Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

isohon wrote: »
    The Taoiseach continues to endorse her, she hasn't been removed or unendorsed.

The only clowns are the fools saying 'ISIS is a big part of immigration' and that they might have gotten to 3 and 4 year olds...

FFS

So what your saying is Leo is endorsing a clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭isohon

mgn wrote: »
    As a matter of fact i would like to hear the accent of county the person is from, regardless of what county it is.

1. You yourself identified an accent from a county and then bemoaned it.

2. You seem to think there is an acceptable accent from each county? Is there only one? I am sure the people of West Cork will be delighted to know they have to talk with the City accent from now on.

3. What about folk who have moved around since birth due to their parents work? My dad is/was a farm relief worker. I've lived in four counties, and in multiple places therein? How do you think I should speak?

4. What about Irish lads who have a parent who lived abroad? Are we supposed to attend elocution lessons to meet your approval?

So what your saying is Leo is endorsing a clown.

Yes. 100% she is a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,757 ✭✭✭✭elperello

2. You seem to think there is an acceptable accent from each county? Is there only one? I am sure the people of West Cork will be delighted to know they have to talk with the City accent from now on.

3. What about folk who have moved around since birth due to their parents work? My dad is/was a farm relief worker. I've lived in four counties, and in multiple places therein? How do you think I should speak?

4. What about Irish lads who have a parent who lived abroad? Are we supposed to attend elocution lessons to meet your approval?

I've noticed that Irish people can be funny about accents.

Someone comes from abroad and starts to speak with a bit of an Irish twang to their accent and they say "great fella altogether".

One of our own goes away and comes back with a bit of London or NYC in their accent and it's "who does he think he is?".

For myself I tend to focus more on what people are saying rather than the way they say it.

What's your problem, all i said was i have problem with people that have fake accents.

Yes. 100% she is a clown.

So a clown endorsing a clown, that sound about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

Just listened to John Downing as political analyst on the show dealing with the Elections taking place and thought he was incredibly poor and wonder how he got the gig?

Whatever about the analysis (questionable) his delivery was poor and he seemed to be mumbling along. After having an hour to update his notes or whatever he didn't have any figures for Fingal and quoted others from memory. He made a few mistakes like calling Dublin Mid West - Dublin North Central and calling the former FG TD James O'Reilly. Just stupid mistakes from a political "expert".

On days like today us political anoraks would miss the likes of Noel Whelan who would be so sharp in this role.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ready4Boarding

Conor84 wrote: »
    Just listened to John Downing as political analyst on the show dealing with the Elections taking place and thought he was incredibly poor and wonder how he got the gig?

Whatever about the analysis (questionable) his delivery was poor and he seemed to be mumbling along. After having an hour to update his notes or whatever he didn't have any figures for Fingal and quoted others from memory. He made a few mistakes like calling Dublin Mid West - Dublin North Central and calling the former FG TD James O'Reilly. Just stupid mistakes from a political "expert".

On days like today us political anoraks would miss the likes of Noel Whelan who would be so sharp in this role.

Whelan's delivery was hardly much better.

Commentators in this country report on politics like it's sport. And if you look on the weekend at the twitter feeds of the likes of Gavan Reilly and Harry Magee, it's striking how many are big sports fans. We don't really give exposure to anorak analysts like you might see elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Whelan's delivery was hardly much better.

Commentators in this country report on politics like it's sport. And if you look on the weekend at the twitter feeds of the likes of Gavan Reilly and Harry Magee, it's striking how many are big sports fans. We don't really give exposure to anorak analysts like you might see elsewhere.
    yes , that type of analysis died out with Brian Farrell .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I was just thinking about that ninety year old woman who was waiting on a trolley in the hospital during the week, I think I heard it covered on the show yesterday. You would wonder why you paid taxes all you life to sit on a trolley, while the Government wastes money on bending over backwards to repatriate terrorists.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/1201/1096265-smith-isis-home-turkey/

496575.jpg

And RTE paid for Dmitri O'Donnell to take the same flight!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

all this palaver about her being an 'irish citizen ' and has certain rights etc. etc , to all intents and purposes she denounced her irish citizenship to join this 'caliphate ' , if the caliphate had passports I'm sure she would have had one.

I'm about to put the radio through the window, so I'm going to just leave. Blood boiling at this.

One of the clowns said he was glad that smith was back, what planets do these people live on.

I'm about to put the radio through the window, so I'm going to just leave. Blood boiling at this.

That's ironic seeing as this is the radio forum.
    We are supposed to listen to the radio and post comments.

