Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely case - new witness

• Registered Users Posts: 12,623 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Am I right the ATM he was last seen at is where Milanos is now , just after Haddington Road intersection with Northumberland Road

It was on the Baggot St side of the building

sugarman wrote: »
    No, KellyKelly is right. It was on the Haddington Road side where the ATM was.

Here an old image from before it change over to Milanos. The CCTV Camera he was last recorded on is seen to the right ..and you can just about see the boarded up ATM.

Ah ok, did they move it after that? I defo remember taking money from an ATM on the Baggot St side of the building before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

The Nal wrote: »
    Ah ok, did they move it after that? I defo remember taking money from an ATM on the Baggot St side of the building before.
    By Baggot St side you mean where the woman in striped shirt is walking?

Yeah, always thought there was a machine there at some stage.

Edit: scrap that, I'm an idiot. Im thinking of the Ulster Bank in Ballsbridge.

In my defence I've never taken money from either sober.

Heres an even better image with people at the ATM

HaddingtonRdDub4ICCExt.jpg?ver=1.0
    1900s? from look of the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

He’s 30 minutes waiting before Trevor arrives but how long is he waiting at the gate around the corner after Trevor goes inside?
    Think he overheard Trevor saying on his phone to security that he was coming in the side gate so the man got there first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

tdf7187 wrote: »
    So shelters from the rain for 40 minutes but then decides - while it's still lashing as is apparent from the footage of Trevor alongside Milanos- sure I'll lead off now, I've had me shelter for the night.

I've done this, taken shelter in the hope that rain dies down. If it doesn't it will get to the point where I'm really knackered and just want my own bed so will head out into it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,103 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

tuxy wrote: »
    I've done this, taken shelter in the hope that rain dies down. If it doesn't it will get to the point where I'm really knackered and just want my own bed so will head out into it again.

MIB is huddled waiting for the rain to ease up.

Trevor comes along, MIB hears him on phone talking to security, MIB thinks Trevor is getting his car. (and there is parking in there)

MIB asks Trevor if he is driving in a certain direction.

Trevor says no, MIB looks dejected.

Asks the colleagues a few minutes later the same, same answer.

MIB heads off.

Completely and utterly plausible and natural behavior.

I would have done it myself.

Trevor does not mention it to the guy in the office as it's completely inconsequential.
    Colleagues may have recalled it but asking about a lift on the night of a taxi strike is such an obvious thing to do that the Gardai took little notice of it, i.e it was not the kind of breakthrough they were hoping for, it was just a guy looking for a lift.

Why he has not come forward ?

Never put two and two together at the time of the original appeal.
    God knows where he is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Lads there so much creative writing going on here but it’s really bad stuff. We don’t know how the man in black feels, we don’t get a sense of the security guard, who is he, what motivates him,

Is the man in black married, is the security guard just one day from retirement

Basically what I’m trying to say is what is the story with people making up bad fan fiction here. It like some sort titalation going on. It’s a local murder case not a hasbro board game.

Should really be ashamed of yourselves, some of you.

MIB is huddled waiting for the rain to ease up.

Trevor comes along, MIB hears him on phone talking to security, MIB thinks Trevor is getting his car. (and there is parking in there)

MIB asks Trevor if he is driving in a certain direction.

Trevor says no, MIB looks dejected

Asks the colleagues a few minutes later the same, same answer.

MIB heads off.

Completely and utterly plausible and natural behavior.

I would have done it myself.

Trevor does not mention it to the guy in the office as it's completely inconsequential.
    Colleagues may have recalled it but asking about a lift on the night of a taxi strike is such an obvious thing to do that the Gardai took little notice of it, i.e it was not the kind of breakthrough they were hoping for, it was just a guy looking for a lift.

Why he has not come forward ?

Never put two and two together at the time of the original appeal.
    God knows where he is now.
    That is a good possibility. It was something a bit personal he wanted, he would not look down like that if he was selling a lady and was refused as it is just business

Maybe he was up to something petty crime wise but nothing to do with Trevor. Maybe his wife kicked him out and he wanted to get home to his parents

BDI wrote: »
    Lads there so much creative writing going on here but it’s really bad stuff. We don’t know how the man in black feels, we don’t get a sense of the security guard, who is he, what motivates him,

Is the man in black married, is the security guard just one day from retirement

Basically what I’m trying to say is what is the story with people making up bad fan fiction here. It like some sort titalation going on. It’s a local murder case not a hasbro board game.

Should really be ashamed of yourselves, some of you.

Except it's not a murder case

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

People here are saying they'd ask a drunk stranger on the street for a lift at 4am? Wtf.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

People here are saying they'd ask a drunk stranger on the street for a lift at 4am? Wtf.:D

Taxi strike. Plus, Leeson Street back then was Circus Maximus.

Taxi strike.

So?

So firstly Trevor does not seem drunk, even though he has been drinking. There is plenty of video evidence to show that he is fairly steay on his feet at the time.

Secondly the MIB may be drunk or may have been drinking and thus does not notice Trevor's state as much as a fully sober person would.

And thirdly as already pointed out, taxi strike.

So firstly Trevor does not seem drunk, even though he has been drinking. There is plenty of video evidence to show that he is fairly steay on his feet at the time.

Secondly the MIB may be drunk or may have been drinking and thus does not notice Trevor's state as much as a fully sober person would.

And thirdly as already pointed out, taxi strike.

I'm sure it's not impossible that some nutters would ask such a thing of a complete stranger, was just surprised to hear anybody admitting it. :D

I'd ask that question if I was stuck out in the rain on that night in the year 2000, it's not that uncommon or at least was not that uncommon, and I'm not a nutter.

