Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

It’s why I carry hand sanitizer in my bag. Seen far too many lads come out of the jacks after dropping a lot and not even wash their hands. Absolute filth mongers.

Joined a new gym recently because I've moved, had been playing ball & doing some basic resistance band work at home so hadn't been in a few months but I'm going to start bringing sanitizer myself - my god I'd forgotten how bad your hands smell after simply doing some benching/squats/DLs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Im literally counting the days until my Gym membership is up. I'm never paying a gym membership upfront again.

No joke i have 165 days left on my membership. I had been a regular gym member until about 3 years ago, so I decided to get back into it this year.

The equipment is top notch, the facility itself is incredible. Anyone who knows the "big" gym in Galway can testify...the one with the swimming pool by the bridge, but the members...they are slowly driving me insane. I read through the last 20 pages of this thread and other than Rugby players brother's throwing dumbbells through walls and 1980's Arnie fans putting up posters we literally have ever other grievance mentioned in the thread. Everything. Groups of 16-20 year olds standing over machines looking at their phones, Dumbbells scattered on the ground, fully loaded barbells, people "stacking" equipment...i saw a guy last week, with a bench in the smith machine...and 3 pairs of dumbbells at 5.30pm in the evening. Another guy was using both sides of the cable machine....at different heights....with different attachments and had a pop at me when I went to use the other side, I honestly didnt know he was using both sides. I wasnt having it. I had to say sorry man...here's your attachment, theres no need to be using both sides. You can call me a d!ck for it, but im just so sick of the sh1te that goes on in there. No-one re-racks their bar after themselves, very few wipe down a machine after themselves. And just to top it off I had a pair of asics stolen from the changing rooms this week while i was in the sauna. I mean come on!

I was talking to one of the trainers their who is into lifting and he even trains in another gym. The place is out of control.

Rant over haha.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Only back in the gym since the summer over and back lifting weights. The memories of bad gym members came flooding back.

I only do the gym in the mornings on lunchtimes week days or early morning weekends. Quieter and easier to cope.

FWIW I do a number of superset exercises. Only 1 of which involves 2 machines. (Bench press and lay pulldown) I’m super paranoid about people thinking I’m hogging stuff so I only do it if there are plenty of benches free. I leave my stuff on the bench, do the pull down and then back to bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

IK09 wrote: »

I was talking to one of the trainers their who is into lifting and he even trains in another gym. The place is out of control.

Rant over haha.

Well there is your problem some gobsh1te trainer who doesn't give a Fook.

NUIG gym is always gonna be full of students at certain times, over Christmas and summer it's great or early in the morning.

If the guys working there enforced the rules to put **** back then the members would

JJayoo wrote: »
    Well there is your problem some gobsh1te trainer who doesn't give a Fook.

NUIG gym is always gonna be full of students at certain times, over Christmas and summer it's great or early in the morning.

If the guys working there enforced the rules to put **** back then the members would

I think its more that there are just so many people working out there at the same time that it becomes impossible to police. Im at the stage now where Im thinking about having a sitdown with management :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Using two "major" pieces of equipment is a big no no for me. E.g. two power racks, a rack and a Smith, a rack and a lat pulldown or leg press.

Anyone who thinks that's ok can get ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Using two "major" pieces of equipment is a big no no for me. E.g. two power racks, a rack and a Smith, a rack and a lat pulldown or leg press. .

Guilty. Albeit because it was quiet so I did it.

Two fingers to "The Rules", innit.

That said, I wouldn't have thought of the lat pulldown as a major piece of equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Using two "major" pieces of equipment is a big no no for me. E.g. two power racks, a rack and a Smith, a rack and a lat pulldown or leg press. .

Guilty. Albeit because it was quiet so I did it.

Two fingers to "The Rules", innit.

That said, I wouldn't have thought of the lat pulldown as a major piece of equipment.

A dedicated lat pulldown machine? Definitely in the "major" category for me.

I should rephrase - "hogging" two pieces instead of "using". If the gym is quiet, work away.

A dedicated lat pulldown machine? Definitely in the "major" category for me.

I guess it depends how well stocked the gym is. There are two different machines in the gym I use.

It's just an accessory movement so if I couldn't get to the lat pulldown all session, I'd just do pull ups.

But that's me. I would only really consider racks and benches the major pieces of kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,951 ✭✭✭caviardreams

IK09 wrote: »
    Another guy was using both sides of the cable machine....at different heights....with different attachments and had a pop at me when I went to use the other side, I honestly didnt know he was using both sides. I wasnt having it. I had to say sorry man...here's your attachment, theres no need to be using both sides.

This happened me last week - guy doing tri stuff on the LHS in the middle of a set. I go to use the RHS of the cable machine and he actually stops his set to tell me he is using it. I say "oh ok" (thinking he must be super-setting with flyes or sth) and ask can I work in while he is using the LHS. Answer was "No, not really". It was sunday morning so I just thought, it's not worth it and went off to do something else (and de-annoy myself).

Turns out he was just using the RHS for single arm rows and could have just swapped attachments on the LHS between sets. :rolleyes: To cap it off he had been using the cable station for a good 45 mins by that point too, so it is not even like he had just nipped in for a quick few sets and was trying to fly through them without the hassle of changing attachments.

