Do you think nurses will get their payrise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I had a pretty serious illness a few years back that I recovered from (thankfully) and I was treated so well by the nursing team. I saw at first hand at how hard they work.

They deserve a negotiated, incremental pay rise. How the average nurse can afford to live independently in Dublin given obscene rents and housing costs, I just don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,759 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I had a pretty serious illness a few years back that I recovered from (thankfully) and I was treated so well by the nursing team. I saw at first hand at how hard they work.

They deserve a negotiated, incremental pay rise. How the average nurse can afford to live independently in Dublin given obscene rents and housing costs, I just don't know.

They already have negotiated pay rises coming to them. 1.75% in February and 2% (I think) before September 2020.

That'll put the average to 60k (I know, I know, average). There are many people in Dublin on less. I'd rather see a correction of the imbalance within the nursing group so that more on the wards earn more than they do currently but that would mean a reduction of the numbers of nurses in management roles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

They already have negotiated pay rises coming to them. 1.75% in February and 2% (I think) before September 2020.

That'll put the average to 60k (I know, I know, average). There are many people in Dublin on less. I'd rather see a correction of the imbalance within the nursing group so that more on the wards earn more than they do currently but that would mean a reduction of the numbers of nurses in management roles.

They want new nurses.... not a hope in hell a newly qualified nurse would spit near 60k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

A lot of rubbish posted on here and I only looked at one page. Some people clearly don’t have an idea what they are talking about but instead of stopping just double down

First this 55k and now I see 60k is been fired around? Who cameup withthis because it’s bulls**t. All nurses wages are available on the web. So start googling and come back, so maybe get that stupid number out of your head

The government has done a good hack job on nurses as usual, but have a look here:
    http://www.ladbible.com/news/news-nurse-goes-viral-after-sharing-pay-slip-online-20190112

Like anything the government want to focus on the nurse, turn them into evil people. The problem is true HSE, the mismanagement is chronic. It is run by government official friends. Need a job stick them into hse. A simple procurement is never given to the best person, instead it is given to John because he bought pints for someone. John is ****ing useless so it goes millions over budget. Just look st the children hospital. Best site in Ireland out in Blanchardstown, would cost nearly half to build but they stick into the wrong site and waste millions before a brick is even laid, incompetent f**ks

People on here really need to wake up, why focus on a nurse? Focus on the dope at top earning 200k but can’t even negotiate a drugs deals with companies who manufacture the drugs here, we pay one of the highest prices in the world for drugs made in Ireland

Anyone think a single point I made is incorrect?

The government are a waste of space, I had high hope for Varadkar but he is useless, more concerned about PR than doing anything. What has he actually changed since he went into office?

Recently he announced 100m would be sentoversea to other country so they can build a health system? Why not keep that money here for 1 year and fix the hse?

Blame the government, not the nurses

A lot of rubbish posted on here and I only looked at one page. Some people clearly don’t have an idea what they are talking about but instead of stopping just double down

First this 55k and now I see 60k is been fired around? Who cameup withthis because it’s bulls**t. All nurses wages are available on the web. So start googling and come back, so maybe get that stupid number out of your head

The government has done a good hack job on nurses as usual, but have a look here:
    http://www.ladbible.com/news/news-nurse-goes-viral-after-sharing-pay-slip-online-20190112

Like anything the government want to focus on the nurse, turn them into evil people. The problem is true HSE, the mismanagement is chronic. It is run by government official friends. Need a job stick them into hse. A simple procurement is never given to the best person, instead it is given to John because he bought pints for someone. John is ****ing useless so it goes millions over budget. Just look st the children hospital. Best site in Ireland out in Blanchardstown, would cost nearly half to build but they stick into the wrong site and waste millions before a brick is even laid, incompetent f**ks

People on here really need to wake up, why focus on a nurse? Focus on the dope at top earning 200k but can’t even negotiate a drugs deals with companies who manufacture the drugs here, we pay one of the highest prices in the world for drugs made in Ireland

The government are a waste of space, I had high hope for Varadkar but he is useless, more concerned about PR than doing anything. What has he actually changed since he went into office?

Recently he announced 100m would be sentoversea to other country so they can build a health system? Why not keep that money here for 1 year and fix the hse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,759 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

They want new nurses.... not a hope in hell a newly qualified nurse would spit near 60k.

Average average average.

I know. And as I said, I think nurses on ward should get more sooner. But they're not striking for that or more nurses to be hired.
    They're striking for a 12% pay rise which will apply to all nurses (thus increasing average) and will have to be paid every year, not just a one off cost.

Shefwedfan wrote: »

I have regularly mentioned the average.

It was mentioned regularly on radio during the week. The secretary of the INMO, Phil No Sheadagh was on with Ivan Yates and did not challenge him, or correct him when he said it.
    Therefore, I am inclined to believe it is true.