I mean just think about how many times youre asked for both in Dublin City Centre.

Compared to how many times a complete stranger has walked up to me at 4am and said alrigh mate, it's a bit wet out. Any chance of driving me home? :)

Yeah not buying it myself, if he was near a car... maybe. But its much more likely he was just asking for money or a smoke.

I mean just think about how many times youre asked for both in Dublin City Centre.

Yes absolutely, and that's an even more of a reason for Trevor and the colleague not to mention him or have much recollection of him

The point I'm making is that MIB could be doing something as innocent as sheltering from the rain, looking for a lift home, looking for a smoke.

So?

Genuinely don't get you. Have you lived a sheltered existence or something. Anyone that stayed out late in Dublin at that time would have shared taxis with drunk strangers at one time or other, reason being the taxi licenses cost 40k or so at peak, before Molloy liberalised it.

I'd ask that question if I was stuck out in the rain on that night in the year 2000, it's not that uncommon or at least was not that uncommon, and I'm not a nutter.

Correct. That area of Dublin was full of young people socialising and very few taxis around. That's my recollection of that era, having, you know, lived it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,617 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yeah not buying it myself, if he was near a car... maybe. But its much more likely he was just asking for money or a smoke.

It’s a terrible spot for begging. There are much better areas with much better shelter not too far from there.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Genuinely don't get you. Have you lived a sheltered existence or something. .

I'm not one of your Columbo mates, dude. Simply reiterating your nonsense with more emphasis doesn't give it more gravity.

Correct. That area of Dublin was full of young people socialising and very few taxis around. That's my recollection of that era, having, you know, lived it.

I socialised in town plenty back then too and well remember the taxi situation. I know that area well. Even had friends on Wilton Place. Ending up in an impromptu taxi share outstde a pub or at a rank is different to approaching a stranger asking them to drive you home.

I agree with FTE though. It's not beyond the bounds of possibility at all that the guy was just sheltering or asking for change or smokes. The fact that he turns away crestfallen looking would back that up. Also if he's supposedly stalking TD, he's not exactly going to stick around with his colleagues at the gate I would have thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I socialised in town plenty back then too and well remember the taxi situation. I know that area well. Even had friends on Wilton Place. Ending up in an impromptu taxi share outstde a pub or at a rank is different to approaching a stranger asking them to drive you home.

I agree with FTE though. It's not beyond the bounds of possibility at all that the guy was just sheltering or asking for change or smokes. The fact that he turns away crestfallen looking would back that up. Also if he's supposedly stalking TD, he's not exactly going to stick around with his colleagues at the gate I would have thought.
    Drink driving was a lot more common back then too. I remember getting lifts off strangers before, admittedly not from a pub in the city centre. People thumbing for lifts was a regular thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I think Trevor moments after being spotted for the last time on the ATM cctv interacted with the criminal gang. Things went badly wrong. I think the MIB is a complete red herring at this stage. It makes zero sense for someone to target Trevor like that with no motives whatsoever and no sign of premeditation. Far easier targets out there to mug too. Take for instance the woman seen on the ATM footage 30 seconds after Trevor. A far easier target.

Nobody had and reason to plan an attack on Trevor Deely. Not for the sake of a few poxy quid.

There are a multitude or reasons the MIB didnt come forward. Not withstanding the fact the footage is pretty shocking even when enhanced. He could be dead. He could have emigrated. He could be a pimp etc. He might not even realise that TD is missing and he was one of the last people to talk to him.

The fact that the couple and woman were both following in close enough proximity to Trevor and the other guy suggest he got further than we think maybe. They would surely have heard a gun shot if this is indeed what happened.

Between MIB the woman and couple youre talking 60 seconds. Again we're led to follow a narrative or isolation, stormy weather and nobody around. Apart from the weather their seemed to be plenty of comings and goings in the area. This leads to the thought that Trevor got further than we think.......

He wasnt just shot on the street you mad thing! Someone would have seen / heard that for sure in a residential area. I once heard someone being shot 3 streets over late at night.

He was alleged to have been brought to a house and threatened with a gun and the gun was accidently discharged killing him.

Yeh i know that this is alleged to have happened. But the latest media reports suggest he was accidently killed on haddington rd. You actually have to dig for the article that says he was brought to a house. I still think he must have got further than we think. Even if a struggle were to happen with the amount of traffic on the road it would have been copped. Its possible TD also went to the property of his own accord.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Alliance123

Guys, Trevor was a marked man that nite for whatever reason. Maybe as he used that route so much the 'pimp or pimps' were familiar with him. As Wheel20 pointed out the MIB was caught by the bollix when he followed TD who then slowed down on the call. MIB couldnt do anything then as TD was chatting to the security guy to open gate. If the MIB didnt know TD or his movements then why did he stop exactly where he knew TD was going to stop? He could have stopped anywhere and had NO reason for stopping there whatsoever.

There is no real shelter there, could easily have found a bus stop for better shelter. Ive no doubt MIB is the reason TD remains missing today sadly.

Guys, Trevor was a marked man that nite for whatever reason. Maybe as he used that route so much the 'pimp or pimps' were familiar with him. As Wheel20 pointed out the MIB was caught by the bollix when he followed TD who then slowed down on the call. MIB couldnt do anything then as TD was chatting to the security guy to open gate. If the MIB didnt know TD or his movements then why did he stop exactly where he knew TD was going to stop? He could have stopped anywhere and had NO reason for stopping there whatsoever.

There is no real shelter there, could easily have found a bus stop for better shelter. Ive no doubt MIB is the reason TD remains missing today sadly.

Motive??