Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor thread (MMA Talk Only - Read 1st Post Before Posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

From his coach thinking he's some savant genius while brown nosing some of the worse opinionators in american popular culture and being generally pithy and IAMVERYSMART so often, to pretty everything McGregor himself has done since what seems like forever
    s

did you not know that he has a degree in engineering though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Effects wrote: »
    It is a horrible comment. With little enough basis in reality.

I agree with you on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The fight wasn't close because it was probably the worst shape he has ever been in coming into a fight in his pro career, and against the next best guy in the world.

McGregor is something special. But hard work beats talent when talent doesnt work hard. Conor has the potential to be one of the P4P greats but it takes long term dedication and sacrifice. Probably has too many plates spinning and a family now to focus solely on fighting like he used to.

Like in Rocky 3 when Rocky looses to Clubber Lang. He needs to try and find that eye of the Tiger again... queue montage.

I'm not convinced. McGregor looked bad alright but I still don't think he beats Khabib in his best shape as things are. He might do better, but as I said you could say that about any number of fighters in any number of fights.

Aldo was(is) something special, never got a rematch with Conor.

If he leathers Cowboy, he at least gets a win. He needs that more than another fight with Khabib.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Can you explain why you believe this?

As a previous poster said, he's trying to ignite something that doesn't exist anymore. Capturing lightening in a bottle.

He isn't Floyd Mayweather and doesn't live that sort of life.

John_D80 wrote: »
    Fine if that’s what was actually said, but it wasn’t.

CTE can manifest itself in many forms. Developing a propensity for extreme violence and committing serious crimes (ie: murdering ones family) as a result of suffering from CTE is rare.

Comment about Cowboy was in pretty poor taste in fairness.

Firstly I agree the comment is tasteless and no dat to back it up on Cowboy ,

But becoming violent because of CTE is NOT uncommon for people who get it from high impact sports,

The violence comes because if you have CTE your brain knows it is hurt goes into flight or fight at the sign of any confrontation (sometimes very little) to protect it's self ,

For your average human (someone who gets CTE because of a fall or accident ) this turns to flight but for a Ex fighter or NFL player who spent years training to be aggressive in conflict the brain's natural reaction is to fight and defend its self from being further injured, Hence why you get moment of violence out of seemingly no where,

Again not saying Cowboy has CTE or would ever do anything to his family as that comment was tasteless and wrong ,

The violence comes because if you have CTE your brain knows it is hurt goes into flight or fight at the sign of any confrontation (sometimes very little) to protect it's self ,

For your average human (someone who gets CTE because of a fall or accident ) this turns to flight but for a Ex fighter or NFL player who spent years training to be aggressive in conflict the brain's natural reaction is to fight and defend its self from being further injured, Hence why you get moment of violence out of seemingly no where,

Is this from a study?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Firstly I agree the comment is tasteless and no dat to back it up on Cowboy ,

But becoming violent because of CTE is NOT uncommon for people who get it from high impact sports,

Again not saying Cowboy has CTE or would ever do anything to his family as that comment was tasteless and wrong ,

Sorry if I wasn’t clear but I was saying that becoming extremely violent and commiting serious crimes such as murder is extremely rare. Of those who do sustain brain injuries like CTE, very very few do commit murder.

Is this from a study?

I actually listened to it on a podcast last year , I can't recall which one,

There have been loads of studies and articles written about this in the last few years ,

Obviously there is other factors but CTE for men in aggressive sports , NFL, combat sports , Wrestling , there is a growing trend of violence ,

We could all name boxer's involved in domestic violence from Ali to Mayweather, and if your knowledge of NFL is any good there is a HUGE amount of ex players involved in violent incidents

A massive issues is that in life lot of argument's happen with wife's and girlfriends so there is a huge number of domestic violence cases from CTE sufferer's

John_D80 wrote: »
    Sorry if I wasn’t clear but I was saying that becoming extremely violent and commiting serious crimes such as murder is extremely rare. Of those who do sustain brain injuries like CTE, very very few do commit murder.

Ye I agree murder is rare but domestic assaults seem to be very common ,
    Anyway all this has NOTHING to do with Cowboy himself so totally off topic,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

I'm not convinced. McGregor looked bad alright but I still don't think he beats Khabib in his best shape as things are. He might do better, but as I said you could say that about any number of fighters in any number of fights.

Aldo was(is) something special, never got a rematch with Conor.

If he leathers Cowboy, he at least gets a win. He needs that more than another fight with Khabib.

I dont think he is ready for Khabib yet. Would like Conor to have a couple of successful fights before that fight comes around. Khabib has not been active either however so cobwebs could be building there also. Granted he is not out on the session but time off effects fighters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭VW 1

Feckin hell. Unfollowing this thread now

The ignore feature is much handier than the unfollow thread button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Anyone know when he heads stateside? You’d expect the PR to ramp up this weekend. I wonder does he have an agreement to do less media given the complete lack of same thus far.

Regarding the Khabib chat, I’d like to see Conor have a crack at him again but only after a couple of fights and if he looks back to the fighter he was. Seems a long time ago now that Eddie fight.

Just look at his body v Khabib and then let’s say Siver for example. I know he was a lot younger back then but he was like a piece of grizzle. Phenomenal shape. He looked tired and old opposite Khabib in the cage before a punch was thrown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Anyone know when he heads stateside? You’d expect the PR to ramp up this weekend. I wonder does he have an agreement to do less media given the complete lack of same thus far.

