Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Selling, Swapping or Wanted Watches & Timepieces *Please read rules in 1st post**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

• Registered Users Posts: 65,147 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Sorry that link I posted is actually very slightly different, this is the correct example

https://www.chrono24.co.uk/omega/de-ville-prestige-co-axial---full-set--id13997698.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Sorry that link I posted is actually very slightly different, this is the correct example

https://www.chrono24.co.uk/omega/de-ville-prestige-co-axial---full-set--id13997698.htm

Stick it on adverts, its free. Take some nice pictures, put a realistic price on it. Remember on chrono these are dealer prices with the CHrono cut as well. To be honest no matter how you sell your going to get scalded on that watch (I have been scalded on many watches so dont take that as a slight), Devilles and dress watches in general are not in demand.

I have found that anything prices to sell will sell. What other watches are you thinking of selling, selling within the community is usually the best way to sell.

Thanks, I hear you and certainly no offence taken!

I haven't found the watch on chromo (including private sellers) for under around 1800 sterling, whereas when I asked on here previously (those links to the earlier posts not working for me?) I was told I'd be lucky to get € 1k. So I just wonder if adverts is the right place for a watch not in much demand

• Registered Users Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Thanks, I hear you and certainly no offence taken!

I haven't found the watch on chromo (including private sellers) for under around 1800 sterling, whereas when I asked on here previously (those links to the earlier posts not working for me?) I was told I'd be lucky to get € 1k. So I just wonder if adverts is the right place for a watch not in much demand

The watch is worth what someone will pay for it.
    Most posters here would offer similar advice regarding chrono24 prices being @30% overpriced on most models.

You can put the watch up on Adverts with any asking price you'd like.
    Whether you get that price, depends on someone wanting it.

Adverts is free, you can guage some interest and if you get an offer that seems reasonable to you.

You can sell.

Or not, that's completely your call but if you want sell it?

You need to actually put it up for sale, somewhere, anywhere!

Chrono24, TZUK, EBay and other channels are available all cost tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭njburke

Put it up on adverts, if it doesn't reach a price you are prepared to accept then don't sell it. What have you got to lose ? You'll need some decent photos wherever you post it online. Some of the questions you get should improve the listing if you have to list elsewhere.

banie01 wrote: »

You need to actually put it up for sale, somewhere, anywhere!

Chrono24, TZUK, EBay and other channels are available all cost tho.

Have you sold watches on these sites? That's pretty much exactly what I am asking for views / experience of.

njburke wrote: »
    Put it up on adverts, if it doesn't reach a price you are prepared to accept then don't sell it. What have you got to lose ? You'll need some decent photos wherever you post it online. Some of the questions you get should improve the listing if you have to list elsewhere.

Thanks, fairly confident I can get the listing spot on from the off, just curious if people have sold on the other places and things like registered post etc?

What to lose on adverts.... I've sold stuff on there before and some incredible time wasters looking to swap PlayStations and runners and all sorts of junk "best price"? I habe 70 euro cash waiting collect today (as though I need the money urgently for heroin). So with a less sought after watch I'd rather not deal with that and go to a specialist selling place I think.... Not knocking adverts and the consensus here seems to be to use adverts

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭893bet

What’s the watch again?

Thanks, fairly confident I can get the listing spot on from the off, just curious if people have sold on the other places and things like registered post etc?

What to lose on adverts.... I've sold stuff on there before and some incredible time wasters looking to swap PlayStations and runners and all sorts of junk "best price"? I habe 70 euro cash waiting collect today (as though I need the money urgently for heroin). So with a less sought after watch I'd rather not deal with that and go to a specialist selling place I think.... Not knocking adverts and the consensus here seems to be to use adverts

But you've been told what the specialist sites are.
    Yeah I've sold on 2 of them, Chrono24 charge 6.5% and eBay can be as high as 14% including pP fees.

Face to face, or at least local to Ireland will likely yield far more "return" than the costs or risk associated with either of the above.

You have asked your "how to sell" question in multiple ways and tbh other than having the process spoon fed to you, I am at a loss as to what other info you need?

If you want the biggest pool of potential buyers, it's chrono24.
    Shipping fees outside of Ireland and needing insured shipping would limit sales potential IMO as many couriers won't touch watches unless via a business account.

As a last resort you could try watchfinder and see if they have any interest?

I sold two recently on adverts, first one to a guy in cork, we were both parcelmotel members, so for a fiver I sent it down to his local parcelmotel location. Hassle free, no queing in the post office, pretty secure, you're effectively using a courier. They've never lost anything on me, bit of a delay once but arrived eventually.
    The other was a bit more expensive so I met the chap in town for a coffee.
    One thing I was able to do was to look through adverts past sales for the same models, I then priced the watches accordingly. Both sold in a day or two, if you want hold out expect more haggling, and my offer is only good today type statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,249 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Have you sold watches on these sites? That's pretty much exactly what I am asking for views / experience of.

I have sold on all of those platforms. As you pointed out before, the catch can be international postage.

