Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Beef strike II what's a fair base price for the Autumn for R=3= steers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

kerryjack wrote: »
    The government and the powers that be has created a lot of these problems down through the years, let's go back 7 or 8 years when the rest of the economy was struggling the gov at the time ramed this 2020 into us and how great its going to be and agri was great again .now they don't give a ****e about us again we are only torn on there backside. 20 years ago they started to close down a lot of local slather houses and bringing in all these new rules and regulations. red tape and more red tape.
    That 2020 was some dream alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Panch18 wrote: »
    The problem with posting anything insightful to you crowd is that you just ignore it anyway because you only hear and see what you want to hear and see. There is no point in trying to apply logic when dealing with you guys because you guys have no interest in logic. That is blatantly obvious on here

so like everything associated with beef plan it’s a complete and utter waste of time

Like I said previously bitterness and stupidity are a dangerous combination, and beef plan has it in abundance

Panch. Isnt it mostly non QA cattle you kill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Panch. Isnt it mostly non QA cattle you kill?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Meanwhile on a more positive note. Has anyone noticed what has happened recently with oil supply? Prices are set to increase. This will drag grain prices up too. Grain is basically grown from oil. This will give grass based beef and milk a competitive advantage again. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,549 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Muckit wrote: »
    What's the story with the QA? How or who funds that? Is it Board Bia or the factory?

If it's Board Bia then how are they going to fund the top ups to bonuses? So many questions..

Factory pays the bonuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭mf240

Some interesting bord bia bord members

wrangler wrote: »
    What's the story with the QA? How or who funds that? Is it Board Bia or the factory?

If it's Board Bia then how are they going to fund the top ups to bonuses? So many questions..

Factory pays the bonuses
    Do we know the %of cattle it gets paid on as opposed to the % of beef leaving the factory sold under the QA umbrella?
    I was always dubious about that

Heard a report on Radio 1 earlier and even their reporter called this legal threat by factories "unhelpful". It's issued against Hugh Doyle of the Beef Plan Movement who is apparently trying to sell the agreement to farmers.

He's trying to save his own skin now.
    He's letting on to be trying to sell it, we know it, the protesters know it, and the factories know it.
    The legal system won't be fooled either
    , he has created a monster and has lost control of it

mf240 wrote: »
    Some interesting bord bia bord members
    Aren't board members of any board interesting in this country. Who are they 240?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,352 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Water John wrote: »
    TMK the two Bord Bia staff were section heads, senior management.

I was passing by the stand at around 1 yesterday and it looked quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Bullocks wrote: »
    Do we know the %of cattle it gets paid on as opposed to the % of beef leaving the factory sold under the QA umbrella?

It was always the case if qa criteria was moved around the bonus paid would have to be cost neutral by the factories, I'm sure one of them said that a few years ago.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I was passing by the stand at around 1 yesterday and it looked quiet

I saw joe burke on the stand on the telly, he's a long time with them, unless I'm mixing him up I think he has a sizeable beef operation of his own, do you know him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭mf240

Aren't board members of any board interesting in this country. Who are they 240?

Mr Joe healy ifa.
    And Mr niall Brown, ceo of dawn meats were the two that jumped out at me

Isn't it a load of ****e really.
    We bend over backwards to produce to Bord Bia specifications.
    We get cut over 30 mts
    We get cut of over weight
    We get cut if over fat
    We get cut if under fat
    We get cut over 4 movements
    We lose our Bord Bia "privilage" for not worming the dog.
    Yet the beef processors can bring in loads of foreign beef and label it as Bord Bia because there is little or no regulation of the industry.
    We don't know if it's even Beef! Never mind if they wormed the dogs on that farm in Poland. My head hurts.

I saw joe burke on the stand on the telly, he's a long time with them, unless I'm mixing him up I think he has a sizeable beef operation of his own, do you know him

I wouldn't know him at all. I was surprised there was no one giving out at the dawn stand in the AA tent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭Robson99

He's trying to save his own skin now.
    He's letting on to be trying to sell it, we know it, the protesters know it, and the factories know it.
    The legal system won't be fooled either
    , he has created a monster and has lost control of it
    It would be more in there line to investigate the lads really acting the bollix
    Covney - his association with 125km limit
    Creed
    C Healy
    Goodman
    Comp Authority
    Bord Bia
    That's what need investigating not threatening Doyle.
    Fair ****s to BPM. Only for them we would be really screwed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Non registered vat was designed for small farmers. It's a zero game. It's not designed for huge beef/poultry lots taking advantage and claiming thousands of euros of vat ex sale's.

Thing is the vat rebate is not ending up in farmers pockets, where it should be.