I think it is skewed by the numbers in nursing managerial roles, but, if there are enough of these to skew the average this way, then we have too many of them. Will nurses agree to reform of position to help address this? I sincerely doubt it.

It is very convenient to say "Blame the government" when everyone is inclined to do so anyway.
    We will see the same when teachers, Gardai, emergency services, council staff follow the nurses as they will have stepped outside the public sector pay deal.

Nurses do a very important difficult job and deserve to be paid sensibly but within a properly structured system.

I have regularly mentioned the average.

It was mentioned regularly on radio during the week. The secretary of the INMO, Phil No Sheadagh was on with Ivan Yates and did not challenge him, or correct him when he said it.
    Therefore, I am inclined to believe it is true.

I think it is skewed by the numbers in nursing managerial roles, but, if there are enough of these to skew the average this way, then we have too many of them. Will nurses agree to reform of position to help address this? I sincerely doubt it.

It is very convenient to say "Blame the government" when everyone is inclined to do so anyway.
    We will see the same when teachers, Gardai, emergency services, council staff follow the nurses as they will have stepped outside the public sector pay deal.

Nurses do a very important difficult job and deserve to be paid sensibly but within a properly structured system.

Any decent person is not going to discuss wages on a radio station, especially such a loaded question, you can be sure they found some case in some hospital that someone earns more and it will be fired out as proof, especially with a clown like Yates...as soon as INMO says it not he would go off on a rant

But who released this average in first place? As I said all nurse wages are published online

Let’s take the train drivers. They max out at 57k it was posted here. I won’t comment on education requirements....or who get these train jobs

A nurse with two degrees, nearly 8-10 years in college and the max is 47k

Now please explain how that makes any sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Do nurses think other public servants won't be looking for a 12 percent rise of they get it.

backspin. wrote: »
    Do nurses think other public servants won't be looking for a 12 percent rise of they get it.

Since the nurses signed most of the other department have broken rank and got a pay rise....

I couldn’t read the full thread but anyone discuss the amount the government gave themselves as a pay rise?

Any decent person is not going to discuss wages on a radio station, especially such a loaded question, you can be sure they found some case in some hospital that someone earns more and it will be fired out as proof, especially with a clown like Yates...as soon as INMO says it not he would go off on a rant

But who released this average in first place? As I said all nurse wages are published online

Let’s take the train drivers. They max out at 57k it was posted here. I won’t comment on education requirements....or who get these train jobs

A nurse with two degrees, nearly 8-10 years in college and the max is 47k

Now please explain how that makes any sense?

A decent person most certainly will speak about wages when they are the head of a union which has just voted to go on strike because of wages. That's her job, that's why she is on the radio to discuss.

I agree on train drivers but that isn't what this thread is about.

The 47k you mention, does that include allowances they will get for the qualifications and allowances for positions they will likely be in as a result of their qualifications?

Since the nurses signed most of the other department have broken rank and got a pay rise....

I couldn’t read the full thread but anyone discuss the amount the government gave themselves as a pay rise?

Percentage wise, I think its the same as everyone within the pay deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

As I’ve said numerous times , the guards threatened to strike awhile back and the government found the money to appease them.. so they got what they wanted without much fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

And teachers can hardly threaten strike action saying “ well nurses got theirs” argument seeing as they earn more than nurses in the first place

hawkelady wrote: »
    As I’ve said numerous times , the guards threatened to strike awhile back and the government found the money to appease them.. so they got what they wanted without much fuss

"Well others did it" is not a good way consider the payment of public workers wages for a country.
    And teachers can hardly threaten strike action saying “ well nurses got theirs” argument seeing as they earn more than nurses in the first place

Teachers will do what all striking bodies do. If they choose to strike, they will present an argument related to their own profession and when people bring up others such as Nurses/Gardai to counter their claim, they will say that has nothing to do with their position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43,006 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Percentage wise, I think its the same as everyone within the pay deal.
    Yeah but their rise in cash terms is a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

TBH I think they should be paid the same as what the Brits pay their nurses but the pay isn't too bad either when overtime is factored in.

Not sure how the Government will solve this one because if they give way then the rest of the PS will want to scrap the agreement they signed up to as well and get the same deal.

They get paid more than the “brits”

https://www.thejournal.ie/nurses-midwives-pay-4433076-Jan2019/

Why can’t people educate themselves on important issues before throwing their opinion in.

They get paid more than the “brits”

https://www.thejournal.ie/nurses-midwives-pay-4433076-Jan2019/

Why can’t people educate themselves on important issues before throwing their opinion in.

