Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Absolutely agree. No kid needs to see that. But you realise it's a Traveller fighting a non-Traveller who allegedly called the kids names. Not good on either side.

Don't remember my mother doing that when I had a run in with another kid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

dav3 wrote: »
    The 70 year old farmers who contribute nothing to society are waiting with bated breath.

easily the dumbest thing you've said here dav3 congrats , a new low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Absolutely agree. No kid needs to see that. But you realise it's a Traveller fighting a non-Traveller who allegedly called the kids names. Not good on either side.

Classic Pavee Point response to disgraceful behaviour.
    Hope if Casey ever gets his hands on power the first thing he does is disband this organisation.
    If travellers need free advice they can go to the Citizens Advice Bureaus like the rest of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

tretorn wrote: »
    What do you mean by problems have arisen.
    Do you mean problems created by travellers.

Nope. He'd intervene to represent his constituents should any help be required. As per his obligation to any constituent:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/galway-travellers-vote-after-casey-s-comments-ignite-the-community-1.3677133?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fpolitics%2Fgalway-travellers-vote-after-casey-s-comments-ignite-the-community-1.3677133

Hope if Casey ever gets his hands on power the first thing he does is disband this organisation.
    If travellers need free advice they can go to the Citizens Advice Bureaus like the rest of us.

Casey is going nowhere near power. No hope of ever winning the presidency though I concede he could win a TD seat in Donegal if he started paying tax in this country. But in the Dail he'd be stuck in the blockhead corner with the likes of the Healy-Raes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

I would rather have seen Sharkey and Gemma on there than the likes of Gallagher and Duffy. Would have been great entertainment.

I was hoping Sharkey would be running
    it would be some craic to see the left calling him a racist, and believe me they would
    it's the answer to everything
    lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

T Virus wrote: »
    The tinkers will never change themselves and why would they when everything is handed to them?

very true, Casey (and I think he would not be a good president) called it as any reasonable person views them. The offer nothing positive to society and that is the harsh reality, it;s all negative **** with them

The state of any place they lay their head on is terrible. The headford road halting site is a mess and they live like pigs in it.

Casey is going nowhere near power. No hope of ever winning the presidency though I concede he could win a TD seat in Donegal if he started paying tax in this country. But in the Dail he'd be stuck in the blockhead corner with the likes of the Healy-Raes.

I wouldnt be as sure as you.
    Homer Simpson was the first to mention DT as a possible US President and everyone scoffed like you at the idea.

There is every likelihood Casey could get to form a party. There is a huge rural vote out there for him. If he got twenty per cent of the vote in a General Election it would put him in a strong position. The people have spoken and if action isnt taken Caseys popularity will increase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

blinding wrote: »
    An MP was killed by a Nutter (Ok , Right Wing ) .

Nobody knows for certain why this Nutter did what he did . The Clue is in Nutter .

If it was a muslim nutter AH would know why

Homer Simpson was the first to mention DT as a possible US President and everyone scoffed like you at the idea.

There is every likelihood Casey could get to form a party. There is a huge rural vote out there for him. If he got twenty per cent of the vote in a General Election it would put him in a strong position. The people have spoken and if action isnt taken Caseys popularity will increase.

The more he speaks the more he'll show himself up. He'll go on a charm offensive on the LLS tonight but his level of intelligence and political savvy just won't cut it long-term.

With a new party in a general election he'd have to face Fianna Fail & Fine Gael who didn't put up candidates in the presidential election. They'd outmanoeuvre him and even if he had one half-decent election he'd be finished in the next.

Ireland has voted in successive general and presidential elections and referenda for the centre or left choice. The younger more liberal populace will ensure that trend continues. We're not as ill-informed and ill-educated as the Americans.

They have indeed. And by electing a socialist president with the highest ever share of the vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,755 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If he ever gets his hands on power he will find out that there is no such thing as Middle Ireland. The welfare state he complains about pays out most of the money to people who think they are in that category.

Those who own their homes outright are the envy of the Middle Irelanders who have to rent. Public Service Middle Irelanders are despised by a large number of other Middle Irelanders. City and country Middle Irelanders are separate tribes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

Homer Simpson was the first to mention DT as a possible US President

this can't be real

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Casey will do nothing, but it will be interesting to see if the Irish media will be able to put the genie he uncorked back in the bottle. Worth remembering that Ed Millibands labour finally saw the writing on the wall with regards to voter sentiment and tried to toughen their stance in immigration at the last minute, not in time to save them though.

