Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rosslare Container Migrants disappear from Direct Provision Centre

• Registered Users Posts: 14,704 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

bmc58 wrote: »
    Don't think there are many ISIS sympathysers in Albania.But being able to walk out of D Provision unit is unbelievable alright.But i think the Gardai are happy there gone.Someone elses problem.

Can I ask do you think the people are being imprisoned when they are housed in Direct Provision or do you not understand the system?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

john4321 wrote: »
    Can I ask do you think the people are being imprisoned when they are housed in Direct Provision or do you not understand the system?

If they are free to leave when they like why have any border checks at all and when they arrive at Rosslare, or wherever, just wave them on. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

A short piece on the Claire Byrne tonight about the poor misfortunate refugees,

And of course no one asked where are the now.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,704 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Del.Monte wrote: »
    If they are free to leave when they like why have any border checks at all and when they arrive at Rosslare, or wherever, just wave them on. :rolleyes:

Border checks are used to control immigration same as every country in the world.

I though we are talking about asylum seekers here in this thread and the point I was referring to was in relation to the direct provisioning system.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

road_high wrote: »
    I’m on mobile here and don’t have time to indulge your demands- they’re freely available go look them up.
    Lol “white immigrants “ where did i even mention those? It appears to me like you’re well aware of the stats but they don’t suit you, obviously- feel free to compare the welfare dependence of Eastern European migrants vs African and Asian which would be appear to be what you’re touching on

I’m not demanding anything, just if you’re going to denigrate entire populations of people you might provide statistics to back it up, or is it just casual?

I am indeed touching on the fact you claim to have a great knowledge of the employment statistics of black and Asian immigrants. It’s an odd enough specialism but maybe it’s part of a comprehensive suite of statistics you are versed on.

Or is it only black and Asians you’re interested in, anthropological studies?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,398 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I’m not demanding anything, just if you’re going to denigrate entire populations of people you might provide statistics to back it up, or is it just casual?

I am indeed touching on the fact you claim to have a great knowledge of the employment statistics of black and Asian immigrants. It’s an odd enough specialism but maybe it’s part of a comprehensive suite of statistics you are versed on.

Or is it only black and Asians you’re interested in, anthropological studies?

Can someone please get the nationality grouping employment figures for this person? They were up here days ago and I don’t have the energy to trawl all the way beck. Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 13,157 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Can someone please get the nationality grouping employment figures for this person? They were up here days ago and I don’t have the energy to trawl all the way beck. Cheers

Why bother.
    Ever notice how once the demands for some evidence or some references to back up a fact are met, they are either rubbished or else something minor not consequential to the actual data is questioned.

You do know if some spelling is wrong, the description is not 100% accurate or the column headings are not completely exact it negates all other data and invalidates the results.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,753 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

AlekSmart wrote: »
    There's very little life risking going on here.

Really?

39 corpses in the back of a lorry in Essex says you are talking the usual amount of absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

jmayo wrote: »
    Why bother.
    Ever notice how once the demands for some evidence or some references to back up a fact are met, they are either rubbished or else something minor not consequential to the actual data is questioned.

You do know if some spelling is wrong, the description is not 100% accurate or the column headings are not completely exact it negates all other data and invalidates the results.

So the research doesn’t need to be done correctly, and can even provide erroneous data, but is still acceptable to you as it supports your world view, which is definitely not racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭1641

Del.Monte wrote: »
    You really believe that government spin about full employment? Come down to the sunny south east and experience it. Poorly paid part-time work or badly paid hospitality jobs and few enough of them at that and with another slump on the cards any day now. :rolleyes:

Not government spin - the CSO figures. And, yes, I think they are a reliable indicator. Plenty of jobs may be poorly paid but there are plenty of jobs in the country for those willing and able. Maybe not directly at your front door - some inconvenience may be required.

And there are approx 390,000 non-Irish nationals filling jobs that we could not otherwise. Among other things, helping to pay the dole for those Irish not willing or able.

https://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/labourmarket/monthlyunemployment/

Listening to Newstalk- interviewing “asylum seekers” in a DP centre. The lack of gratitude is mind blowing. Oh and of course new born kids just arrived. If it’s that bad why have more kids? Utter joke

So the research doesn’t need to be done correctly, and can even provide erroneous data, but is still acceptable to you as it supports your world view, which is definitely not racist.

So CSO data is erroneous? Please explain

• Site Banned Posts: 135 ✭✭Sloppy_Joe

So is that it, is that the last we are going to hear of these lads?

Not a peep from RTE since the news broke there was people on a ferry. Nothing about them leaving DP and roaming free.

Did they locate the “juvenile” that went missing?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Listening to Newstalk- interviewing “asylum seekers” in a DP centre. The lack of gratitude is mind blowing. Oh and of course new born kids just arrived. If it’s that bad why have more kids? Utter joke

gratitude is unmentionable

The cheerleaders and leeches of the DP and asylum systems such as various NGOs have them programmed this way. Grab grab grab and shout and make demands to the host taxpayers. Nigerian guy (who just had another kid) was whining that his son had come home from school asking daddy why don’t we have a house? You couldn’t make this ****e up. Pat Kenny was furious but contained himself. As were the texters in.
    To be fair also they did mention a lot of the people they spoke were very happy and grateful for what they were getting - genuine refugees

• Registered Users Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭enricoh

Missing out on 2 years of welfare while stuck in a dp centre on poxy e39 a week - course he's angry!
    A major financial hit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

In fairness, not hard to find.
    https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp11eoi/cp11eoi/lfnmfl/

Figure 3.4 presents the top and bottom nationalities by rates of unemployment. French and Swedish nationals had the lowest rate of unemployment (both 6.7%), followed by the Germans (7.8%), Italians at 8.5 per cent and Belgians at 8.7 per cent. Among Eastern Europeans, Latvians had an unemployment rate of 17.2 per cent and the Polish nationals' rate was 13.1 per cent.

