Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Jaysus, someone spending 10 minutes on a workout! What's the world coming to?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

20 minutes and its stated in the gym 10 mins max on the machines.

Don't make me give you the maths lesson.

Ok let me break it down because it was late last night and I was tired.

Girl puts towel and drink on machine and stands there on her phone for 5 mins waiting for the fella.

Fella jumps on uses it for 1 minute and spends the next few minutes sitting there on his phone.

Does another 1 minute on the machine again proceeds to sit there on his phone for 4-5 mins.

Girl jumps on does the exact same 1 minute plus sitting there for 4-5 mins.

Guy gets back on doesn't even do a set sits there on the phone and talking to her and finally does a minute again, I'd say it was closer to 25 minutes, are you saying in a small gym that has signs saying not to hog machines is acceptable? If he was using the machine straight up for that long I'd be impressed more than anything but to spend so much time not using it when 3 other lads are waiting to use it is annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Ok let me break it down because it was late last night and I was tired.

Girl puts towel and drink on machine and stands there on her phone for 5 mins waiting for the fella.

Fella jumps on uses it for 1 minute and spends the next few minutes sitting there on his phone.

Does another 1 minute on the machine again proceeds to sit there on his phone for 4-5 mins.

Girl jumps on does the exact same 1 minute plus sitting there for 4-5 mins.

Guy gets back on doesn't even do a set sits there on the phone and talking to her and finally does a minute again, I'd say it was closer to 25 minutes, are you saying in a small gym that has signs saying not to hog machines is acceptable? If he was using the machine straight up for that long I'd be impressed more than anything but to spend so much time not using it when 3 other lads are waiting to use it is annoying.

That reminds me of a serious pet hate in the gym - people who hog a particular area for ages and spend at lest half the time on their phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Powerhouse wrote: »
    That reminds me of a serious pet hate in the gym - people who hog a particular area for ages and spend at lest half the time on their phone.

I was guilty of this. I’d be bench pressing, do a set, browse Reddit, do another set etc. Took 2x long to do my workout. I’ve an old iPod classic in my gear bag now, much quicker more intense workouts.

I'd say it was closer to 25 minutes, are you saying in a small gym that has signs saying not to hog machines is acceptable? If he was using the machine straight up for that long I'd be impressed more than anything but to spend so much time not using it when 3 other lads are waiting to use it is annoying.

No, but then again, that's not what you said previously, so I'm not sure how I could possibly have said or been believed to have said that was acceptable in the first place.

Also, I'd love to see some evidence of a 10 minute max rule on machines. Not a gym I'd be going anywhere near if that was the truth. Which it's definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Reps4jesus

cable machines. And how some people take them over for like 45 minutes doing flys at every conceivable angle. I just want 5 mins to do some tricep extensions or face pulls or something. I know people have every right to do their workouts however they want, but it just really annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

There is a guy in my gym who puts his drinks bottle on the seat for the cable rows machine and proceeds to then go 10 meters across to use the cable pull downs at the same time . If anyone tries to remove his drink bottle to use the cable rows he shouts across the gym that he is doing super sets and won’t let anyone use it . Just waiting on someone to flatten him out one of the evenings .

He also does same things with bench press and cable flys with a cable
    Machine upstairs

No, but then again, that's not what you said previously, so I'm not sure how I could possibly have said or been believed to have said that was acceptable in the first place.

Also, I'd love to see some evidence of a 10 minute max rule on machines. Not a gym I'd be going anywhere near if that was the truth. Which it's definitely not.

Calls me a liar for lack of proof, claims its a lie without his own proof:rolleyes:, hold on let me go take a pic of the posts on the wall for some randomer on boards! It's a community sports centre not a out right gym so its a small gym with 3 bikes, 3 thread mills, 5 machines for different types of workouts, 2 benches and a weight rack, it's not some huge gym where we can jump on a variety of machines etc majority of us are respectful to others and ask if machines/weights are going to be used so theres no waiting around.

Anyway theres a mod note about bickering so I'll leave it as agree to disagree.

Gonad wrote: »
    There is a guy in my gym who puts his drinks bottle on the seat for the cable rows machine and proceeds to then go 10 meters across to use the cable pull downs at the same time . If anyone tries to remove his drink bottle to use the cable rows he shouts across the gym that he is doing super sets and won’t let anyone use it . Just waiting on someone to flatten him out one of the evenings .

He also does same things with bench press and cable flys with a cable
    Machine upstairs

Call me a noob but wtf is a super set :o

When you do 2 different excersices simultaneously :)

1 is hard enough for me :D

And me :)

Not sure if simultaneously is the right word actually .

You would do one excercise and then do another right away away without break :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭COH

Not sure if simultaneously is the right word actually .

You would do one excercise and then do another right away away without break :)

Definitely not the right word ... lol

That being said I once spotted a guy doing a 45 degree leg press while incline benching simultaneously... scary stuff. 300kg leg press and 120kg incline bench thought he was joking when he asked for help getting the barbell in position on the leg press.

Did about ten reps!

COH wrote: »
    Definitely not the right word ... lol

That being said I once spotted a guy doing a 45 degree leg press while incline benching simultaneously... scary stuff. 300kg leg press and 120kg incline bench thought he was joking when he asked for help getting the barbell in position on the leg press.

Did about ten reps!
    what was the word I was looking for there then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

what was the word I was looking for there then :)

It would be sequentially, but all exercises are sequential, so really its without a rest between sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Alternating?

It’s when you do a set that’s so good it’s not even a brilliant set but a super set. When you’re a pro like me you do super duper sets.

Username relevant :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Lads exiting the men's toilets without washing their hands.

If ever there was a reminder to sanitise your hands after using gym equipment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 MajorDon

COH wrote: »
    ... scary stuff. 300kg leg press and 120kg incline bench thought he was joking when he asked for help getting the barbell in position on the leg press.

Did about ten reps!

I was a bit under the weather that day. Must try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

DareGod wrote: »
    Lads exiting the men's toilets without washing their hands.

If ever there was a reminder to sanitise your hands after using gym equipment!

doesn't matter tbh gym equipment is filthy dirty anyway with the sweat of people.
    bit of piss prob bigs up your immune system , these lads are doing everybody a favour.

paw patrol wrote: »
    doesn't matter tbh gym equipment is filthy dirty anyway with the sweat of people.
    bit of piss prob bigs up your immune system , these lads are doing everybody a favour.

It’s why I carry hand sanitizer in my bag. Seen far too many lads come out of the jacks after dropping a lot and not even wash their hands. Absolute filth mongers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

It’s why I carry hand sanitizer in my bag. Seen far too many lads come out of the jacks after dropping a lot and not even wash their hands. Absolute filth mongers.
    #
    Crapping in a gym toilet is bad enough on its own !!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    #
    Crapping in a gym toilet is bad enough on its own !!!:eek:
    I don’t think I’ve ever had one in mine in the 3 years I’ve been going! Wouldn’t feel right

Depends on the gym I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Also, when I sumo, I teabag the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Also, when I sumo, I teabag the bar.
    Sumo = no teabag do...:p