JupiterKid wrote: » I had a pretty serious illness a few years back that I recovered from (thankfully) and I was treated so well by the nursing team. I saw at first hand at how hard they work. They deserve a negotiated, incremental pay rise. How the average nurse can afford to live independently in Dublin given obscene rents and housing costs, I just don't know.
Tell me how wrote: » They already have negotiated pay rises coming to them. 1.75% in February and 2% (I think) before September 2020. That'll put the average to 60k (I know, I know, average). There are many people in Dublin on less. I'd rather see a correction of the imbalance within the nursing group so that more on the wards earn more than they do currently but that would mean a reduction of the numbers of nurses in management roles.
evolving_doors wrote: » They want new nurses.... not a hope in hell a newly qualified nurse would spit near 60k.
Shefwedfan wrote: » A lot of rubbish posted on here and I only looked at one page. Some people clearly don’t have an idea what they are talking about but instead of stopping just double down First this 55k and now I see 60k is been fired around? Who cameup withthis because it’s bulls**t. All nurses wages are available on the web. So start googling and come back, so maybe get that stupid number out of your head The government has done a good hack job on nurses as usual, but have a look here:http://www.ladbible.com/news/news-nurse-goes-viral-after-sharing-pay-slip-online-20190112 Like anything the government want to focus on the nurse, turn them into evil people. The problem is true HSE, the mismanagement is chronic. It is run by government official friends. Need a job stick them into hse. A simple procurement is never given to the best person, instead it is given to John because he bought pints for someone. John is ****ing useless so it goes millions over budget. Just look st the children hospital. Best site in Ireland out in Blanchardstown, would cost nearly half to build but they stick into the wrong site and waste millions before a brick is even laid, incompetent f**ks People on here really need to wake up, why focus on a nurse? Focus on the dope at top earning 200k but can’t even negotiate a drugs deals with companies who manufacture the drugs here, we pay one of the highest prices in the world for drugs made in Ireland Anyone think a single point I made is incorrect? The government are a waste of space, I had high hope for Varadkar but he is useless, more concerned about PR than doing anything. What has he actually changed since he went into office? Recently he announced 100m would be sentoversea to other country so they can build a health system? Why not keep that money here for 1 year and fix the hse? Blame the government, not the nurses
Tell me how wrote: » I have regularly mentioned the average. It was mentioned regularly on radio during the week. The secretary of the INMO, Phil No Sheadagh was on with Ivan Yates and did not challenge him, or correct him when he said it. Therefore, I am inclined to believe it is true. I think it is skewed by the numbers in nursing managerial roles, but, if there are enough of these to skew the average this way, then we have too many of them. Will nurses agree to reform of position to help address this? I sincerely doubt it. It is very convenient to say "Blame the government" when everyone is inclined to do so anyway. We will see the same when teachers, Gardai, emergency services, council staff follow the nurses as they will have stepped outside the public sector pay deal. Nurses do a very important difficult job and deserve to be paid sensibly but within a properly structured system.
backspin. wrote: » Do nurses think other public servants won't be looking for a 12 percent rise of they get it.
Shefwedfan wrote: » Any decent person is not going to discuss wages on a radio station, especially such a loaded question, you can be sure they found some case in some hospital that someone earns more and it will be fired out as proof, especially with a clown like Yates...as soon as INMO says it not he would go off on a rant But who released this average in first place? As I said all nurse wages are published online Let’s take the train drivers. They max out at 57k it was posted here. I won’t comment on education requirements....or who get these train jobs A nurse with two degrees, nearly 8-10 years in college and the max is 47k Now please explain how that makes any sense?
Shefwedfan wrote: » Since the nurses signed most of the other department have broken rank and got a pay rise.... I couldn’t read the full thread but anyone discuss the amount the government gave themselves as a pay rise?
hawkelady wrote: » As I’ve said numerous times , the guards threatened to strike awhile back and the government found the money to appease them.. so they got what they wanted without much fuss
hawkelady wrote: » And teachers can hardly threaten strike action saying “ well nurses got theirs” argument seeing as they earn more than nurses in the first place
Tell me how wrote: Percentage wise, I think its the same as everyone within the pay deal.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » TBH I think they should be paid the same as what the Brits pay their nurses but the pay isn't too bad either when overtime is factored in. Not sure how the Government will solve this one because if they give way then the rest of the PS will want to scrap the agreement they signed up to as well and get the same deal.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » They get paid more than the “brits”https://www.thejournal.ie/nurses-midwives-pay-4433076-Jan2019/ Why can’t people educate themselves on important issues before throwing their opinion in.
cute geoge wrote: » Nurses stop the doctors from killing???? In fairness nurses do a damn great job but do not have the responsibility of what drugs or actions to use in keeping anyone alive .A nurse can only do what their superior doctor prescribes .The buck stops with the doctor .I have never heard of nurses being sued in a negligence case
Tell me how wrote: » Are you seriously asking people to educate themselves and using a link from the journal as guidance?
lillycakes2 wrote: » They actually do have a huge say and usually suggest treatment, the doctor prescribes what the nurse suggests a lot of the time;). The nurse administers the medication that a doctor prescribes . I wonder have mistakes ever been made in a doctors prescription that a nurse notices before administering , thus saving the patient. I wonder.
lillycakes2 wrote: » The reason nurses are paid so poorly is because they are the only profession that cant do a "proper" strike and walk off. The pateints will never be left totally alone, there will be still some nurses there doing what needs to be done. That's why the piss has been taken from them for years! Nurses stop the doctors from killing you …………….They deserve the biggest pay salary they can get...……..Its high bloody time ………...What they put up with, the stress and responsibility...………….There wages are laughable for what they do. Good on them !!! I will go out and support them on the 30th, They are there to care for us in life and death...………..its funny when people say they don't deserve a pay rise, say that when they are saving your life or a family members !!!!
Galwayguy35 wrote: » WTF are you bladdering on about 1922 and leaving an empire. People have been saying the pay is better across the pond and that's why it's difficult to fill positions so if the money is they same there is an incentive to stay here.
Mad_maxx wrote: » Paying them more won't fix overcrowding, I understand conditions are unfavorable but how come workers only ever call for more money as a fix, could it be that it's patients who most suffer from these sub standard conditions?
Mad_maxx wrote: » The pay in the UK is lower even before you take into account the increasingly weak sterling
Twenty Grand wrote: » Irish hospitals are understaffed. There's 4 positions for every applicant right now. How would you attracted more overseas nurses to Ireland and more students to the nursing profession? Currency rates don't really matter when you stay in your own country. You're also ignoring the cost of living, which is generally lower in the UK. Bear inind the UK are also staggeringly understaffed and the NHS has broken long ago.
Mad_maxx wrote: » The cost of living in the UK is not lower, Irish people in the UK usually come home eventually, the pound being so weak is now a serious consideration
Twenty Grand wrote: » Yes it is. The cost of living for the average Irish person is higher than the average UK person.