Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

This guy asked if he could work in on the back extension machine. I said yes. On my set he stood in front of the machine staring at me, so everytime I came back up he had this odd creepy smile on his face, weird, he got the hint and wandered away after that but I have to say it's not the first time I had the creepy staring or two guys looking over sneering and laughing while I lift. Really just mind your own business ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

if you arrive at the bar (or whatever) and its stacked just unload it and don't spread the misery.

I point blank refuse to put other people's weights away. I am militant in putting my own away, I leave everything absolutely perfect after me, ready for the next person to start using from scratch. But I'm not putting other people's away (A) because doing so will contribute to concealing the problem therefore hindering any potential rollout of a solution (however much of a fantasy that may be) and (B) I'm not wasting my workout time and energy on other people's ignorance and laziness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

DareGod wrote: »
    I point blank refuse to put other people's weights away. I am militant in putting my own away, I leave everything absolutely perfect after me, ready for the next person to start using from scratch. But I'm not putting other people's away (A) because doing so will contribute to concealing the problem therefore hindering any potential rollout of a solution (however much of a fantasy that may be) and (B) I'm not wasting my workout time and energy on other people's ignorance and laziness.

Good for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 MajorDon

DareGod wrote: »
    ... the staff go around constantly putting people's weights back after them, so they're clearly hyper aware of the issue....

Sounds like Westpoint. In addition to the A4 pages, there's the message over the PA from Gymix, which half the punters can't hear because they're wearing headphones to drown out the 'music'. And of course, as I've said elsewhere, the Personal Trainers seem to think it's their right to flout the re-rack stipulation, which further entrenches the practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Education and enforcement basically.

I think part of is is ignorance TBH and I suspect many are completely unaware they're doing anything wrong. When I started using weights many, many moons ago it was drilled into you to de-rack and replace weights after every exercise. You were lucky enough to be allowed into a gym back then so you just obeyed the rules. My intro to weights was from my PE Teacher who hammered home this message and it worked.

Now when I see inductions going on in the gym I don't think it's even mentioned. The worst offenders IMO are teenagers and 20something males (I'll resist the temptation to make any comment about lazy snowflake millennials.......), but they're by no means the only ones....the guy from this morning I mentioned earlier was definitely in his 30s.

If the staff just went around telling the offenders this for a few weeks it would you'd assume sort it out and users would start to police it themselves thereafter.

Im just about to email my gym about it...

When you get on an airplane, the crew don't give a flying fùck about how many times you've been on an airplane, You're expected to sit there and shut your mouth while the cabin crew go through their "this is how you put on a seat belt" routine. There's a TV in the changing rooms in my gym. There should be a constant loop of a video outlining gym etiquette...

Full of really simple condescending stuff like...
    This is how you put back a dumbbell
    This is how you re-rack your plates
    This is how you wipe down a bench

Just a constant loop, over and over, some of it is bound to go in subliminally.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I clean up the bar regardless of how I found it. No point spreading the misery

Interesting. I'm doing something I shouldn't be and wasn't aware apparently. I never empty the bar as I don't expect to find an empty bar. I've always assumed part of getting set up is to remove the previous set up. It's never bothered me as that's what I'm used to. I'd always put fixed barbells and dumbbells back though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    I clean up the bar regardless of how I found it. No point spreading the misery

Same as that. It actually doesn't bother me because it means I've fewer plates to hunt down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

I always strip the bar when I'm done even if some toolbag left it fully loaded for me, I don't need to lower myself to that level!

I once had to unload the prowler when some pr1ck had left 150kg in 25kg bumper plates on it, he was doing his cardio on the machines beside the track and actually watched me put all the plates back. I was grand to an extentin that I was able to do it, but someone weaker wouldn't have managed and it would just have been out of commission until someone else emptied it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Not a whole lot annoys me in the gym, but this morning I noticed some tool bag left a 20kg plate on the very top plate holder, nearly 7ft high. Easy for me to take down being 6’1, but a serious hazard for anyone anyway short and not capable of holding a heavy plate overhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Not a whole lot annoys me in the gym, but this morning I noticed some tool bag left a 20kg plate on the very top plate holder, nearly 7ft high. Easy for me to take down being 6’1, but a serious hazard for anyone anyway short and not capable of holding a heavy plate overhead

lol, the image is funny.. Like some little geezer being able to limbo dance under a dumbbell lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Not exactly annoying behavior but Is it normal to bring a 5L bottle of water to the gym with you. I don't think I've ever seen something like that before.
    In fact it was this bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭D3V!L

brownej wrote: »
    Not exactly annoying behavior but Is it normal to bring a 5L bottle of water to the gym with you. I don't think I've ever seen something like that before.

