Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Can you use Google before posting fake news? First result says fake.

The first result is 'hotel staff said they are not a hospital'.
    It's not a change that will happen overnight, and some pleb on reception answering phone calls is not really part of the decision.

But I don't see where Ronaldo ever said it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

You reckon they'll spend the 29 thousand euro on food deliveries? How long is the charity set up? I am not being smart but i never heard of it. Just seems like, for 29k, there should have been more than 6 deliveries made.

Definitely money for someone's back pocket, no doubt about it.

Think it only started yesterday (Sunday) so it’s going to get lots more donations once it spreads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

citysights wrote: »
    Ronaldo is going to transform the hotels he owns in Portugal into hospitals for the sick. Fair play. I heard this today and thought what a good person.

Look I’m a United fan and love Ronaldo but Jesus, that’s what I’d basically expect anybody with his wealth to do. We’d all do it If we had that money... but fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So its in Ireland, with a small number of cases yet you're saying we were still correct in continuing to fly people in from all the affected areas?

How the hell does that compute?

Do you not realise most if not all of those people bringing it in to Ireland were in fact...

wait for it...

Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

jamesf85 wrote: »
    Any particular reason for this?

Because of a concern about the disruption of supply of goods and pandemonium I would assume.

The EU and the US quite clearly has no plan for this or if they did they didn’t recognise when it needed to be activated.

I don’t see any country having had particularly rapid responses and I do think there’s an element of western superiority complex too - they see China as “an emerging market” etc etc. So while something like this could happen there, I think a lot of people imagined it was not possible in Europe or North America.

However, it’s not something anyone has experience of in more or less living memory. Even older generations have never seen a thing like this. It’s more akin to the 1918 flu pandemic, at least in terms of impact and ability to respond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Oxymoron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Long after the horse has bolted. We are about to be put in lockdown because of a month of inaction.

No problem. They should've been brought home a month ago and monitored.

Because the very reason cited for not stopping flights was because of our freedom of movement obligations. An utterly insane stance given that a pandemic was sweeping across the continent. Its still so baffling to me I can't get my head around it.

I agree with you here. The English were putting on Soccer matches with Ath Madrid when that part of Spain was rife.

It really beggars belief.

I think there was some complacency at the start when it broke out in China and the HSE said it was unlikely to come to Ireland.

Then things started develop in the last few weeks and in the last 2 has become a crisis in Europe and I think Ireland has reacted very well.

Pandemic was only declared by WHO on Wednesday and you're being unfair on the government over that. Next day they closed schools, banned mass gatherings etc.

I don't think now is the time to politicise it.

It's a fast moving situation and governments all round have inexperience with it and all have different approaches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

We are not

Are people still coming in from England and testing positive. The horse has bolted now anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,327 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Talking offline to a friend whose sister who is well connected in the public sector and her info is that a lockdown 'is' on the way but that it is definitely not as imminent as 11am tomorrow : sometime in the next week or so but she doesn't know the date yet.

She reckons such a lockdown would be in operation for four weeks once launched.

They (govt) clearly think we're nowhere near peak number of cases yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Xertz wrote: »
    Your average political leader in this part of the world is a school teacher, accountant, lawyer or farmer. We’ve hardly any scientific community represented in our politician leadership, except a former GP as Taoiseach and we’ve a health service that has largely been about fire fighting one mess after another. That’s what we’re basing this on.
    It’s a lot better than a bunch of jingoistic, upper class, wafflers or a bunch of redneck conspiracy nuts, but it sure isn’t the kind of decision making you would get in a system that’s very prepared for something like this.

I'm sorry pal but I just don't understand how we as people can be so thick. I just can't.

THE THING WAS SPREADING LIKE WILDFIRE!!!! Every halfwit with a TV could see that. How the hell do you need a science degree to know that if something's extremely contagious you try to stop it at the point of entry immediately?

Seriously, I must be missing something here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

Some one has already pulled me up on it, yes it is fake and I should have checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

You really think that would have stopped it. Really. Guy in Italy really need to get back to Ireland but they have stopped flight what can I do??? Its not like I am on a continent and other countries are up the road is it. Why just hotspots very likely we get it from any country with it

They could have been quarantined like other countries are doing. The aim is to slow it down, not stop it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

If it was done too early then people would go nuts. Wider public needs to be scared before they would accept any sort of restrictions.

We were crying out for restrictions re parade and schools but unfortunately we needed to see cases and deaths here before these restrictions would be accepted.

If we had no cases and the government shut down the country then there would be outcry that they were being too extreme.
    I'm pretty sure those optics are just convenient. The public mood is controlled and spurred on by the media, the government will only take action if they get the sense that the public is starting to demand it. Anyone who followed the Cambridge Analytia business knows that there are complex tracking algorithms (which we are all a part of every time we use social media to discuss things of this nature). These are increasingly what shape government mandate.

Conversely, governments can also predict what messages will sway public opinion in the direction they need it to go. For example, the irritating and tedious rumours about lockdown in this thread are inevitably going to be a self-fulfilling prophecy which we've all already adjusted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

dockysher wrote: »
    I can't gauranted it's true but i have 2 mates in gardai dat swear its true and only givin a heads up for everyone. Id be very surprised if it not true

God now people trying to fing a way to worm out if not true

We are not

Erm yes we were. For a whole month.

Italy has stopped Spain has virtually stopped exept getting people back home. Should stop British but be a tad harder due to Northern Ireland

Strazdas wrote: »
    Talking offline to a friend whose sister who is well connected in the public sector and her info is that a lockdown 'is' on the way but that it is definitely not as imminent as 11am tomorrow : sometime in the next week or so but she doesn't know the date yet.