Are you seriously asking people to educate themselves and using a link from the journal as guidance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭lillycakes2

The reason nurses are paid so poorly is because they are the only profession that cant do a "proper" strike and walk off. The pateints will never be left totally alone, there will be still some nurses there doing what needs to be done. That's why the piss has been taken from them for years! Nurses stop the doctors from killing you …………….They deserve the biggest pay salary they can get...……..Its high bloody time ………...What they put up with, the stress and responsibility...………….There wages are laughable for what they do. Good on them !!! I will go out and support them on the 30th, They are there to care for us in life and death...………..its funny when people say they don't deserve a pay rise, say that when they are saving your life or a family members !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Nurses stop the doctors from killing????
    In fairness nurses do a damn great job but do not have the responsibility of what drugs or actions to use in keeping anyone alive .A nurse can only do what their superior doctor prescribes .The buck stops with the doctor .I have never heard of nurses being sued in a negligence case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭lillycakes2

cute geoge wrote: »
    Nurses stop the doctors from killing????
    In fairness nurses do a damn great job but do not have the responsibility of what drugs or actions to use in keeping anyone alive .A nurse can only do what their superior doctor prescribes .The buck stops with the doctor .I have never heard of nurses being sued in a negligence case

They actually do have a huge say and usually suggest treatment, the doctor prescribes what the nurse suggests a lot of the time;).

The nurse administers the medication that a doctor prescribes . I wonder have mistakes ever been made in a doctors prescription that a nurse notices before administering , thus saving the patient. I wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Are you seriously asking people to educate themselves and using a link from the journal as guidance?

I think the journal is a pile of crap mainly due to the morons who leave comments.

But I don’t doubt their facts and figures when they actually do topics and research like this issue.

They actually do have a huge say and usually suggest treatment, the doctor prescribes what the nurse suggests a lot of the time;).

The nurse administers the medication that a doctor prescribes . I wonder have mistakes ever been made in a doctors prescription that a nurse notices before administering , thus saving the patient. I wonder.

I think that that is dangerously misleading to suggest Dr's follows nurses direction a lot of the time.

A Dr will value an experienced nurses opinion to a certain degree but that is very different to a nurse making the call on treatment choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The reason nurses are paid so poorly is because they are the only profession that cant do a "proper" strike and walk off. The pateints will never be left totally alone, there will be still some nurses there doing what needs to be done. That's why the piss has been taken from them for years! Nurses stop the doctors from killing you …………….They deserve the biggest pay salary they can get...……..Its high bloody time ………...What they put up with, the stress and responsibility...………….There wages are laughable for what they do. Good on them !!! I will go out and support them on the 30th, They are there to care for us in life and death...………..its funny when people say they don't deserve a pay rise, say that when they are saving your life or a family members !!!!

If nurses were on 150 k and looking for 250, most would instinctively support them.

People can't accept that nurses are well paid, that should be the base point, they already are!

Paying them more won't fix overcrowding, I understand conditions are unfavorable but how come workers only ever call for more money as a fix, could it be that it's patients who most suffer from these sub standard conditions?

WTF are you bladdering on about 1922 and leaving an empire.

People have been saying the pay is better across the pond and that's why it's difficult to fill positions so if the money is they same there is an incentive to stay here.

The pay in the UK is lower even before you take into account the increasingly weak sterling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Paying them more won't fix overcrowding, I understand conditions are unfavorable but how come workers only ever call for more money as a fix, could it be that it's patients who most suffer from these sub standard conditions?

Irish hospitals are understaffed. There's 4 positions for every applicant right now.

How would you attracted more overseas nurses to Ireland and more students to the nursing profession?
    The pay in the UK is lower even before you take into account the increasingly weak sterling

Currency rates don't really matter when you stay in your own country. You're also ignoring the cost of living, which is generally lower in the UK. Bear inind the UK are also staggeringly understaffed and the NHS has broken long ago.

Irish hospitals are understaffed. There's 4 positions for every applicant right now.

How would you attracted more overseas nurses to Ireland and more students to the nursing profession?

Currency rates don't really matter when you stay in your own country. You're also ignoring the cost of living, which is generally lower in the UK. Bear inind the UK are also staggeringly understaffed and the NHS has broken long ago.

The cost of living in the UK is not lower, Irish people in the UK usually come home eventually, the pound being so weak is now a serious consideration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Oh the inhumanity of it all, some group in the public service earning more than another group.
    BTW nurses get paid during training 70% of starting salary in year 4. Then pretty much garunteed permanent full time job at the start (good for a mortgage... if outside major cities).Meanwhile a trainee teacher will be coughing up 12k for a 2 year course on top of a degree... and then goid chance of having to do the rounds on part time sub work for a number of years.
    So it's apples and oranges.
    Each case on its on merits seems fair to me.
    Unless of course you're going down the route of PUBLIC SERVICE CAUSED THE LAST RECESSION spin.

No problem for the ministers breaking the public service agreement to pay their advisors over the cap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

The cost of living in the UK is not lower, Irish people in the UK usually come home eventually, the pound being so weak is now a serious consideration

Yes it is.
    The cost of living for the average Irish person is higher than the average UK person.

Yes it is.
    The cost of living for the average Irish person is higher than the average UK person.

It's lower everywhere bar the all important south east area, London is considerably more expensive than Dublin