Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,133 ✭✭✭✭Water John

This looks like one of the best reads for Christmas.
    https://www.the42.ie/something-in-the-water-extract-4915581-Dec2019/
    The story of Skibb Rowing Club. Beautiful writing.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,479 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Paid up remaining bills I had for the year today. Good to get it done. Good to have everyone that does work for me during the year sorted too before the Christmas. Now, if people would extend the same courtesy to me it would be great.

Was talking to a man one evening who runs his own business. Said it would be common for lads to get work done and casually say they will pop back and pay later, much later in many cases.
    Said his wife is Spanish and just couldn’t believe the cheek of people getting work done and not paying immediately, she said it’s unheard of in Spain that people would be embarrassed not to pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    Casefile. True crime podcast not for everyone but if you like it its addictive.

Brilliant getting to the end of the Wanda beach murders now, are they all Aussie?

Better living everyone

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Plenty of good stories, keep them coming.

A spud box is roughly 4ft high no exact measurement

Dealing witb a bi polar trust fund baby posing as a self made, mans nearly 50 ****es on about how he worked hard back in the day etc he hasnt a stress line on his face grey hair on his head and no sign of a limp.

They actually took on a lad about halfway between meself and yourself back home to build a lasting link with Ireland because he wanted me to keep sending lads out , i got my few days away from the farm came back and they sacked that lad there and then. It was said it was costcutting etc in the end it turned out he wasnt up to the standard required here.
    The owners have absolutely no people skills whatsoever

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I had a lad in today to give me a hand with tidying up gates and pens and put up a few lights. One pen in particular is a right pain so we let out the weanlings there into a holding yard while we hung gates properly, all because one tool of a weanling keeps getting out or getting stuck.

At the job since 10 this morning and no cattle fed and I was getting things sorted for my man and helping him when needed.

Anyway, got the lights fixed and gates hung and he left to sort a few things for herself in the house. Fed the cattle and let the weanlings back into the shed when I noticed a missed call from a neighbour, animal in a neighbours field:(

Checked the weanling pen and my man was missing. He must have found a way out of the holding pen, the fecker:mad:

On another subject, anybody looking for a weanling bull to buy?:pac:

This came into my head reading that.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,104 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The passageways in my new shed have been driven over a good bit since the concrete was put down, do people still brush the new concrete with slurry before letting stock in so it doesn't hurt their feet?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    The passageways in my new shed have been driven over a good bit since the concrete was put down, do people still brush the new concrete with slurry before letting stock in so it doesn't hurt their feet?

Never heard of that

• Registered Users Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    Never heard of that
    Its called new concrete disease. The sharp/loose bits on the edges where the concrete is tamped can hurt their feet.

Only saw it on an underpass and i think that was because the cows were nervous to walk through.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 18,479 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’ve seen parlour stands “dirtied” when new but it was to encourage cows into new fresh smelling space rather than any foot issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

have u scrapers in the passageways?? if u have maybe run them a few times to knock off any corners on the concrete?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,104 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

have u scrapers in the passageways?? if u have maybe run them a few times to knock off any corners on the concrete?

Ye doing that tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭straight

Never spread **** around here. Cows won't be long doing that themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Grazon

Bought a weanling juring the week and noticed she's drooling when chewing the cud just wondering is it anything to be concerned about. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,059 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Grazon wrote: »
    Bought a weanling juring the week and noticed she's drooling when chewing the cud just wondering is it anything to be concerned about. Thanks

What age is she, could she be losing teeth.
    We used to get timber tongue in cattle years ago, it sounds like that.
    Don't hear much about it now.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/farming/timber-tongue-a-disease-of-the-past-that-hasnt-entirely-disappeared-847434.html

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Grazon

wrangler wrote: »

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/farming/timber-tongue-a-disease-of-the-past-that-hasnt-entirely-disappeared-847434.html

Thanks Wrangler. She is a 7 mts AA heifer. I'll put her in tomorrow and check her mouth.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

decisions, decisions. Die Hard 2 on RTE or Rambo First Blood on ITV4?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

wrangler wrote: »

Less likely but Listeriosis will have them drooling too. Usually other unilateral stroke-like signs also though.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Odelay

decisions, decisions. Die Hard 2 on RTE or Rambo First Blood on ITV4?

Go with Die Hard, show the kids a real Christmas classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Watching a documentary on sky news on Brazilian rain forest deforestation
    Its shocking,the clearing

They're on a huge,well infrastructured ranch now
    Not one tag to be seen on any of the cattle...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    Casefile. True crime podcast not for everyone but if you like it its addictive.

I’m listening to that too. Very good. I had to skip a few, especially when kids are being mistreated. The Elaine o Hara case here in Ireland is on it. Some work by the Garda who kept investigating the case. The killer was all but away and clear. Another good one I listened to was called the catholic Mafia. It’s set in Australia. The clergy were more powerful there than anyone too and protected by the police.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I’m listening to that too. Very good. I had to skip a few, especially when kids are being mistreated. The Elaine o Hara case here in Ireland is on it. Some work by the Garda who kept investigating the case. The killer was all but away and clear. Another good one I listened to was called the catholic Mafia. It’s set in Australia. The clergy were more powerful there than anyone too and protected by the police.
    The amount of chance/luck involved in that case is unreal. A dog Walker found her body in the woods in dublin. Her bag was found a few days before on the shorse of a lake in Wicklow that was unusually low. The bag could of sat in the station for weeks only a guard looked at the name and kicked it up the chain.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

greysides wrote: »
    Less likely but Listeriosis will have them drooling too. Usually other unilateral stroke-like signs also though.

Would they be chewing the cud with that too?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

There's nothing that says Christmas like watching our Lord and Saviour Baby Yoda turning on some tunes..

https://youtu.be/1YHqfRktzOo

"It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas"

Your inbox is full Say my name...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

It always is....

The most interesting man which nobody knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Mortelaro wrote: »

They're all under 30mts so!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,078 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It's not now.

A clear out has occurred.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,078 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It always is....

The most interesting man which nobody knows.

Sshhust now. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Back home in one piece, had a great time. The afters were on in Crover House, lovely views
    Had to take our time on the way home due to a few dodgy tummies.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,636 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Mortelaro wrote: »

Deforestation went up 100% this year too according to a report that came out last week - if the EU was serious about this supposed "Green deal" they came out with last week, they would be imposing a ban on all Brazilian agri imports while Bolsanario is running the show over there