Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Does Ciara Kelly even lift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Go into pound city or dealz and buy 10 locks. It’ll be the most satisfying €20 you ever spent :)
    I have some spare locks. I swear one day I'll use them on lockers without a lock and teach those guys a lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Does Ciara Kelly even lift?

She could bench 500kg through the expulsion of hot air alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Went to use the leg curl machine last night, but someones jacket was on it.
    I looked around for its owner, but couldn't get anyone's attention. So I went to move it when a middle aged woman using the chest press shouted over that she had claimed that machine to use next.

Upon looking around, and seeing some other confused people standing there awkwardly, it transpired she had also "claimed" the leg press with her bottle of water, and the lateral pull machine with her phone.
    And was shouting at anyone who went near them, even though the only machine she was actually using at that time was the chest press.

She was spitting fire when I went and told on her at reception, and was told she couldn't claim machines she wasn't using. In fairness this is apparently her first week of membership, so maybe she didn't know she couldn't do that, but still.
    The neck of her thinking everyone else should just stand around waiting for her to be done as if it was her own private space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Probably not a vain twat and not overly concerned with what other people think of him.

I'd say he'd almost certainly not react by going into histrionics and banging on about Ciara Kelly for some reason either.

It’s funny how so many people who talk about others not being able to joke don’t understand the meaning of the word “irony”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Lads just fight.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mod Note: this is the only poxy thread on the forum that needs moderation. I hated the original one, I hate this one.

Can posters please stop bickering. It's supposed to be fun an light hearted. As much as I hate it, this thread gets a lot of traffic so I don't want to lock it.

Yours sincerely
    A concerned onlooker and moderator

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

SusieBlue wrote: »
    In fairness this is apparently her first week of membership, so maybe she didn't know she couldn't do that, but still.
    The neck of her thinking everyone else should just stand around waiting for her to be done as if it was her own private space.

You'd think if it was her first week she'd ask - the presumptuousness of it is startling, or perhaps it's a shortcoming of the gym for not doing a walkaround with new members & a run through the rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

No less than seven free racks in the gym. Some lad is doing bent over rows on one of the two bench presses. There’s a special place reserved in hell for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 cashcow

been getting myself ready to peak and test my 1 rm on my deadlift for next week. this was it I was gonna break 200 and actually fulfil one of my new years resolutions. Then yesterday I spotted a sign up in the gym advising racks and platforms are closed off for maintenance all next week. Couldn't be anymore annoyed at my gyms behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

cashcow wrote: »
    been getting myself ready to peak and test my 1 rm on my deadlift for next week. this was it I was gonna break 200 and actually fulfil one of my new years resolutions. Then yesterday I spotted a sign up in the gym advising racks and platforms are closed off for maintenance all next week. Couldn't be anymore annoyed at my gyms behaviour.

Westside in blanch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

There's a dog with 3 legs in my gym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Westside in blanch?

Please confirm or deny! Planning to join there in the New Year (yeah come at me) and that could change things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

JJayoo wrote: »
    There's a dog with 3 legs in my gym

See, that's what happens when you lock out on the leg press :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

See, that's what happens when you lock out on the leg press :rolleyes:

Or skip leg day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Not gym behaviour, but people who clog up fitness forums trying to flog their gym equipment :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

EmptyTree wrote: »
    Not gym behaviour, but people who clog up fitness forums trying to flog their gym equipment :mad:

Thanks for the reminder. I’ve got this squat rack for sale. 600 ono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

leggo wrote: »
    Please confirm or deny! Planning to join there in the New Year (yeah come at me) and that could change things...

I've seen ads that it's closing for upgrades but should be back open before Christmas. You should be grand by the new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,778 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

When the gym is deathly quiet but the person who comes in after you jumps on the treadmill, right beside yours with 16 others free. Weird a bit.

The people in my gym who want to use the trx room as their own private aerobic studio, getting in the way, when there is a actually spacious aerobic studio next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Cake Man wrote: »
    In the gym about 3 weeks ago one weekday morning. Fella in there who I see now and again was wearing no top (as in, naked from the waist up). This was at 5am in the first week of spring here in this part of the world so it was still fairly cold. The same lad doesn’t bring a water bottle but instead brings one of those clear plastic cups like you’d get at events instead of glasses. He’ll rest the cup on random bits of equipment and take a sip from it now and again. Not annoying, just an odd fella.

In the gym this morning and yer man is there again. Walked in the door to see him casually stroll around the gym with flip flops on. He then sits down on a seat next to the door and starts tucking into a McDonalds breakfast, not sure if it was pancakes or some egg mcmuffin thing but spotted the box in a bin after he left. Passed by the toilet he was sitting near to fill up my water bottle at the fountain to hear the sound of running water. Looked into the toilet to see the sink tap fully open gushing water out...and yer man had just left a few minutes before that. Absolutely no idea wtf this fella is about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Kanye West doesn't care what we think about gym-wear

https://twitter.com/kanyewest/status/1080209800846176256?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭rpurfield

In the gym after work today I cop a lad just over from the rack I'm in with a bar full of weights ready to deadlift. Chap looked serious had the belt on him and all and I'm thinking fair play lad. So I look again and he'd four big plates on, either 20kg or 25kg and a ten on the end (as in both sides of the bar so at least 180kg on the bar) so it gets me interested. He happens to go lift it and the bar doesn't move. Now I'm really interested. Has another go and still no move so now I'm extremley interested. I keep working around keeping an eye on how he's going to back down. He stands for about 15/20 minutes talking to his mates, gives it another crack and then beats a hasty retreat by unracking the bar. Not really annoying behaviour but certainly entertaining watching in between sets.

Aaaah January :)

All de lads turning up to the gym for the first time ever thinking they can walk straight in and lift more than everyone else.

It’s my favorite time of the year.

Aaaah January :)

All de lads turning up to the gym for the first time ever thinking they can walk straight in and lift more than everyone else.

It’s my favorite time of the year.

Or, he was testing his 1RM, had a few attempts, and it didn’t move on the day. Happens us all.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Or, he was testing his 1RM, had a few attempts, and it didn’t move on the day. Happens us all.

It doesn’t sound like it.

Anyway if you’re doing 1RM on your own...well then I don’t know.

It doesn’t sound like it.

Anyway if you’re doing 1RM on your own...well then I don’t know.

Don’t know what? I always test on my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭VW 1

Especially deadlift, there's no reason at all to want, need or have someone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

VW 1 wrote: »
    Especially deadlift, there's no reason at all to want, need or have someone there.

Well, not quite true.... who's going to take the video for insta? :P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭VW 1

Well, not quite true.... who's going to take the video for insta? :P:P:P

I must be getting old, never even thought of the gram... :D

VW 1 wrote: »

Or any of the lifts, if safety bars are in place