Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,724 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

KimWexler wrote: »
    Deluded there from UCD.

Certainly that one from the Green Party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Just as well Mary L brought change of knickers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I think that one is backfiring on Leo already. They let him walk away and are bailing out a largely unreformed organisation. Twitter not liking it.

There's no Garda investigation into the FAI or JD and no governance reforms of the organisation have been put in place. I think he shouldn't have mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

armaghlad wrote: »
    Widely known he was involved in fuel laundering

Even more widely known that he got the better of a leading SF mans son in a row and was beaten to death by 10 men with iron bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,573 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

FrancieBrady thought it was a draw!

I did.

I can see how the usual suspects here are zeroing in once again on the 'RA stuff. But that is not registering with voters.
    I think otherwise it was a draw with MM maybe getting an edge. Too late though imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

The best line of Leaders Debate by Leo Varadkar "restoring FF to power would be like asking John Delaney to take over the FAI again in nine years time" :-)

It is until you recall that Varadkar was Minister for Sport while Delaney was rambling around Europe pissed making a holy show of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭shenanagans

gmisk wrote: »
    MLM what is your biggest political regret?

-Coming on here tonight?

I thought she was overall very poor, disappointing.
    Leo and MM did a lot better, Leo definitely does his homework and spins the numbers pretty well, MM a lot less aggressive and flustered than last debate.

She had two catastrophic moments.....criminal court and Quinn murder issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 KimWexler

Certainly that one from the Green Party!

I rewound it to be sure:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

charlie14 wrote: »
    No. Islands voting on Friday as this government could not even manage to get that right .

Islands always* vote first, something to do with a delay getting the votes back in bad weather and delaying the whole thing.

*it may have been introduced in the 1990's iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I did.

I can see how the usual suspects here are zeroing in once again on the 'RA stuff. But that is not registering with voters.
    I think otherwise it was a draw with MM maybe getting an edge. Too late though imo.

So are you saying the murder of Paul Quinn ,and many others could have been brought up.are irrelevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,993 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I did.

How do you know it's not resistering with voters after the very badly answered question tonight ? For all we know people who were on the fence about Sinn Fein might not vote for SFs candidate in their constituency and the last seat might not go to SF now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I did.

I might be a voter for all you know. Certainly registers with me. No way would I vote for terrorists looking for a new gig now business in their first career has dried up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Love the SF victim mentality.

Cry they're not allowed on.

Cry when they are.

Cry moan whinge.

They really were exposed tonight. There are far to many holes to pick but Mary lous struggling badly on that Paul Quinn question said a lot. When people start saying" ...my recollection" you know they are in trouble.

57% income tax on earners over 100k will drive further immigration. SF are absolutely clueless and the demographic they are targeting is so evident. Uneducated, low earners who know no different.

It’s just like Brexit again.

The worrying thing the people who will vote for SF on Saturday probably didn’t even know this debate was on tonight or opted to watch love island instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,402 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Why did she seem so poorly prepared? Surely she knew those two questions would come up?
    The pensions thing didn't exactly come across well either...ah sure it will be grand.
    I think people are so desperate for a FF and FG alternative they are placing a lot of faith in SF.
    It's just a shame other parties like the social Democrats can't fill that gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Mary had a chance at the end to try and recover. Didn’t take it. She’s a master of soundbites usually, so opportunity lost to try and recover from the fiasco she found herself in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Well the non party spinner in the spin room thinks nothing has changed, MLM still has the wind behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Still indicative of the IRA/SF mentality though - if you are involved in criminality, that isnt IRA criminality, then its OK to murder you. This is MaryLou's crowd we are talking about here.

I think we can all get behind that. If a few thousand drug dealers were shot in the head that would fix the problem forever .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,573 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

RTE pundit giving the win and momentum to MaryLou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

RTE The Spin Room just called it for Mary Lou as the winner again :cool:

How the hell does that work? She was so weak on detail and she was tripped up at least twice, yet she won!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

I might be a voter for all you know. Certainly registers with me. No way would I vote for terrorists looking for a new gig now business in their first career has dried up.

You have to be 18 to vote and you need a psychiatrists permission to vote after being sectioned .

That's you excluded on two counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

And Mary Lou falls with furlong to go !

LOL.

Keen at the start ,continually jumped to the left , lost place at halfway under pressure 3 out , weakened final furlong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

All that RTE bias ehh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭jos28

I think the strategy of allowing MLM to participate went exactly as MM and LV hoped it would. She was playing well out of her league. She can talk the talk (Trump/Farage style) but she can't walk the walk. Her populist, soundbite approach was exposed as shallow and one dimensional.
    Excruciating to watch her squirm on the SCC and Paul Flynn questions, she didn't do herself any favours on climate change either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭RoryMac

MM was shocking tonight imo, no plan of action for any of the main issues and struggled to explain why he propped up FG when he apparently disagreed with their policies so strongly. Especially as he said governments & the EU frontline was changing all over Europe despite Brexit but yet he kept propping up FG.

Leo was the more comfortable throughout but FG have had 9 years and should've done more to turn around the main issues of housing and healthcare.

Mary-Lou as expected very strong at pointing out the failings of FG & FF but I don't have any confidence in their plans for solving the issues and how they'll pay for them.

Was undecided before the debate and still am but I've ruled out any vote for FF as I don't feel they've learnt from the problems they caused 10 years ago and seem more interested in propping up big business than trying to help ordinary working people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

https://youtu.be/OJATctEBGAI

Wake up UCD students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I did.

Thought Martin edged it over Varadkar

Said earlier that Mary Lou had nothing to gain by taking part, and that is how it panned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭Jizique

I think that one is backfiring on Leo already. They let him walk away and are bailing out a largely unreformed organisation. Twitter not liking it.

It’s just like MM walked away 9 years ago and after the bail out and the cleanup, he is coming back for a second go at destroying the economy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Opinions are like assholes, that "neutral" on rte is mistaken.

Expect ff and fg to be like a dog with a bone over this for the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

How the hell does that work? She was so weak on detail and she was tripped up at least twice, yet she won!

RTÉ are in the governments pocket according to the SF party faithful here.

Go figure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

smurgen wrote: »
    There's no Garda investigation into the FAI or JD and no governance reforms of the organisation have been put in place. I think he shouldn't have mentioned it.

Yes there is