I have a feeling a few independents will follow Caseys lead on bringing up topics where discussion is verboten and then the main political parties will be expected by the media to line up and denounce them... what happens then..we'll see. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

I was hoping Sharkey would be running
    it would be some craic to see the left calling him a racist, and believe me they would
    it's the answer to everything
    lol
    Once he went on RTE attacking immigration he put a target on his back. I bet we never see him on RTE again tbh. He's too unpredictable for them he was calling out African crime in Balbriggan and wanted the death penalty reintroduced lol

• Registered Users Posts: 23,301 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

After getting stuffed in the election how are his people still claiming most voters will support him?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,049 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

nullzero wrote: »
    All this guff about about racism and Ireland heading in a far right direction is completely off the wall.

I agree with that. There is an underlying paranoia among the liberal establishment about some far-right or alt-right takeover. The Times of Ireland and Today FM are especially plugging that angle.

Deluded.

All of them, I often seen Daily Mail comments saying deport the travellers back here, even if they're born and reared in England. I've had encounters with English travellers, many of them speak with an Irish accent or rather Irish traveller accent than an English accent.

Does anyone know when Casey is on, Mary Robinson is putting me to sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,789 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

our day is still here. leftism and centrist politics are the way forward.

Wrong. The left have made a complete balls of things.
    Why do you think Trump, Brexit and the rise of the far right in Europe has happened?
    Because the left have pushed their agendas on to people until they've said enough.
    For lovers of free speech and democracy the left are very quick to shout down anyone not in agreement with them.
    When British people had fears of immigration and the rise of Islam (which was at odds with the Christian/Church of England values of the country) they were shouted down and called racist or intolerant. Anyone with half a brain could see this would come back to bite some day.
    Merhkel thought it would be a great idea to open the borders to all and sundry. Ordinary citizens weren't happy and voiced concerns....yeah well you're racist and intolerant. Unfortunately again if you don't listen to the people then trouble will rear it's head.
    That's the problem with the left...don't listen to anyone else's concerns and then wonder why they turn on you.

The more he speaks the more he'll show himself up. He'll go on a charm offensive on the LLS tonight but his level of intelligence and political savvy just won't cut it long-term.

With a new party in a general election he'd have to face Fianna Fail & Fine Gael who didn't put up candidates in the presidential election. They'd outmanoeuvre him and even if he had one half-decent election he'd be finished in the next.

Ireland has voted in successive general and presidential elections and referenda for the centre or left choice. The younger more liberal populace will ensure that trend continues. We're not as ill-informed and ill-educated as the Americans.

Explain Brexit so.

You are quite offensive and superior about the American populace as a whole. You are showing your prejudice there.

Robinson is going on about migrants, let’s put a few thousand beside her along with a halting site.

She would make you ill.

I reckon Casey might pull back from his traveller comments tonight, he seems flakey enough and now the election is over he may want the media off his back. He might also fear for his families safety and with good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

Does anyone know when Casey is on, Mary Robinson is putting me to sleep.

She is part of the build up perhaps, she definitely wouldn't support Casey.
    But she is a great activist, I think one of our best diplomats ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭griffin100

Edward M wrote: »
    She is part of the build up perhaps, she definitely wouldn't support Casey.
    But she is a great activist, I think one of our best diplomats ever.

She’s a true socialist like Michael D............if you ignore the fact she resigned the Presidency to take up a better job with the UN. Maybe Michael D will do the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Casey is really being set up tonight.
    Travellers everywhere in he audience.
    RTE really going out of their way to down him for Leo and the lefties.
    This could really backfire though if the 23.3 percent see through the ambush.
    That number might even grow in the next GE.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

dav3 wrote: »
    What will this giant of enunciation say next? The 70 year old farmers who contribute nothing to society are waiting with bated breath.

They contributed more than you ever will.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Casey is really being set up tonight.
    Travellers everywhere in he audience.
    RTE really going out of their way to down him for Leo and the lefties.
    This could really backfire though if the 23.3 percent see through the ambush.
    That number might even grow in the next GE.

What time is Casey due on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

griffin100 wrote: »
    She’s a true socialist like Michael D............if you ignore the fact she resigned the Presidency to take up a better job with the UN. Maybe Michael D will do the same?

Isn't a true socialist someone who wouldn't live in an actual socialist country?

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Soulsun

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    What time is Casey due on?

Yep..... Classic late late setup.

Like when they setup Gerry a few years ago....