It only occurred to me this morning that the reason why Irish beef is always 15-25c over French beef is the VAT!
    Factories are quoting prices INC vat...as if it was coming out of their pockets. It’s not.
    Likewise the milk processors, they quote price inc vat as if they are paying the vat. The Gov are paying the vat.
    That vat is for farmers only, and not to be included in what factories/processors quote/pay.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I wouldn't know him at all. I was surprised there was no one giving out at the dawn stand in the AA tent

Like they said on the News it's a day out, if I was on a stand as I often was, I'd walk away if I was hassled, plenty of other days to discuss problems

Isn't it a load of ****e really.
    We bend over backwards to produce to Bord Bia specifications.
    We get cut over 30 mts
    We get cut of over weight
    We get cut if over fat
    We get cut if under fat
    We get cut over 4 movements
    We lose our Bord Bia "privilage" for not worming the dog.
    Yet the beef processors can bring in loads of foreign beef and label it as Bord Bia because there is little or no regulation of the industry.
    We don't know if it's even Beef! Never mind if they wormed the dogs on that farm in Poland. My head hurts.
    Ya I know. Bord Bia always seemed like a painful useless quango to me. I never joined mainly because the mart gets most of our stock. I'm not gone on the ongoing protests right now but I was delighted to see lads giving the BB tent a bit of hassle. It was well deserved.
    I think the focus should shift from processors to dept of ag offices, BB offices and and definitely Creeds door

Ya I know. Bord Bia always seemed like a painful useless quango to me. I never joined mainly because the mart gets most of our stock. I'm not gone on the ongoing protests right now but I was delighted to see lads giving the BB tent a bit of hassle. It was well deserved.
    I think the focus should shift from processors to dept of ag offices, BB offices and and definitely Creeds door

I can't get the criticising of Bord bia, their job is promotion, They bring over the buyers, they can't put a gun to their heads to buy if the product isn't right/ too dear, They do promotions across Europe also.
    They've set a quality standard that the buyers accept, it doesn't matter whether the farmers like it or not. I know guys here that deal directly with supermarkets and it's not simple. and after all, QA is optional same as air conditioning on a car

Creed will get an awful rude awakening when ever the election is called. Watched Leo's speech yesterday. He looked bored out of his skull talking about it. Basically he couldn't give 2 continental ****s about the situation. We will pay him back in spades in next election and he will be deputy Leo for the rest of his days on the back benches with the hammering his party will get from rural Ireland.

I can't get the criticising of Bord bia, their job is promotion, They bring over the buyers, they can't put a gun to their heads to buy if the product isn't right/ too dear, They do promotions across Europe also.
    They've set a quality standard that the buyers accept, it doesn't matter whether the farmers like it or not. I know guys here that deal directly with supermarkets and it's not simple. and after all, QA is optional same as air conditioning on a car

So labelling non Irish products as Bord Bia is also optional?

Have you proof of that or is it more of beef plans effort to destroy our markets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Not optional, when factory's in my area, this year wouldn't accept cattle from non QA approved farms, full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

You can even see the divide here in our own boards farm g community. You would think that everyone would be behind the protests. That it would be logical to fight back when the margin has been squeezed back to nothing with the quotes being offered to the ordinary farmer.

No there are the few that see themselves on a different level. Above everyone else. Unity? Hell no. I don't have to stand with you. We're the factory pets. But it'll turn like China yet and even the top dog will eventually get thrown into the wok!!

The man who finishes 500 or a thousand a year is only a hairbreath from the guy who finishes 50 , in the eyes of the factory they are both going to be squeezed out, a few years is the difference.

It costs nothing to be QA and if you're prepared for it every eighteen mths you'll be ready for a cross compliance check all the time.
    You won't fail for not worming the dog and you get another chance if you do fail. I can assure you that you won't get another chance if you fail a cross compliance

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Not optional, when factory's in my area, this year wouldn't accept cattle from non QA approved farms, full stop.

They accept them here, I tried to get a neighbour signed up that was never QA.
    HE had €1200 to collect between the 12c and Beam but he wouldn't bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

That 2020 was some dream alright

As Christy Moore said "oh the dream turned into a nightmare and Joxer stuck the head in Jack" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Thing is the vat rebate is not ending up in farmers pockets, where it should be.

It only occurred to me this morning that the reason why Irish beef is always 15-25c over French beef is the VAT!
    Factories are quoting prices INC vat...as if it was coming out of their pockets. It’s not.
    Likewise the milk processors, they quote price inc vat as if they are paying the vat. The Gov are paying the vat.
    That vat is for farmers only, and not to be included in what factories/processors quote/pay.

IFA and more of the organisations tried to get this practise changed for years but failed. Revenue should pay the refunds directly to the farmer.

What is the French system?