could become the main line of defence.
    How did it not spread as much on planes? Such a long flight and close proximity to people.

Flights have HEPA air filters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Speaking about explosion of cases, keep an eye on Russia.
    They've started building field hospitals all around the country, so presume they are expecting the worse, which is a good mindset to prepare by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-020-2196-x

A study of 9 patients with mild symptoms from some researchers in Germany. You can read abstract which does not say much, and download PDF , which concentrates more on the implications of high viral replication ìn the upper respiratory tract, especially implications for asymptomatic spread. Covid is much better at that than the earlier SARS. It is quite stealthy as a virus, in that it does not knock out many hosts allowing spread. The difference in severity of the illness seems (to my reading) to depend on whether it gets down to lungs. Elementary, one might say! But the high viral load in throat but at beginning and even at end really aught to concentrate the response effort on droplets rather than fomites. There is other stuff in there but I have to give back my sexy doctors outfit before 9.30 am....
    TL:DR wear a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,876 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Are the British only counting deaths in hospitals? Surely it would make sense to include all deaths from covid 19 including from care homes.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭BurnUp78

Well that battery was powering a tiny little green screen while also being as thick as a bible whereas your smartphone has a massive 6 inch HD screen as thin as a pen yet you can get a days battery life using GPS, watching films and playing ultra demanding games it's quite remarkable really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,507 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Go, go, good South Korea. Great news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Russia reports 2,558 new cases of coronavirus, highest so far. Also reports 18 deaths so far today.

There day on day increase is worrying. Heard reports many hospitals are being overrun already. Also seems to be that the slot of imported cases to China coming from Russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Ridiculous comment. Every imported case causes extra problems that we don't need. When you are fighting a fire the last thing you need is new fires and fuel on the fire.

Had the Irish government listened to those who said close down travel to hotspots early we'd be in a much better spot and might actually have been able to ease restrictions internally.

And quoting the WHO on borders? Seriously? The reason cv19 went from 1 case in China to infect almost every country in the world was a failure to ground flights in and out of hotspots quickly. Had that been done many countries would not have had to close down.

Its obvious the WHO are lackies of China and did their bidding.

Ugh that is what the WHO are saying NOW that there is no point in closing boarders NOW. Because. it. Is. too. Fuuuucking. Late.

Don’t try and twist things Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Are the British only counting deaths in hospitals? Surely it would make sense to include all deaths from covid 19 including from care homes.

Yes they are only counting hospital deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

The WHO didn't recommend the one thing which would've halted the spread.

It doesn't matter if Conor McGregor is the Devil incarnate himself. He's right about closing your borders when a pandemic breaks out. FFS its not that hard to figure out.

Annnnnnd when did Conor give us this nugget of wisdom, that’s right folks when it had already spread. He’s a genius right and dr. Ryan who worked for years on the Ebola crisis in Africa is a moron. All hail king Conor who called it.. oh wait he didn’t. It had already spread! Too late already gone! Duh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

Yes they are only counting hospital deaths
    They are only counting hospital deaths who have been tested. They're busy focusing on Boris rising from his death bed at Easter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

How are we acutally faring out in the whole thing ? Is it just me or is the recovery rate very slow ? And is the recovery rate being monitored properly ?