I started a thread in this forum about this a while ago, but the gist of it is that it's hard to find a courier service who will ship a watch fully insured. You can pay through the nose at mailboxes etc, drive up to the north and use Royal Mail (not that cheap outside the UK), or you can gamble and send it by registered post with An Post, but effectively uninsured.

eBay has zero seller protection, and you'll get stung by both the eBay fees and the PayPal fees. Chrono24 take their cut too - lots of tire kicker enquiries, but I didn't find it the worst experience at all. Adverts is my first port of call (after here of course) because it's free, and postage is rarely needed - but has the highest percentage of stupid offers.

If you think you'll be buying and selling a bit, then sign up to tz-uk, bide your time until you're there long enough and have enough posts and you'll be able to sell there.

... I posted up photos here a while back and general consensus was that it isn't very desirable. Haven't bothered with adverts as a result. Similar models are listed on ebay and chrono24.co.uk for a good bit more than I'd be looking for.... But I'm nervous about using those sites as I'm not familiar with them. I'd also be a new user with no track record, and I'd be very nervous of international postage and the possibility of someone entering a dispute or something like that (is that a thing? Does PayPal allow them to obtain an item and then deny they got it or get money back somehow?....)

.You can put the watch up on Adverts... Chrono24, TZUK, EBay and other channels are available all cost tho.
    But you've been told what the specialist sites are....

You have asked your "how to sell" question in multiple ways and tbh other than having the process spoon fed to you, I am at a loss as to what other info you need?

Not sure if you can read that as I have.

Aside from the bad attitude, that last post was the first one that touched upon some of the questions I had, gave info on %, some of the risks etc. You could have just offered that without all the sneering, but thanks for the bits that are helpful.

Thank you Eoin, that was exactly the sort of thing I was looking for.

893bet wrote: »
    What’s the watch again?

https://www.omegawatches.com/watch-omega-de-ville-prestige-co-axial-39-5-mm-42413402001001

Hi, you said before I'd be lucky to get a grand for it, and I don't dispute that. Just noticed on some of the watch specialist sites that the prices are way way above that, so was just trying to weigh up the pros and cons of selling for 1k v whatever I might get on one of the other places. Well aware the watch is not in demand, but wondered whether, for that reason, better to put it somewhere more specialised, Eoin there has outlined a lot of the hassle involved. Have never sold stuff on ebay or put something valuable in the post to an unknown person /address

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭893bet

https://www.omegawatches.com/watch-omega-de-ville-prestige-co-axial-39-5-mm-42413402001001

Hi, you said before I'd be lucky to get a grand for it, and I don't dispute that. Just noticed on some of the watch specialist sites that the prices are way way above that, so was just trying to weigh up the pros and cons of selling for 1k v whatever I might get on one of the other places. Well aware the watch is not in demand, but wondered whether, for that reason, better to put it somewhere more specialised, Eoin there has outlined a lot of the hassle involved. Have never sold stuff on ebay or put something valuable in the post to an unknown person /address

Ah yes. Remember now. Such a pity as they are a stunning looking watch. Just no demand. Not sure it’s a more specialised space you need to sell to but you def need a bigger market as Ireland is just too small!

Def worth getting a quote of watchfinder as a baseline.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Stick it on adverts, I'd be interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gerfmurphy

Have a look on watchrecon , watchpatrol and ebay and see what they really make online if one has sold recently. It's a nice watch with a good movement, could be tradeable. Some collectors are very sporty heavy and want a dress watch to balance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭pm.

pm. wrote: »
    Hi all

I am selling off my watch collection. I have 3 mtg gshhocks that I always seem to always wear and the rest are just sitting there. My plan is to fund 1 good watch like this https://www.chrono24.com/omega/seamaster-planet-ocean-big-size--id12992686.htm

I will have a couple more too add to the selling collection. The sale of the watches is been handled by my brother who lives in Rush. I will do a good deal for boards members

All watches are in great condition as they were not worn much

https://touch.adverts.ie/sports/steinhart-ocean-gmt/19736184

https://touch.adverts.ie/sports/steinhart-ocean-one-ceramic/19736215

https://touch.adverts.ie/casual/raymond-weil-nabucco-gmt/19736199

https://touch.adverts.ie/sports/hamilton-pilot/19736231

https://touch.adverts.ie/casual/longines/19736256

https://touch.adverts.ie/casual/hamilton-khaki/19736270

https://touch.adverts.ie/casual/citizen-perpetual-chronograph/19736284

Just an up date lads. So far the steinhart gmg is gone. The O one is on hold. The hamlton khaki is sold. The longines is on hold and the Hamilton pilot is on hold.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

So there's two left? Could you not just link those?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭pm.

I do not own a watch. For the first time since ca. 1973 :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

That's mad, I have worn a watch everyday since my communion in 1989 and own quite a few so can't imagine not having one.

Hopefully it will only be for a few hours. Maybe a day. My hands are already starting to shake a little :p

Did the Tisell sell on adverts?

It sold directly via PM through this forum.

unkel wrote: »
    It sold directly via PM through this forum.

Good luck with your next purchase Unkel!
    Hope the grail sates you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

unkel wrote: »
    Hopefully it will only be for a few hours. Maybe a day. My hands are already starting to shake a little :p

Happy to loan you something if you start getting withdrawal symptoms!