Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Murder is Murder and they are linked to more recent killings of gardai and the shielding of criminals from justice

SF/IRA are still one of the major crime organisations in this county between protection rackets and drug dealing, large scale frauds. plant thefts, running doors in night clubs and pubs.

you can be fairly sure no gardai will vote for SF no mater what.

Macavity's a Mystery Cat: he's called the Hidden Paw -
    For he's the master criminal who can defy the Law.
    He's the bafflement of Scotland Yard, the Flying Squad's despair:
    For when they reach the scene of crime – Macavity's not there!

And they say that all the Cats whose wicked deeds are widely known
    (I might mention Mungojerrie, I might mention Griddlebone)
    Are nothing more than agents for the Cat who all the time
    Just controls their operations: the Napoleon of Crime!

"Running doors" lol that some proper criminal behaviour all right. You're some Jewel, even Paul Reynolds has given up on this waffle at this stage :D

DChancer wrote: »
    Yes Peter, go, just go and leave us in peace!

you wish ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

tretorn wrote: »
    Sorry, meant CASH.
    If she isnt invited on she will turn up with the megaphone anyway.
    It would be fab if she refused to leave RTE and made up beds fir the angles in the canteen.
    RTE would be dialling Donnybrook Garda station immediately.
    Is there a Geometry side to all this ?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DChancer

Sorry, meant CASH.
    If she isnt invited on she will turn up with the megaphone anyway.
    It would be fab if she refused to leave RTE and made up beds fir the angles in the canteen.
    RTE would be dialling Donnybrook Garda station immediately.

What type of angle needs a bed.....
    A quadrangle?
    A right angle?
    A triangle?????

:D:D:D:D

Or even better a Geometry Solution !;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DChancer

blinding wrote: »
    Or even better a Geometry Solution !;)

Well if we look at issue from every angle we should be able to figure something out :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

eagle eye wrote: »
    They probabably have every one of the 0.5% of travellers who actually work there tonight.

Oh, most of them do indeed work. Just not at things that can be put on a CV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

oceanman wrote: »
    but surely with unemployment at an all time low there cant be many of "those people who don't get up early in the morning" ?

There are people I see every day who never even worked for 1 day of their lives.
    Loads of them too. They have no interest in working either. Nothing stopping them bar laziness and a dependent culture. Shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

DChancer wrote: »
    What type of angle needs a bed.....
    A quadrangle?
    A right angle?
    A triangle?????

:D:D:D:D

well apparently 6 of angles couldn't find a bed for the night so poor Margaret took them to Tallaght Garda Station instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    well apparently 6 of angles couldn't find a bed for the night so poor Margaret took them to Tallaght Garda Station instead

Don't be obtuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Lol

Angles is just another of poor Margaret's spelling mistakes

Don't be obtuse.
    Especially in an Acute situation !;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,463 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What is very apparent is the media attack on Peter Casey calling him ‘populist’ and ‘single issue’ and taking a pop at ‘the disadvantaged’.

The lad was telling the truth, surely.

Contrast that with the treatment given to the ‘real populists’ the Alphabet Soup crowd!!

Want an increase in pay in Dublin Bus/Luas/ Bus Eireann - sure give it to them

Where are you having the picket- we’ll join you

Where is the demo supporting breaking the law- we’ll join you

We want to occupy empty houses- sure we’ll support you.

Want an increase in welfare/ state pension- why not, hand it out.

You see there’s a subtle difference in the point of attack from these people, they target the taxpayer, the people who pay for everything,Middle Ireland,people who pay their way and contribute by their diligence and effort.

Fair game it would appear to be from the media reaction.

However when a coterie of folk who contribute very little to society, pay very little into the community chest,occupy a disproportionate number of prison places,are called out ,there is media odium for the person who states those facts.

Has this poster puzzled, so it has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

What is very apparent is the media attack on Peter Casey calling him ‘populist’ and ‘single issue’ and taking a pop at ‘the disadvantaged’.

Contrast that with the treatment given to the ‘real populists’ the Alphabet Soup crowd!!

You see there’s a subtle difference in the point of attack from these people, they target the taxpayer, the people who pay for everything,Middle Ireland,people who pay their way and contribute by their diligence and effort.