Switched over to Newstalk with Gavin Reilly, Verona Murphy bashing on there, is there any station nowadays where there is a balanced debate anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,892 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Marian’s dinner party in full swing

She is in full scutter talk mode this morn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

One of the clowns said he was glad that smith was back, what planets do these people live on.

That was Harry McGee

A respected and experienced journalist.
    But sure what would he know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭cozar

Conor84 wrote: »

thought exactly the same hard to listen to him. Marian wasnt too far behind him either.

elperello wrote: »

He's just a journalist. Not sure how respected he is. Saying he's 'glad' she's home is just a trite opinion.
    I would prefer to hear from someone with expertise of the legalities and obligations the Irish state has to this woman.

He's just a journalist. Not sure how respected he is. Saying he's 'glad' she's home is just a trite opinion.
    I would prefer to hear from someone with expertise of the legalities and obligations the Irish state has to this woman.

You know he's a long time on the road reporting on all sorts of issues for many years.

To dismiss his opinion as that of a clown as the other poster did is the real trite opinion.

It would be interesting to hear a legal opinion but HM wasn't purporting to offer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,892 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Harry McGee would be a fairly average Irish Times journo. Nothing more nothing less. Don’t get where this respected and experienced line is coming from

Respected by who, outside some of the Times readers.
    The likes of him never has an opinion, and goes along with whatever populist rubbish is going on at the time.

Harry McGee would be a fairly average Irish Times journo. Nothing more nothing less. Don’t get where this respected and experienced line is coming from

There are still too many people in this country that put journalists on a pedestal. Still treat them with a certain reverence. Hence we have them on panels like Marian's; all agreeing which other.

He is undoubtedly experienced having worked in journalism for more than 25 years. He has been Political Correspondent for two leading papers, the IT and the Examiner.

His contributions to radio and TV programmes are always worth listening to.

I respect his work and fail to see how anyone could dismiss him as a clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

There are still too many people in this country that put journalists on a pedestal. Still treat them with a certain reverence. Hence we have them on panels like Marian's; all agreeing which other.
    Or what passes for journalists and journalism in this country

Respected by who, outside some of the Times readers.
    The likes of him never has an opinion, and goes along with whatever populist rubbish is going on at the time.

You called him a clown so I'll take your opinion with a pinch of salt.

Not bothered about what you think of my opinion, but i would be interested in your role in RTE.

If you are standing over calling HM a clown and that smart remark about RTE is all you have to offer I think we are done for now.

Fine by me, and yes i do stand by my remark, and you keep on defending the MF show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,860 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Just an aside on this mornings show, a lot of what some might refer to as ‘gobby mares’. seemed to be on.

Tuned in in midstream so didn’t get the names but one in particular seemed determined to hog the mic at all costs.Dukes got no chance at at all to make his usual long winded pedantic preaching style of deliveries, so there was a silver lining I guess.

I thought Agnew was gone from the Indo, by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Has there been a DNA test carried out on the child to ascertain that it is actually her offspring? Just asking.

Switched over to Newstalk with Gavin Reilly, Verona Murphy bashing on there, is there any station nowadays where there is a balanced debate anymore.

This is the thing that really confuses me about the media coverage today. Dukes rails against Verona Murphy, but has only banal platitudes when asked about Lisa Smith. If you listened to the coverage in the media this week you would think that it was Verona Murphy that had joined a band of neanderthal murderers. I was infuriated by Harry McGee's remark also.

I've said this many times but the real problem is that RTE only have people from particular classes and professions, and these groups are hamstrung by having to not upset any of their peers and please their masters. I would have been interested to hear Verona Murphy's opinion on Lisa Smith, I'd say that would have caused the rattling of a few cups at Marian's cozy coffee morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

I had a few long car journeys this past week so caught up on some politics podcasts from The Stand (Eamon Dunphy) and Inside Politics (Irish Times.
    The Inside Politics episode from Friday featured Sam McBride discussing his book on the cash for ash scandal up North. McGee was on as well.
    The chat veered off to talk of a United Ireland and issues around that being brought up a lot lately. McGee came out with some nuggets which really showed his true colours and that of his paper....rejoin the Commonwealth, fly the Union Flag, no countenance of a United Ireland on the current 50 +1 rule should be entertained, etc.

He really doesn't have a lot about him bar being able to talk a lot and with a 'good' accent

This is the thing that really confuses me about the media coverage today. Dukes rails against Verona Murphy, but has only banal platitudes when asked about Lisa Smith. If you listened to the coverage in the media this week you would think that it was Verona Murphy that had joined a band of neanderthal murderers. I was infuriated by Harry McGee's remark also.