Cable stations often bring out the worst in people I find :p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

what bugs me is that people wear their gym clothes too the gym rather than getting changed.

means their footwear isn't clean. I don't actually care about the clothes.

years ago when I first started years ago they didn't let you wear "outside" shoes in the gym. for good reason says me.

I know I'm prob fighting a losing battle but it still bugs me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

paw patrol wrote: »
    what bugs me is that people wear their gym clothes too the gym rather than getting changed.

years ago when I first started years ago they didn't let you wear "outside" shoes in the gym. for good reason says me.

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,520 ✭✭✭COH

1 things tat annoys me is de lads wearin der socks to the gym n usin the latpulldown wen im trying to do me spin class cos afer me spin I do be wantin to do a few lat pulls but i dont like usin it wen soeone wore socks inside der shoes to de gym touched it b4 me i kant cope and sumtimes der b tree or 4 of dem in bef4 me n 1 dem didn wipe der arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,520 ✭✭✭COH

H8 de bleedin clothes ppl be wearing 2 de gym nerly as bad as tem naked kunts in de showers wen I do be doin te spin classes

Are you confusing a gym with a clean room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Wow.

well that was a deep and meaningful counter argument.
    I'm enlightened.
    Are you confusing a gym with a clean room?

I appear to be, while also upsetting the great and good of the forum.

I'm enlightened.

I don't think anyone is upset. Just a bit bemused as.to why it would upset you that people don't change their footwear, speaking for myself anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Muppets insisting on doing exercises right in front of weight rack, blocking half the thing. In Carlisle now and there is one such Muppet practically spread eagled across the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

givyjoe wrote: »
    Muppets insisting on doing exercises right in front of weight rack, blocking half the thing. In Carlisle now and there is one such Muppet practically spread eagled across the whole thing

Just go up to the muppet doing bicep curls and ask them if they’d mind if you did squats in the squat rack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

One annoying thing is that Monday is international chest day in my gym. Literal queues for bench presses, incline and every available bench.

Off to the gym now missing the soccer just to avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'm enlightened.
    I don't think that was an attempted counter-argument. Just shock.
    I had a similar WTF moment.
    I doubt people are upset tbh. It's one of the more baffing things in the thread, which is an achievement. What is the issue with sharing the floor with outside footwear? Does this bother you in supermarkets, work places etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Mellor wrote: »
    I don't think that was an attempted counter-argument. Just shock.
    I had a similar WTF moment.

I doubt people are upset tbh. It's one of the more baffing things in the thread, which is an achievement. What is the issue with sharing the floor with outside footwear? Does this bother you in supermarkets, work places etc

Perhaps it's the sort of gym where people do a lot of floorwork or something? In which case it might not be as ridiculous as it sounds although obviously there's nothing can be done about it.

I am not a fan of this recent trend of crossfit-type gyms having a resident dog running around the place, as a gym owner I would be mortified if someone was doing say, Turkish Get-Ups and my floor was covered in dog hair or muck.

Not really practical to ban outside footwear though (most people I know would probably train in footwear that they only use for the gym, but I doubt that would be the case in a regular commercial gym).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,432 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

I was staying at a 5 star hotel in Greece a few years ago and had a similar experience with the outside footwear situation.
    The guy on gym reception was shocked that I was even considered wearing the same trainers that I had worn in the short walk down the hotel corridor and across a small courtyard. He made me go back to the room and return with a second pair before he would admit me.

Anyway, few months later Im on a Facebook group for the same hotel (a group run by return visitors not by the hotel itself) and apparently this is quite the norm in gyms on the continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

JayRoc wrote: »
    Perhaps it's the sort of gym where people do a lot of floorwork or something? In which case it might not be as ridiculous as it sounds although obviously there's nothing can be done about it.

I am not a fan of this recent trend of crossfit-type gyms having a resident dog running around the place, as a gym owner I would be mortified if someone was doing say, Turkish Get-Ups and my floor was covered in dog hair or muck.

Not really practical to ban outside footwear though (most people I know would probably train in footwear that they only use for the gym, but I doubt that would be the case in a regular commercial gym).

Visually impaired member still need a dog, but I would agree with you if the member has no impairments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Re footwear: it really depends on what you want from a gym. If you're used to sparkling clean equipment, a complimentary towel and water bottle upon entrance and being surrounded by "no chalk" signs, then maybe you have a right to be unhappy with people wearing outside footwear. If you just want a gym that has decent barbells and plates, then outside footwear is irrelevant. Unless the outside footwear is being worn by a farmer who came straight from dosing his cattle...

My gym has undergone some upgrades recently that has made it better. If the gym had a dog, it would be better again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,432 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

As long as these cross fitting dogs don't constantly posts about their 'new PB' on social media, Id be alright with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Mellor wrote: »

I'd rarely (cant think of a single occasion in fact) have my hands on the supermarket floor....in the gym, it would happen a lot, pushups for example.

I'd prefer to do my pushups without my hands or more importantly my face in someone's dog-sh1t footprint, but I'm probably a snowflake or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭whippet

I treat my gym time just like I treated any other form of sport.

I spent 30 years of my life on football pitches across the country and never once did I even think of how dirty the ground was .. covered in muck and dirt for the 90mins and then in to a shower.

Gyms are filthy. They're public workout places. Id rather eat off the floor of the gym than lick the gnarly cocktail of skin that collects on a dumbell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Odysseus Mouse

I wear my gym runners from my front door to the car. Then from the gym carpark to the gym itself.

Deal with it.