Of the 1,009 Congolese in Ireland in April 2016, 527 persons were in the labour force and 333 were unemployed giving them an unemployment rate of 63.2 per cent, the highest of any group.

So in summary EU migration is pretty much a boon to the Irish economy. Non EU migration is a lead weight around taxpayers necks.

enricoh wrote: »
    Missing out on 2 years of welfare while stuck in a dp centre on poxy e39 a week - course he's angry!
    A major financial hit!

I think they get €15 per child also. And everything else is paid for. Not a bad deal for just rocking up to a country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

So in summary EU migration is pretty much a boon to the Irish economy. Non EU migration is a lead weight around taxpayers necks.

Legal and skilled Non-EU migration is not a lead weight around the taxpayers neck. These people contribute to the tax take almost immediately.

Bogus Asylum Seekers are a lead weight around taxpayers necks.

Legal and skilled Non-EU migration is not a lead weight around the taxpayers neck. These people contribute to the tax take almost immediately.

Bogus Asylum Seekers are a lead weight around taxpayers necks.

(Skilled or unskilled) People with 60-70% plus unemployment rates are dead weights though, sorry. Unless they aren’t claiming any state supports. Which I find hard to believe

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I think they get €15 per child also. And everything else is paid for. Not a bad deal for just rocking up to a country

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/asylum_seekers_and_refugees/services_for_asylum_seekers_in_ireland/direct_provision.html

This link shows the rates.
    Adult €38.80 per week
    Child €29.80 per week

This leaves a family of father mother and two children with a weekly cash income of €137.20.

Accommodation and food are provided.

Other details about Direct Provision are also in the link.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

The fact that they bailed ....probably not photorgraphed or finger printed. Minister should be asked to resign....Flanagan that is

elperello wrote: »
    https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/asylum_seekers_and_refugees/services_for_asylum_seekers_in_ireland/direct_provision.html

This link shows the rates.
    Adult €38.80 per week
    Child €29.80 per week

This leaves a family of father mother and two children with a weekly cash income of €137.20.

Accommodation and food are provided.

Other details about Direct Provision are also in the link.

That’s actually scary- “entitlement” is a word thrown around like confetti now. I’m shocked they can access medical cards as it appears here- I know Irish families that have worked all their lives, paid taxes and don’t qualify or had a huge battle to get one in dire straits

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭elperello

That’s actually scary- “entitlement” is a word thrown around like confetti now. I’m shocked they can access medical cards as it appears here- I know Irish families that have worked all their lives, paid taxes and don’t qualify or had a huge battle to get one in dire straits

You probably shouldn't be so shocked about the medical cards.
    It's probably the best way to deal with their medical needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

I'm not sure I read all that correct and if I have some errors.

Can someone better informed confirm.

Is there creche/pre school facilities for DP inhabitants?
    What happens to the medical card entitlements once someone is out of DP, asylum declined?
    What does the clothing allowance consist of?

It certainly looks like most needs are well catered for in DP. The medical card is probably the best way to deal with the medical needs of asylum seekers but I would hope that once the application is reviewed it is removed.

Hopefully the immigration process gets updating soon. Review should happen much quicker, and all appeals should be worn out within 6 months of arriving to the country.

That way the people can move out of DP earlier freeing spaces for other asylum seekers and move on to living a normal life and integrating or returning to their home country.

It doesn't bode well that the most high profile asylum seekers can disappear, it would lead people to believe that anyone deemed not having refugee status can just leave DP and stay here on the tax payer.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,753 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

It doesn't bode well that the most high profile asylum seekers can disappear, it would lead people to believe that anyone deemed not having refugee status can just leave DP and stay here on the tax payer.

It's all in the link.
    If you are absent from your designated accommodation centre for more than 3 consecutive nights, the Reception and Integration Agency will deem your bed space abandoned.

Continuous absenteeism (that is, for 3 or more nights) will be taken as an indication that you do not wish to receive any aid or assistance from the Agency.

As evidence by your post people will believe what they want, doesn't mean they are living anywhere next to near reality.

john4321 wrote: »
    Border checks are used to control immigration same as every country in the world.

True enough, however, border checks are also there to reinforce the safety of the citizens of the nation by not letting in criminals or those who are of dubious backgrounds.

These migrants claimed asylum but left before they were processed. We have no idea of their real backgrounds, or whether they're wanted for crimes in other countries. We don't know if they're fundamentalists with a hatred of the west, or genuine asylum seekers. We don't know how thorough the police/government checks of them were, because the government rushed to use this as a publicity stunt. Which, to be fair, suggests that such background checks were probably rushed... and so, these people could easily be wanted for serious crimes in other nations.

The fact is that we don't know. That's not to say, though, that we should simply allow everyone to claim asylum and then be free to travel around Ireland. The risks are too high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

=