I've said this many times but the real problem is that RTE only have people from particular classes and professions, and these groups are hamstrung by having to not upset any of their peers and please their masters. I would have been interested to hear Verona Murphy's opinion on Lisa Smith, I'd say that would have caused the rattling of a few cups at Marian's cozy coffee morning.

Every politician that was interviewed this week was asked what the thought about Verona Murphys comments, and the all came out with racist angle to it.
    Not one of them were asked about the war hero Smith, and her glorious return from war.
    Fine Gael must be going to have Smith run in Dundalk in the next general election for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Was it a guardian angel?

Verona Murphy is a dolt. You seem to think that 'balance' requires someone on air to disagree with what is obvious fact. It doesn't.

One would have hoped that being able to 'turn the dial' and listen to a whole other set of people recount the myriad ways she turned out to be an electoral dud would be enough. Apparently not. What exactly are you looking for?

People to come on and say 'Verona Murphy may have a point that 'ISIS is a big part of migration'

...or...

'we need to deprogram people'

...or...

'ISIS may have corrupted some 3 and 4 year olds'?

All of these in the context of a by-election in Wexford...

It's mortifying.

Every politician that was interviewed this week was asked what the thought about Verona Murphys comments, and the all came out with racist angle to it.
    Not one of them were asked about the war hero Smith, and her glorious return from war.
    Fine Gael must be going to have Smith run in Dundalk in the next general election for them.

A. FG literally specially selected VM, and boosted her above local party activists for the position. She was their premiere candidate in this multi-by-election contest. More than James Reilly, more than anyone.

B. When VM made her myriad brain dead nonsense comments, FG and the Taoiseach himself continued to support her and even campaigned locally with her.,

C. Explain exactly what you mean by suggesting that FG want Lisa Smith to run for them. Just even one line would be acceptable.

A. FG literally specially selected VM, and boosted her above local party activists for the position. She was their premiere candidate in this multi-by-election contest. More than James Reilly, more than anyone.

B. When VM made her myriad brain dead nonsense comments, FG and the Taoiseach himself continued to support her and even campaigned locally with her.,

C. Explain exactly what you mean by suggesting that FG want Lisa Smith to run for them. Just even one line would be acceptable.

Grow up.

Verona Murphy is a dolt. You seem to think that 'balance' requires someone on air to disagree with what is obvious fact. It doesn't.

One would have hoped that being able to 'turn the dial' and listen to a whole other set of people recount the myriad ways she turned out to be an electoral dud would be enough. Apparently not. What exactly are you looking for?

People to come on and say 'Verona Murphy may have a point that 'ISIS is a big part of migration'

...or...

'we need to deprogram people'

...or...

'ISIS may have corrupted some 3 and 4 year olds'?

All of these in the context of a by-election in Wexford...

It's mortifying.

Verona Murphy would have won a seat only that she backtracked on what she said, FG silenced her and would not let her near the media or do any more interviews, the treated her like a fool and she went along with it, that's why people didn't vote for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Oh Dear God would someone give Marian a tissue & get her to give her nose a good blow ... it's like listening to a blocked drain this morning.

Callan57 wrote: »
    Oh Dear God would someone give Marian a tissue & get her to give her nose a good blow ... it's like listening to a blocked drain this morning.

TMI :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I noticed her defence of The Delaney Football Family has softened (as has Eamos). I suppose her ignorant position on the subject is now neither popular nor profitable. A bit like the FAI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

humberklog wrote: »
    I noticed her defence of The Delaney Football Family has softened (as has Eamos). I suppose her ignorant position on the subject is now neither popular nor profitable. A bit like the FAI.
    Marian jumps ship when the straws in the wind all go one way .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"The FII. Eeeh the FAI"

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

Herself and her panel are having a field day, praising Jeremy Corbyn and slagging off Boris . I cant wait for next weeks show, they will be having a meltdown if Boris does as well as expected

I'd have more serious concern if a panel on Irish radio was in favour of the Tories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Herself and her panel are having a field day, praising Jeremy Corbyn and slagging off Boris . I cant wait for next weeks show, they will be having a meltdown if Boris does as well as expected
    And the funny thing is , in their private finances they couldn’t be More Tory .:eek:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

The part i heard at the beginning I thought Marian was saying that the British press were all generally resigned to the idea that the Tories were going to walk it and on the whole the panel accepted that. They might not like it but i didnt hear any guest going against that prediction.