However when a coterie of folk who contribute very little to society, pay very little into the community chest,occupy a disproportionate number of prison places,are called out ,there is media odium for the person who states those facts.

if you want to change the things he was talking about, make sure not to vote for any of the parties that have increased the dole, gave travelers the ethnic minority status etc etc. don't be blaming the people on the dole, travelers etc etc. If you want to blame people, blame those responsible.

Then again, that means taking responsibility in voting. Im sure many of the Casey voters dont know what that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

maccored wrote: »
    Then again, that means taking responsibility in voting. Im sure many of the Casey voters dont know what that is

Oooooh! I hope you followed that post with a mic drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

I was chatting to a farmer from a rural area recently.

He couldnt find anyone to paint the corrugated roof on his shed so he gave travellers the job. One got up and said you have a few holes boss and owner said just paint and dont bother about the holes. Shed is painted and traveller comes down with a thousand extra added onto the agreed figure, its payment for the fixed holes.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Farmer argues and then next thing there are six adult males surrounding him, he pays up and the whole extended family and all their neighbours vote for Casey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,810 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

All so true. Attack and abuse the generosity of the tax payer - no issue.
    Make valid comments re the abuse of the tax payers - complete media shut down to try to make it go away and a Taoiseach who was supposedly in favour of workers then tut tutting the man making the sensible comments.

Its an extremely sinister situation. People are not fools. This is going to continue to boil up until things change.

As an example, it appears a welfare family have to receive a house suitable to their needs - limited number of children per room etc yet working people it seems have to make do with whatever they can afford whether suitable or not.
    This automatically leads to poorer standards of living for workers. Its a scandal, pure and simple.
    The politicians of course are in a spot as welfare levels are now so high that the welfare vote is all powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

mickdw wrote: »
    Make valid comments re the abuse of the tax payers - complete media shut down to try to make it go away and a Taoiseach who was supposedly in favour of workers then tut tutting the man making the sensible comments.

Its an extremely sinister situation. People are not fools. This is going to continue to boil up until things change.

As an example, it appears a welfare family have to receive a house suitable to their needs - limited number of children per room etc yet working people it seems have to make do with whatever they can afford whether suitable or not.
    This automatically leads to poorer standards of living for workers. Its a scandal, pure and simple.
    The politicians of course are in a spot as welfare levels are now so high that the welfare vote is all powerful.

Its a banana republic of the highest order, it will be hard to ditch the pensioners and carers etc, maybe just rise that in line with inflation. But JSA and JSB should be frozen, scrap the christmas bonus for unemployed, deduct the council rent many arent paying from source. Let them pay say E20 for a gp visit. Cut enough that usc can be abolished over several budgets!

This most recent budget, was easily the biggest insult to workers ever! It was actually fantastic that people got to vent their frustration for a ceremonial role, it was kind of risk free! I posted this months back, it will hit the stage, where people have had enough of reduced living standards and others with no commute, no big debt, no boss, no f**cking worries in the scheme of things! Typical ireland, 20-30 years behind most other developed nations on a host of fronts, that total abuse of the taxpayer wouldnt be tolerated in other countries!

I have a german dad who moved here a long time ago, the german system is based on what you pay in, because he paid in very little there as he left at a young age, you know what his German pension is? E90 a week, thats it! So they make it clear over there, you get back what you put in! Here? its comedy! some of the leftie pr**cks in the media and politicians may feel some responsibility or god knows what for the legions of wasters here, well I dont. If they are so concerned, start paying more than they are legally obliged too, into the pot that will be pissed up against a wall!

As an example, it appears a welfare family have to receive a house suitable to their needs - limited number of children per room etc yet working people it se ems have to make do with whatever they can afford whether suitable or not.

Yes, agree totally with those views.

People in charge (Govt.)should have one major plank in their policies.

That is make work pay, and ensure that those who can work, do work, and cannot hide under slates tipping around and availing of the benefits that those working have to pay for.

Of course there are other issues too, but the plain people are sick to the teeth of being ripped off by gamers.

Cannot understand why the media round on those trying to protect the taxpayer by being diligent weeding out these gamers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,223 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Complete media shut down? Casey has been all over the media for weeks.

Yes, agree totally with those views.

People in charge (Govt.)should have one major plank in their policies.

That is make work pay, and ensure that those who can work, do work, and cannot hide under slates tipping around and availing of the benefits that those working have to pay for.

