Beef strike II what's a fair base price for the Autumn for R=3= steers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

wrangler wrote: »
    It must be 5 years since we had the chinese here on the farm, you can't put a gun to their head to come back.
    That time Bord bia drove them around Ireland to different farms and factories, I remember being amused that they went away from our place thinking every sheep farmer tagged their lambs at birth. Why would I disiilusion them :D
    Passing QA isn't difficult. A lot of whingeing going on about it that it doesn't deserve

If you had made them a nice cup of tea and fry up we could be selling hand over fist to China.
    😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

Danzy wrote: »
    It must be 5 years since we had the chinese here on the farm, you can't put a gun to their head to come back.
    That time Bord bia drove them around Ireland to different farms and factories, I remember being amused that they went away from our place thinking every sheep farmer tagged their lambs at birth. Why would I disiilusion them :D
    Passing QA isn't difficult. A lot of whingeing going on about it that it doesn't deserve

If you had made them a nice cup of tea and fry up we could be selling hand over fist to China.
    😉

He probably told them I'm alright Jack

F**I the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,668 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Are you satisfied supplying cattle at 3.45 per kg base price.

The future is bleak but farmers should be allowed to get out/change track now at their own pace, not with this messing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Panch18

Bla bla bla bla........I am all right jack

Of course you are alright, you got your cattle killed in the middle of the strike!!

dzer2 wrote: »
    He probably told them I'm alright Jack

F**I the rest

Yea, that's like the protesters are doing at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Panch18 wrote: »
    Of course you are alright, you got your cattle killed in the middle of the strike!!

No he didn't. He trusted that the first round of negotiations would be in good faith and he killed them in that space while the talks were ongoing.
    There is a big difference if you cared to think about it and I am a supporter of the strikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I never killed cattle in the middle of the strike. I killed cattle between the two protests. So did many others. Get your facts rights.
    You are constantly posting that lie. Therefore you are a liar. Simple dediction

Slava Ukrainii

Can you prove your side of the argument either?

My side of the argument has just been headlined and highlighted on the RTE news.
    Bord Bia is getting their revenge for the messing yesterday

Grueller wrote: »
    No he didn't. He trusted that the first round of negotiations would be in good faith and he killed them in that space while the talks were ongoing.
    There is a big difference if you cared to think about it and I am a supporter of the strikes.

No difference

Insider knowledge that there was nothing going to come for the talks so got rid as fast as possible, booked in during the middle of the talks!!

A good business decision for sure but hardly an act of solidarity with his fellow protestors

And a real **** you to fellas who were against the protest and didn’t pass the picket, I’m alright jack at its best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

The current system costs the factories money. You'd be waiting for your refund a lot longer if it was done direct with revenue

No it doesn’t cost the factories Sam.
    Speaking to friends that run business’ in Ireland and they tell me that revenue are excellent nowadays at returning vat...10-14days or even less.

I’d be absolutely on the side of beef farmers with this whole protest. The majority of beef farmers are in the crappy land in the west and midlands. The average size of the suckler cow herd is 17 cows. These lads are the very fabric of rural society in the areas of poor quality land.
    The factories (and you can include milk processors also) work on a high volume low margin business. There’s also a quasi/pseudo monopoly in place amongst these processors. These large processors are totally at odds with the product that they process...grass fed means nothing when you’re MO is to process as many head/litres as possible and dump the product onto commodity markets.
    If the factories are forced to pay extra for a premium product, they’ll find a premium market to sell it into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

No difference

Insider knowledge that there was nothing going to come for the talks so got rid as fast as possible, booked in during the middle of the talks!!

A good business decision for sure but hardly an act of solidarity with his fellow protestors

And a real **** you to fellas who were against the protest and didn’t pass the picket, I’m alright jack at its best

There was no insider knowledge required to figure out nothing would be given by the processors in the first talks. We went down this route 20 years ago and it was pointed out many times on the thread for this protest that if the blockade was stepped down, there would be nothing given again.