Regarding the Khabib chat, I’d like to see Conor have a crack at him again but only after a couple of fights and if he looks back to the fighter he was. Seems a long time ago now that Eddie fight.

Just look at his body v Khabib and then let’s say Siver for example. I know he was a lot younger back then but he was like a piece of grizzle. Phenomenal shape. He looked tired and old opposite Khabib in the cage before a punch was thrown.

Kavanagh tweeted they are on the way over. Just saw a pic of conor and he is bulked up. Looks in good nick

I thought it was something that a deflated, inaccurate, drained mcgregor could go 4 rounds with khabib, even being dominated and also that same drunken version managed to get up after a hay maker, this makes me think a fit strong version would beat khabib at 155, HOWEVER 170 is a bridge too far and he's going to feel the difference, even his sharpened boxing never turned up for khabib. POST Mayweather, all the rounds on his feet and good as he was beating aldo and Eddie, where the **** was the benefit of all that hard sharp boxing... on paper he should have been 10 times the striker and he couldn't have been farther from that.

he just has to accept his bell curve and move on like so many before him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

rusty cole wrote: »
    I thought it was something that a deflated, inaccurate, drained mcgregor could go 4 rounds with khabib, even being dominated and also that same drunken version managed to get up after a hay maker, this makes me think a fit strong version would beat khabib at 155, HOWEVER 170 is a bridge too far and he's going to feel the difference, even his sharpened boxing never turned up for khabib. POST Mayweather, all the rounds on his feet and good as he was beating aldo and Eddie, where the **** was the benefit of all that hard sharp boxing... on paper he should have been 10 times the striker and he couldn't have been farther from that.

he just has to accept his bell curve and move on like so many before him.
    Its the effect fearing Khabib's wrestling has on every striker he's faced so far. That's his biggest asset and it's worked fantastically so far.

Once Khabib faces a good striker who isn't terrified of him getting his hands on them, we'll see what he's really made of.
    I still think he'd do quite well, but he wouldn't have it all his own way like he currently does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Just watching his interview on YouTube.

Has he a hole in his nose from all the coke?

I’d love to see kahabib open his hole again.

Go back to fighting dwarfs you twit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Just watching his interview on YouTube.

Has he a hole in his nose from all the coke?

I’d love to see kahabib open his hole again.

Go back to fighting dwarfs you twit

Give it a break will you ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

In a curious way, this is the most interesting McGregor fight perhaps since Mendes (elite wrestler). Sensible folk didn't expect too much against Mayweather, similarly Khabib outcome was hardly shocking, and most thought he'd at least be competitive against Aldo, Alvarez, Diaz.

Now, it's which McGregor shows up and his career and legacy at least in the short/medium term is on the line.

A loss against any of the above could have made his route more circuitous and difficult, but ultimately forgivable. Against Cowboy it could wrap up his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Maclife Interview.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cg6cxYR-Cw
    So the logic for 170 is because he fully expects to fill in for Tony or Khabib and doesn't see the point in cutting twice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

macnug wrote: »
    Maclife Interview.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cg6cxYR-Cw
    So the logic for 170 is because he fully expects to fill in for Tony or Khabib and doesn't see the point in cutting twice?

Thsts some rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,369 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Good interview, he sounds focused anyway but only time will tell. Great to hear him say he was disrespectful to his team last call with lack of commitment. Really looking forward to this fight as it will really show what 2020 will look like for Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

I'm gonna call bs on khabib being afraid ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,851 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Tut tut tut I remember all those people accusing McG of being that 'famous Sports Star', bet ye all feel silly now

Mod: Banned for a week for ignoring the multiple warnings and thread title..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

JJayoo wrote: »
    Tut tut tut I remember all those people accusing McG of being that 'famous Sports Star', bet ye all feel silly now

The american media have reported it as being him, so don't think people are feeling stupid about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Well he certainly looks a million times fresher in the face than I’ve seen him in a long time. Said it previously but I have heard the old man smack in the pub was very much an eye opener for him. I know there are other serious rumours floating about him but it’s hard to know what’s true and what’s not. People were certain he fathered a child with some other woman too.

I don’t have the same support for him anymore but I’d still get a thrill if he was back to his best. He was incredible when in his prime. Would love to see him make another run at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,640 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Ush1 wrote:
    As a previous poster said, he's trying to ignite something that doesn't exist anymore. Capturing lightening in a bottle.
    What does this mean?
    Ush1 wrote:
    He isn't Floyd Mayweather and doesn't live that sort of life.
    He was never Floyd Mayweather but he got his name out there enough that people wanted to see them fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

That would put a bit of excitement in ya . Looks like he got a crack or 2 on the nose aswell

eagle eye wrote: »
    What does this mean?

He was never Floyd Mayweather but he got his name out there enough that people wanted to see them fight.

It means Mayweather is extremely successful but still extremely disciplined, as opposed to McGregor. Nothing to do with them fighting.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Shouldnt still need to be reminding people..MMA talk only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Reckons khabib is scared of a rematch. He looks well tbf way fresher but I hope he never sees a title shot again. If he got shot at khabib next and won he'd want to go after BMF stalling the lw division again. Let him have fun fights masdival colby if he wants stay at 170. I'm sure there's fun fights at 155 for him too.