Of course there are other issues too, but the plain people are sick to the teeth of being ripped off by gamers.

Cannot understand why the media round on those trying to protect the taxpayer by being diligent weeding out these gamers.

But are they gaming the system if they are entitled to all of this in Treasure Island? These people are hardly going to stop claiming, the GOVERNMENT preside of this shambles and make the rules, the buck stops with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,980 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Hes been all over the media being criticized by the media! All the usual suspects Kitty Holland, Fintan O Toole etc etc all lining up to say how shocked they were to find out nearly 25% of the population were racists.

Interesting slot on Ivan Yates radio show from Rathkeale where Peter Casey had one of his biggest votes, a town where 80% of the houses are apparently owned by travellers. Lots of big houses, new cars and vans, no shortage of money obviously. Gets "lively" in December when around 2000 relations arrive back for a month.
    The source of the money?, maybe google Rathkeale rovers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I was chatting to a farmer from a rural area recently.

Where were you expecting him to be from? :confused::D

Idbatterim wrote: »
    But are they gaming the system if they are entitled to all of this in Treasure Island? These people are hardly going to stop claiming, the GOVERNMENT preside of this shambles and make the rules, the buck stops with them!

Some are, some aren’t.

I have no issue at all with people who genuinely are needing help, no issue at all.

I do agree it’s the Governments job to ensure full compliance, but my main point is that the media would then get stuck in unlike their attitude to the lefty lot who say yes to everything as long as their cohort are not paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Nine Anti Peter Casey articles by The Irish Times in the space of four days, all with what went wrong with Casey and Casey voters.

WHAT?!? Nine of them? Surely that's a record! I wouldn't believe you only for you linked them. There's very few other issues that have come up that have warranted nine articles from the Irish Times.

I think the real issue Casey brought up here is not the travellers at all, but rather the disconnect that exists between the Irish Media and reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,810 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

He was given his time on the presidential debates. There was no choice but to allow him that. Other than that he was treated as a lunatic, all positive comment suppressed, polls which would have clearly shown his support suppressed. Even following his 23% vote, the media come out and say Casey polls 23% despite his comments when clearly it was due to his comments that he polled well.
    He was painted a racist, a nutter, incoherent and then polls showing no movement from 2% published on the last sunday before the election. There was a clear strategy to shut him down and no doubt it worked to some degree.

How many people heard him speak, agreed with him but then saw that he was still a 2% no hoper and decided that maybe they didnt have the correct picture and so didnt vote for him. Look at that against an alternative situation where a sunday paper before the election showed him at 30 to 40 percent in rural areas. People would have been much more likely to vote with him as they agreed with everything he said.
    The media and the government did everything in their power to shut him down and paint him is a bad light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,223 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Hes been all over the media being criticized by the media! All the usual suspects Kitty Holland, Fintan O Toole etc etc all lining up to say how shocked they were to find out nearly 25% of the population were racists.

Interesting slot on Ivan Yates radio show from Rathkeale where Peter Casey had one of his biggest votes, a town where 80% of the houses are apparently owned by travellers. Lots of big houses, new cars and vans, no shortage of money obviously. Gets "lively" in December when around 2000 relations arrive back for a month.
    The source of the money?, maybe google Rathkeale rovers for that.

He is well able to speak for himself, and I cannot believe the amount of access he has been given on radio and TV. I heard him saying he is going to become leader of Fianna Fail and then Taoiseach. After winning a seat in Donegal which he seems to think is a shoo in. And as Taoiseach he will take Ireland into NATO.

Some are, some aren’t.

I have no issue at all with people who genuinely are needing help, no issue at all.

I do agree it’s the Governments job to ensure full compliance, but my main point is that the media would then get stuck in unlike their attitude to the lefty lot who say yes to everything as long as their cohort are not paying.

Yeah but thats why you would expect some leadership, some backbone, which we have NONE of here, LEO the LIAR is a wishy washy populist clown!

Where were you expecting him to be from? :confused::D
    Dublin 4 does tend to have a lot of Four Wheel Drives . So mistakes can be made .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,166 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

WHAT?!

I think the real issue Casey brought up here is not the travellers at all, but rather the disconnect that exists between the Irish Media and reality.

Which gives the tree huggers a false sense of belief that they are speaking for the majority and that objectors are a minority of fascists