So why were the pickets restarted and ongoing then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭Robson99

No difference

Pull in your horns a bit. If you have been following the farming forum all along you would see that Bass is one of the best posters with facts and figures and educated a lot if us with different systems and costs
    He has always been on our side and was not the only one to have killed cattle after the initial strike and before this one started. I for one am sorry that I hadn't a few killed myself at that stage when there was NO PICKETS OR PROTEST.
    Instead I have cattle gone over age and as sure as a ****e in a hen they will bring weight limits to 380kgs so will be over weight.
    We have already lost Willfarm to this forum....Don't be the reason for another few to leave!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Ah come on how can the protests and any price in general achieve anything if this is the response a well thought post gets. You can't handwave inconvenient facts away. Farmers should know given the potential for a no deal brexit. Which is a result of the UK government trying to avoid facts they don't like.

Anyone fimilar with beef farming should have/has known for decades the industry was in trouble and it was always a matter of when not if the day of the small beef farmer would come to an end.

Grand you get a price increase. It does nothing to get around the fact that a lot of businesses are not viable and are going to have to change sometime or other. Even with your price increase any major increase in costs or just general inflation will wipe out any increase and you are just back in the same situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

So why were the pickets restarted and ongoing then??

You'll have to ask them lads themselves. While there were some concessions made on issues that should have been dealt with before now, the elephant in the corner that the factories and Government don't want to talk about is the base price.

I can't see this stopping until base price is being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

No it doesn’t cost the factories Sam.
    Speaking to friends that run business’ in Ireland and they tell me that revenue are excellent nowadays at returning vat...10-14days or even less.

I’d be absolutely on the side of beef farmers with this whole protest. The majority of beef farmers are in the crappy land in the west and midlands. The average size of the suckler cow herd is 17 cows. These lads are the very fabric of rural society in the areas of poor quality land.
    The factories (and you can include milk processors also) work on a high volume low margin business. There’s also a quasi/pseudo monopoly in place amongst these processors. These large processors are totally at odds with the product that they process...grass fed means nothing when you’re MO is to process as many head/litres as possible and dump the product onto commodity markets.
    If the factories are forced to pay extra for a premium product, they’ll find a premium market to sell it into.

Generally waiting a week here for it to come through. But for cattle bought an average of 5 weeks ago by the time it comes through, there's surely an opportunity cost on interest of a couple hundred grand between all factories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Generally waiting a week here for it to come through. But for cattle bought an average of 5 weeks ago by the time it comes through, there's surely an opportunity cost on interest of a couple hundred grand between all factories

Depends on whether they’re in a net pay or reclaim position...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭I says

I’ve cattle to kill at the moment that are going overage and out of QA fairly soon.
    I’m now in limbo I can’t sell what’s here and as I have no cash flow I can’t buy replacements.
    Money has to keep turning I agree with the protest a cooling off period for this new agreement needs to bed in and see what way it goes.The pressure has to be kept up on Bord bia and all other parties who are involved to get the things like 4 moves and 30 month rule changed, and if they don’t back to the gates.
    And remember ff/fg when the election arrives and don’t even give them any stroke of the pen for any sort of vote cause that’s all that worries those fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,414 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did minister Creed go to the ploughing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Are you satisfied supplying cattle at 3.45 per kg base price.

Who would be satisfied at that price but acting the boll** at factory gates now is a waste of their time.am I happy that glanbia cut the price of milk.no way but the cows still need milking and I can't all of a sudden decide not to have centenary not collect my milk and ring up Tipp co-op or arrabawn to come in tomorrow.
    Plus beef farmers need to cop on in the spring tin of the year and it happens every yr.grass is growing and it will get out of control so hell they must go out and buy anything to keep it under control.clumbing all over one another around the mart ring to buy,buy,buy.

You'll have to ask them lads themselves. While there were some concessions made on issues that should have been dealt with before now, the elephant in the corner that the factories and Government don't want to talk about is the base price.

