Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Lovely quiet saler heifer.🀪🀪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 797 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

My beef nuts brings all the boys to the yard and they're like there better than yours. Damn right there better than yours !!
    You have to see the funny side sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Did anyone go to the shorthorn sale in Roscommon today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The TVR twins. Cow is fed up of them :D
    mmptpm0l.jpg

mALebAVl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

mmptpm0l.jpg

mALebAVl.jpg

Your suckler calves are very quiet if you can get this close in a field to take a photo.

Fairly quiet :D

https://twitter.com/LadyHaywire/status/1191746860962201600?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mmptpm0l.jpg

mALebAVl.jpg

Did your other cow calve yet?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did your other cow calve yet?

No, she's due the 8th dec. Panting a bit today, definitely under pressure whatever is in her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Few of this years calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

All go here the last couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

All go here the last couple of days.

What you building? What kind of ties are they used in the shuttering? Years since we did concrete here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

What you building? What kind of ties are they used in the shuttering? Years since we did concrete here.

My guess is a silage pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭Dozer1

haven't seen shuttering pan's that small in years, the bigger ones take all the work out of it.
    fair play

Cattle crush. Just normal snap ties.

Dozer1 wrote: »
    haven't seen shuttering pan's that small in years, the bigger ones take all the work out of it.
    fair play

They are a bit labour intensive alright. A friend bought a heap of them for small money. Grand for doing smallish bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Justjens

Cattle crush. Just normal snap ties.

For a job like that I cut oval white plastic conduit in a chopsaw to slide over the snap ties.....then you can reuse the ties :)

Justjens wrote: »
    For a job like that I cut oval white plastic conduit in a chopsaw to slide over the snap ties.....then you can reuse the ties :)

We were going to do that but local place had no conduit when I went to get it. Didn't want to lose a day or 2 for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Rushy Fields

mmptpm0l.jpg

mALebAVl.jpg

Have twin TVR Cows out of a Charlois cow. Very quiet cows.... bit cheeky at times. Put ZAG in to one of them... as they say TVR has little milk. She threw him out there 5mths ago. Was plain enough initally but the calf has turned into a lovely bit of stuff now....
    Must get a pic of him nd stick it up....

First calf out of our last bull we sold. Massive shoulders, expected a bull. Nope, female!:eek:
    No more twins (thanks feck)

YmkGG2Jl.jpg

First calf out of our last bull we sold. Massive shoulders, expected a bull. Nope, female!:eek:
    No more twins (thanks feck)

Was that the cow you were expecting to have twins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mini Noo?

Was that the cow you were expecting to have twins?

Assumed she would as she was so heavy but was thankfully incorrect!
    Mini Noo?

Mini Noo's calf, now named Noodle:D:D:D

This is incredible;

Rogers Ranch Gelbvieh and Stockdogs. Unbelievably well trained!

https://twitter.com/HayMapApp/status/1205000046900580353

Image of her Daddy. First time Im sorry I sold a bull, have had much worse calves off AI, off better cows. :pac:

https://twitter.com/LadyHaywire/status/1206138705783726081

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭GiantPencil

Help settle an argument, had a cow due to calve on new years day and she was sick this morning at 7am which made the father assume she'd calve in the next hour or two. I checked on her at 10am and she was lying down chewing the cud with no intention of calving, no blister passed either. Ended up tying her up and pulling out the calf myself with ropes, had to pop the blister first to get at the calf. Everything went fine, heifer calf who was up suckling within the hour.

My question is should I have done it or should I have waited? How long does a typical 'sickness' last in cows before calving actually starts? Cow is PB Saler who's on her 6th calve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Help settle an argument, had a cow due to calve on new years day and she was sick this morning at 7am which made the father assume she'd calve in the next hour or two. I checked on her at 10am and she was lying down chewing the cud with no intention of calving, no blister passed either. Ended up tying her up and pulling out the calf myself with ropes, had to pop the blister first to get at the calf. Everything went fine, heifer calf who was up suckling within the hour.

My question is should I have done it or should I have waited? How long does a typical 'sickness' last in cows before calving actually starts? Cow is PB Saler who's on her 6th calve.

You were dead right to get the calf out. I don't see why there would be an argument over it, once the calf and cow are ok everyone involved should be happy:).
    Sometimes i see cows start to calve and then just lie down and almost forget to get on with it. Some cows can be lazy especially if they're a bit fat or the calf is big. If calving goes on too long it can be bad news for the calf.
    Calving cows isn't an exact science, ive seen well over over a thousand calvings here and i'd still be debating when to intervene sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭GiantPencil

tanko wrote: »
    You were dead right to get the calf out. I don't see why there would be an argument over it, once the calf and cow are ok everyone involved should be happy:).
    Sometimes i see cows start to calve and then just lie down and almost forget to get on with it. Some cows can be lazy especially if they're a bit fat or the calf is big. If calving goes on too long it can be bad news for the calf.
    Calving cows isn't an exact science, ive seen well over over a thousand calvings here and i'd still be debating when to intervene sometimes.

Ya we're glad to have done it now alright. The cow is now kind of pushing as if she's ready to calve now which is puzzling us. We think it's like a delayed reaction to calving. Had a cow abort it's uterus before but that was an hour after calving so we don't think that's the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Ya we're glad to have done it now alright. The cow is now kind of pushing as if she's ready to calve now which is puzzling us. We think it's like a delayed reaction to calving. Had a cow abort it's uterus before but that was an hour after calving so we don't think that's the issue.

There's hardly another one in there?

If she's really milky I'd have been thinking of lazy calving due to subclinical Milk fever but odd to first show it at her age.