Thats an incredible amount of water for anyone to consume even in an entire day !!

brownej wrote: »

That’s called a “look at me” bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

D3V!L wrote: »
    Thats an incredible amount of water for anyone to consume even in an entire day !!

I see lads with 2L bottles all the time but this is the first time that I have seen a 5L bottle on the gym floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It’s hardly annoying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

51Utr5tjf0L.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It’s hardly annoying...

Depends. If you're en evil villain from a movie and you want somebody to fill a large container with exactly 5l to prevent a bomb going off by only giving them a 3l and 4l bottle to start with, the last thing you want is some twat showing up and offering the use of his 5l bottle and ruining your plan.

I think you're being precious about that water bottle. What I find irritating is having to constantly fill up my bottle from the water fountain. Usually can only fill up half of it at an angle and it takes ages. Very annoying for the person behind you. Big bottle is a net gain for everyone involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

It’s hardly annoying...

pretty annoying if they guy is in front of you in the q for the water fountain to fill his 5L bottle

The point of a 5L bottle is that you dont queue for water...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

I bet the bastard wears a hat too

GreeBo wrote: »
    The point of a 5L bottle is that you dont queue for water...

Ever!

Or there's only one toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Don’t get to post much as I normally go to gym at 530am when no one is about, wasn’t up to it this morning so felt guilty all day.
    Anyhow there is a lad here beside me on the rack, bench combo. He does three reps, moves the bench again. Takes breaks in betwee, watching videos full blast, yapping on phone & eating a sponge cake...crumbs everywhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Cake Man

On the subject of water and bottles, I woke up dehydrated Monday morning (unsurprising as I knew I hadn’t drank enough water the day before). Had about 100ml water in my 1L bottle as I got to the gym.
    Of course, the water cooler was broken/empty but I just carried on. Few sets of deadlifts later combined with it being a bit warm and humid this part of the world had me p!ssing out sweat. So I said feck it I’m just going to fill my bottle from the hand washing sink near the cooler, don’t care if it’s not clean filtered.
    Bottle won’t fit under the tap in the sink, it’s too big so I just carry on.

Doing sets of pulldowns I get a brainwave. There’s a vending machine in the gym that sell water bottles for $1. I never carry cash these days but remember I’ve a bunch of change in the centre console out in the car. I run out and scrape together the makings of $1 made up of 9x10c coins and 2x5c coins. Put in the 9x10c coins and as soon as I put the first 5c coin it rejects. Must be too small (which is blush!t as it’s legal tender!?). I fcuk the change to the side in disgust, still no water.

Few minutes later doing curls I’m starting to get a bit lightheaded and know I’m fairly dehydrated. So I take the final option and stick my head under the sink tap and drink away like an animal. Still not dead yet anyway!

Cake Man wrote: »
    Few minutes later doing curls I’m starting to get a bit lightheaded and know I’m fairly dehydrated. So I take the final option and stick my head under the sink tap and drink away like an animal. Still not dead yet anyway!

Used aways forget to bring water with me and invariably ended up having to drink from the water fountain that looked like it doubled as a bidet.

Close your eyes, don't breathe and drink.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Was in one of the Westwood gyms at lunchtime yesterday and talk about an advertisement on how to not use a gym! There were more free weights on the floor than there were on the racks! Then there were a few pockets of blokes huddling around each other, short of kissing each other’s pecs, being louder than the sh1te music on the PA.

There was one guy who had 5 pair of free weights around him. Don’t get me wrong, I do a lot of supersets myself but 5 pairs of weights??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I know right. Because this always happens...

Whoever was annoyed by someone drinking from a 5 litre bottle should go away and take a look at themselves in the mirror for being so petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭GapMinder

Why does gym music need to be so loud ? It's so annoying , most people are wearing headphones anyway , don't get it!

I know right. Because this always happens...

Whoever was annoyed by someone drinking from a 5 litre bottle should go away and take a look at themselves in the mirror for being so petty.

Please don't encourage people to stand in front of the mirror!