I can't see this stopping until base price is being discussed.

That’s what makes it insider trading and the height of I’m alright jack. Get your cattle killed so we can get these pickets going again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No difference

We have an armchair regulator now. I had no other information about the talk other than what ws iin the news. It was easy to see what was happening was a delaying tactic to defuse the protests. I got 3.45/ kg of a base no special price. I did not make any move before the Tuesday of the talks and even then it was Friday before the cattle were slaughtered.

You gave been misquoting this for your own purposes and posting a lie that I got cattle slaughtered during the protest. As well I have constantly said I have no issue with lads killing cattle at factories where there is no protest even though I have killed no cattle since this second protest started again.

Have you still the 180 cattle you had for slaughter in late July.

Slava Ukrainii

Robson99 wrote: »
    Pull in your horns a bit. If you have been following the farming forum all along you would see that Bass is one of the best posters with facts and figures and educated a lot if us with different systems and costs
    He has always been on our side and was not the only one to have killed cattle after the initial strike and before this one started. I for one am sorry that I hadn't a few killed myself at that stage when there was NO PICKETS OR PROTEST.
    Instead I have cattle gone over age and as sure as a ****e in a hen they will bring weight limits to 380kgs so will be over weight.
    We have already lost Willfarm to this forum....Don't be the reason for another few to leave!!!!

You need to improve you’re contacts in the beef plan!!

Would you explain what you mean by that

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Who would be satisfied at that price but acting the boll** at factory gates now is a waste of their time.am I happy that glanbia cut the price of milk.no way but the cows still need milking and I can't all of a sudden decide not to have centenary not collect my milk and ring up Tipp co-op or arrabawn to come in tomorrow.
    Plus beef farmers need to cop on in the spring tin of the year and it happens every yr.grass is growing and it will get out of control so hell they must go out and buy anything to keep it under control.clumbing all over one another around the mart ring to buy,buy,buy.

Only for the acting the bollix at the factory gate then the price could be 3.05 this week. The whole thing was hurtling out of control with no breaks and nobody in MII willing to pull the breaks. **** the farmers, we have them by the balls lets squeeze tighter cos the same stupid pr1cks will buy cattle with their payments and be back again next year to be rode again.

Would you explain what you mean by that

Well for example there was a leader of the protest in Waterford who seemed to magically make the protest disappear for a few hours while he got 2 loads of cattle in, and then back to full protesting.

And that is just one of those kind of examples whereby fellas protesting and stopping lads killing cattle but were getting their own killed

If Robeson had that kind of contacts then he would be fine wouldn’t he

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

i think a few of the non protesters have to step back abit here and give the protesters a chance to figure things out.reactionary posting is not helping and neither is cheerleading from the sidelines from people who have no skin in the game

Well for example there was a leader of the protest in Waterford who seemed to magically make the protest disappear for a few hours while he got 2 loads of cattle in, and then back to full protesting.

And that is just one of those kind of examples whereby fellas protesting and stopping lads killing cattle but were getting their own killed

They're supposed to be looking to manipulate the gates now with the producer group, you'll not be let in if you're not in the group
    That story is supposed to be as genuine as the spurious allegations against Bord Bia

E]

It's a once off cost and along with that it not as big as you assume. First off you would not pay vat rebate on mart cattle so depending on you system it's half to 2/3's if the vat. A farmers selling 10 cattle/week and buying the same in the mart would cost about 20 euro/head assuming a 400 price difference between purchase and slaughter price or 200 euro on a weeks cattle
    For five weeks it's a thousand but after that your vat rebate would arrive regularery. Mostly vat is reclaimable monthly

Slava Ukrainii

They're supposed to be looking to manipulate the gates now with the producer group, you'll not be let in if you're not in the group
    That story is supposed to be as genuine as the spurious allegations against Bord Bia

I say agent saboteur tales

Slava Ukrainii