She reckons such a lockdown would be in operation for four weeks once launched.

They (govt) clearly think we're nowhere near peak number of cases yet.

I was talking to my pet goldfish offline who’s very connected with water said the very same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭jamesf85

Xertz wrote: »
    Because of a concern about the disruption of supply of goods and pandemonium I would assume.

The EU and the US quite clearly has no plan for this or if they did they didn’t recognise when it needed to be activated.

I don’t see any country having had particularly rapid responses and I do think there’s an element of western superiority complex too - they see China as “an emerging market” etc etc. So while something like this could happen there, I think a lot of people imagined it was not possible in Europe or North America.

However, it’s not something anyone has experience of in more or less living memory. Even older generations have never seen a thing like this. It’s more akin to the 1918 flu pandemic, at least in terms of impact and ability to respond.

I mean maybe politicians but any virologist or anyone working with infectious diseases (especially at WHO) would not have thought it wasn't possible in Europe or North America.

There must be a scientific reason for them recommending not shutting down travel. Their job is to contain or try to contain...

fritzelly wrote: »
    Do you not realise most if not all of those people bringing it in to Ireland were in fact...wait for it...Irish

I don't know how you actually know that but if that was the case, why shut flights down now if they're just Irish that continue to bring this virus in?

Are you against any kind of flight stoppage? Ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

I agree it’s not time to politicise it and I don’t think any other parties or combination are likely to have made any better decisions tbh.

On the one side you’ve got no experience of this and you’re being asked to shut down the entire economy, which if you get it wrong or out of step could result in absolutely disastrous issues too.

All of these decisions are open to different interpretations.

The reality of it is doctors differ. Patients die. That’s the unfortunate reality of decision making on this kind of scale on this kind of seriousness.

We also live in an era that’s paralysed by needing to make the most technically correct decision and we tend to want to aggressively punish wrong decisions.

As the WHO Doctor was saying, you need to move rapidly. Even if you’re wrong. You need to be fast.

Unless you live in an authoritarian state, decisions aren’t normally made rashly or quickly. We are very used to government by calculated decisions made with facts and figures and analysis of data, involvement of stakeholders and all of that.

A dictatorship like China can just snap its fingers and that’s how it’s used to doing things.

I think we’ve all - right across Europe and the US and elsewhere been extremely compactent about this risk and it’s fairly obvious we are going to have to change that quite rapidly after this when we do dig our way back out of this hole again.

You’ll probably find we don’t even have any idea how to just ban flights. It probably requires legislation and it’s likely the same at the EU level.

We don’t work by having someone just order things by decree.

nocoverart wrote: »
    I was talking to my pet goldfish offline who’s very connected with water said the very same thing.

Don't accuse me of making stuff up. I'm not in the habit of trolling this thread (I've no idea about you though).

Far from saying your making things up. He said, she said is pointless is all.

rob316 wrote: »
    That army lockdown rumour. It actually amazes me how ****ing stupid some people are.

You will see them around next week but it won't be to have you locked in your house at gunpoint for 30 days

Ah the speak from both sides of your mouth argument I can't lose. Nice try not buying it. A lockdown means 1 thing and 1 thing only everything lock down or not.

Not a you will see then around next week but you will be able to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

I'm sorry pal but I just don't understand how we as people can be so thick. I just can't.

THE THING WAS SPREADING LIKE WILDFIRE!!!! Every halfwit with a TV could see that. How the hell do you need a science degree to know that if something's extremely contagious you try to stop it at the point of entry immediately?

Seriously, I must be missing something here?

Always an armchair quarterback who thinks they could do better.
    Go to sleep.
    Maybe keeping your mouth shut and not stirring anger is the best positive contribution you can make to the situation.

nocoverart wrote: »
    Far from saying your making things up. He said, she said is pointless is all.

I've no reason to doubt him. He actually gave me a lot more detail which I didn't even bother to post here.

murpho999 wrote: »
    I think you're being very unfair

Its extraordinarily difficult not to get extremely angry when you're just an average Joe who could see immediately that flights needed to be stopped yet they weren't and now the thing is spreading fast.

What's even more frustrating is not understanding how other people don't seem to see it. I mean I watched Houlahan talking about getting ready to 'contain' it before we had a single case and wondered why isn't he telling them to close the borders from the badly affected areas? Just get the Irish home, isolate them and go from there.

I'm in a manual labour job with a 13 year old car FFS. Einstein type brainpower not required!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭adocholiday

All this crap about 'my mates in the army/gardai/public sector' needs to stop. There are clowns posting this tosh on here all the time for no reason other than whatever twisted gratification they get from the thanks or the angry comments in response.

There won't be a 'lockdown' tomorrow or any other day in the immediate future because the legislation doesn't exist to implement it. Simple as that.

For anyone reading this thread who is worried or anxious about this rubbish being touted please try to put your mind at rest. There won't be any massive upheaval tomorrow and if the Govt decide to do it there'll be plenty about it in the news well beforehand.

To any of you trolls out there getting off on people's worries and anxieties you should get a life. There's a lot more pleasure to be had in helping people if you'd like to give that a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

The pair of them should be put on trial for treason. Many Irish people will die because of their inaction.

Jeez, take a break lad.

I've no reason to doubt him. He actually gave me a lot more detail which I didn't even bother to post here.

I personally believe you but it doesn’t hold any weight in this thread because of rumors that turned out to be absolute BS.